DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 9, 15, and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the front side” should read “a front side”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein at least one the first sublayer and the second sublayer is subdivided according to a pattern wherein more material of the respective sublayer” should read “wherein at least one of the first sublayer and the second sublayer is subdivided according to a pattern, wherein more material of respective sublayer”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “The method according to the claim 14” should read “The method according to claim 14”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “providing more material at positions” should read “providing more material of respective sublayers”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the front layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the second thickness" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morimoto et al. (US 2020/0253584).
Regarding claim 1, Morimoto teaches an acoustic device comprising a sheet, wherein the sheet comprises (para. 0049; an ultrasonic transducer, a diagnostic ultrasonic probe, a surgical instrument, a sheet-type ultrasonic probe, and an electronic apparatus by which both of favorable reflection characteristics and suppression of reverberation at low cost can be achieved.):
a contact surface for contacting a medium and transceiving acoustic signals via the contact surface (fig. 2, element 108, para. 0092; The acoustic lens 108 is held in contact with the object to be imaged and converges ultrasonic waves generated in the piezoelectric layer 101. The acoustic lens 108 is formed of a silicone rubber and/or the like, for example.);
a piezoelectric layer comprising piezoelectric material configured to transduce the acoustic signals via the contact surface (fig. 2, element 101, para. 0084; The piezoelectric layer 101 is a piezoelectric material such as lead zirconate titanate (PZT: acoustic impedance to 30 MRayls). The piezoelectric layer 101 is provided between the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102. When voltage is applied between the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102, the piezoelectric layer 101 generates vibration due to the inverse piezoelectric effect and generates ultrasonic waves.); and
a backing layer acoustically interconnected to a backside of the piezoelectric layer, opposite the contact surface, wherein the backing layer comprises (fig2, elements 104 and 105, paras. 0086-0087 and 0089; A flexible wiring board 111 including a signal wire to be connected to the lower electrode layer 103 is provided between the lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic attenuation layer 104. The acoustic attenuation layer 104 is a layer that absorbs and attenuates ultrasonic waves radiated from the piezoelectric layer 101. The acoustic reflection layer 105 reflects ultrasonic waves emitted from the piezoelectric layer 101 and passing through the acoustic attenuation layer 104.):
a first sublayer comprising a first material having a Young's modulus less than that of the piezoelectric material (paras. 0087-0088; The acoustic attenuation layer 104 is a layer that absorbs and attenuates ultrasonic waves radiated from the piezoelectric layer 101. Hereinafter, the material of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 will be referred to as an acoustic attenuation material. The acoustic attenuation material is a material having an acoustic impedance lower than that of the piezoelectric material that constitutes the piezoelectric layer 101. A composite material having a resin material or a resin as a main material and including at least any of an organic compound, an inorganic compound, or a metal material can be used as the acoustic attenuation material. For example, polyurethane (acoustic impedance: 5 MRayls). The examiner notes that the young’s modulus of polyurethane is in the range of 1-4GPa while PZT young’s modulus is in the range of 60-100 GPa, which is higher than polyurethane.); and
a second sublayer comprising a second material having a density higher than that of the first material (paras. 0089-0090; The acoustic reflection layer 105 reflects ultrasonic waves emitted from the piezoelectric layer 101 and passing through the acoustic attenuation layer 104. Hereinafter, the material of the acoustic reflection layer 105 will be referred to as an acoustic reflection material. The acoustic reflection material has an acoustic impedance higher than that of the acoustic attenuation material. Metal, an inorganic compound, or a composite material including metal and an inorganic compound can be used as the acoustic reflection material. Regarding metal, stainless steel (acoustic impedance: 47 MRayls), tungsten (101 MRayls), molybdenum (64 MRayls), copper (41 MRayls), gold (62 MRayls), nickel (50 MRayls), titanium (68 MRayls), a tin plate (37 MRayls), and/or the like can be used, for example. The examiner notes that metal material has higher density than polyurethane.), and
wherein at least a portion of the first material is arranged between the second material and the piezoelectric material (fig. 2, para. 0081; the ultrasonic transducer 100 includes a piezoelectric layer 101, an upper electrode layer 102, a lower electrode layer 103, an acoustic attenuation layer 104, an acoustic reflection layer 105, a first acoustic matching layer 106, a second acoustic matching layer 107, and an acoustic lens 108.).
Regarding claim 4, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 1, wherein the sheet comprises a front layer, between the piezoelectric layer and the front side of the acoustic device including the contact surface, and wherein the front layer has a third thickness that is smaller than the second thickness of the backing layer (para. 0092; The acoustic lens 108 is held in contact with the object to be imaged and converges ultrasonic waves generated in the piezoelectric layer 101. The acoustic lens 108 is formed of a silicone rubber and/or the like, for example. The size and shape of the acoustic lens 108 are not particularly limited. Examiner notes that the size of the front layer/lens is not limited and can be thinner than the backing layer).
Regarding claim 5, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric layer is a structured piezoelectric layer with subdivided elements of piezoelectric material forming respective acoustic transducers (para. 0083; Each of them constitutes vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap).
Regarding claim 6, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 5, wherein the piezoelectric layer comprises piezoelectric material forming an array of pillars configured to transceive acoustic signals via a frontside of the device; and least one of a backside piezoelectric layer or a frontside piezoelectric layer, wherein the array of pillars is integrally formed with the backside piezoelectric layer and/or the frontside piezoelectric layer (fig. 2, paras. 0083-0086; Each of them constitutes vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap. The piezoelectric layer 101 is a piezoelectric material such as lead zirconate titanate (PZT: acoustic impedance to 30 MRayls). The piezoelectric layer 101 is provided between the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102. When voltage is applied between the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102, the piezoelectric layer 101 generates vibration due to the inverse piezoelectric effect and generates ultrasonic waves. The examiner notes that the piezoelectric layer is subdivided into an array of pillars and the piezoelectric layer is a front side piezoelectric layer).
Regarding claim 7, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 1, wherein the second sublayer comprises subdivided areas of the second material (para. 0187; a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150. The lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are connected with wires 110 that penetrate the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 functions as electrodes of the vibrator elements 150.).
Regarding claim 8, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 7, wherein the first sublayer comprises subdivided areas of the first material (para. 0187; a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150. The lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are connected with wires 110 that penetrate the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 functions as electrodes of the vibrator elements 150.).
Regarding claim 9, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 8, wherein at least one the first sublayer and the second sublayer is subdivided according to a pattern wherein more material of the respective sublayer is provided at positions corresponding to positions of the piezoelectric layer where respective transducers are formed (para. 0187; a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150. The lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are connected with wires 110 that penetrate the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 functions as electrodes of the vibrator elements 150.).
Regarding claim 10, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 7, wherein the second sublayer comprises isolated areas of the second material without material there between (paras. 0083 and 0187; a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150. The lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are connected with wires 110 that penetrate the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 functions as electrodes of the vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap. The examiner notes that the sublayers are also divided along with the piezoelectric layer to provide vibrator elements spaced apart by a gap. Thus, the second sublayers comprises gaps area of the second material with no material therebetween).
Regarding claim 11, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 8, wherein the first sublayer comprises isolated areas of the first material without material there between (paras. 0083 and 0187; a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150. The lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are connected with wires 110 that penetrate the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 functions as electrodes of the vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap. The examiner notes that the sublayers are also divided along with the piezoelectric layer to provide vibrator elements spaced apart by a gap. Thus, the first sublayers comprises gaps area of the first material with no material therebetween).
Regarding claim 12, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric layer comprises a polymer based piezoelectric material (para. 0084; The piezoelectric layer 101 is a piezoelectric material such as lead zirconate titanate (PZT: acoustic impedance to 30 MRayls).); wherein the first material comprises a polymeric and/or organic material (Para. 0088; A composite material having a resin material or a resin as a main material and including at least any of an organic compound, an inorganic compound, or a metal material can be used as the acoustic attenuation material. For example, polyurethane (acoustic impedance: 5 MRayls), an epoxy resin, a silicone resin, a nylon-based resin, or the like can be used.); and wherein the second material comprises a metal and/or ceramic material (para. 0090; Metal, an inorganic compound, or a composite material including metal and an inorganic compound can be used as the acoustic reflection material. Regarding metal, stainless steel (acoustic impedance: 47 MRayls), tungsten (101 MRayls), molybdenum (64 MRayls), copper (41 MRayls), gold (62 MRayls), nickel (50 MRayls), titanium (68 MRayls), a tin plate (37 MRayls), and/or the like can be used, for example. Regarding ceramics, TiC (42 MRayls), AIN (34 MRayls), SiN (36.2 MRayls), and/or the like can be used, for example.).
Regarding claim 13, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 5, wherein the sheet comprises a two-dimensional array of acoustic transducers that are formed by parts of the piezoelectric layer sandwiched between respective electrode layers (para. 0083; the piezoelectric layer 101, the upper electrode layer 102, the first acoustic matching layer 106, the lower electrode layer 103, and the acoustic attenuation layer 104 are partially separated from each other. Each of them constitutes vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap.).
Regarding claim 14, Morimoto teaches a method of manufacturing an acoustic device comprising a sheet, wherein the sheet comprises(para. 0049; an ultrasonic transducer, a diagnostic ultrasonic probe, a surgical instrument, a sheet-type ultrasonic probe, and an electronic apparatus by which both of favorable reflection characteristics and suppression of reverberation at low cost can be achieved.):
a contact surface for contacting a medium and transceiving acoustic signals via the contact surface (fig. 2, element 108, para. 0092; The acoustic lens 108 is held in contact with the object to be imaged and converges ultrasonic waves generated in the piezoelectric layer 101. The acoustic lens 108 is formed of a silicone rubber and/or the like, for example.);
a piezoelectric layer comprising piezoelectric material configured to transduce the acoustic signals via the contact surface (fig. 2, element 101, para. 0084; The piezoelectric layer 101 is a piezoelectric material such as lead zirconate titanate (PZT: acoustic impedance to 30 MRayls). The piezoelectric layer 101 is provided between the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102. When voltage is applied between the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102, the piezoelectric layer 101 generates vibration due to the inverse piezoelectric effect and generates ultrasonic waves.); and
a backing layer acoustically interconnected to a backside of the piezoelectric layer, opposite the contact surface, wherein the backing layer comprises multiple sublayers (fig2, elements 104 and 105, paras. 0086-0087 and 0089; A flexible wiring board 111 including a signal wire to be connected to the lower electrode layer 103 is provided between the lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic attenuation layer 104. The acoustic attenuation layer 104 is a layer that absorbs and attenuates ultrasonic waves radiated from the piezoelectric layer 101. The acoustic reflection layer 105 reflects ultrasonic waves emitted from the piezoelectric layer 101 and passing through the acoustic attenuation layer 104.):
a first sublayer comprising a first material having a Young's modulus less than that of the piezoelectric material (paras. 0087-0088; The acoustic attenuation layer 104 is a layer that absorbs and attenuates ultrasonic waves radiated from the piezoelectric layer 101. Hereinafter, the material of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 will be referred to as an acoustic attenuation material. The acoustic attenuation material is a material having an acoustic impedance lower than that of the piezoelectric material that constitutes the piezoelectric layer 101. A composite material having a resin material or a resin as a main material and including at least any of an organic compound, an inorganic compound, or a metal material can be used as the acoustic attenuation material. For example, polyurethane (acoustic impedance: 5 MRayls). The examiner notes that the young’s modulus of polyurethane is in the range of 1-4GPa while PZT young’s modulus is in the range of 60-100 GPa, which is higher than polyurethane.); and
a second sublayer comprising a second material having a density higher than that of the first material (paras. 0089-0090; The acoustic reflection layer 105 reflects ultrasonic waves emitted from the piezoelectric layer 101 and passing through the acoustic attenuation layer 104. Hereinafter, the material of the acoustic reflection layer 105 will be referred to as an acoustic reflection material. The acoustic reflection material has an acoustic impedance higher than that of the acoustic attenuation material. Metal, an inorganic compound, or a composite material including metal and an inorganic compound can be used as the acoustic reflection material. Regarding metal, stainless steel (acoustic impedance: 47 MRayls), tungsten (101 MRayls), molybdenum (64 MRayls), copper (41 MRayls), gold (62 MRayls), nickel (50 MRayls), titanium (68 MRayls), a tin plate (37 MRayls), and/or the like can be used, for example. The examiner notes that metal material has higher density than polyurethane.), and
wherein at least a portion of the first material is arranged between the second material and the piezoelectric material (fig. 2, para. 0081; the ultrasonic transducer 100 includes a piezoelectric layer 101, an upper electrode layer 102, a lower electrode layer 103, an acoustic attenuation layer 104, an acoustic reflection layer 105, a first acoustic matching layer 106, a second acoustic matching layer 107, and an acoustic lens 108.);
wherein the method comprising comprises:
calculating one or more performance parameters of acoustic transducers in the sheet as a function of a variable layer thickness and/or pattern of at least one of the multiple sublayers forming the backing layer (paras. 0142-0144; The figure shows sound-pressure comparison of a case where the thickness of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 is a half (0.2 mm) of the wavelength with a case where the thickness of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 is ¼ (0.1 mm) of the wavelength in the ultrasonic transducer 100. In the case where the wavelength is 1/4, the effect at the maximum sound pressure disappeared and the maximum sound pressure lowered at a level equal to or less than that in a case where the acoustic reflection layer 105 is not provided. Further, FIG. 13 is a graph showing frequency characteristics of ultrasonic waves shown in FIG. 12. It can be seen that in the case where the wavelength is ¼ (0.1 mm), only an effect at a level equal to or less than that in a case where the acoustic reflection layer 105 is not provided can be obtained as in the case of the sound pressure. As described above, in a case where the thickness of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 is integer multiple of ½ of the wavelength of ultrasonic waves inside the acoustic attenuation layer 104, enhancement of the transmission sound pressure of ultrasonic waves sent from the ultrasonic transducer 100 and widening of the frequency band are achieved. The examiner notes that calculation of the operation parameters such as the frequency characteristics of the transducers is based on thickness of at least one of the sublayers of the backing layer); and
manufacturing the sheet in according with a layer thickness and/or pattern of the at least one of the multiple sublayers based on the calculated one or more performance parameters (paras. 0144 and 0147-0148; As described above, in a case where the thickness of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 is integer multiple of ½ of the wavelength of ultrasonic waves inside the acoustic attenuation layer 104, enhancement of the transmission sound pressure of ultrasonic waves sent from the ultrasonic transducer 100 and widening of the frequency band are achieved. First of all, as shown in (a) of FIG. 14, the acoustic reflection layer 105 is prepared. Next, as shown in (b) of FIG. 14, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 is arranged on the acoustic reflection layer 105. Subsequently, as shown in (c) of FIG. 14, the piezoelectric layer 101 on which the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102 are deposited is arranged above the acoustic attenuation layer 104. Further, the first acoustic matching layer 106 is arranged on the upper electrode layer 102. The examiner notes that the thickness of ½ wavelength is chosen for manufacturing the transducers based on the calculated frequency characteristics.).
Regarding claim 15, Morimoto teaches the method according to the claim 14, wherein the calculation is constrained by a maximum thickness of the backing layer and/or minimum flexibility of the sheet (paras. 0142-0144; The figure shows sound-pressure comparison of a case where the thickness of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 is a half (0.2 mm) of the wavelength with a case where the thickness of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 is ¼ (0.1 mm) of the wavelength in the ultrasonic transducer 100. The examiner notes that the calculation is constrained by 0.2mm max thickness).
Regarding claim 16, Morimoto teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein manufacturing the sheet comprises: forming a structured piezoelectric layer with subdivided elements of piezoelectric material as respective acoustic transducers (para. 0083; Each of them constitutes vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap.); and forming the piezoelectric material as an array of pillars configured to transduce acoustic signals, wherein the array of pillars is integrally formed with at least one of a backside piezoelectric layer or a frontside piezoelectric layer (fig. 2, paras. 0083-0086; Each of them constitutes vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap. The piezoelectric layer 101 is a piezoelectric material such as lead zirconate titanate (PZT: acoustic impedance to 30 MRayls). The piezoelectric layer 101 is provided between the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102. When voltage is applied between the lower electrode layer 103 and the upper electrode layer 102, the piezoelectric layer 101 generates vibration due to the inverse piezoelectric effect and generates ultrasonic waves. The examiner notes that the piezoelectric layer is subdivided into an array of pillars and the piezoelectric layer is a front side piezoelectric layer).
Regarding claim 17, Morimoto teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein manufacturing the sheet comprises: forming the second sublayer to include subdivided areas of the second material; and forming the first sublayer to include subdivided areas of the first material, wherein at least one of the first sublayer and the second sublayer is subdivided according to a pattern providing more material at positions corresponding to positions of the piezoelectric layer where respective transducers are formed (paras. 0083 and 0187; That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap. FIG. 23 is a cross-sectional view of a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150.).
Regarding claim 20, Morimoto teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein manufacturing the sheet comprises: forming the second sublayer to comprise isolated areas of the second material without material there between (paras. 0083 and 0187; a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150. The lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are connected with wires 110 that penetrate the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 functions as electrodes of the vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap. The examiner notes that the sublayers are also divided along with the piezoelectric layer to provide vibrator elements spaced apart by a gap. Thus, the second sublayers comprises gaps area of the second material with no material therebetween); and forming the first sublayer to comprise isolated areas of the first material without material there between (paras. 0083 and 0187; a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150. The lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are connected with wires 110 that penetrate the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 functions as electrodes of the vibrator elements 150. That is, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is an array of the vibrator elements 150. A space between the respective vibrator elements 150 is filled with a kerf filler 112. Alternatively, the space between the respective vibrator elements 150 may be a gap. The examiner notes that the sublayers are also divided along with the piezoelectric layer to provide vibrator elements spaced apart by a gap. Thus, the first sublayers comprises gaps area of the first material with no material therebetween), wherein the calculation of the one or more performance parameters includes optimizing an arrangement of the isolated areas of both the first material and the second material (paras. 0187-0188; a sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270 including the ultrasonic transducer 100. As shown in the figure, in the sheet-type ultrasonic probe 270, the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are also configured to be divided at a plurality of positions for each vibrator element 150. The lower electrode layer 103 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 are connected with wires 110 that penetrate the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105 functions as electrodes of the vibrator elements 150. In particular, the ultrasonic transducer 100 can be provided with plasticity by dividing the acoustic reflection layer 105. The division of the acoustic reflection layer 105 can be performed by forming a kerf groove that arrives at the acoustic reflection layer 105 when the vibrator elements 150 are divided.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto et al. (US 2020/0253584) in the view of Cheyns et al. (US 2022/0152654).
Regarding claim 2, Morimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 1, wherein the sheet is a flexible sheet, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein thicknesses and materials of all layers forming the sheet are configured to allow bending of the sheet at, or below, a predetermined radius of less than ten centimeters without breaking and/or losing essential functionality.
Cheyns, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein thicknesses and materials of all layers forming the sheet are configured to allow bending of the sheet at, or below, a predetermined radius of less than ten centimeters without breaking and/or losing essential functionality (paras. 0070-0071 and 0106; the multi-layered structure has a bending flexibility such that the flexible ultrasound transducer may be bent with a radius of curvature that is less than 5 cm. The bend radius may be defined when bending in positive or negative Z-direction, i.e. the direction along the main transducing axis. The minimum radius of curvature may be less than 5 cm, such as 1-4 cm. The use of at least one flexible layer, such as incorporating the backplane flexible layer 8, the frontplane flexible layer 9 and/or the top flexible layer 13 in the multilayer structure 2, gives the multi layered structure 2 and the whole flexible ultrasound transducer 1 a flexibility such that it has a bending flexibility such that the flexible ultrasound transducer 1 may be bent with a radius of curvature that is less than 5 cm. this allows for use e.g. when examining curved body parts. Thus, the flexible ultrasound transducer 1 may be wrapped around an arm or a leg, and may further provide for ultrasonic imaging during motion of the object that is being examined, such as during motion of an arm or a leg of a person being examined.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the flexibility of the ultrasound sheet of Morimoto to include a bending flexibility of the ultrasound transducer such that the flexible ultrasound transducer may be bent with a radius of curvature that is less than 5 cm of Cheyns to provide a flexible bendable ultrasound sheet because it allows to conform to different curved bodies to be examined. Thus, the flexible ultrasound transducer may be wrapped around an arm or a leg, and may further provide for ultrasonic imaging during motion of the object that is being examined, such as during motion of an arm or a leg of a person being examined. as disclosed within Cheyns in para. 0106.
Regarding claim 18, Morimoto teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein manufacturing the sheet comprises: selecting a polymer based piezoelectric material for the piezoelectric layer (para. 0084; The piezoelectric layer 101 is a piezoelectric material such as lead zirconate titanate (PZT: acoustic impedance to 30 MRayls).); selecting a polymeric or organic material for the first material (Para. 0088; A composite material having a resin material or a resin as a main material and including at least any of an organic compound, an inorganic compound, or a metal material can be used as the acoustic attenuation material. For example, polyurethane (acoustic impedance: 5 MRayls), an epoxy resin, a silicone resin, a nylon-based resin, or the like can be used.); and selecting a metal or ceramic material for the second material (para. 0090; Metal, an inorganic compound, or a composite material including metal and an inorganic compound can be used as the acoustic reflection material. Regarding metal, stainless steel (acoustic impedance: 47 MRayls), tungsten (101 MRayls), molybdenum (64 MRayls), copper (41 MRayls), gold (62 MRayls), nickel (50 MRayls), titanium (68 MRayls), a tin plate (37 MRayls), and/or the like can be used, for example. Regarding ceramics, TiC (42 MRayls), AIN (34 MRayls), SiN (36.2 MRayls), and/or the like can be used, for example.).
However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the sheet is manufactured to be flexible and configured to bend at, or below, a predetermined radius of less than ten centimeter without breaking and without losing essential functionality.
Cheyns, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the sheet is manufactured to be flexible and configured to bend at, or below, a predetermined radius of less than ten centimeter without breaking and without losing essential functionality (paras. 0070-0071 and 0106; the multi-layered structure has a bending flexibility such that the flexible ultrasound transducer may be bent with a radius of curvature that is less than 5 cm. The bend radius may be defined when bending in positive or negative Z-direction, i.e. the direction along the main transducing axis. The minimum radius of curvature may be less than 5 cm, such as 1-4 cm. The use of at least one flexible layer, such as incorporating the backplane flexible layer 8, the frontplane flexible layer 9 and/or the top flexible layer 13 in the multilayer structure 2, gives the multi layered structure 2 and the whole flexible ultrasound transducer 1 a flexibility such that it has a bending flexibility such that the flexible ultrasound transducer 1 may be bent with a radius of curvature that is less than 5 cm. this allows for use e.g. when examining curved body parts. Thus, the flexible ultrasound transducer 1 may be wrapped around an arm or a leg, and may further provide for ultrasonic imaging during motion of the object that is being examined, such as during motion of an arm or a leg of a person being examined.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the flexibility of the ultrasound sheet of Morimoto to include a bending flexibility of the ultrasound transducer such that the flexible ultrasound transducer may be bent with a radius of curvature that is less than 5 cm of Cheyns to provide a flexible bendable ultrasound sheet because it allows to conform to different curved bodies to be examined. Thus, the flexible ultrasound transducer may be wrapped around an arm or a leg, and may further provide for ultrasonic imaging during motion of the object that is being examined, such as during motion of an arm or a leg of a person being examined. as disclosed within Cheyns in para. 0106.
Claim(s) 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto et al. (US 2020/0253584) in the view of Hong et al. (US 2022/0233887).
Regarding claim 3, Motimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric layer between the front layer and the backing layer has a first thickness (para. 0105-0109; The thickness of the acoustic attenuation layer 104 is favorably integer multiple of ½ of the wavelength of the ultrasonic waves generated in the piezoelectric layer 101, the wavelength being inside the acoustic attenuation layer 104. A total thickness of the backing structure (the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105) is 0.3 mm and a total thickness of the ultrasonic transducer 100 including the backing structure to the acoustic lens 108 is 0.55 mm.), wherein the backing layer between the piezoelectric layer and a backside of the device has a second thickness (para. 0109; A total thickness of the backing structure (the acoustic attenuation layer 104 and the acoustic reflection layer 105) is 0.3 mm and a total thickness of the ultrasonic transducer 100 including the backing structure to the acoustic lens 108 is 0.55 mm.).
However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the second thickness is smaller than the first thickness by at least a factor two.
Hong, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the second thickness is smaller than the first thickness by at least a factor two (paras. 0151, 0182-0183, and 0191; A thickness of the piezoelectric member 500 may be about 600 μm or less. In detail, the thickness of the piezoelectric member 500 may be about 500 μm or less. As an example, the second base layer 620 may include silicon (Si). For example, the second base layer 620 may include silicon or a silicon compound. A thickness of the matching layer may be about 300 μm to about 1 mm. The thickness of the second base layer 620 may be changed depending on the frequency of ultrasonic waves generated from the piezoelectric member 500. The backing layer may be formed with a thickness different from that of the matching layer. In detail, the backing layer may be formed to have a thickness the same as or smaller than that of the matching layer. The examiner notes that the thickeness of the piezoelectric layer is about 600 μm, and the thickness of the backing layer is less than the matching layer which is less than 300 μm. Thus, the backing layer thickness is less than the piezoelectric layer by at least factor 2 <300 μm).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the thickness of the backing layer of Morimoto with the thickness of the backing layer of Hong to provide a backing layer thickness less than the thickness of the piezoelectric layer by at least factor 2 because it allows to minimize the loss of ultrasonic waves generated during transmission by controlling thicknesses of the matching layer and the backing layer and controlling the movement of ultrasonic waves according to the frequency band of the ultrasonic waves generated from the piezoelectric member as disclosed within Hong in para. 0207.
Regarding claim 19, Motimoto teaches the acoustic device according to claim 1, method according to claim 14, wherein manufacturing the sheet comprises: forming a two-dimensional array of acoustic transducers by sandwiching parts of the piezoelectric layer between respective electrode layers (para. 0082; the ultrasonic transducer 100 includes a piezoelectric layer 101, an upper electrode layer 102, a lower electrode layer 103.).
However, fails to explicitly teach forming the backing layer with the second thickness that is smaller than a first thickness of the piezoelectric layer by at least a factor of two.
Hong, in the same field of endeavor, teaches forming the backing layer with the second thickness that is smaller than a first thickness of the piezoelectric layer by at least a factor of two (paras. 0151, 0182-0183, and 0191; A thickness of the piezoelectric member 500 may be about 600 μm or less. In detail, the thickness of the piezoelectric member 500 may be about 500 μm or less. As an example, the second base layer 620 may include silicon (Si). For example, the second base layer 620 may include silicon or a silicon compound. A thickness of the matching layer may be about 300 μm to about 1 mm. The thickness of the second base layer 620 may be changed depending on the frequency of ultrasonic waves generated from the piezoelectric member 500. The backing layer may be formed with a thickness different from that of the matching layer. In detail, the backing layer may be formed to have a thickness the same as or smaller than that of the matching layer. The examiner notes that the thickeness of the piezoelectric layer is about 600 μm, and the thickness of the backing layer is less than the matching layer which is less than 300 μm. Thus, the backing layer thickness is less than the piezoelectric layer by at least factor 2 <300 μm).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the thickness of the backing layer of Morimoto with the thickness of the backing layer of Hong to provide a backing layer thickness less than the thickness of the piezoelectric layer by at least factor 2 because it allows to minimize the loss of ultrasonic waves generated during transmission by controlling thicknesses of the matching layer and the backing layer and controlling the movement of ultrasonic waves according to the frequency band of the ultrasonic waves generated from the piezoelectric member as disclosed within Hong in para. 0207.
Conclusion
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797