DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horii et al. (hereafter “Hori”)(US 2023/0149994).
With regards to claims 1 and 11, Hori discloses a rolling mill and method of rolling a metal strip comprising:
a mill roll (730, 720, 710, 711, 721 or 731);
a plurality of hydraulic cylinders (715, 717) including a drive side cylinder that is configured to apply force in an axial direction to the mill roll and is provided on a drive side of the mill roll, and a work side hydraulic cylinder that is configured to apply force in the axial direction and is provided on a work side of the mill roll [as discussed in at least paragraphs 0056, 0104, 0110]; and
a hydraulic circuit, as seen in at least Figure 6, configured to send a hydraulic oil to the plurality of hydraulic cylinders so that the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work side hydraulic cylinder move in the axial direction to hold a position of the mill roll in the axial direction,
wherein the hydraulic circuit is configured such that after the hydraulic circuit holds a position of the mill roll in the axial direction, in a case (that is, Hori’s mill is capable of) where only a hydraulic cylinder on one side between the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work side hydraulic cylinder becomes a state of applying force in the axial direction to the mill roll due to external force received by the mill roll, a hydraulic cylinder on another side between the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work side hydraulic cylinder moves in a direction opposite to the hydraulic cylinder on the one side, [as seen in at least Figure 6 and as discussed in at least paragraphs 0056, 0104, 0110].
With regards to claims 2 and 12, Hori discloses wherein in the hydraulic circuit, a drive-side strip-side hydraulic oil chamber and a work- side side-opposite-to-strip hydraulic oil chamber are connected to each other through a pipe and a drive-side side-opposite-to-strip hydraulic oil chamber and a work-side strip-side hydraulic oil chamber are connected to each other through a pipe so that each of the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work side hydraulic cylinder applies force to the mill roll in a same direction [it is noted that chambers are not labeled but it is considered to be inherent that the hydraulic cylinders have chambers as claimed – pipes are pressure lines and at least paragraphs 0104, 0122, 0131].
With regards to claims 3-13, Hori discloses wherein the hydraulic circuit is configured such that when a hydraulic cylinder on one side between the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work side hydraulic cylinder moves by a predetermined stroke, a hydraulic cylinder on another side between the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work side hydraulic cylinder also moves in an opposite direction by the predetermined stroke without changing an amount of oil in the coupled pipes [as discussed in at least paragraphs 0157-0161, it is noted that the control device 80 and valves regulate the amount of oil]
With regards to claim 4, Hori discloses wherein the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work side hydraulic cylinder are double rod cylinders,
a drive-side strip-side hydraulic oil chamber and a drive-side side-opposite-to- strip hydraulic oil chamber have a same cross-sectional area in a direction in which force of the hydraulic oil is applied,
a work-side strip-side hydraulic oil chamber and a work-side side-opposite-to- strip hydraulic oil chamber have a same cross-sectional area in a direction in which force of the hydraulic oil is applied, and
the drive-side strip-side hydraulic oil chamber and the work-side side-opposite- to-strip hydraulic oil chamber are connected to each other through a pipe, and the drive-side side-opposite-to-strip hydraulic oil chamber and the work-side strip-side hydraulic oil chamber are connected to each other through a pipe, as seen in at least Figures 6-9.
With regards to claim 8, Hori discloses wherein the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work-side hydraulic cylinder are provided on each of an entry side and an exit side of the rolling mill, and pipes for coupling corresponding hydraulic oil chambers on the entry side and the exit side are provided [pipes are pressure lines as discussed in at least paragraphs 0104, 0122, 0131].
With regards to claim 8, Hori discloses wherein a controller (80) for controlling drive of the plurality of hydraulic cylinders is provided, and the controller is configured to be capable of shifting the mill roll in the axial direction by causing the drive side hydraulic cylinder and the work-side hydraulic cylinder to be driven [ at least paragraphs 0057, 0113-0115].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori in view of Kazehari et al. (hereafter “Kazehari”)(JP2018/164923).
Hori discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a horizontal direction actuator for adjusting an angle of the mill roll in a horizontal direction is provided. Kazehari is relied upon to teach a horizontal direction actuator (16) for adjusting an angle of the mill roll in a horizontal direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Hori’s mill with an actuator for adjusting the angle because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US 2003/0097866.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725