Detailed Action
Claims 1-15, 18-22 are pending in this application. Claims 16,17 cancelled in the Preliminary Amendment filed 2/27/25. Claims 20-22 were newly added.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/25/25, 5/26/26 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9,20,22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recites
As per claims 9, 20,22, an information processing method, comprising:
displaying a component container in a display interface of a target session; and
displaying, in the component container, at least one component instance comprising a target component instance; wherein the target component instance comprises preset service data.
The claims are directed towards displaying information such as stocks or weather.
Therefore the claims and the specification is drawn to certain methods of organizing human activity. If the claim under broadest reasonable interpretation covers limitation that is drawn to certain methods of organizing human activity but for recitation of a generic computer and/or generic computer components described at a high level of generality or linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, then it falls within the grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A, prong 1).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites additional elements such as
20. The method according to claim 9, implemented by an electronic device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store computer-executable instructions; and the processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory so as to realize steps of the information processing method.
22. The method according to claim 9, implemented by a computer-readable storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the computer- executable instructions, when executed by a processor, are configured to realize steps of the information processing method.
The claim does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations of 20. The method according to claim 9, implemented by an electronic device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store computer-executable instructions; and the processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory so as to realize steps of the information processing method. 22. The method according to claim 9, implemented by a computer-readable storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the computer- executable instructions, when executed by a processor, are configured to realize steps of the information processing method are generic computer components described at a high level of generality and limitations amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and/or adding the words “apply it”(or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore the additional limitation/elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even considering all the additional element in combination, they are just providing a computerized system to perform the invention, but doesn’t improve the computing technology as the additional elements do not integrate the invention into a practical application, rather the claims and the additional limitations are drawn to displaying information. The claims is directed to an abstract idea and merely reciting generic computer components described at a high level of generality and limitations amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and/or adding the words “apply it”(or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore the claims are not patent eligible. (Step 2A, prong2).
The claim does not include additional elements/limitations that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements/limitations is drawn to limitations that use a computer as a tool, and includes well-understood, routine, and conventional activities(ie. receiving or transmitting data over a network MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)) that amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. The claim is not patent eligible(Step 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 13-15, 18, 19, 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0289428 issued to Yuen et al.(Yuen) in view of US 2016/0104205 issued to Greenberg et al.(Greenberg).
As per claims 1, 18,19, Yuen teaches an information processing method, comprising: creating a target component according to a received session component creation request, wherein the session component creation request comprises a target session identifier and address information of service data(Fig.2,5-6, [0038] Referring now to FIG. 2, an embodiment of a system 100 upon which the present invention may be operated is illustrated. The system 100 includes a first widget aware instant messaging application 102 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a first user 103 and a second widget aware instant messaging system 104 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a second user 105. While first user 103 is composing a message within first widget aware instant messaging application 102, the first user 103 triggers the widget container module 108 to present a selection of available widgets. First user 103 selects a widget of interest. Because widgets are dynamic mini applications, the sender will need to customize the widget selected. The customization manager 110 is initiated to customize the widget selected. After the first user 103 completes the customization through using the customization manager 110, the customization manager module 110 will pass the customized widget to the widget message adapter module 112, which converts the widget into an appropriate data format for insertion into the instant message. Multiple widgets may be embedded within the same. The first user 103 inserted another widget by repeating the aforementioned process. Next, the two customized widgets are sent by saving the widget to a repository that can be retrieved by the recipient. The widget message adapter module 112 then creates a widget text string containing the necessary retrieval URL information for each widget and inserts the text string into the instant message. In addition, the widget text string contains a unique tag that wraps around the URL so that a widget-aware instant messaging application knows that this particular substring represents a widget. To create the retrieval URL, the widget message adapter module 112 passes the widgets to the widget container 108 to store the customized widgets to a public remote repository 134. The URLs can then be constructed based on the URL of the public remote repository 134 and the identifiers of the widgets saved within the repository 134. The widget text string containing the necessary retrieval URL information that has been inserted into the text string and inserted into the instant message for each widget is transmitted over the messaging network 138 by the messaging module 114. Messaging network 138 delivers the message sent by first user 103 to the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a second user 105. The receiving messaging module 130 of the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 receives the instant message and detects that the message includes two widget text strings associated with two different widgets and passes the instant message to the receiving message adapter module 126 for which is operatively configured to the embedded widget data. The receiving widget adapter module 104 parses the substrings, extracts the URLs, and requests the receiving widget container 128 to retrieve the actual widgets from the public widget repository 134. The retrieved widgets may contain previously stored data together with the widget in the public widget repository 134, and/or real-time information that the widget container 128 retrieves from the Internet or web service via the Internet 139. The receiving message adapter 126 then passes the widgets to the widget player module which will return two widget player instances 122, 124 for the two widgets to the second widget-aware instant messaging application 104 for rendering. The second user 105 of the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 may also save the widgets sent along with the instant message into a private widget repository 132.);
acquiring the service data according to the address information(Fig.4; [0040] FIG. 4 illustrates the process flow of a receiver computing system including a receiving widget aware instant messaging application. The widget aware instant message application initially sits idle waiting for incoming messages 202. Upon receiving an incoming message, the application searches the messages for widget tags 204. If no tags are available, the message is determined to be a message having text and emoticons 206. If the message includes widget tags, the substrings that are wrapped within the widget tags are extracted and transmitted to the receiving widget adaptor 208. Next, each string is parsed in order to construct the URL that will be used for retrieving a customized widget 210. For each URL, a request is made to the receiving widget container module to retrieve the widget from the repository represented by the URL and the deserialized widget is sent back to the widget container module 212. For each deserialized widget a request is made to the widget player module to construct a player instance that shall be used to render the widget 214. The widget player module renders the message as text along with emoticons and widgets as icons by using the minimized mode of the player instances that contain either static (previously stored) information or real-time retrieved and rendered information through the graphical representation of the widget icon 216. The application waits for the user to click on the widget icons rendered by the widget player instances 218. Upon clicking the widget icons rendered by the widget player 220, the widget is presented in a new window by using the expanded mode of the player instance 222.) ;
displaying a target component instance in a session interface indicated by the target session identifier(Fig.5-6).
Yuen however does not explicitly teach instantiating the target component according to the service data, however it is obvious to one ordinary skill in the art that the widget is instantiated since the widget is embedded in the message.
Greenberg explicitly teaches instantiating the target component according to the service data(0242] To incorporate a widget into a card, a widget component descriptor 118 is included in the associated card descriptor 46. A representative widget descriptor architecture is illustrated in FIG. 6F. In the illustrated embodiment, the widget descriptor 118 includes a component type 89W (which in this case is type “widget”), a component ID 88W, an optional component name 84W, and a widget definition 120. The widget definition 120 includes a widget ID 121, a widget name 122 and a definition 124 which is labeled “schema” in FIG. 6F. The definition 124 includes a source identifier 126 that identifies the location of the server that will supply the widget content and parameter(s) 130 that represent parameter(s) to be passed to the server when the widget is instantiated. The widget definition 120 also preferably includes frame size and position related identifiers such as width 127, height 128 and position 129. The width 127 and height 128 identify the internal frame's intended height and width, while the position 129 identifies its position within the card—e.g., the X-Y coordinates of its origin. It should be appreciated that the actual dimensions of the displayed cards may vary with the size of the screen upon which the wrap is displayed. Therefore, the various size parameters may be relative rather than absolute (e.g., 10%, etc.) Of course, in alternative embodiments, the dimensions and location of the internal frame can be defined in other manners. As with all components, the widget may also have associated attributes 86 (e.g., styles, behaviors, etc.)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuen’s teachings of customizing, personalizing, and embedding widgets within messages to include the teaching of Greenberg of creation of widgets according to a schema and in order to provide the predictable result of requesting and creation of widgets to be included in messages.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to easy access information such as news, clocks, calculators, calendars, desktop notes, and weather(Yuen, para.6).
As per claim 2, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring the service data according to the address information comprises: acquiring a display style according to the address information; and the instantiating the target component according to the service data comprises: instantiating the target component according to the display style and the service data(Greenberg, (0242] To incorporate a widget into a card, a widget component descriptor 118 is included in the associated card descriptor 46. A representative widget descriptor architecture is illustrated in FIG. 6F. In the illustrated embodiment, the widget descriptor 118 includes a component type 89W (which in this case is type “widget”), a component ID 88W, an optional component name 84W, and a widget definition 120. The widget definition 120 includes a widget ID 121, a widget name 122 and a definition 124 which is labeled “schema” in FIG. 6F. The definition 124 includes a source identifier 126 that identifies the location of the server that will supply the widget content and parameter(s) 130 that represent parameter(s) to be passed to the server when the widget is instantiated. The widget definition 120 also preferably includes frame size and position related identifiers such as width 127, height 128 and position 129. The width 127 and height 128 identify the internal frame's intended height and width, while the position 129 identifies its position within the card—e.g., the X-Y coordinates of its origin. It should be appreciated that the actual dimensions of the displayed cards may vary with the size of the screen upon which the wrap is displayed. Therefore, the various size parameters may be relative rather than absolute (e.g., 10%, etc.) Of course, in alternative embodiments, the dimensions and location of the internal frame can be defined in other manners. As with all components, the widget may also have associated attributes 86 (e.g., styles, behaviors, etc.)).Motivation to combine set forth in claim 1.
As per claim 3, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the creating a target component according to a received session component creation request comprises: receiving the session component creation request sent by a service data server through a component creation interface; and
creating the target component by using a component addition interface(Yuen, [0041] FIGS. 5 and 6 describe a sample scenario to illustrate the mechanisms behind the operations of the instant messaging system with widget customization and embedment support. For illustration purpose, consider a simple scenario where two individuals, Bob and Alice are messaging online, discussing a trip to Tokyo that they are about to take in a couple of days. First, Bob wants to let Alice know the current weather condition in Tokyo and he inputs some text in message compose area 228. Bob then wants to insert a weather widget in order to provide the most current information about the weather and to make the message more fun by having an interesting widget icon in the message. By clicking on the "Insert Widget" button 229, Bob is presented with a widget container 230 which includes a plurality of pre-customized widgets 231 within the widget container 230. Following Bob's selection of the weather widget 232, the weather widget 232 is expanded to a full view 233. Bob uses the widget customization manager to customize the weather widget 234 in order to display the weather in Tokyo, first by entering "Tokyo" in the city input field 234 and then engaging the "Submit" button 235. The 4-day forecasts of Tokyo is retrieved by the widget container and displayed in the widget area 233. Bob then inputs a personal "Yes-No" question for Alice 236. Next, the weather widget is embedded into the instant message that he will send Alice through the widget message adapter. The full view of a widget having been customized by the user includes a cancel button 237 and an insert button 238. The cancel button cancels the process in which the original weather widget 232 was exploded into the full view 233. Upon engaging the insert button 238, the widget may be inserted into a message in the manner illustrated by its icon view 239, which contains real-time retrieved info about the weather in Tokyo associated with a specific date. Bob further adds some comments about the upcoming weather condition in Tokyo 240. So, when Bob sends the message, the adapter contacts the widget server to create a unique widget instance with Bob's customized parameters. The message adapter further uploads the widget content to the remote repository so that the content is downloadable by the recipient.).
As per claim 4, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the creating a target component according to a received session component creation request comprises: creating a target component abstraction instance according to the session component creation request(Greenberg, Fig.6F, [0242] To incorporate a widget into a card, a widget component descriptor 118 is included in the associated card descriptor 46. A representative widget descriptor architecture is illustrated in FIG. 6F. In the illustrated embodiment, the widget descriptor 118 includes a component type 89W (which in this case is type “widget”), a component ID 88W, an optional component name 84W, and a widget definition 120. The widget definition 120 includes a widget ID 121, a widget name 122 and a definition 124 which is labeled “schema” in FIG. 6F. The definition 124 includes a source identifier 126 that identifies the location of the server that will supply the widget content and parameter(s) 130 that represent parameter(s) to be passed to the server when the widget is instantiated. The widget definition 120 also preferably includes frame size and position related identifiers such as width 127, height 128 and position 129. The width 127 and height 128 identify the internal frame's intended height and width, while the position 129 identifies its position within the card—e.g., the X-Y coordinates of its origin. It should be appreciated that the actual dimensions of the displayed cards may vary with the size of the screen upon which the wrap is displayed. Therefore, the various size parameters may be relative rather than absolute (e.g., 10%, etc.) Of course, in alternative embodiments, the dimensions and location of the internal frame can be defined in other manners. As with all components, the widget may also have associated attributes 86 (e.g., styles, behaviors, etc.)). Motivation to combine set forth in claim 1.
As per claim 5, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: creating a preview identifier corresponding to the target component, and associating the preview identifier with the address information; sending the preview identifier to a client of a user of a target session; and the acquiring the service data according to the address information comprises: in response to receiving a browsing request for browsing the target component instance sent by the client, acquiring the service data according to the address information; wherein the browsing request comprises the preview identifier(Yuen, Fig.5, [0041] FIGS. 5 and 6 describe a sample scenario to illustrate the mechanisms behind the operations of the instant messaging system with widget customization and embedment support. For illustration purpose, consider a simple scenario where two individuals, Bob and Alice are messaging online, discussing a trip to Tokyo that they are about to take in a couple of days. First, Bob wants to let Alice know the current weather condition in Tokyo and he inputs some text in message compose area 228. Bob then wants to insert a weather widget in order to provide the most current information about the weather and to make the message more fun by having an interesting widget icon in the message. By clicking on the "Insert Widget" button 229, Bob is presented with a widget container 230 which includes a plurality of pre-customized widgets 231 within the widget container 230. Following Bob's selection of the weather widget 232, the weather widget 232 is expanded to a full view 233. Bob uses the widget customization manager to customize the weather widget 234 in order to display the weather in Tokyo, first by entering "Tokyo" in the city input field 234 and then engaging the "Submit" button 235. The 4-day forecasts of Tokyo is retrieved by the widget container and displayed in the widget area 233. Bob then inputs a personal "Yes-No" question for Alice 236. Next, the weather widget is embedded into the instant message that he will send Alice through the widget message adapter. The full view of a widget having been customized by the user includes a cancel button 237 and an insert button 238. The cancel button cancels the process in which the original weather widget 232 was exploded into the full view 233. Upon engaging the insert button 238, the widget may be inserted into a message in the manner illustrated by its icon view 239, which contains real-time retrieved info about the weather in Tokyo associated with a specific date. Bob further adds some comments about the upcoming weather condition in Tokyo 240. So, when Bob sends the message, the adapter contacts the widget server to create a unique widget instance with Bob's customized parameters. The message adapter further uploads the widget content to the remote repository so that the content is downloadable by the recipient.)
As per claim 6, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring at least one of updated service data and updated display style; and updating the target component instance according to the at least one of updated service data and updated display style(Greenberg, [0195] The source attribute 87 may take the form a feed descriptor that defines the nature and structure of the feed as well as its feed characteristics including source location, data format(s), update semantics, etc. For example, some feeds (e.g. live feeds and live update feeds) require that a socket be opened and kept open as long as the feed is active. Polling feeds require the identification of the desired polling frequency. This and other metadata addressing the update semantics of the feed may be contained in the feed descriptor, and inform the runtime of the desired update behavior. In other embodiments, the source attribute may include a reference to a data feed object (not shown) that defines the data feed., [0223], [0251] Another approach is to utilize a widget in the “specials” card. In this example, an iframe is created within the specials card and the contents for the card may be delivered directly to the card at runtime by the merchant's server (e.g., a web server). Thus, the desired content of the specials card can be updated by the merchant at any time simply by updating servers it controls, and such updates are immediately applied to any wrap that is instantiated after the update is made without requiring the generation or use of a new descriptor. When desired, the widget in a “specials” card can be configured as a gallery (i.e., a gallery widget) so that the resulting card has an appearance that is similar to a gallery card. Gallery widgets can also be used to present frequently updated items like catalog items so that it is not necessary to update the wrap each time items are added or deleted (e.g., each time an item is added to or deleted from the catalog).). Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuen in view of Greenberg’s to apply the teachings of Greenberg of updating in order to provide the predictable result of updating information in a widget when there is new information. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to keep up to date on information.
As per claim 7, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to detecting a change in the target component instance, pushing information of changed target component instance to a client of a user of a target session; wherein the change is generated by at least one of updated service data and updated display style sent by a service data server(Greenberg, [0195] The source attribute 87 may take the form a feed descriptor that defines the nature and structure of the feed as well as its feed characteristics including source location, data format(s), update semantics, etc. For example, some feeds (e.g. live feeds and live update feeds) require that a socket be opened and kept open as long as the feed is active. Polling feeds require the identification of the desired polling frequency. This and other metadata addressing the update semantics of the feed may be contained in the feed descriptor, and inform the runtime of the desired update behavior. In other embodiments, the source attribute may include a reference to a data feed object (not shown) that defines the data feed., [0223], Another approach is to utilize a widget in the “specials” card. In this example, an iframe is created within the specials card and the contents for the card may be delivered directly to the card at runtime by the merchant's server (e.g., a web server). Thus, the desired content of the specials card can be updated by the merchant at any time simply by updating servers it controls, and such updates are immediately applied to any wrap that is instantiated after the update is made without requiring the generation or use of a new descriptor. When desired, the widget in a “specials” card can be configured as a gallery (i.e., a gallery widget) so that the resulting card has an appearance that is similar to a gallery card. Gallery widgets can also be used to present frequently updated items like catalog items so that it is not necessary to update the wrap each time items are added or deleted (e.g., each time an item is added to or deleted from the catalog)). Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuen in view of Greenberg’s to apply the teachings of Greenberg of updating in order to provide the predictable result of updating information in a widget when there is new information. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to keep up to date on information.
As per claim 13, 21, Yuen teaches an information processing method, comprising: generating a session component creation request, wherein the session component creation request comprises address information of service data and a target session identifier(Fig.2,5-6, [0038] Referring now to FIG. 2, an embodiment of a system 100 upon which the present invention may be operated is illustrated. The system 100 includes a first widget aware instant messaging application 102 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a first user 103 and a second widget aware instant messaging system 104 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a second user 105. While first user 103 is composing a message within first widget aware instant messaging application 102, the first user 103 triggers the widget container module 108 to present a selection of available widgets. First user 103 selects a widget of interest. Because widgets are dynamic mini applications, the sender will need to customize the widget selected. The customization manager 110 is initiated to customize the widget selected. After the first user 103 completes the customization through using the customization manager 110, the customization manager module 110 will pass the customized widget to the widget message adapter module 112, which converts the widget into an appropriate data format for insertion into the instant message. Multiple widgets may be embedded within the same. The first user 103 inserted another widget by repeating the aforementioned process. Next, the two customized widgets are sent by saving the widget to a repository that can be retrieved by the recipient. The widget message adapter module 112 then creates a widget text string containing the necessary retrieval URL information for each widget and inserts the text string into the instant message. In addition, the widget text string contains a unique tag that wraps around the URL so that a widget-aware instant messaging application knows that this particular substring represents a widget. To create the retrieval URL, the widget message adapter module 112 passes the widgets to the widget container 108 to store the customized widgets to a public remote repository 134. The URLs can then be constructed based on the URL of the public remote repository 134 and the identifiers of the widgets saved within the repository 134. The widget text string containing the necessary retrieval URL information that has been inserted into the text string and inserted into the instant message for each widget is transmitted over the messaging network 138 by the messaging module 114. Messaging network 138 delivers the message sent by first user 103 to the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a second user 105. The receiving messaging module 130 of the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 receives the instant message and detects that the message includes two widget text strings associated with two different widgets and passes the instant message to the receiving message adapter module 126 for which is operatively configured to the embedded widget data. The receiving widget adapter module 104 parses the substrings, extracts the URLs, and requests the receiving widget container 128 to retrieve the actual widgets from the public widget repository 134. The retrieved widgets may contain previously stored data together with the widget in the public widget repository 134, and/or real-time information that the widget container 128 retrieves from the Internet or web service via the Internet 139. The receiving message adapter 126 then passes the widgets to the widget player module which will return two widget player instances 122, 124 for the two widgets to the second widget-aware instant messaging application 104 for rendering. The second user 105 of the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 may also save the widgets sent along with the instant message into a private widget repository 132.); sending the session component creation request to a session server of a target session, so that the session server creates a target component([0041] FIGS. 5 and 6 describe a sample scenario to illustrate the mechanisms behind the operations of the instant messaging system with widget customization and embedment support. For illustration purpose, consider a simple scenario where two individuals, Bob and Alice are messaging online, discussing a trip to Tokyo that they are about to take in a couple of days. First, Bob wants to let Alice know the current weather condition in Tokyo and he inputs some text in message compose area 228. Bob then wants to insert a weather widget in order to provide the most current information about the weather and to make the message more fun by having an interesting widget icon in the message. By clicking on the "Insert Widget" button 229, Bob is presented with a widget container 230 which includes a plurality of pre-customized widgets 231 within the widget container 230. Following Bob's selection of the weather widget 232, the weather widget 232 is expanded to a full view 233. Bob uses the widget customization manager to customize the weather widget 234 in order to display the weather in Tokyo, first by entering "Tokyo" in the city input field 234 and then engaging the "Submit" button 235. The 4-day forecasts of Tokyo is retrieved by the widget container and displayed in the widget area 233. Bob then inputs a personal "Yes-No" question for Alice 236. Next, the weather widget is embedded into the instant message that he will send Alice through the widget message adapter. The full view of a widget having been customized by the user includes a cancel button 237 and an insert button 238. The cancel button cancels the process in which the original weather widget 232 was exploded into the full view 233. Upon engaging the insert button 238, the widget may be inserted into a message in the manner illustrated by its icon view 239, which contains real-time retrieved info about the weather in Tokyo associated with a specific date. Bob further adds some comments about the upcoming weather condition in Tokyo 240. So, when Bob sends the message, the adapter contacts the widget server to create a unique widget instance with Bob's customized parameters. The message adapter further uploads the widget content to the remote repository so that the content is downloadable by the recipient);
Yuen however does not explicitly sending the service data to the session server; so that the session server generates a target component instance according to the service data.
Greenberg explicitly teaches sending the service data to the session server; so that the session server generates a target component instance according to the service data(0242] To incorporate a widget into a card, a widget component descriptor 118 is included in the associated card descriptor 46. A representative widget descriptor architecture is illustrated in FIG. 6F. In the illustrated embodiment, the widget descriptor 118 includes a component type 89W (which in this case is type “widget”), a component ID 88W, an optional component name 84W, and a widget definition 120. The widget definition 120 includes a widget ID 121, a widget name 122 and a definition 124 which is labeled “schema” in FIG. 6F. The definition 124 includes a source identifier 126 that identifies the location of the server that will supply the widget content and parameter(s) 130 that represent parameter(s) to be passed to the server when the widget is instantiated. The widget definition 120 also preferably includes frame size and position related identifiers such as width 127, height 128 and position 129. The width 127 and height 128 identify the internal frame's intended height and width, while the position 129 identifies its position within the card—e.g., the X-Y coordinates of its origin. It should be appreciated that the actual dimensions of the displayed cards may vary with the size of the screen upon which the wrap is displayed. Therefore, the various size parameters may be relative rather than absolute (e.g., 10%, etc.) Of course, in alternative embodiments, the dimensions and location of the internal frame can be defined in other manners. As with all components, the widget may also have associated attributes 86 (e.g., styles, behaviors, etc.))..
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuen’s teachings of customizing, personalizing, and embedding widgets within messages to include the teaching of Greenberg of using a server for creation and supplying widget content and in order to provide the predictable result of requesting and creation of widgets by a server to be included in messages.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to easy access information such as news, clocks, calculators, calendars, desktop notes, and weather(Yuen, para.6).
As per claim 14, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the generating a session component creation request comprises:
in response to receiving an instruction for creating the target component sent by a session user of the target session, generating a component creation request, wherein the instruction comprises the target session identifier and identifier information of the service data(Yuen, Fig.2,5-6, [0038] Referring now to FIG. 2, an embodiment of a system 100 upon which the present invention may be operated is illustrated. The system 100 includes a first widget aware instant messaging application 102 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a first user 103 and a second widget aware instant messaging system 104 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a second user 105. While first user 103 is composing a message within first widget aware instant messaging application 102, the first user 103 triggers the widget container module 108 to present a selection of available widgets. First user 103 selects a widget of interest. Because widgets are dynamic mini applications, the sender will need to customize the widget selected. The customization manager 110 is initiated to customize the widget selected. After the first user 103 completes the customization through using the customization manager 110, the customization manager module 110 will pass the customized widget to the widget message adapter module 112, which converts the widget into an appropriate data format for insertion into the instant message. Multiple widgets may be embedded within the same. The first user 103 inserted another widget by repeating the aforementioned process. Next, the two customized widgets are sent by saving the widget to a repository that can be retrieved by the recipient. The widget message adapter module 112 then creates a widget text string containing the necessary retrieval URL information for each widget and inserts the text string into the instant message. In addition, the widget text string contains a unique tag that wraps around the URL so that a widget-aware instant messaging application knows that this particular substring represents a widget. To create the retrieval URL, the widget message adapter module 112 passes the widgets to the widget container 108 to store the customized widgets to a public remote repository 134. The URLs can then be constructed based on the URL of the public remote repository 134 and the identifiers of the widgets saved within the repository 134. The widget text string containing the necessary retrieval URL information that has been inserted into the text string and inserted into the instant message for each widget is transmitted over the messaging network 138 by the messaging module 114. Messaging network 138 delivers the message sent by first user 103 to the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 operating on a computing system that is being controlled by a second user 105. The receiving messaging module 130 of the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 receives the instant message and detects that the message includes two widget text strings associated with two different widgets and passes the instant message to the receiving message adapter module 126 for which is operatively configured to the embedded widget data. The receiving widget adapter module 104 parses the substrings, extracts the URLs, and requests the receiving widget container 128 to retrieve the actual widgets from the public widget repository 134. The retrieved widgets may contain previously stored data together with the widget in the public widget repository 134, and/or real-time information that the widget container 128 retrieves from the Internet or web service via the Internet 139. The receiving message adapter 126 then passes the widgets to the widget player module which will return two widget player instances 122, 124 for the two widgets to the second widget-aware instant messaging application 104 for rendering. The second user 105 of the second widget aware instant messaging system 104 may also save the widgets sent along with the instant message into a private widget repository 132.).
As per claim 15, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 13, further comprising: in response to detecting a change in at least one of service data and display style, sending change information to the session server so that the session server updates the target component instance; or, receiving an acquisition request for acquiring updating information of the at least one of service data and display style sent by the session server, and detecting whether the at least one of service data and display style is updated; and in response to the at least one of service data and display style being updated, sending the updating information to the session server so that the session server updates the target component instance(Greenberg, [0195] The source attribute 87 may take the form a feed descriptor that defines the nature and structure of the feed as well as its feed characteristics including source location, data format(s), update semantics, etc. For example, some feeds (e.g. live feeds and live update feeds) require that a socket be opened and kept open as long as the feed is active. Polling feeds require the identification of the desired polling frequency. This and other metadata addressing the update semantics of the feed may be contained in the feed descriptor, and inform the runtime of the desired update behavior. In other embodiments, the source attribute may include a reference to a data feed object (not shown) that defines the data feed., [0223], Another approach is to utilize a widget in the “specials” card. In this example, an iframe is created within the specials card and the contents for the card may be delivered directly to the card at runtime by the merchant's server (e.g., a web server). Thus, the desired content of the specials card can be updated by the merchant at any time simply by updating servers it controls, and such updates are immediately applied to any wrap that is instantiated after the update is made without requiring the generation or use of a new descriptor. When desired, the widget in a “specials” card can be configured as a gallery (i.e., a gallery widget) so that the resulting card has an appearance that is similar to a gallery card. Gallery widgets can also be used to present frequently updated items like catalog items so that it is not necessary to update the wrap each time items are added or deleted (e.g., each time an item is added to or deleted from the catalog)). Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuen in view of Greenberg’s to apply the teachings of Greenberg of updating in order to provide the predictable result of updating information in a widget when there is new information. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to keep up to date on information.
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0289428 issued to Yuen et al.(Yuen) in view of US 2016/0104205 issued to Greenberg et al.(Greenberg) in view of US 2011/0296476 issued to Rouse.
As per claim 8, Yuen in view of Greenberg teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not explicitly teach in response to receiving a deletion instruction for session component, deleting a component in a target session indicated by the deletion instruction, and sending an instruction for instructing to delete pre-stored information of the component to a client of a user of the target session, which is taught by Rouse, [0100] Further, in various embodiments, the publisher can access a widget platform through the configuration tool module 500. Thus, in these particular embodiments, the publisher designs the mashup by selecting widgets and placing the widgets on the template. For example, the widgets may include boxes for displaying text, graphics, video, or audio, buttons for initiating actions such as retrieving content, tools for making various kinds of selections such as drop-down menus and scrolling lists. Thus, the publisher selects a particular widget and places the widget on the template at the desired location. Furthermore, the publisher may edit the mashup layout by deleting a particular widget from the template and/or adding a new widget to the template.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuen in view of Greenberg of customizing, personalizing, and embedding widgets within messages to apply the teachings of Rouse of deletion of widget and widget templates in order to provide the predictable result of deletion of certain widgets.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to remove unwanted widget information.
Claims 9-11, 20, 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0289428 issued to Yuen et al.(Yuen) in view of US 2022/0129118 issued to Hsu et al.(Hsu).
As per claims 9, 20,22, Yuen teaches an information processing method, comprising: displaying in a display interface of a target session; and displaying at least one component instance comprising a target component instance; wherein the target component instance comprises preset service data(Fig.5,6, [0041] FIGS. 5 and 6 describe a sample scenario to illustrate the mechanisms behind the operations of the instant messaging system with widget customization and embedment support. For illustration purpose, consider a simple scenario where two individuals, Bob and Alice are messaging online, discussing a trip to Tokyo that they are about to take in a couple of days. First, Bob wants to let Alice know the current weather condition in Tokyo and he inputs some text in message compose area 228. Bob then wants to insert a weather widget in order to provide the most current information about the weather and to make the message more fun by having an interesting widget icon in the message. By clicking on the "Insert Widget" button 229, Bob is presented with a widget container 230 which includes a plurality of pre-customized widgets 231 within the widget container 230. Following Bob's selection of the weather widget 232, the weather widget 232 is expanded to a full view 233. Bob uses the widget customization manager to customize the weather widget 234 in order to display the weather in Tokyo, first by entering "Tokyo" in the city input field 234 and then engaging the "Submit" button 235. The 4-day forecasts of Tokyo is retrieved by the widget container and displayed in the widget area 233. Bob then inputs a personal "Yes-No" question for Alice 236. Next, the weather widget is embedded into the instant message that he will send Alice through the widget message adapter. The full view of a widget having been customized by the user includes a cancel button 237 and an insert button 238. The cancel button cancels the process in which the original weather widget 232 was exploded into the full view 233. Upon engaging the insert button 238, the widget may be inserted into a message in the manner illustrated by its icon view 239, which contains real-time retrieved info about the weather in Tokyo associated with a specific date. Bob further adds some comments about the upcoming weather condition in Tokyo 240. So, when Bob sends the message, the adapter contacts the widget server to create a unique widget instance with Bob's customized parameters. The message adapter further uploads the widget content to the remote repository so that the content is downloadable by the recipient.).
Yuen does not explicitly teach a component container.
Hsu explicitly teaches a component container([0002] One class of interactive widgets are “stateful widget containers”, which are interactive widgets that are operable to contain, group, organize, or otherwise manage one or more other interactive widgets “placed” within the stateful widget container. Stateful widget containers are associated with one or more “state view” properties. Each state view of the stateful widget container is associated with a unique state (i.e., a “state view”) of the stateful widget container. Such stateful widget containers may display contained interactive widgets in accordance with a first configuration for a first state view and display the contained interactive widgets in accordance with a second configuration for a second state view).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuen’s teachings of customizing, personalizing, and embedding widgets within messages to include the teaching of Hsu of widget container in order to provide the predictable result of displaying of widgets in a widget container of messages.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to easy access information such as news, clocks, calculators, calendars, desktop notes, and weather(Yuen, para.6).
As per claim 10, Yuen in view of Hsu teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising: generating a component creation instruction according to a component creation operation of a user(Yuen, Figs.5,6, [0028] The widget customization manager module is responsible for defining a common customization method and providing a consistent customization user interface for a user to customize the widgets. As a sample embodiment, the widget customization manager may require all widgets to be implemented as HTML content and to be customizable through replacing certain text regions in the HTML code with different values. In addition, the widget will provide the metadata that allows the widget customization manager to retrieve the name, description, and the valid values of each customizable parameter associated with the widget. In a typical workflow, the widget container module passes a widget of interests to the widget customization manager module. The widget customization manager module takes control of the user interaction by presenting a widget customization window. The widget customization manager module processes the widget's metadata to determine what parameters can be customized, creates the appropriate user interface components dynamically according to the nature of the parameters, and populates the window so that the user can interact to define the customizable parameters. Finally, after the user has finished the customization step, the widget customization manager stores the customized parameter within the widget and passes the widget to the widget message adapter module); wherein the component creation operation is configured to create a target component of the target session, and the component creation instruction comprises identifier information of service data and identifier information of the target session(Yuen, [0029] The widget message adapter module is used to allow easy extension of any instant message systems so that is supports widgets. The widget message adapter module is responsible for converting widgets into data that can be inserted into an instant message and converting the embedded data back to a widget data format that a widget player can process and display. Different implementations of the widget message adapter can be defined so that the invention can operate on top of different instant messaging networks. As a sample embodiment of the interaction of the widget message adapter module with text-based instant message networks, the widget message adapter module is responsible for converting widgets to and from text strings. In the sending work flow, the widget message adapter module first processes the customized widget to be sent by saving the widget to a repository that can be retrieved by the recipient. It then creates a widget text string containing the necessary retrieval URL information and inserts the text string into the instant message. In addition, the widget text string contains a unique tag that wraps around the URL so that a widget-aware instant messaging application knows that this particular substring represents a widget. To create the retrieval URL, the widget adapter module passes the widget to the widget container to store the customized widget to a public remote repository. The URL can then be constructed based on the URL of the public remote repository and the identifier of the widget saved within the repository.);sending the component creation instruction to a service data server, so that the service data server generates a target component creation request according to the component creation instruction and sends the target component creation request to a session server, so that the session server creates the target component(Yuen, Figs.5,6, [0041] FIGS. 5 and 6 describe a sample scenario to illustrate the mechanisms behind the operations of the instant messaging system with widget customization and embedment support. For illustration purpose, consider a simple scenario where two individuals, Bob and Alice are messaging online, discussing a trip to Tokyo that they are about to take in a couple of days. First, Bob wants to let Alice know the current weather condition in Tokyo and he inputs some text in message compose area 228. Bob then wants to insert a weather widget in order to provide the most current information about the weather and to make the message more fun by having an interesting widget icon in the message. By clicking on the "Insert Widget" button 229, Bob is presented with a widget container 230 which includes a plurality of pre-customized widgets 231 within the widget container 230. Following Bob's selection of the weather widget 232, the weather widget 232 is expanded to a full view 233. Bob uses the widget customization manager to customize the weather widget 234 in order to display the weather in Tokyo, first by entering "Tokyo" in the city input field 234 and then engaging the "Submit" button 235. The 4-day forecasts of Tokyo is retrieved by the widget container and displayed in the widget area 233. Bob then inputs a personal "Yes-No" question for Alice 236. Next, the weather widget is embedded into the instant message that he will send Alice through the widget message adapter. The full view of a widget having been customized by the user includes a cancel button 237 and an insert button 238. The cancel button cancels the process in which the original weather widget 232 was exploded into the full view 233. Upon engaging the insert button 238, the widget may be inserted into a message in the manner illustrated by its icon view 239, which contains real-time retrieved info about the weather in Tokyo associated with a specific date. Bob further adds some comments about the upcoming weather condition in Tokyo 240. So, when Bob sends the message, the adapter contacts the widget server to create a unique widget instance with Bob's customized parameters. The message adapter further uploads the widget content to the remote repository so that the content is downloadable by the recipient); and receiving the target component instance sent by the session server(Yuen, Figs.5,6;[0041]), and displaying the target component instance in the display interface of the target session, wherein the target component instance is generated from service data acquired by the session server(Yuen, Figs.5,6;[0041]).
As per claim 11, Yuen in view of Hsu teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising: receiving a preview identifier of a target component sent by a session server, wherein the preview identifier is generated by the session server when the session server creates the target component(Yuen, Fig.5,6,[0041]); in response to detecting that there is no local component instance matched with the preview identifier, sending a request for acquiring a component instance to the session server, and receiving the component instance sent by the session server, binding the component instance with the target component, and generating the target component instance; or in response to detecting that there is a local component instance matched with the preview identifier, binding the component instance with the target component, and generating the target component instance(Yuen, Figs.5,6, [0041] FIGS. 5 and 6 describe a sample scenario to illustrate the mechanisms behind the operations of the instant messaging system with widget customization and embedment support. For illustration purpose, consider a simple scenario where two individuals, Bob and Alice are messaging online, discussing a trip to Tokyo that they are about to take in a couple of days. First, Bob wants to let Alice know the current weather condition in Tokyo and he inputs some text in message compose area 228. Bob then wants to insert a weather widget in order to provide the most current information about the weather and to make the message more fun by having an interesting widget icon in the message. By clicking on the "Insert Widget" button 229, Bob is presented with a widget container 230 which includes a plurality of pre-customized widgets 231 within the widget container 230. Following Bob's selection of the weather widget 232, the weather widget 232 is expanded to a full view 233. Bob uses the widget customization manager to customize the weather widget 234 in order to display the weather in Tokyo, first by entering "Tokyo" in the city input field 234 and then engaging the "Submit" button 235. The 4-day forecasts of Tokyo is retrieved by the widget container and displayed in the widget area 233. Bob then inputs a personal "Yes-No" question for Alice 236. Next, the weather widget is embedded into the instant message that he will send Alice through the widget message adapter. The full view of a widget having been customized by the user includes a cancel button 237 and an insert button 238. The cancel button cancels the process in which the original weather widget 232 was exploded into the full view 233. Upon engaging the insert button 238, the widget may be inserted into a message in the manner illustrated by its icon view 239, which contains real-time retrieved info about the weather in Tokyo associated with a specific date. Bob further adds some comments about the upcoming weather condition in Tokyo 240. So, when Bob sends the message, the adapter contacts the widget server to create a unique widget instance with Bob's customized parameters. The message adapter further uploads the widget content to the remote repository so that the content is downloadable by the recipient);
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0289428 issued to Yuen et al.(Yuen) in view of US 2022/0129118 issued to Hsu et al.(Hsu) in view of US 2011/0296476 issued to Rouse.
As per claim 12, Yuen in view of Hsu teaches the method according to claim 9, however does not explicitly teach in response to receiving an instruction for deleting a component sent by a user in the display interface of the target session, sending component deletion information for deleting the component indicated by the instruction to a session server; and locally deleting stored information of the component by Rouse, [0100] Further, in various embodiments, the publisher can access a widget platform through the configuration tool module 500. Thus, in these particular embodiments, the publisher designs the mashup by selecting widgets and placing the widgets on the template. For example, the widgets may include boxes for displaying text, graphics, video, or audio, buttons for initiating actions such as retrieving content, tools for making various kinds of selections such as drop-down menus and scrolling lists. Thus, the publisher selects a particular widget and places the widget on the template at the desired location. Furthermore, the publisher may edit the mashup layout by deleting a particular widget from the template and/or adding a new widget to the template.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuen in view of Hsu of customizing, personalizing, and embedding widgets within messages to apply the teachings of Rouse of deletion of widget and widget templates in order to provide the predictable result of deletion of certain widgets.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to remove unwanted widget information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
US 2008/0034314 issued to Louch et al, teaches a dashboard manager can be used to create, manage and deploy dashboards. Each dashboard can include one or more user interface elements ("widgets"). The dashboard manager can be invoked for providing a variety of management functions. In another aspect, dashboards, widgets and other content can be bundled together and distributed to users over a distribution channel. Users can created custom bundles using a tool that is provided for such purpose.
US 2018/0024713 issued to Mahmood et al., teaches the interface is configured to receive widget information. A processor is configured to determine display information based at least in part on the widget information and display system information. Determining display information comprises determining a first subset of widget information to not display, determining a second subset of widget information to modify, and determining a third subset of widget information to display.
US 2006/0031404 issued to Kassab teaches inserting content into a web page and providing the modified web page to a web browser. A request for a web page is intercepted and redirected to a web page processing agent, which fetches the requested web content. A new web page is generated that includes the requested web content and inserted content provided from another source, such as from an ISP. The inserted content is presented in a dedicated screen area. The new web page may include a first frame comprising the inserted content and a second frame including the requested web content, such that the end user can scroll the web content without affecting the inserted content.
/BACKHEAN TIV/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2459