DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12 and 16-19 in the reply filed on 9/1/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-15 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/1/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Klein et al (US 2021/0178731 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, Klein teaches a composite pane (e.g., laminated pane) comprising an outer pane (1) with an exterior-side surface and an interior-side surface, a first thermoplastic intermediate layer (3a), an electro-optical functional element (5), a second thermoplastic intermediate layer (3b), a design element (4) (e.g., transparent body) and an inner pane (2) with an exterior-side surface and an interior-side surface, wherein the electro-optical functional element is arranged in a region of the composite pane between the outer pane and the inner pane, the first thermoplastic intermediate layer is arranged between the outer pane and the electro-optical functional element, the second thermoplastic intermediate layer is arranged between the electro-optical functional element and the inner pane, the design element is arranged in a region of the composite pane which, when viewed through the composite panel, lies completely in the region in which the electro-optical functional element is arranged, the electro-optical functional element can be is electrically controllable from a first state to a second state and vice versa (e.g., change in transparency); wherein the design element is formed as an imprint (e.g., printed layer) on the interior-side surface of the inner pane; wherein the design element is formed as an insert element (e.g., film or fiber) and is arranged between the second thermoplastic intermediate layer and the inner pane; wherein the design element is formed as a region of the interior-side surface (IV) of the inner pane (abstract, para 11-15, 111-112, 119-131; figs 2a-2b, 4b).
Regarding the limitations “in which the electro-optical functional element has a first color; “ and “in which the electro-optical functional element has a second color;” Klein teaches the functional element has electrically controllable optical properties; and “electrically controllable optical properties” means those properties that are infinitely controllable but also those that can be switched between two or more discrete states (para 35, 58); and color was a known optical property at the time of invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to select a functional element with the ability to change colors (i.e., in which the electro-optical functional element has a first color; and in which the electro-optical functional element has a second color) as a matter of design choice as suggested by Klein.
Regarding the limitations “the design element has a third color which corresponds to the first color of the electro-optical functional element” and “satin-finished;” Klein teaches the design element (e.g., transparent body) should be not distinguishable in its interior by the human eye from the vision through the functional element; when the functional element is in the OFF state (para 112, 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to match the third color of the transparent body to that of the first color of the electro-optical functional element therein making it indistinguishable when the functional element is in the OFF state. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the finish of the transparent body to aid in making it indistinguishable when the functional element is in the OFF state.
Regarding claim 4, Klein teaches wherein the insert element (e.g., transparent body) comprises or consists of colored PET, PVB, or EVA (para 12, 16).
Regarding claim 7, Klein teaches an embodiment wherein the design element (e.g., transparent body) (4) is formed on the interior-side surface of the inner pane (para 119-131, fig 4b).
Regarding claims 8 and 16-18, Klein teaches the transparent body may have thickness of 5 µm to 500 µm (para 17). These ranges substantially overlap that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Klein, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Furthermore, the Examiner takes official notice that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have known by adjusting the thickness of the transparent body its physical and mechanical properties (e.g., weight, tear strength, puncture strength, etc.) could be optimized. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the thickness of the transparent body to optimize its physical and mechanical properties.
Regarding claim 9, Klein teaches an embodiment additionally comprising a third thermoplastic intermediate layer (3c) which is arranged between the outer pane and the inner pane, has a recess, and surrounds the electro-optical functional element (5) as a frame (para 119-131, fig 4b).
Regarding claim 10, Klein teaches wherein the electro-optical functional element is a PDLC functional element (para 48).
Regarding claim 11, Klein suggests or would have otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention an embodiment wherein the electro-optical functional element has a first haze and a first light transmittance in the first state and a second haze and a second light transmittance in the second state and the design element has a third haze and a third light transmittance, and the third haze and the third light transmittance are adapted to the first haze, the first light transmittance, the second haze and the second light transmittance in such a way that the design element does not visually stand out to an observer when the electro-optical functional element is in the first state and the design element visually stands out to an observer when the electro-optical functional element is in the second state (para 111-118; figs 3a-d).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Klein teaches wherein the electro-optical functional element is divided by insulation lines into segments which are electrically controlled controllable independently of one another and/or wherein the composite pane additionally comprises a peripheral opaque cover print (e.g., enamel) (para 73-76). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to select that of a black enamel, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bauerle et al (WO 2019/150037 A1).
Klein teaches the composite panel of claim 1. Klein further teaches the design element (e.g., transparent body) is stuck to the interior-side surface of the inner pane and may comprise PVB films (para 119-131, fig 4b).
Klein fails to suggest the use of an adhesive tape.
Bauerle teaches transparent PVB strips used in laminated glazings, and gives an example of PVB tape (i.e., adhesive tape) (abstract, page 8-9, 25, 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the PVB tape of Bauerle for the PVB transparent body of Klein, since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783