DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement dated February 20, 2026 has been withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 1-20 will be considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed February 26, 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. The Non-Patent Literature (NPL) Documents of the office actions of the two Taiwanese patent applications dated November 21, 2023 and October 24, 2024, respectively, do not contain a legible English translation. Accordingly, said NPL documents have not been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “locking device configured to lock the second housing in any retracted position between the extended position and a fully retracted position” of claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 13-15, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 6-7 of claim 8, the limitation “the sleeve” should be corrected to read --the at least one sleeve-- as is how the limitation is defined earlier within the claim.
While not warranting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness, it is suggested that Applicant amend the limitation “second protrusion” appearing in claims 13 and 19 to simply read as “protrusion”, as nowhere within the scope of claims 13 and/or 19 is a first protrusion defined, thereby it could be potentially ambiguous as to whether claims 13 and/or 19 also require a first protrusion of the telescopic mechanism.
Examiner proposes amending lines 5-7 of claim 14 to read --the telescopic mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the first housing is connected to a lower end of the supporting foot, the telescopic mechanism further comprising an additional second housing, and the two second housings are respectively sleeved at opposing longitudinal ends of the first housing-- as such more clearly defines that there is an additional second housing being provided to the telescopic mechanism and avoids ambiguity as to whether the telescopic mechanism originally required two second housings or not.
Examiner proposes amending claim 15 to read --each second housing is connected to a roller at an end of each second housing that is distal to the first housing, and each roller is configured to contact a ground surface when both second housings are in the extend position-- in order to more clearly define that there two rollers and they are attached to ends of each respective second housing that are distal to the first housing.
Examiner proposes amending claim 19 to read --the formed as an elastic clamping structure-- as the word “configured” is generally used to describe the functionality of a limitation, as opposed to its structural makeup.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 13, 16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cen (CN-205658676).
Regarding claim 1, Cen discloses a telescopic mechanism, wherein the telescopic mechanism comprises:
a first housing (14);
a second housing (15) sleeved in the first housing (see Fig. 1-5) and movable between an extended position and a retracted position relative to the first housing (by way of the second housing 14 being a telescopic rod within the first housing as discussed in [0024] of the attached translated description); and
an engagement member (comprising 16, 17 19, 20, 21, and portion seen in Annotated Fig. 1 below) at least partially arranged in the second housing (see portion of the engagement member in Annotated Fig. 1) and engageable with the second housing in the extended position (being that the portion of the engagement member within the second housing is secured within the second housing as seen in Annotated Fig. 1, it will thereby be engageable with the second housing in the extended position).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Cen discloses wherein the engagement member comprises a first protrusion (21) engaged into an engagement hole of the first housing when the second housing is in the extended position (see Fig. 5 showing the first protrusion 21 extending through an engagement hole of the first housing 14).
Regarding claim 3, Cen discloses wherein the telescopic mechanism further comprises an operating member (20) operated to act on the engagement member causing the first protrusion to detach from the engagement hole (operating mechanism 20 causes first protrusion 21 to detach from engagement hole when member 19 is driven against the operating mechanism, see [0024] of the translated description), wherein the operating member is releasable to allow the first protrusion to bounce back into the engagement hole (by way of the operating member 20 being a spring as discussed in [0024] of the translated description).
Regarding claim 8, Cen discloses wherein the engagement member includes at least one sleeve (see Annotated Fig. 2 below that the sleeves are a part of the portion of the engagement member seen in Annotated Fig. 1), which extends from an end of the second housing inserted into the first housing towards an outside of the first housing (see Fig. 5); and
at least one column (21) is provided in the first housing (see Fig. 5) and is insertable into the sleeve to guide a movement of the second housing (column 21 is insertable into holes 18 of the second housing, which thereby allows the column to be inserted into the sleeves and guide a movement of the second housing, see [0024] of the attached translated description).
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 9, Cen discloses wherein the engagement member further comprises an intermediate part (see Annotated Fig. 3 below) arranged at an end of the second housing inserted into the first housing (see in Annotated Fig. 3 that the intermediate part is arranged at an end of the second housing);
wherein an engagement part (see Annotated Fig. 3) of the engagement member extends from the intermediate part towards the outside of the first housing (see in Annotated Fig. 3 the engagement part extends from the intermediate part and away from the second housing, i.e. towards an outside of the first housing).
Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 13, Cen discloses wherein the engagement member is further provided with a second protrusion (see Annotated Fig. 4 below) which is arranged to be inserted into an opening of a wall of the second housing (see Annotated Fig. 4) to connect the engagement member to the second housing (see the second protrusion in Annotated Fig. 4 connecting the engagement member to an opening of the second housing).
Annotated Figure 4
Regarding claim 16, Cen discloses wherein when the second housing (15) is in the extended position, the operating member (20) is located corresponding to the engagement member (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Cen discloses wherein the second protrusion (see Annotated Fig. 4) is configured as an elastic clamping structure (the second protrusion will have elasticity as it is made of a material, and is clamped within an opening of the second housing as seen in Annotated Fig. 4, thereby it is formed as an elastic clamping structure).
Regarding claim 20, Cen discloses of further comprising a locking device configured to lock the second housing in any retracted position between the extended position and a fully retracted position (the engagement member comprising 16, 17 19, 20, 21, and portion seen in Annotated Fig. 1, acts as a locking device and is configured to lock the second housing 14 in multiple retracted positions due to the interaction with the multiple locating holes 18 in the second housing, see [0024] of the attached translated description).
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (CN-214341342; hereinafter Jia).
Regarding claim 1, Jia discloses a telescopic mechanism, wherein the telescopic mechanism comprises:
a first housing (1);
a second housing (2) sleeved in the first housing (see Fig. 1-2) and movable between an extended position and a retracted position relative to the first housing (Fig. 1-2 shows an extended position, Fig. 3-4 shows a retracted position); and
an engagement member (comprising 4, 21, 22) at least partially arranged in the second housing (see 21 and 22 arranged in the second housing) and engageable with the second housing in the extended position (4 of the engagement member allows for extension/retraction of 21 and 22, i.e. it is engageable with the second housing to retract the second housing when in the extended position, see [0037]-[0038] of the attached translated description).
Regarding claim 2, Jia discloses wherein the engagement member (4, 21, 22) comprises a first protrusion (431) engaged into an engagement hole (421) of the first housing when the second housing is in the extended position (see [0037]-[0038] of the attached translated description).
Regarding claim 3, Jia discloses of further comprising an operating member (43 of 4) operated to act on the engagement member, causing the first protrusion (431) to detach from the engagement hole, wherein the operating member is releasable to allow the first protrusion to bounce back into the engagement hole (see [0031] and [0037]-[0038] of the attached translated description discuss that pressing 43 causes the first protrusion to be in high/low positions, i.e. detach from the engagement hole, and how spring 45 always keeps the first protrusion at the high position, i.e. it bounces back into the engagement hole).
Regarding claim 4, Jia discloses wherein the engagement member includes an engagement part (22) engageable to the first housing (see 22 within the first housing in Fig. 3), wherein the first protrusion is arranged at a free end of the engagement part (see in Fig. 3 first protrusion 431 adjacent, i.e. arranged, at a free end of the engagement part 22).
Regarding claim 6, Jia discloses wherein the engagement member comprises a limiting part (comprising 211 and 42) extending from the second housing to the first housing and engaged in the first housing (see Fig. 3 showing 211 of the limiting part extending from the second housing to and engaged with the first housing) to limit a movement range of the second housing (see [0028] of the attached translated description discussing that 211 of the limiting part prevents detachment of the telescopic mechanism, i.e. limits a movement range of the second housing).
Regarding claim 7, Jia discloses wherein the limiting part (211, 42) extends toward an interior of the first housing (see Fig. 3), and a limiting groove (421) is provided in the limiting part (limiting groove 421 is provided in 42 of the limiting part); and
a guiding pin (431) is provided in the first housing (see Fig. 3 showing the guiding pin in the first housing), and is inserted into the limiting groove to guide a movement of the second housing (see [0037]-[0038] of the attached translated description).
Regarding claim 17, Jia discloses wherein the limiting groove is longitudinally elongated (see vertical longitudinal elongation of the limiting groove in Fig. 5) to allow the second housing to move between the extended position and the retracted position (see [0037]-[0038] of the attached translated description), while the guiding pin restricts lateral displacement of the second housing (guiding pin 431 prevents retraction, i.e. lateral displacement, when it is in the high position, see [0034] of the attached translated description).
Regarding claim 20, Jia discloses of further comprising a locking device configured to lock the second housing in any retracted position between the extended position and a fully retracted position (locking device 4 of the engagement member allows for the second housing to be locked in retracted positions relative to the first housing as discussed in [0028], [0031], [0037]-[0038] of the attached translated description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cen in view of Mu (US 2020/0046141).
Regarding claim 14, Cen discloses of a baby bed comprising:
a bed body (see Annotated Fig. 5 below);
a support foot (3) arranged below the bed body (see Fig. 1-2); and
the telescopic mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the first housing is connected to a lower end of the support foot (see Fig. 1-3), and the second housing is sleeved at a longitudinal end of the first housing (see Fig. 1-3).
Annotated Figure 5
Cen does not explicitly disclose wherein there are two second housings respectively sleeved at longitudinal ends of the first housing.
Mu teaches of a similar baby bed (1) comprising a bed body (300) and supporting feet (42) arranged below the bed body (as seen in the figures), and wherein telescopic members (30) are attached at lower ends of the supporting feet (as seen in the figures), wherein the telescopic members each comprise two telescopic end portions (32) that are movable relative to the supporting feet (see [0099], see Fig. 6A), wherein each end portion comprises a roller at a distal end thereof (see [0099]), thereby allowing for the length of the baby bed to be varied (see [0099]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cen with the teachings Mu, to have each end of the telescopic mechanism be movable relative to the supporting feet, and wherein each end of the telescopic mechanism comprises rollers at distal ends thereof, such that the baby bed can be maneuver and have its length varied. By simply duplicating the number of second housings, such that a second housing is disposed on opposing longitudinal ends of the first housing, and wherein each second housing comprises a roller at a distal end thereof, such would allow for the maneuvering and size variability of the baby bed.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cen and Mu further teach wherein each second housing is connected to a roller at an end distal to the first housing (as taught in claim 14), and each roller is configured to contact a ground surface when the second housings are in the extended position (the rollers will be capable of contacting a ground surface when the second housings are in an extended position).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Mu.
Regarding claim 14, Jia discloses of a baby bed comprising:
a bed body (attached to supporting feet 3, see [0002] of the attached translated description);
a supporting foot (3) arranged below the bed body; and
the telescoping mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the first housing is connected to a lower end of the supporting foot (see Fig. 1-4), and the second housing is sleeved at a longitudinal end of the first housing (see Fig. 1-3).
Jia does not explicitly disclose wherein there are two second housings respectively sleeved at longitudinal ends of the first housing.
Mu teaches of a similar baby bed (1) comprising a bed body (300) and supporting feet (42) arranged below the bed body (as seen in the figures), and wherein telescopic members (30) are attached at lower ends of the supporting feet (as seen in the figures), wherein the telescopic members each comprise two telescopic end portions (32) that are movable relative to the supporting feet (see [0099], see Fig. 6A), wherein each end portion comprises a roller at a distal end thereof (see [0099]), thereby allowing for the length of the baby bed to be varied (see [0099]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jia with the teachings Mu, to have each end of the telescopic mechanism be movable relative to the supporting feet, and wherein each end of the telescopic mechanism comprises rollers at distal ends thereof, such that the baby bed can be maneuver and have its length varied. By simply duplicating the number of second housings, such that a second housing is disposed on opposing longitudinal ends of the first housing, and wherein each second housing comprises a roller at a distal end thereof, such would allow for the maneuvering and size variability of the baby bed.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Jia and Mu further teach wherein each second housing is connected to a roller at an end distal to the first housing (as taught in claim 14), and each roller is configured to contact a ground surface when the second housings are in the extended position (the rollers will be capable of contacting a ground surface when the second housings are in an extended position).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10-12, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Jia discloses wherein the operating member (43) is on the first housing (see Fig. 3, 5) and can be pressed.
However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the engagement part is provided as an elastic sheet that bounces towards an outside of the first housing, and when the second housing is in the extended position, the engagement part is pressed by the operating member to disengage with the first housing. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation, absent Applicant’s own disclosure, for Jia to contain such features, as such would require a non-obvious structural redesign of Jia. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Cen discloses wherein the at least one sleeve includes a first sleeve and a second sleeve, respectively extending from the intermediate part towards an outside of the first housing (see both sleeves in Annotated Fig. 2).
However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one column includes a first column and a second column, and when the second housing is in the retracted position, the first column and the second column are at least partially inserted into the first sleeve and the second sleeve, respectively. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation, absent Applicant’s own disclosure, for Cen to contain such features, as such would require a non-obvious structural redesign of Cen. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/KEVIN J BAYNES/Examiner, Art Unit 3678