DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 5, and 11, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Krasowski(DE 102010053079).
Krasowski discloses a device for curing a liner drawn into a pipe comprising a body(12), a traction coupling at one end(17), and a pneumatic coupling connected to the liner.(claims)
Regarding claim 11, Krasowski discloses a curing device set up to emit energy.(12)
Regarding claim 13, Krasowski discloses inverting the liner into a pipe, with the device attached to thew end of the liner and pulling the device back to the start point by a cable attached to the traction coupling(6) while radiating energy. Krasowski discloses the releasable coupling device(4) can be a pneumatic device, which means it is between the curing device and the liner and is opened to detach them from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krasowski in view of Bichler et al.(US Publication 2018/0229424)
Kasowski only shows one curing device. Bichler et al. discloses it is known in the pipe liner arts to have more than one curing unit.(claim 23) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have more than one curing unit in Krasowski since this is known in the art as shown by Bichler et al. and since it is a simple duplication of parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shishido et al.(JP 2911330) in view of Krasowski.
Shishido et al. discloses a device for curing a pipe liner comprising a body with a pneumatic coupling at one end(126). The reference shows a coupling at the other end but does not disclose it is a traction coupling. Krasowski discloses a device for curing a pipe liner wherein the end connected to the pull cable is a traction coupling.(17) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have a traction coupling at the pull cable end since Shishido et al. does not describe that end in detail leading one in the art to look to similar structures and Krasowski discloses it is a traction coupling.
Regarding claim 2, the piston is arranged in the air cylinder.(123)
Regarding claim 3, the piston holds the liner in the first position and releases it in a second position.(Figure 9)
Regarding claim 6, a receiving element receives an end portion of the piston.(126a)
Regarding claim 7, the receiving element is formed in one piece with the body element.(Figure 9)
Regarding claim 9, a receiving space is present between the end of the cylinder and the receiving element.(Figure 9)
Regarding claim 10, an eyelet of the liner is insertable into the receiving space when the piston is in the second position, and the piston extends through the eyelet when it is in the first position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 4, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the pneumatic cylinder having a piston which holds the liner when pressurized and releases it when the pressure is removed as Shishido et al. shows the opposite, i.e. it holds the liner when the pressure is not present and releases it when pressure is applied. Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest an elastic element applying a force on the piston. Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the receiving element having a wedge shape or an opening into which the piston can be inserted. Shishido et al shows a recess, which is not an opening.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746