Status of Claims
This communication is responsive to the application filed 02/27/2025, a national stage entry of PCT/JP2023/030736, including the preliminary amendment filed 02/27/2025. Claims 1–10 are pending, of which claim 1 is independent. Claims 1–10 are rejected. This action is non-final.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. In ¶[0007], FIG. 8 is described as “a plan view,” whereas ¶[0029] and FIG. 8 itself show a side view of the bus bar unit 50.
b. In ¶[0017], “the stator core 12” should read “the stator core 31”; reference numeral 12 designates a bearing.
c. In ¶[0025], “the cover 42a” (two occurrences) should read “the cover 42”; reference numeral 42a designates the flat plate part.
d. In ¶¶[0034], [0036], [0038] and [0039], “the peripheral directions c and d” should read “the peripheral directions e and f”; the directions c and d are the radial directions (¶[0009]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the plurality of internal connection terminals are disposed at equal positions, in a peripheral direction.” It is unclear whether “equal positions” requires the internal connection terminals of each ring to be spaced at equal intervals from one another, or requires the internal connection terminals of the respective rings to occupy the same peripheral positions as one another, the latter of which would be inconsistent with the disclosure that the internal connection terminals 72 of the bus bar rings 70A to 70F are disposed at different positions from each other in the peripheral directions (specification ¶[0030]). It is further unclear whether “the plurality of internal connection terminals” refers to the terminals of a single ring or to the terminals of all of the rings. For purposes of applying prior art, the limitation is interpreted as requiring the internal connection terminals of each ring to be spaced at equal intervals in the peripheral direction.
Claims 6 and 10 each recite “a peripheral direction.” Claim 4, from which claims 6 and 10 depend, already recites “a peripheral direction.” It is unclear whether the peripheral direction of claims 6 and 10 is the same as, or different from, the peripheral direction of claim 4.
Claim 8 recites “an inner peripheral side of the plurality of rings” twice. It is unclear whether the second recitation refers to the inner peripheral side introduced earlier in the claim or to a different inner peripheral side.
Claim 9 is rejected as depending from claim 8 and failing to cure its deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa (US 2012/0319512 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakagawa teaches A motor(motor 1, ¶[0070]; FIG. 1) comprising:
a plurality of rings formed of a conductive material and stacked in a rotation axis direction(busbars 120, each body portion 1201 an electrically conductive wire shaped in a ring, ¶¶[0076], [0108]; holders 101u, 101v, 101w each holding one busbar 120, placed one upon another in axial direction, ¶[0085]; FIGS. 50–53);
and a stator including a plurality of coils(stator 200, coils 204, ¶¶[0074]–[0075]),
wherein each of the plurality of rings includes external connection terminals electrically connected to an external device(external connection portions 1202 of each busbar 120, connected to external power supply, ¶[0108]; FIG. 49),
and internal connection terminals electrically connected to the plurality of coils(terminal members 130 connected to each busbar 120, coil connection portions 135 connected to coil wire terminals 204a, ¶¶[0074], [0078], [0081]–[0082], [0108]),
and in a radial direction, the external connection terminals are located at an inner peripheral side with respect to the internal connection terminals(portions 1202 extend radially inward from body portion 1201, ¶¶[0108]–[0109]; coil connection portions 135 project radially outward, ¶[0084]; terminal members 130 of modification arranged outside outer circumference of busbar unit 100, ¶[0111]; FIGS. 50–53).
Regarding claim 2/1, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 1.
Nakagawa further teaches wherein, in the rotation axis direction, an insulating member is disposed between adjacent rings of the plurality of rings(holders 101u–101w of insulating material, each accommodating separate busbar 120, placed one upon another axially, ¶¶[0082], [0085]; separate holders ensure insulation between busbars 120, ¶¶[0097], [0099]; FIG. 5; same holders in modification, ¶[0109]).
Regarding claim 3/1, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 1.
Nakagawa further teaches wherein, in the plurality of rings, the internal connection terminals are disposed at different positions from each other in a peripheral direction(holders circumferentially displaced so no two terminal members 130u, 130v, 130w overlap in axial view, ¶[0087]; FIG. 14; terminal members 130 of modification spaced from one another in circumferential direction, ¶[0111]; FIG. 50).
Regarding claim 4/1, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 1.
Nakagawa further teaches the motor
comprising a case accommodating the plurality of rings(holders 101u, 101v, 101w accommodating busbars 120, placed one upon another and secured to one another by hooks 111, ¶¶[0082], [0085]–[0086]),
wherein the case includes a case body including an outer wall disposed at an outer peripheral side of the plurality of rings in the radial direction(annular holder body 105, outer wall radially outside accommodating groove 106, ¶[0082]; FIG. 7),
the outer wall includes a plurality of recess parts recessed in the rotation axis direction(cuts 108 in outer wall at terminal accommodating portions 107 holding terminal members 130, open at annular surface 105a, ¶[0082]; FIG. 7),
the plurality of recess parts are arranged in a peripheral direction(cuts 108 at terminal accommodating portions 107 spaced circumferentially, ¶[0082]; FIG. 7),
and the internal connection terminals respectively protrude from each of the plurality of recess parts toward an outer peripheral side from an inner peripheral side of a ring of the plurality of rings(joining portion 134 of each terminal member 130 passes through cut 108 to project radially outward from holder body 105, ¶[0082]; coil connection portions 135 project radially outward, ¶[0084]; same holders in modification, ¶[0109]; terminal members 130 of modification arranged outside outer circumference of busbar unit 100, ¶[0111]).
Regarding claim 6/4, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 4.
Nakagawa further teaches wherein each of the plurality of rings includes a plurality of the internal connection terminals(four terminal members 130 connected to body portion 1201 of each busbar 120, ¶[0108]),
and the plurality of internal connection terminals are disposed at equal positions, in a peripheral direction(four terminal members 130 at regular intervals of about 90 degrees, ¶[0108]).
Regarding claim 8/4, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 4.
Nakagawa further teaches wherein the case body includes an inner wall disposed at an inner peripheral side of the plurality of rings, in the radial direction(inner wall of holder body 105 radially inside accommodating groove 106, ¶[0083]; inner circumferential surface, ¶[0109]; FIG. 53),
the inner wall includes a plurality of second recess parts recessed in the rotation axis direction(lead groove 116 of each holder, radially extending groove recessed in annular surface 105a continuing through inner circumferential surface, ¶[0109]; FIGS. 51, 53),
and the external connection terminals respectively protrude from each of the plurality of second recess parts toward an inner peripheral side of the plurality of rings, in the radial direction(external connection portions 1202 of each busbar 120 drawn radially inward from accommodating groove 106 through lead groove 116, ¶¶[0109], [0113]; FIGS. 50–53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (US 2012/0319512 A1) in view of Kojima (JP 2014-197951 A; citations are to the English machine translation).
Regarding claim 5/4, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 4.
Nakagawa is silent wherein depths of the plurality of recess parts are different from each other, because each of Nakagawa’s holders accommodates a single busbar and the holders share the same configuration (¶¶[0082], [0098]).
However, Kojima teaches a bus bar case 41 having notches 41b formed in the flat surfaces 41a of its outer periphery, the notches 41b having respectively different depth dimensions (¶[0033]; FIG. 6), the mounting grooves 41c–41f being stepped so that a height difference d is formed between the bus bars 50–53 whose arms exit through the notches (¶[0036]; FIG. 4).
Kojima is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely bus bar units that connect the stator coils of a brushless motor (Kojima ¶[0001]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakagawa with Kojima’s differing recess depths, because doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding the predictable result of each ring’s terminals exiting the case at its own level without contacting the terminals of the other rings (Kojima ¶[0036]). KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007). One would be motivated to form the recess parts of Nakagawa’s case with depths that differ from each other, as taught by Kojima, in order to lead the terminals of each ring out of the case at that ring’s own axial level so that the terminals of the respective rings are drawn out radially without short-circuiting (Kojima ¶[0036]), particularly where a single holder accommodates all of the busbars (Nakagawa ¶[0103]).
Regarding claim 9/8, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 8.
Nakagawa is silent wherein, in the rotation axis direction, depths of the plurality of second recess parts are different from each other, because each of Nakagawa’s identically configured holders includes a single lead groove 116 (¶¶[0098], [0109]).
However, Kojima teaches a bus bar case 41 in which the recesses through which the terminals of the respective bus bars exit are formed with depth dimensions in the axial direction that differ from each other (¶[0033]; FIGS. 4, 6), the mounting grooves 41c–41f being stepped so that a height difference d is formed between the bus bars 50–53 (¶[0036]; FIG. 4).
One would be motivated to set the axial depth of each of Nakagawa’s inner-wall lead grooves 116 according to the axial level of the ring whose external connection portions 1202 pass through it, as taught by Kojima, in order to draw the terminals of each ring out at that ring’s own level without short-circuiting against the other rings (Kojima ¶[0036]), particularly where a single holder accommodates all of the busbars (Nakagawa ¶[0103]).
Regarding claim 10/4, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 4.
Nakagawa is silent wherein the case includes a lid covering the case body in the rotation axis direction, and the lid includes an annular part extending in a peripheral direction, and a plurality of protrude parts projecting from the annular part toward the plurality of recess parts, because Nakagawa’s stacked holders are secured to one another and to the stator by hooks 111 (¶¶[0086], [0090]) and Nakagawa does not describe a lid covering the holders.
However, Kojima teaches a bus bar cover 42 placed on the bus bar case 41 in the axial direction to close the mounting grooves 41c–41f (¶¶[0037], [0065]; FIG. 13), the cover 42 being formed in a substantially disc shape (¶[0037]) that is annular with a central opening (FIG. 7), and a plurality of protrusions 42e formed on the back side of the cover 42 that enter the deep notches 41b in the flat surfaces 41a of the case 41 (¶[0040]; FIG. 7).
One would be motivated to provide Nakagawa’s case with a lid having an annular part and protrusions projecting toward the recess parts, as taught by Kojima, in order to close the case and mount the lid at the correct position without rattling (Kojima ¶¶[0037], [0040]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (US 2012/0319512 A1) in view of Yamashita (US 2020/0059124 A1).
Regarding claim 7/4, Nakagawa teaches the motor of claim 4.
Nakagawa is silent wherein at least shapes of two or more rings among the plurality of rings are equal, because Nakagawa addresses the configuration of the holders (¶[0098]) but does not state whether the busbars 120 share a common shape.
However, Yamashita teaches that the U-phase, V-phase, and W-phase first layer bus bars 71U, 71V, 71W are composed of first bus bar members 73 having the same shape, and that the second layer bus bars 72U, 72V, 72W are composed of second bus bar members 74 having the same shape, each member being mounted in a different circumferential orientation (¶¶[0077], [0094], [0129]–[0130]; FIGS. 6–7).
Yamashita is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely bus bar units that connect the phase coils of a motor to external connection terminals (Yamashita ¶¶[0002]–[0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakagawa with Yamashita’s same-shape bus bars, because doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding the predictable result of fewer component types and lower component cost (Yamashita ¶[0129]). KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007). One would be motivated to form two or more of Nakagawa’s rings with the same shape, as taught by Yamashita, in order to reduce the number of types of components and the component cost and to mount the same type of component for each phase (Yamashita ¶¶[0129]–[0130]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Houzumi (US 2018/0159397 A1) teaches axially laminated annular bus bars 21–23 with resin plates 31 interposed, feeding terminals 21b–23b protruding radially for connection to the coil wires, and bus bar terminals 21c–23c protruding axially for connection to external terminals 19.
Ikura (US 8,878,407 B2) teaches busbars whose coil connecting terminals extend radially outward and whose external electric power supply terminals extend radially inward.
Houzumi ( US 9,780,506 B2) teaches annular bus bars laminated in the axial direction, each with outwardly extending coil connecting portions at equal intervals and a phase terminal extending axially from the main body portion.
Yamada (US 2016/0218578 A1) teaches phase bus bars laminated in the axial direction with phase terminals protruding radially outward and power supply portions erected in the axial direction.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMED QURESHI whose telephone number is (571)-272-8310. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834