DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-20, 22, and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102010048267 A1 to Hiramatsu et al. (Hiramatsu).
In reference to independent claim 13, Hiramatsu discloses:
A cylinder head cover (12, see Figs. 1 and 3) with a camshaft (16) received rotatably in the cylinder head cover (see Fig. 3), comprising:
an axial bearing (see bearing recesses 28 and 30) including at least one pin pair (see Fig. 3);
wherein the camshaft is equipped with a functional component (18) fixed axially on the camshaft (see Fig. 3), or with a functional component received axially displaceably on the camshaft;
wherein the functional component (18) is arranged between pins (screws/bolts) of the at least one pin pair (screws/bolts) (see Fig. 3).
In reference to dependent claim 14, Hiramatsu further discloses: the pin pair comprises a first pin and a second pin (see holes for bolts/screws to secure cam cap 14 to the housing 12, see Fig. 3).
In reference to dependent claim 15, Hiramatsu further discloses: the axial bearing (28, 30) comprises a further pin pair (see Fig. 3), between which the functional component (18) is arranged (each cam 18 is positioned between two sets of holes for screws/bolts, see Fig. 3).
In reference to dependent claim 16, Hiramatsu further discloses: the pin pair (screws/bolts) is arranged perpendicularly with respect to the rotational axis of the camshaft (16) (see Fig. 3 annotated below).
In reference to dependent claim 17, Hiramatsu further discloses: the pins (screws/bolts) of the pin pair are received in sections in receiving openings (see screw/bolt openings in Fig. 3).
In reference to dependent claims 18 and 19, Hiramatsu further discloses: at least one pin/two pins (screws/bolts) of the pin pair is received rotatably in the receiving openings (a screw or bolt would rotate in the holes/openings while being inserted, i.e. received).
In reference to dependent claim 20, Hiramatsu further discloses: the functional component is a locking disk, a sensor wheel, or a cam (cams 18).
In reference to dependent claim 22, Hiramatsu further discloses: the camshaft (16) is a sliding camshaft, comprising a basic shaft and at least one sliding cam (see “background” on page 2 of the machine generated translation).
In reference to dependent claims 25 and 27, Hiramatsu further discloses: the cylinder head cover comprises a first cylinder head cover element and a second cylinder head cover element/a cylinder head cover main body and a bearing frame (cam cap 14 and cam housing 12), wherein receiving openings for the pins are provided both in the first cylinder head cover element and in the second cylinder head cover element/the cylinder head cover main body and the bearing frame (see Fig. 3, holes for accommodating screws/bolts in both the cam cap and cam housing).
In reference to dependent claims 26 and 28, Hiramatsu further discloses:
A method for assembling a cylinder head cover as claimed in claim 25, comprising:
inserting the camshaft (16) with the functional component (18) into bearing half shells (12, 14) of the cylinder head cover/cylinder head cover main body (see Fig. 3);
introducing the pins (screw/bolts not shown) into the receiving openings of the first cylinder head cover element/main body (see openings for screws/bolts for attaching cam cap 14 to cam housing 12); and
placing the second cylinder head cover element onto the first cylinder head cover element/main body, wherein the pins dip in portions into the receiving openings of the second cylinder head cover element/bearing frame (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu in view of US 20110126793 A1 to Ahn (Ahn).
In reference to dependent claim 21, Hiramatsu is silent regarding the functional component being a locking disk, a sensor wheel, or pump lobe.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of the cam lobes on the camshaft shaft would have been a cam lobe for a fuel pump (see [0068]) as evidenced by Ahn.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu in view of WO 2020/193560 A1 to Weidauer et al. (Weidauer).
In reference to dependent claim 23, Hiramatsu is silent regarding the camshaft is a sliding camshaft, comprising a basic shaft and at least one sliding cam, wherein the sliding camshaft comprises two sliding cams which are connected to one another by a coupling rod.
Weidauer teaches a similar cam system for an engine including a camshaft (10) with a carrier shaft (11) having at least two sliding cam elements (12a and 12b) coupled by an adjustment element (16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the camshaft of Hiramatsu to include the sliding camshaft taught by Weidauer in order to economize space in the engine cylinder head, thus reducing production cost.
In reference to dependent claim 24, Hiramatsu is also silent regarding the functional component (cam 18) being selectively attached fixedly or axially displaceably on the camshaft. Weidauer further teaches that the sliding cam elements of the sliding cam system are displaceable between at least two axial positions (see page 8 of machine generated translation).
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799