DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1,3,9,10,12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the bullet points should be removed.
In claim 3, lines 4 and 5, --structure—should be inserted after “coating”.
In claim 9, line 3, --the—should be inserted after “includes”.
In claim 10, line 3, “coated” should be changed to –made—to agree with the recitation in claim 3.
In claim 12, line 1, --to—should be inserted after “according”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is unclear. Specifically, claim 2 recites that the “transparent part” is configured to diffuse the emitted light. However, as shown in figure 8, the emitted light is diffused when it passes through side wall 11 of the housing 1, and then the diffused light passes through transparent part 6. Therefore, it is unlcear as to how the transparent part diffuses the emitted light, since transparent materials do not diffuse light themselves. For purposes of this action, this limitation will be treated as –wherein the material of a side wall of the housing is configured to diffuse the emitted light…--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,4-8,13,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chaka WO 2013001462.
With regard to claim 1, Chaka discloses an intraoral scanning device 1100 (see fig. 11) for acquiring intraoral scan data from a three-dimensional dental object during a scanning session, the intraoral scanning device comprising: a processing unit (PCB, see paragraph 56) configured to process intraoral scan data of a patient and provide 2D image data and/or 3D image data; a wireless interface 506 (see fig. 5) configured to transmit the 2D image data and/or the 3D image data (see paragraphs 22 and 56); a battery 1110 configured to power at least the processing unit and the wireless interface 506; a housing (fig. 11) configured to accommodate at least the processing unit, the wireless interface 506 and at least partially the battery 1110; and a plurality of LEDs 908/910 (see fig. 9) accommodated by the housing, and the plurality of LEDs 908/910 is configured to emit light through a transparent part 904 of the housing made of a material that is configured to emit the light that passes through the material (see paragraph 69), and wherein the emitted light indicates a status of the battery and/or the wireless interface, and/or indicates a mode of the intraoral scanning device (the LED’s 908/910, when activated, indicate a scanning mode of the device, see paragraph 70).
With regard to claim 2, note that the material of a sidewall of the housing (see housing in fig. 11) is configured to diffuse the emitted light that passes through the material. This is inherent, as any light from LED’s 908/910 that does not pass through transparent part 904, inherently is diffused by the material of the housing.
With regard to claim 4, note that the plurality of LEDs 908/910 is arranged circumferentially to the housing. See fig. 9.
With regard to claim 5, note that the plurality of LEDs 908/910 includes at least three different colour spectra. See paragraph 69 which discloses that the LEDs may include white, blue and UV color spectra.
With regard to claim 6, note that the processing unit (PCB, see paragraph 56) is configured to generate at least one control signal to control power delivered to one or more of the plurality of LEDs 908/910. See paragraph 56.
With regard to claim 7, note that the processing unit (PCB, paragraph 56) is further configured to change at least the one control signal over time so that the plurality of LEDs 908/910 emits at least one static or dynamic lighting effect. When the LED’s are activated, this is considered to be a “static” lighting effect.
With regard to claim 8, note that the device comprises a user interface (switch 406, see paragraph 54) adapted to receive a user input to control operation of the processing unit so as to facilitate a change in the colour that is a combination of the at least three different colour spectra. When any particular LED is activated, this inherently facilitates a change in the color that is a combination of the at least three different color spectra (white, blue, UV).
With regard to claim 13, note that the plurality of LEDs 908/910 is arranged below (beneath/behind) the transparent part 904 of the housing. See fig. 9.
With regard to claim 14, note the light blocker arranged on a first side of the plurality of LEDs 908/910 (see fig. 9) that prevents light from emerging on a front side of the LEDs.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Front of scanner)][AltContent: textbox (Light blocker on a first side of LEDs prevents light from emerging on a front side (front of the scanner) of the plurality of LEDs (light cannot emerge from the front of the scanner))][AltContent: arrow]
Claims 1,6,7,13,14,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gebhardt 20140313299.
With regard to claim 1, Gebhardt discloses an intraoral scanning device 10 (see fig. 1 and 4) for acquiring intraoral scan data from a three-dimensional dental object during a scanning session, the intraoral scanning device comprising: a processing unit (control electronics, see paragraph 61) configured to process intraoral scan data of a patient and provide 2D image data and/or 3D image data; a wireless interface (see paragraph 51) configured to transmit the 2D image data and/or the 3D image data; a battery (inherent, see fig. 7 and paragraph 61 which disclose that a power supply is contained therein, and also shows a wireless connection, therefore a battery (self contained power supply is inherent) configured to power at least the processing unit and the wireless interface; a housing 12/14 configured to accommodate at least the processing unit, the wireless interface and at least partially the battery (see paragraph 61); and a plurality of LEDs 26a/26b (see fig. 4) accommodated by the housing, and the plurality of LEDs 26a/26b is configured to emit light through a transparent part 24a/24b of the housing made of a material that is configured to emit the light that passes through the material (see paragraph 48 “light exit windows”), and wherein the emitted light indicates a status of the battery and/or the wireless interface, and/or indicates a mode of the intraoral scanning device (the LED’s 26a/26b, when activated, indicate a scanning mode of the device).
With regard to claim 6, note that the processing unit (control electronics, see paragraph 61) is configured to generate at least one control signal to control power delivered to one or more of the plurality of LEDs 26a/26b.
With regard to claim 7, note that the processing unit (control electronics, see paragraph 61) is further configured to change at least the one control signal over time so that the plurality of LEDs 26a/26b emits at least one static or dynamic lighting effect. When the LED’s are activated, this is considered to be a “static” lighting effect.
With regard to claim 13, note that the plurality of LEDs 26a/26b are arranged below the transparent portion 24a/24b of the housing.
With regard to claim 14, note light blocker 60 (see fig. 4 and paragraph 54) on a first side of the LEDs 26a/26b preventing the emitted light from the LEDs 26a/26b from emerging on a front side of the plurality of LEDs.
[AltContent: textbox (Front side of each LED. Blocking portion 60 prevents light from emerging toward optics 20.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
With regard to claim 15, note optical sensor 20/43 arranged in a vicinity of LEDs 26a/26b, with sensor blocker 60 arranged between the optical sensor 20/43 and the LEDs 26a/26b for preventing emitted light from the LEDs 26a/26b to be captured by the optical sensor 20/43.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaka WO 2013001462 in view of Martin 10542946.
With regard to claim 12, although Chaka discloses a shell (see fig. 9, which discloses the head of the device that accommodates the LEDs) that comprises a light guiding path configured to guide the light of the plurality of LEDs to the transparent part 904 of the housing, Chaka does not disclose the shell to be a plastic shell.
Martin discloses an intraoral scanning device in which the housing of the device comprises plastic. See col. 10, lines 54-56.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the housing of the Chaka intraoral scanner out of plastic, in view of the teaching of Martin that plastic may be used for an intraoral scanner housing.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gebhardt 20140313299.
in view of Martin 10542946.
With regard to claim 12, although Gebhardt discloses a shell 12 (see fig. 4) that comprises a light guiding path configured to guide the light of the plurality of LEDs 26a/26b to the transparent part 24a/24b of the housing, Chaka does not disclose the shell 12 to be a plastic shell.
Martin discloses an intraoral scanning device in which the housing of the device comprises plastic. See col. 10, lines 54-56.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the housing of the Gebhardt intraoral scanner out of plastic, in view of the teaching of Martin that plastic may be used for an intraoral scanner housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,9,10,11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772