DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the dodging opening in claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the claim limitation “a dodging opening” is indefinite insofar as the examiner is unclear about the structure of “a dodging opening” and it is impossible to determine the intending scope of the structure of “a dodging opening” in claim 81. A dodging opening is not an art recognized term and the specification fails to define the term and the dodging opening is not specifically shown in the drawings. Dodging is defined as “an act of evading by a sudden bodily movement” so the term appears to mean an opening which can suddenly move to evade something. However, neither the claim nor the specification provides any support for such a movement. Further, inclusion of the term “dodging” must be given weight, and the opening must not be a simple opening. Without a specific definition of the term, it is impossible to determine the intended scope of the term; therefore, it is indefinite.3
Regarding claims 19 and 22, the term “to make the column have a tendency to overturn” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “tendency” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term is unclear what the “tendency” is referring to, is the overturning a column failure? It could be interpreted that an overturning is in fact a claimed element and the invention has an overturning column where the first auxiliary support member merely limits the range of motion. It could also be interpreted preventing overturning is the purpose of the support members and the “tendency” is merely the purpose. In the second interpretation, must such a device require a tendency to overturn? Would a column which has a first and second support member, but whose method of overturning does not produce a tendency to overturn read upon the claim? What is the failure rate, specifically, that constitutes a “tendency?” These ambiguities render the claim indefinite.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 19 and claims 23-26 are dependent on claim 22 and are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Christiansen US 4408341.
Regarding claim 14, Christiansen discloses a medical imaging device (fig. 2), comprising: a slidable seat (1) fixedly arranged on a bed (100) of the medical imaging device, and having a slideway extending along a length direction of the bed (col. 3 ln. 21-30 “guide device”); a bracket (9, 15), provided with a movable component (7, 8, 14, 31) and a restraining member (3, 4, 11, 29), the movable component movable along the slideway (col. 4 ln. 21-63), and the restraining member fitted with the slidable seat to limit a displacement of the bracket in a width direction of the bed (fig. 3); a column (16) vertically arranged on the bracket (fig. 3); and an X-ray tube (26) assembly arranged on the column (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-19, 21-22, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christiansen US 4408341.
Regarding claim 15, Christiansen teaches wherein the slidable seat comprises a rail seat body provided with a bottom edge (fig. 3, bottom edge of 1), a connecting edge (fig. 3, left edge of 1), a top edge (fig. 3, top edge of 1), and a bend edge (fig. 3, right edge of 1) that are connected sequentially, the bottom edge and the top edge are arranged opposite to each other (fig. 3), the connecting edge and the bend edge are opposite to each other and both perpendicular to the bottom edge (fig. 3), the bottom edge, the connecting edge, the top edge, and the bend edge together forming the slideway (fig. 3), and the movable component located in the slideway (fig. 3 #7).
Christiansen does not explicitly disclose the movable component contacts the bottom edge; however, it has been judiciarily determined that rearrangement of parts has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.C). Rearrangement of parts is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the rearrangement of parts is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 16, Christiansen teaches wherein along a height direction of the bed there is a gap between the movable component and a top surface of the slideway (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Christiansen teaches wherein the movable component comprises two first support bearings spaced apart along the length direction of the bed (col. 3 ln. 41-46; rollers are known to refer to roller bearings which are support bearings).
Regarding claim 18, Christiansen teaches wherein a dodging opening is formed between the bend edge and the bottom edge (opening in 1 which houses 7), the movable component is connected to the bracket through a connecting member (all moveable components are connected to brackets 9, 15 which implies a connecting member), the dodging opening is configured to allow the connecting member to pass through (fig. 3), and a size of the movable component along a height direction of the bed is greater than a size of the dodging opening along the height direction of the bed (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Christiansen teaches a first auxiliary support member located in the slideway (fig. 3 #8 which includes unshown second roller 8 located behind shown roller 8; col. 3 ln. 41-46); along a height direction of the bed, a distance between the first auxiliary support member and a bottom surface of the slideway is a first distance, and a distance between the first auxiliary support member and a top surface of the slideway is a second distance (distance from 8 to the top edge of the bottom bend of 1 and the distance from 8 to the bottom edge of flange 30); and the second distance is configured such that when the X-ray tube assembly rotates around a central axis of the column to make the column have a tendency to overturn, the first auxiliary support member is abutable against the top edge (8 is abutable against top edge of 30).
Regarding claim 21, Christiansen teaches wherein: the slidable seat further comprises a guide rail (figs. 3, 5 #10) extending along the length direction of the bed (fig. 5); the restraining member comprises a pair of first abutting members that are located on a front side of the guide rail away from the column and abutting against the cylinder (fig. 3 #4, 11), or are located on a front side of the bend edge away from the column and abutting against the bend edge; and a pair of second abutting members that are located on a rear side of the guide rail near the column and abutting against the cylinder (fig. 3 #29), or are located on a rear side of the bend edge near the column and abutting against the bend edge.
Christiansen fails to teach the rail being a cylinder; however, it has been judiciarily determined that changing in shapes has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in shape is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of shape is not of patentable significance. Additionally, the cylinder is shown to be a rectangular shape in the specification (see fig. 5 #124) so it is understood by the disclosure of the specification that the shape is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 22, Christiansen teaches, wherein: the guide rail is located above the rail seat body, the first abutting members abut against the guide rail, and the second abutting members abut against the bend edge (fig. 3); the medical imaging device further comprises a second auxiliary support member that is located on the rear side of the guide rail and along the width direction of the bed (29), a distance between the second auxiliary support member and the cylinder is a third distance (fig. 3); a third auxiliary support member (5) that is located on the front side of the bend edge and in the slideway and along the width direction of the bed (fig. 3), a distance between the third auxiliary support member and the bend edge is a fourth distance (fig. 3); and the third distance and the fourth distance are configured such that when the X-ray tube assembly receives an acting force to make the column have a tendency to overturn, the second auxiliary support member is abutable against the guide rail and the third auxiliary support member is abutable against the bend edge (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 25, Christiansen teaches a fourth auxiliary support member (4) fixedly arranged on the bracket (9), wherein the fourth auxiliary support member is located on the rear side of the bend edge and abuts against the bend edge (fig. 3), or the fourth auxiliary support member is located on the rear side of the cylinder and abuts against the cylinder (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, Christiansen teaches the slidable seat further comprises a support table (1) fixedly arranged on the bed (100), the guide rail and the rail seat body are both fastened and connected to the support table (fig. 3), one of the guide rail and the rail seat body are connected to a top surface of the support table (fig. 3), and the other is connected to a bottom surface of the support table (fig. 3).
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christiansen US 4408341 in view of LV CN 2344639.
Regarding claim 20, Christiansen teaches The medical imaging device according to claim 19, wherein the first auxiliary support member comprises two first roller bearings that are spaced apart along the length direction of the bed (col. 3 ln. 41-46).
Christiansen fails to teach the two first roller bearings are connected to the bracket through a first eccentric shaft such that the second distance is adjustable.
LV teaches using an eccentric shaft connected to a support seat and a rotating bearing to adjust a gap distance (pg. 2 para. 2) for the purpose of reducing labor (pg. 2 para. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two first roller bearings are connected to the bracket through a first eccentric shaft such that the second distance is adjustable as taught by LV in the device of Christiansen for the purpose of reducing labor.9
Regarding claim 23, Christainsen fails to explitely teach the second auxiliary support member comprises two second roller bearings that are spaced apart along the length direction of the bed and the third auxiliary support member comprises two third roller bearings that are spaced apart along the length direction of the bed however, it has been judiciarily determined that duplication of parts has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). Duplication of parts is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the duplication of parts is not of patentable significance.
LV teaches using an eccentric shaft connected to a support seat and a rotating bearing to adjust a gap distance (pg. 2 para. 2) for the purpose of reducing labor (pg. 2 para. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second and third roller bearings are connected to the bracket through a second eccentric shaft such that the third and fourth distance is adjustable as taught by LV in the device of Christiansen for the purpose of reducing labor.
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884