DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 13-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jersey et al (US 20150210522 A1).
Claim 13, Jersey discloses - a dispensing line (314, 308, 120, 128, 108) with a dispensing outlet at a downstream end of the dispensing line;
- a base liquid input (302, 314; FIG 2-3, 6);
- a beverage concentrate input (104, 116, 118, 304, 604, 606, 608; FIG 2-3, 6); and
- a secondary liquid input (112, 114, 122, 124, 146, 612, 614, 616, 618; FIG 2-3, 6);
wherein the base liquid input is in fluid communication with the dispensing line (FIG 2-3, 6), the beverage concentrate input is in fluid communication with the dispensing line, and the secondary liquid input is in fluid communication with the dispensing line, and
wherein the secondary liquid input is connected to the dispensing line downstream relative to the base liquid input and the beverage concentrate input (FIG 2-3, 6), and the secondary liquid input is connected upstream to the dispensing line relative to the dispensing outlet.
Claim 14, Jersey discloses - the beverage dispenser is free of mixing chambers (FIG 2) for mixing together base liquid and beverage concentrate.
Claim 16, Jersey discloses wherein the beverage dispenser is free of mixing chambers (FIG 2) for mixing together base liquid, beverage concentrate, and secondary liquid.
Claim 17, Jersey discloses a beverage concentrate container (104; [0042]) comprising a volume of beverage concentrate, which beverage concentrate container is replaceable connected to the beverage concentrate input.
Claim 18, Jersey discloses wherein the beverage concentrate is based on a beer (while not specifically discloses the structure is inherently capable of carrying out this function during its normal operation; [0011] to [0015]).
Claim 19, Jersey discloses wherein the base liquid comprises carbonated water (132).
Claim 20, Jersey discloses wherein the beverage concentrate comprises protein (while not specifically discloses the structure is inherently capable of carrying out this function during its normal operation; [0011] to [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jersey et al as applied to claim 13 above.
Claim 15, Jersey discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a maximum flow-through area for fluid is 0.1085 in2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the size in order to provide the desired flow rate, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754