DETAILED ACTION
Claims 9-16 are pending. Claims 1-8 have been cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the insulation recited in claims 10-11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 1, “and second part” should be changed to --and a second part--.
In claim 16, line 2, “a first part” should be changed to --the first part--.
In claim 16, line 2, “a second part” should be changed to --the second part--.
In claim 16, line 4, it is suggested that structure to which the first part is “connected” be further clarified.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 and 15 are rejected (wherein claim 12 inherits its rejection due to its dependency) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). As understood, the limitations following “preferably” are not positively recited, so “preferably a vacuum insulation” isn’t positively reciting a vacuum insulation.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the chamber" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, the recitation refers to the chamber making up part of the actuator.
In claim 15, it is unclear what is meant to be recited after “the coupling,” which is understood as being an incomplete limitation because a period is missing. The claim is interpreted in its broadest reasonable interpretation, so the claims is interpreted as simply reciting the coupling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-16 (as understood: 10-13 and 15) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jordan (US 2021/0080038).
Regarding claim 9, Jordan discloses in Figs. 1-47 (looking specifically at Figs. 1-21 for the coupling of the two halves of the coupling) a coupling for liquefied gas comprising a first part 300/3300 and second part 10 to be coupled to each other by insertion of the first part 300/3300 into the second part 10 (Figs. 13-15 and 17), wherein the first part 300/3300 and the second part 10 each comprises an internal liquefied gas conduit to be fluidly connected at a connection point for transfer of liquefied gas through the coupling,
a valve (comprising either the valve 352/3520 in the first part 300/3300, and/or the valve 40 in the second part 10) movable between a first position, in which transfer of liquefied gas through the coupling is blocked (Fig. 13), and a second position, in which transfer of liquefied gas through the coupling is allowed (Fig. 14),
an actuator (comprising pneumatic cylinder 500/3500, shaft 520/3520, and arm 510/3510) for moving the valve between the first and second positions (Figs. 13-14),
wherein, with the first and second parts 300/3300, 10 interconnected, the coupling has a first operating state in which no liquefied gas is transferred though the coupling (Fig. 13) and a second operating state in which liquefied gas is allowed to flow through the coupling (Fig. 14),
wherein
the actuator is provided outside of the internal liquefied gas conduit.
Regarding claim 10, Jordan discloses in Figs. 22-47 an insulation (comprising a portion of “bundle” 3250, such as either the insulation 3258 for the fill hose 3252 or the insulation 3257 for the pneumatic hose 3253 and the electrical conduit 3254, paragraphs 124-125).
Regarding claim 11, Jordan discloses in Figs. 22-47 that the actuator 3500 is provided outside of the insulation (because layer 3258 is only for the fill hose 3252, and/or because the insulation(s) of the bundle 3250, such as layers 3257 and 3258, is only disclosed as insulating hoses – fill hose 3252, pneumatic hose 3253, and electrical conduit 3254 – rather than the cylinder 3500 and the piping 3530 coupling the pneumatic hose 3253 to the cylinder 3500, paragraph 124).
Regarding claim 12, Jordan discloses in Figs. 22-47 the actuator comprises a chamber 3500 for exerting a pressure on a rigid mechanical connection with a displacement piston (which one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize from Figs. 41-42).
Regarding claim 13, Jordan discloses in Figs. 1-47 that the chamber 500/3500 is a pneumatic or hydraulic chamber 500/3500 (paragraphs 70 and 121).
Regarding claim 14, Jordan discloses in Figs. 1-47 that the coupling is for a fluid (abstract), and the specific fluid isn’t seen as having patentable weight (MPEP 2115), but Jordan discloses in Figs. 22-47 that the coupling is for cryogenic liquefied gas (paragraph 123).
Regarding claim 15, Jordan discloses in Figs. 1-47 the coupling.
Regarding claim 16, Jordan discloses in Figs. 1-47 (looking specifically at Figs. 1-21 for the coupling of the two halves of the coupling) a nozzle (abstract) for a coupling according to claim 9, comprising
a first part 300/3300 connectable to a second part 10 of the coupling, the first and second parts 300/3300, 10 to be coupled to each other by insertion of the first part 300/3300 into the second part 10,
the first part 300/3300 comprising an internal liquefied gas conduit to be fluidly connected for transfer of liquefied gas through the coupling,
wherein, with the first and second parts 300/3300, 10 interconnected, the coupling has a first operating state in which no liquefied gas is transferred though the coupling (Fig. 13) and a second operating state in which liquefied gas is allowed to flow through the coupling (Fig. 14),
wherein
the actuator is provided outside of the internal liquefied gas conduit.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753