DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1-20, as filed 02/27/2025, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority is generally acknowledged to PCT/EP2023/074702 (09/08/2023) and 63/405,536 (09/12/2022).
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 1 recites “the plurality of patient records for the plurality of patients” which should read “a plurality of patient records for a plurality of patients.” Claim 9 uses the term “a clinical feature database” twice; the second one should read “the clinical feature database.” Claim 16 recites “the patient records database, the plurality of patient records for the plurality of patients,” but this should read “a patient records database, a plurality of patient records for a plurality of patients.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture which recite:
1. A method for generating a modified patient cohort from a patient records database, the method comprising:
receiving, from the patient records database, the plurality of patient records for the plurality of patients; (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, mere data-gathering)
retrieving, from a clinical feature database, a predetermined plurality of features for a clinical diagnosis, condition, or disease, wherein the clinical feature database comprises a predetermined plurality of features for each of a plurality of clinical diagnoses, conditions, or diseases; (abstract idea – mental process because a person can look up the variables listed for a condition; the retrieving from a database is insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, mere data-gathering)
extracting, using the predetermined plurality of features for the clinical diagnosis, condition, or disease, clinical features from at least one of the plurality of patient records for the plurality of patients to generate a clinical feature dataset for a first time period; (abstract idea – mental process because a person can abstract the listed variables from patient charts for a study period)
generating a feature value table in memory comprising the extracted clinical feature dataset; (abstract idea – mental process because a person can create a table with pen and paper; to the extent that the memory is non-abstract, it amounts to merely applying the abstract idea with a computer)
identifying, in response to a user request for a patient cohort based on one of the plurality of clinical diagnoses, conditions, or diseases, a first patient cohort from the feature value table for a predetermined time period, wherein the predetermined time period is some or all of the first time period, and wherein the first patient cohort is a subset of the plurality of patients in the feature value table; (abstract idea – mental process because a person can pick from patients from the table with a particular diagnosis and time window)
providing, via a user interface, the first patient cohort to the user; (additional element – applying the abstract idea with a computer; insignificant extra solution activity, namely, outputting data)
receiving a modification request from the user to modify the first patient cohort, (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, mere data-gathering)
wherein the modification comprises a modification of one or more of: (i) patients in the first patient cohort;(ii) the predetermined time period; and (iii) the predetermined plurality of features for the clinical diagnosis, condition, or disease; (abstract idea – mental process)
modifying, based on the received modification request and without additional extraction of clinical features, the first patient cohort to generate the modified patient cohort; (abstract idea – mental process because a person can filter and re-filter a table to revise a patient list without returning to the patient charts) and
providing, via the user interface, the modified patient cohort to the user (additional element – applying the abstract idea with a computer; insignificant extra solution activity, namely, outputting data).
Claim 1 is presented as an exemplary claim but the same analysis applies to the other claims 9 and 16.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes because the italicized portions are analogous to work a clinical research coordinator would perform when conducting chart review. For example, but for “in memory” or “via a user interface”, looking up variables listed for a condition, abstracting those variables from charts into a table, picking out the patients with a particular diagnosis during a time window, and revising that list from the table when the investigator asks for a different time window, different patients, or different variables are steps that a human could perform by printing variables, extracting charts on paper, and analyzing requests mentally.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims. For example, claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 17, and 18 specify what the table and cohorts contain, claims 4-7, 12-15, 19, and 20 specify how the cohort is changed, and claim 8 specifies the time period.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. For example, the feature value table “in memory”, the “user interface”, and “the processor” of claim 9 and “non-transitory computer readable medium” in claim 16 amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see applicant’s specification [0074], see MPEP 2106.05(f).
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, receiving/retrieving the patient records and features from databases and receiving modification requests amount to mere data gathering, and providing cohort data via the user interface amounts to mere data output, see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter consistent with the additional limitations of the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields. For example, receiving the patient records, retrieving features, receiving a modification request, and providing modified patient cohorts via the user interface (see specification [0050]) amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i). Holding the feature table in memory amounts to storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv).
As discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two, the dependent claims add only invocations of computers as tools to perform the abstract idea and subject matter consistent with the additional elements of the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US20200057767A1) in view of Burton (US10585916B1).
Regarding claim 1, Shah discloses: A method for generating a modified patient cohort from a patient records database (“for the analysis of patient medical data to enable the immediate identification of patient cohorts for research purposes,” [0060]), the method comprising:
--receiving, from the patient records database, the plurality of patient records for the plurality of patients (“the database may be created by extracting data from a variety of sources 205, including electronic health records (EHRs),” [0061);
--extracting, (“The process extracts 1105 data from various sources into the system schema,” [0124]; “structure the data objects to organize data values in relation to their corresponding time values,” [0045]). Shah’s data that is organized along each patient’s time values is a clinical feature dataset for a first time period consistent with the instant specification in [0043];
--generating a feature value table in memory comprising the extracted clinical feature dataset (“a set of patient objects for objects 1 through M are stored in the RAM memory 310 of the system 305,” [0063]). Shah’s data objects are a feature value table consistent with the instant specification in [0045];
--identifying, in response to a user request for a patient cohort based on one of the plurality of clinical diagnoses, conditions, or diseases, a first patient cohort from the feature value table for a predetermined time period, wherein the predetermined time period is some or all of the first time period, and wherein the first patient cohort is a subset of the plurality of patients in the feature value table (“FIG. 16 illustrates a user entering the ICD9 code for diabetes, which populates a list of possible queries from which the user may select,” [0136]; “facilitate queries that specify any of a variety of time and space constraints on the data,” [0045]; “the data index for ICD 1234 may specify a set of patient objects, and the ethnicity of these patient objects,” [0133]);
--providing, via a user interface, the first patient cohort to the user (“FIG. 15 illustrates the user interface, which includes an area to type a query along with some statistics regarding the size of the patient cohort, gender, race, and age,” [0136]);
--receiving a modification request from the user to modify the first patient cohort, wherein the modification comprises a modification of one or more of: (i) patients in the first patient cohort;(ii) the predetermined time period; and (iii) the predetermined plurality of features for the clinical diagnosis, condition, or disease (“FIG. 18 illustrates that the user has specified a particular time constraint on this data,” [0136]);
--modifying, based on the received modification request and(“which further refines the set of patients that have been selected for the particular query,” [0136]); and
--providing, via the user interface, the modified patient cohort to the user (“The system has now identified 559 patients as satisfying the query criteria,” [0136]).
Shah does not expressly disclose but Burton teaches:
--retrieving, from a clinical feature database, a predetermined plurality of features for a clinical diagnosis, condition, or disease, wherein the clinical feature database comprises a predetermined plurality of features for each of a plurality of clinical diagnoses, conditions, or diseases (“the KIT can be used to identify or define the cohort for a SAM starter set and to select criteria from a KA(s) to be tracked,” col. 5 lines 3-5; FIG. 7; “Examples of SAMs 612 can include heart failure, pregnancy, sepsis, CLABSI, asthma, appendectomy, OR workflow, and the like,” col. 15 lines 8-10; FIG. 34);
--using the predetermined plurality of features for the clinical diagnosis, condition, or disease (“A SAM's data extraction routines can be based on certain treatment criteria selected from the KA(s) utilized to create that SAM,” col. 10 lines 25-29; FIG. 4 block 404);
--without additional extraction of clinical features (“if the definition for a cohort is changed, data doesn't need to be pulled from a source mart, but can be pulled from the pre-cohort table instead,” col. 16 lines 54-57; FIG. 36 step 3610).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Shah’s in-memory patient cohort identification to include the knowledge-asset extraction criteria and pre-cohort table of Burton because this would improve usability by allowing each condition’s criteria “to be tracked as key indicators” (Burton col. 4 lines 60-61) and by making cohort changes easier since a defined pre-cohort “allows for easier amendments” (Burton col. 16 lines 53-54).
Additionally, each element is taught by either Shah or Burton. The Knowledge-asset extraction criteria and pre-cohort table of Burton does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Shah. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Shah with the teachings of Burton since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Shah further discloses: wherein the feature value table comprises, for each of a plurality of patients, a patient identification and a feature value (“the memory index may contain a list of patient object identifiers and the corresponding memory location of the particular patient object,” [0127]; “corresponding measurement value 1 and measurement time 1 through measurement value n and measurement time n,” [0118]).
Shah does not expressly disclose but Burton teaches: for some or all of the predetermined plurality of features for the clinical diagnosis, condition, or disease (“A SAM's data extraction routines can be based on certain treatment criteria selected from the KA(s) utilized to create that SAM,” col. 10 lines 25-27). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Shah further discloses: wherein the first patient cohort and the modified patient cohort comprises a list of patients each identified by a patient ID (“When generating the list of PIDs in the export,” [0760]; “Returns patients with the specified patient IDs,” [0197]).
Shah does not expressly disclose but Burton teaches: for each patient, a feature value for each of the predetermined plurality of features (“the metric summary table is a table that joins all of the metric tables with the cohort table, to deliver a single table with all of the data present for the SAM,” col. 18 lines 25-27). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Shah further discloses: wherein the modified patient cohort comprises more patients compared to the first patient cohort (“Returns list of patients added from both cohorts,” [0775]). Shah’s MERGE operation adds the patients of a second cohort to the first cohort.
Regarding claim 5, Shah further discloses: wherein the modified patient cohort comprises one or more additional features compared to the first patient cohort (“FIG. 20 illustrates the user further defining the query to include certain lab value (e.g., “A1C”, “high”) as well as using the variable $dm,” [0136]).
Regarding claim 6, Shah further discloses: wherein the modified patient cohort comprises a longer or shorter time period compared to the first patient cohort (“FIG. 18 illustrates that the user has specified a particular time constraint on this data, which further refines the set of patients that have been selected for the particular query,” [0136]).
Regarding claim 7, Shah further discloses: wherein the modification request received from the user comprises an identification of a feature (“FIG. 20 illustrates the user further defining the query to include certain lab value (e.g., “A1C”, “high”) as well as using the variable $dm,” [0136]).
Shah does not expressly disclose but Burton teaches: not originally listed in the predetermined plurality of features for the clinical diagnosis, condition, or disease (“the pre-cohort established from medical literature can be altered to create the pre-cohort defined by the user,” col. 16 lines 62-64). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Shah further discloses: wherein the predetermined time period is a time period before onset of a clinical condition (“an interval from the beginning of the patient's time line to the development of X,” [0688]).
Claims 9-20 are substantially similar to claims 1-8 and are rejected with the same reasoning. The Examiner notes that Shah further discloses “a processor, and memory containing software, where the software directs the processor” in [0003] and a “hard disk” in [0063].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ryu (US20240371527A1) teaches regenerating a cohort after a criteria change from stored history tables rather than the clinical data warehouse ([0053]).
Woods (US20210374142A1) teaches intermediate per-patient data objects from which a variable can be calculated “for any subset of patients, using diagnoses information from any measurement period” ([0097]).
Rassen (US20150142821A1) teaches precomputed patient event histories and a query builder that evaluates cohort definitions ([0066]).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624