DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Willyoung (US 3,056,055).
Regarding claim 1, Willyoung discloses an electrical machine (1 of Figure 1), comprising:
a shaft (11 of Figure 1);
a carrier structure (5 of Figure 1) arranged circumferentially around the shaft and defining a circumferential surface;
a plurality of conducting coils (7 of Figure 1) secured to the carrier structure; and
a cooling system, comprising:
an inlet manifold (15 of Figure 1) for providing a cooling fluid (Col. 2:44-55) to the electrical machine;
an outlet manifold (24 of Figure 1) for removing the cooling fluid from the electrical machine; and
at least one passageway (17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the inlet manifold and the outlet manifold, the at least one passageway arranged between two adjacent conducting coils of the plurality of conducting coils (Col. 2:32-35), the at least one passageway defining an inlet portion comprising a fluid inlet (17 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the inlet manifold, an outlet portion comprising a fluid outlet (22 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the outlet manifold, and a return portion (Col. 2:32-35; 18, 19, 20, 21 of Figure 1) arranged between the inlet portion and the outlet portion,
wherein the return portion defines a length such that the inlet portion and the outlet portion are arranged in contact with each other along respective lengths of the inlet and outlet portions (Col. 2:32-35; see Figure 1) so that a conductive potential of the at least one passageway is reduced.
Regarding claim 2, Willyoung discloses wherein the carrier structure (5 of Figure 1) is an armature or a yoke of a field assembly (2 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Willyoung discloses further comprising a first divider (14 of Figure 3) arranged along the respective lengths of the inlet and outlet manifolds (15, 24 of Figure 1) for providing flow separation between the inlet and outlet manifolds.
Regarding claim 4, Willyoung discloses wherein the first divider (14 of Figure 3) is constructed of a material with a thermal conductivity lower than about 45 watts per meter-kelvin (W/m-K) (Col. 2:41-42, ground insulation has a thermal conductivity in the range of 0.02 to 0.05 W/mK).
Regarding claim 5, Willyoung discloses wherein the first divider (14 of Figure 3) is constructed of a non-metallic material (Col. 2:41-42, ground insulation is constructed of non-metallic materials).
Regarding claim 6, Willyoung discloses further comprising a cooling inlet (portion that supplies liquid to 15 of Figure 1, represented by arrow) and a cooling outlet (portion that 24 of Figure 1 discharges to, represented by arrow) wherein the cooling system defines a module, wherein at least one module is connected to the cooling inlet and the cooling outlet.
Regarding claim 7, Willyoung discloses wherein the cooling inlet (portion that supplies liquid to 15 of Figure 1, represented by arrow) is connected to the inlet manifold (15 of Figure 1) of the at least one module and the cooling outlet (portion that 24 of Figure 1 discharges to, represented by arrow) is connected to the outlet manifold (24 of Figure 1) of the at least one module.
Regarding claim 9, Willyoung discloses further comprising a second divider (14 of Figure 3) arranged along the respective lengths of the inlet and outlet portions (17, 22 of Figure 1) for providing flow separation between the inlet and outlet portions.
Regarding claim 10, Willyoung discloses wherein the second divider (14 of Figure 3) is constructed of a material with a thermal conductivity lower than about 45 watts per meter-kelvin (W/m-K) (Col. 2:41-42, ground insulation has a thermal conductivity in the range of 0.02 to 0.05 W/mK).
Regarding claim 11, Willyoung discloses wherein the second divider (14 of Figure 3) is constructed of a non-metallic material (Col. 2:41-42, ground insulation is constructed of non-metallic materials).
Regarding claim 12, Willyoung discloses wherein the cooling fluid comprises at least one of water, coolant, antifreeze, gas, or combinations thereof (Col. 2:44-62).
Regarding claim 14, Willyoung discloses wherein the cooling system further comprises at least two passageways (17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the inlet manifold (15 of Figure 1) and the outlet manifold (24 of Figure 1), the at least two passageways arranged between two adjacent conducting coils (Col. 2:32-35) of the plurality of conducting coils (7 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Willyoung discloses a method of cooling an electrical machine (1 of Figure 1) having a plurality of conducting coils (7 of Figure 1), the method comprising:
arranging at least one passageway (17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 of Figure 1) between two adjacent conducting coils (Col. 2:32-35) of the plurality of conducting coils, the at least one passageway being in fluid communication with an inlet manifold (15 of Figure 1) that provides cooling fluid to the electrical machine and an outlet manifold (24 of Figure 1) that removes the cooling fluid from the electrical machine, wherein the at least one passageway defines an inlet portion comprising a fluid inlet (17 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the inlet manifold, an outlet portion comprising a fluid outlet (22 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the outlet manifold, and a return portion (Col. 2:32-35; 18, 19, 20, 21 of Figure 1) arranged between the inlet portion and the outlet portion, wherein the return portion defines a length such that the inlet portion and the outlet portion are arranged in contact with each other along respective lengths of the inlet and outlet portions (Col. 2:32-35; see Figure 1) so as to provide electrical insulation thereto; and
operating the inlet manifold and the outlet manifold to provide the cooling fluid to the at least one passageway so as to cool the two adjacent conducting coils of the plurality of conducting coils.
Regarding claim 16, Willyoung discloses further comprising arranging a first divider (14 of Figure 3) arranged along the respective lengths of the inlet and outlet manifolds (15, 24 of Figure 1) for providing flow separation between the inlet and outlet portions (17, 22 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Willyoung discloses further comprising arranging a second divider (14 of Figure 3) arranged along the respective lengths of the inlet and outlet portions (17, 22 of Figure 1) for providing flow separation between the inlet and outlet portions.
Regarding claim 18, Willyoung discloses wherein the first divider (14 of Figure 3) comprises a non-metallic material (Col. 2:41-42, ground insulation is constructed of non-metallic materials),
wherein the non-metallic material comprises a thermal conductivity lower than about 45 watts per meter-kelvin (W/m-K) (Col. 2:41-42, ground insulation has a thermal conductivity in the range of 0.02 to 0.05 W/mK).
Regarding claim 19, Willyoung discloses further comprising arranging at least two passageways (17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 of Figure 1) between two adjacent conducting coils (Col. 2:32-35) of the plurality of conducting coils (7 of Figure 1), the at least two passageways being in fluid communication with an inlet manifold (15 of Figure 1) that provides cooling fluid (Col. 2:44-55) to the electrical machine (1 of Figure 1) and an outlet manifold (24 of Figure 1) that removes the cooling fluid from the electrical machine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willyoung (US 3,056,055).
Regarding claim 8, Willyoung discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the connections between the cooling inlet (portion that supplies liquid to 15 of Figure 1, represented by arrow) and outlet (portion that 24 of Figure 1 discharges to, represented by arrow) and the inlet and outlet manifolds (15, 24 of Figure 1) comprise flexible connectors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use flexible connectors between the coolant supply lines of Willyoung to compensate for thermal expansion and contraction of the liquid coolant passing within since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Willyoung discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the inlet and outlet manifolds (15, 24 of Figure 1) and the inlet and outlet portions (17, 22 of Figure 1) are constructed of an electrically conductive material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use electrically conductive material for the inlet and outlet manifolds of Willyoung to safely dissipate static charge buildup and prevent explosion risks in addition to ensuring a leak-proof fluid transfer since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willyoung (US 3,056,055), in view of Scholte-Wassink (US 2012/0049532).
Regarding claim 20, Willyoung discloses a generator (1 of Figure 1), comprising:
a shaft (11 of Figure 1);
a carrier structure (5 of Figure 1) arranged circumferentially around the shaft and defining a circumferential surface;
a plurality of conducting coils (7 of Figure 1) secured to the carrier structure; and
a cooling system, comprising:
an inlet manifold (15 of Figure 1) for providing a cooling fluid (Col. 2:44-55) to the generator;
an outlet manifold (24 of Figure 1) for removing the cooling fluid from the generator; and
at least one passageway (17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the inlet manifold and the outlet manifold, the at least one passageway arranged between two adjacent conducting coils of the plurality of conducting coils (Col. 2:32-35), the at least one passageway defining an inlet portion comprising a fluid inlet (17 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the inlet manifold, an outlet portion comprising a fluid outlet (22 of Figure 1) in fluid communication with the outlet manifold, and a return portion (Col. 2:32-35; 18, 19, 20, 21 of Figure 1) arranged between the inlet portion and the outlet portion,
wherein the return portion defines a length such that the inlet portion and the outlet portion are arranged in contact with each other along respective lengths of the inlet and outlet portions (Col. 2:32-35; see Figure 1) so that a conductive potential of the at least one passageway is reduced.
Willyoung does not explicitly disclose a wind turbine.
Scholte-Wassink discloses a wind turbine (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use the generator and cooling system of Willyoung in a wind turbine, as taught by Scholte-Wassink, to provide an offshore wind turbine system with a reliable closed cooling system [Scholte-Wassink: Para. 0025].
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaminski (US 6,339,268), Litz (US 4017,755), Sharpe (US 3,774,060), Hunt (US 3,689,786), Cornu (US 1,913,264) disclose an electrical machine comprising a shaft, plurality of conducting coils secured to a carrier structure and a cooling system with passageways arranged between adjacent coils.
Winn (US 2011/0133470) discloses a wind turbine with a cooling system/module.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834