DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hesse et al. (DE 102004010597 A1), henceforth Hesse.
Regarding claim 1, Hesse discloses
an automobile sunroof sunshade curtain structure (roof cover 1, Fig. 1),
comprising a first light- transmitting layer (upper cover part 19, Fig. 2),
a frame assembly (frame-like enclosing part 3, Fig. 1) comprising two guide rails (not shown, but Paragraph [0017] discloses that they run under strip-shaped shades 18 which can be seen in Fig. 1) symmetrically provided below left and right sides of the first light-transmitting layer (upper cover part 19, Fig. 2),
and a sunshade curtain assembly (roller blind unit 7, Fig. 1),
wherein the structure further comprises a second light-transmitting layer (lower cover part 20, Fig. 2) provided below the first light-transmitting layer (upper cover part 19, Fig. 2) to form a hollow layer (cavity 21, Fig. 2) between the two layers (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 2 below),
and a curtain fabric (roller blind 9, Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027] of the provided English Translation PDF discloses that fabric is an available material for use in the roller blind 9) of the sunshade curtain assembly (roller blind arrangement 5, Fig. 1) is located in the hollow layer (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 2 below).
Figure 2 from Hesse
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (DE 102004010597 A1), henceforth Hesse, in view of Wu et al. (CN 214523304 U), henceforth Wu.
Regarding claim 7, Hesse discloses all the limitations of the claim but does not further disclose
a light-emitting portion electrically connected to a power supply, wherein the light-emitting portion is disposed below the first light-transmitting layer and coordinates with the second light-transmitting layer and/or the curtain fabric to form a light- emitting pattern.
Wu teaches a similar vehicle sunroof sunshade structure that discloses the missing limitation
a light-emitting portion (lighting mechanism 40, Fig. 3) electrically connected to a power supply (Paragraph [0039] of the provided English Translation PDF),
wherein the light-emitting portion (lighting mechanism 40, Fig. 3) is disposed below the first light-transmitting layer (large glass 10, Fig. 1) and coordinates with the second light-transmitting layer (PC glass 30, Fig. 1) and/or the curtain fabric (starry film 20, Fig. 2) to form a light-emitting pattern (Paragraphs [0036] and [0039] of the provided English Translation PDF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roof cover of Hesse to include a light emitting portion as taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have made these modifications in order to provide an aesthetically pleasing lighting design on a roof cover that requires little difficulty in installation and production (Wu; Paragraph [0022] of the provided English translation PDF).
Regarding claim 8, Hesse, as modified by Wu, discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
wherein multiple pattern portions (Wu; pattern surface of the starry sky film 20, Paragraph [0036] of the provided English Translation PDF) are provided on an upper surface of the second light-transmitting layer (Wu; PC glass 30, Fig. 1; Paragraph [0036] of the provided English Translation PDF),
and light emitted by the light-emitting portion (Wu; lighting mechanism 40, Fig. 3) enters and propagates through the second light-transmitting layer, then is refracted or scattered by the pattern portions (Wu; pattern surface of the starry sky film 20, Paragraph [0036] of the provided English Translation PDF) before being emitted from a lower surface of the second light-transmitting layer (Wu; Paragraph [0036] of the provided English Translation PDF discloses the lighting mechanism 40 is disposed on the sides of the PC glass 30, and given that the starry sky film 20 is provided on the upper surface of the PC glass 30, the light from the lighting mechanism 40 lights up through the PC glass 30 and the starry sky film 20 and creates a pattern for the user to observe).
Regarding claim 11, Hesse, as modified by Wu, discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
wherein the light-emitting portion (Wu; lighting mechanism 40, Fig. 3) includes a light holder (Wu; as shown in annotated Fig. 4 below circled in green) and a light bar (Wu; LED light strips 41, Fig. 4) connected to the power supply through the light holder (Wu; as can be seen in annotated Fig. 4 below where the power supply connection line 43 connects to the LED light strips 41 through the light holder),
both of which are disposed in an assembly space between the guide rails and the first light-transmitting layer (Hesse; assembly space as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above; the modified structure would have the light-emitting portion in between the guide rails and below the first light-transmitting layer),
and the assembly space (Hesse; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above) is in communication with the hollow layer (Hesse; annotated Fig. 2 shows the assembly space is in between the layers, which is where the cavity 21 is).
Figure 4 from Wu
Regarding claim 12, Hesse, as modified by Wu, discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
wherein light emitted by the light bar (Wu; LED light strips 41, Fig. 4) enters the second light-transmitting layer (Wu; PC glass 30, Fig. 3) through a left or right end surface of the second light-transmitting layer (Wu; Paragraph [0039] of the provided English Translation PDF details that the LED light strips 41 are located around the PC glass 30, thus it would emit light on a left/right end surface of the PC glass 30).
Regarding claim 13, Hesse, as modified by Wu, discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
wherein the light bar (Wu; LED light strips 41, Fig. 4) extends along a length direction of the second light-transmitting layer (Wu; PC glass 30, Fig. 3) with a length approximately equal to that of the second light-transmitting layer (Wu; Fig. 3 does not directly show the length of the LED light strips themselves relative to the PC glass 30, but the whole lighting mechanism 40 appears to be roughly the same length as the PC glass 30, and from annotated Fig. 4 above it can be seen that the LED light strip consists of most of that length, thus the LED light strips are approximately equal in length to the PC glass 30).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (DE 102004010597 A1), henceforth Hesse, in view of Wu et al. (CN 214523304 U), henceforth Wu, and further in view of Lin et al. (CN 205697099 U), henceforth Lin.
Regarding claim 10, Hesse, as modified by Wu, discloses all the limitations of the claim but does not directly disclose
wherein the curtain fabric (31) includes multiple optical fibers (8) extending along a front-rear direction of the second light- transmitting layer (12), and light emitted by the light-emitting portion enters the optical fibers (8) through an end portion of the optical fibers (8).
Lin discloses a luminous cloth curtain which teaches this missing limitation
wherein the curtain fabric (light curtain 20, Fig. 2) includes multiple optical fibers (light guide fibers, not shown) extending along a front-rear direction of the second light- transmitting layer (as can be seen in Fig. 1; Paragraph [0037] of the provided English Translation PDF),
and light emitted by the light-emitting portion (light emitting element 40, Fig. 2) enters the optical fibers (light guide fibers, not shown) through an end portion of the optical fibers (as can be seen in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller blind of Hesse, as modified by Wu, to have multiple light guiding fibers extending through it, as taught by Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have made these modifications in order to guide and diffuse light in the curtain while providing the capability for design customization (Lin; Paragraph [0015] of the provided English Translation PDF).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (DE 102004010597 A1), henceforth Hesse, in view of Wu et al. (CN 214523304 U), henceforth Wu, and Lin et al. (CN 205697099 U), henceforth Lin, and further in view of Albert (FR 2897634 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Hesse, as modified by Wu and further modified by Lin, discloses all the limitations of the claim but does not disclose specifically
wherein the curtain fabric (31) further includes multiple weft threads (311) and multiple warp threads (312) extending in a left-right direction and a front-rear direction of the second light-transmitting layer (12), respectively.
Albert discloses a fabric curtain device for a vehicle which teaches this missing limitation
wherein the curtain fabric (fabric 10, Fig. 1) further includes multiple weft threads (weft threads 13, Fig. 3) and multiple warp threads (warp threads 12, Fig. 3) extending in a left-right direction and a front-rear direction of the second light-transmitting layer, respectively (as can be seen in Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller blind of Hesse, as modified by Wu and Lin, to consist of multiple weft and warp threads with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have made these modifications in order to improve elasticity from both transverse and longitudinal stresses (Albert; Pg. 7, first paragraph of the provided English Translation PDF).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 2-6 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitation of front or rear side of the second light-transmitting layer (12) is connected to the first light-transmitting layer (11), and the opposite side is provided with an opening (141) for the curtain fabric (31) to enter the hollow layer (14). Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Hesse et al. (DE 102004010597 A1), henceforth Hesse, which teaches all the limitations of the claim, including the opening for the curtain fabric, but does not teach on the opposing end that the 2 layers are connected to each other, instead the 2 layers are connected to each other on left and right sides only. These deficiencies in Hesse are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 9 and 14 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitation of the light-emitting portion including a transparent display screen. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Hesse et al. (DE 102004010597 A1), henceforth Hesse, modified by Wu et al. (CN 214523304 U), henceforth Wu, which teaches all the limitations of the claim, but does not teach having a transparent display screen provided within such structure. These deficiencies in Hesse, as modified by Wu, are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 16-18 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitation of the curtain fabric (31) includes a region A, a region B, and a region C, wherein the region A includes only the optical fibers (8), the region B includes both optical fibers (8) and warp threads (312), while the region C includes optical fibers (8), warp threads (312), and weft threads (311). Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Hesse et al. (DE 102004010597 A1), henceforth Hesse, modified by Wu et al. (CN 214523304 U), henceforth Wu, and Lin et al. (CN 205697099 U), henceforth Lin, and further modified by Albert (FR 2897634 A1), which teaches all the limitations of the claim, but does not teach these regions with specific combinations of fibers that constitute each region. These deficiencies in Hesse, as modified by Wu and Lin, and further modified by Albert, are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 19-20 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitation of an outer side of the curtain fabric that is wrapped with an optical fiber sheath (9). Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Hesse et al. (DE 102004010597 A1), henceforth Hesse, modified by Wu et al. (CN 214523304 U), henceforth Wu, and Lin et al. (CN 205697099 U), henceforth Lin, which teaches all the limitations of the claim, but does not teach the curtain fabric being wrapped by an optical fiber sheath. These deficiencies in Hesse, as modified by Wu and Lin, are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited but not relied upon disclose similar sunroof sunshade curtain assemblies, but are generally missing the transmitting layers.
/D.G.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
October 20, 2026