DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 and 15 are pending. Claim 14 has been canceled. Claims 1, 13, and 15 are independent. Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected. This is a non-final Office action on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 211s and 212s (FIG. 5) and 114s (FIG. 6). The description of FIG. 5 identifies the coils only as a first coil 111s and a second coil 112s (para. [0097]), and the description of FIG. 6 does not identify any coil by reference character (paras. [0104]-[0110]).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para. [0024], the sentence ending “largest possible surface area)” is followed by stray, non-alphabetic characters that should be deleted.
In para. [0046], “the dot-dash line 111s-212s” should read “the dot-dash line 111s-112s,” consistent with FIG. 1.
In para. [0069], “the first coupling unit 131,” “the first coupling unit 141,” and “the second coupling unit 142” are inconsistent with the reference characters used elsewhere in the disclosure, in which 131 designates the heat return line, 141 and 142 designate the first and second fluid reservoirs, and 133 and 134 designate the first and second coupling units (paras. [0061]-[0063]; FIGS. 2A-2B).
In para. [0106], “the heat transfer system 120” should read “the heat transfer system 130”; reference character 120 designates the magnetocaloric component (para. [0044]).
In paras. [0067] and [0083], the heat supply line 132 is alternately referred to as the “heat flow conduit 132” and the “heat feed line 132,” and in para. [0083] the heat return line 131 is referred to as the “heat return conduit 131.” A single term should be used for each element throughout the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, preamble: “for controlling the temperature a fluid” should read “for controlling the temperature of a fluid.”
Claim 9, last line: the parenthetical reference character “(120)” following “the heat transfer system” does not correspond to the heat transfer system, which the specification designates 130; reference character 120 designates the magnetocaloric component (paras. [0044], [0051]). Reference characters used in the claims must correspond to those used in the drawings and description (MPEP § 608.01(m)). The reference character should be corrected or deleted.
Claim 11, last clause: “and where the first fluid reservoir temperature” should read “and wherein the first fluid reservoir temperature.”
Claim 13: “a magnetocaloric component which is attached so as to be movable relative to the coil arrangement that the magnetocaloric component and the coil arrangement can be moved” should read “… movable relative to the coil arrangement such that the magnetocaloric component and the coil arrangement can be moved.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a heat transfer system thermally contacting each of the first and second magnetocaloric components for providing heat transfer toward and/or away from the first and second magnetocaloric components” in independent claim 1, and “a heat transfer system thermally contacting the magnetocaloric component for providing heat transfer towards and/or away from the magnetocaloric component” in independent claim 13. The generic placeholder is “system”; the function is providing heat transfer toward and/or away from the magnetocaloric component(s); the modifier “heat transfer” restates the function and the phrase “thermally contacting” recites a relationship rather than structure of the system. The corresponding structure described in the specification is the heat transfer system 130 comprising a heat transfer medium (e.g., nitrogen, helium, and/or hydrogen) guided in a heat return line 131 and a heat supply line 132 that are each thermally coupled, at least in sections, to the magnetocaloric component, the lines being joined by coupling units 133, 134 in thermal contact with fluid reservoirs 141, 142; alternatively, a heat exchanger that penetrates, at least in sections, the magnetocaloric component, or tubes or hoses carried in a hollow shaft that conduct the heat transfer medium into heat-conducting contact with the segments (paras. [0044], [0056]-[0057], [0061]-[0070], [0109]; FIGS. 1, 2A-3); and equivalents thereof.
“a first coupling unit and a second coupling unit” by means of which “the heat supply line and the heat return line are coupled to one another … so that the heat transfer medium can circulate” in claim 9. The generic placeholder is “unit”; the function is coupling the heat supply line and the heat return line to one another so that the heat transfer medium can circulate; the modifier “coupling” restates the function. The corresponding structure described in the specification is a section of the heat transfer circuit, joining the heat return line and the heat supply line, within which the heat transfer medium is routed in thermal contact with the respective fluid reservoir so that thermal energy is exchanged between the heat transfer medium and the fluid in that reservoir (paras. [0061]-[0062], [0067]-[0069]; FIGS. 2A-3); and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites: “wherein the coil arrangement and/or the first magnetocaloric component are rotatably attached, and the relative movement of the magnetic field extension region and the magnetocaloric component with respect to one another is a relative rotational movement.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the magnetic field extension region” in the claim. Claim 1, from which claim 3 depends through claim 2, recites two different regions, “a first magnetic field extending region” and “a second magnetic field extending region,” and does not recite any “magnetic field extension region.” It cannot be determined whether claim 3 refers to the first region, to the second region, to both, or to some other region. Likewise, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the magnetocaloric component”: claim 1 recites “a first magnetocaloric component” and “a second magnetocaloric component,” and claim 3 does not identify which of them is meant. The specification describes a single magnetic field extension region 119 and a single magnetocaloric component 120 for the two-coil arrangement (paras. [0050]-[0051], [0101]; FIGS. 1-2B), which does not resolve which of the two regions and two components of claim 1 is referenced. MPEP § 2173.05(e). For purposes of examination, claim 3 is interpreted as referring to the first magnetic field extending region and the first magnetocaloric component.
Claim 12 recites: “wherein the temperature-control device comprises one or more pumps, wherein a first one of the plurality of pumps is coupled to the first fluid reservoir for providing a first pressure in the first fluid reservoir, and/or wherein a second one of the plurality of pumps is coupled to the second fluid reservoir for providing a second pressure in the second fluid reservoir, and wherein the first pressure is different from the second pressure.” First, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the plurality of pumps.” The claim introduces “one or more pumps,” which encompasses a single pump, and then refers to “the plurality of pumps,” so it is unclear whether the claim requires more than one pump. Second, the “and/or” construction makes the first-pump clause and the second-pump clause alternatives, yet the final clause requires that “the first pressure is different from the second pressure.” When only the second-pump alternative is present, no first pressure has been introduced (the first pressure is introduced only as the pressure provided by the first pump), and when only the first-pump alternative is present, no second pressure has been introduced. One of ordinary skill therefore cannot determine what the final comparison requires, or whether it applies at all, when only one alternative is selected. MPEP §§ 2173.05(e), 2173.05(h). For purposes of examination, claim 12 is interpreted as requiring at least one pump coupled to one of the fluid reservoirs to provide a pressure in that reservoir that differs from the pressure in the other fluid reservoir.
Claim 13 recites: “wherein the first base and the third base are coaxially aligned and spaced apart so that a first magnetic field can be generated within a first magnetic field extending region between the first base of the and the third base by means of the first coil and the second coil,” and further recites that the magnetocaloric component and the coil arrangement “can be moved relative to each other along a direction at an angle to the coaxial direction.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the first base” and “the third base”; the claim earlier introduces “a first base surface” and “a third base surface,” not a first base and a third base. In addition, the phrase “between the first base of the and the third base” is grammatically incomplete (a word appears to be missing after “of the”), so the boundaries of the first magnetic field extending region cannot be ascertained. Further, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the coaxial direction.” Unlike claim 1, claim 13 does not recite a coaxial direction; it recites two separate coaxial alignments (the first and third base surfaces, and the second and fourth base surfaces). In the only disclosed two-coil arrangement in which each coil provides two base surfaces bounding two regions, the two regions lie at different locations about a ring-shaped arrangement (paras. [0097]-[0100]; FIG. 5), so the two alignments need not share an axis. It therefore cannot be determined which axis defines “the coaxial direction,” and consequently which direction of relative movement is “at an angle to” it. MPEP § 2173.05(e). For purposes of examination, “the coaxial direction” is interpreted as the direction of the axis along which at least one of the recited pairs of base surfaces is coaxially aligned, and “the first base” and “the third base” are interpreted as the first base surface and the third base surface.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 already requires that “the coil arrangement and/or the first magnetocaloric component are rotatably attached such that the relative movement to each other is a relative rotational movement.” Claim 3 repeats the rotatable attachment and adds only that the relative movement of “the magnetic field extension region” and “the magnetocaloric component” is rotational. Because each magnetic field extending region of claim 1 is defined as the region between two coils of the coil arrangement and is generated by those coils (claim 1; para. [0050]), the region is fixed relative to the coil arrangement, and a relative rotational movement between the coil arrangement and the first magnetocaloric component (claim 2) is necessarily a relative rotational movement between the region and that component. Claim 3 therefore adds no limitation that claim 2 does not already require. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kral (US 4,956,976 A).
In regard to claim 1, Kral teaches a temperature-control device for controlling the temperature of a fluid (magnetic refrigeration apparatus 10 for producing He II) comprising:
a coil arrangement (superconducting magnets 24 stacked in interleaving fashion with wheels 16) comprising a first coil (magnet 24 of the magnet pair above the top housing module 14), a second coil (magnet 24, at the same angular position, of the magnet pair between the top and middle housing modules 14) and a third coil (magnet 24, at the same angular position, of the magnet pair between the middle and bottom housing modules 14), which are arranged in a row along a coaxial direction (the axis of apparatus 10 along which magnets 24 are stacked and supported by internal and external axial magnet support assemblies 70, 74) and are aligned therealong and are arranged at a distance from each other (magnets 24 separated by housing modules 14), so that a magnetic field can be generated within a first magnetic field extending region (high magnetic field zone within the top housing module 14) between the first coil and the second coil by means of the first coil and the second coil and so that the magnetic field can be generated within a second magnetic field extending region (high magnetic field zone within the middle housing module 14) between the second coil and the third coil by means of the second coil and the third coil (col. 4, ll. 3-13; col. 6, ll. 28-37; col. 7, l. 64 - col. 8, l. 9; col. 10, ll. 6-19; figs. 3-6);
a first magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 of the top housing module 14 carrying elements 20 of gadolinium gallium garnet) and a second magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 of the middle housing module 14 carrying elements 20), which are attached so as to be movable relative to the coil arrangement (wheels 16 mounted on bearings 50 and driven through drive shaft 23, pinion gear 38 and ring gear 40) (col. 6, ll. 55-66; col. 7, ll. 17-21, 32-38; figs. 4-5, 11);
wherein the first magnetocaloric component can be moved relative to the coil arrangement along a direction at an angle to the coaxial direction (rotation of wheel 16 in its own plane, perpendicular to the stacking axis of magnets 24) into the first magnetic field extending region and out of the first magnetic field extending region (each point of wheel 16 moves into and out of the magnetic field zones within its module) (col. 4, ll. 8-11; col. 6, ll. 28-29; col. 7, ll. 24-26; figs. 4-5), and
wherein the second magnetocaloric component can be moved relative to the coil arrangement along the direction into and out of the second magnetic field extending region for generating a respective magnetocaloric temperature-control of the first and second magnetocaloric components (elements 20 warm upon entering and cool upon leaving the high field zones) based on a magnetic field change during relative movement of the coil arrangement with respect to the first and second magnetocaloric components (col. 4, ll. 24-34; col. 6, ll. 42-53; col. 10, ll. 51-66; figs. 4-5, 12); and
a heat transfer system (high and low temperature heat exchangers 54 integral with upper and lower housing plates 46, 48 of each housing module 14, helium-3 heat transfer gas in the gap between elements 20 and plates 46, 48, and liquid helium lines 21 joined to heat exchanger connectors 28, 30, 32, 34) thermally contacting each of the first and second magnetocaloric components for providing heat transfer toward and/or away from the first and second magnetocaloric components (heat absorbed by elements 20 at the low temperature heat exchangers and rejected from elements 20 at the high temperature heat exchangers) (col. 4, ll. 44-63; col. 8, ll. 22-58; col. 9, ll. 4-26; figs. 2, 5, 7-11).
In regard to claim 2, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1, wherein the first magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 carrying elements 20) is rotatably attached (bearings 50; drive shaft 23) such that the relative movement to each other is a relative rotational movement (wheel 16 rotated through the stationary fields of magnets 24) (col. 6, ll. 28-29, 55-66; col. 7, ll. 17-26; figs. 4-5).
In regard to claim 3, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 2, wherein the first magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 carrying elements 20) is rotatably attached (bearings 50; drive shaft 23), and the relative movement of the magnetic field extension region (high magnetic field zone between the stacked magnets 24) and the magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 carrying elements 20) with respect to one another is a relative rotational movement (col. 6, ll. 28-29, 55-66; col. 7, ll. 17-26; figs. 4-5).
In regard to claim 4, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1, wherein the first coil is a superconducting magnetic field coil, and wherein the second coil is a superconducting magnetic field coil (magnets 24 are superconducting solenoidal coils wound with NbTi wire) (col. 4, ll. 35-40; col. 8, ll. 10-21; fig. 5).
In regard to claim 6, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1, wherein the first magnetocaloric component has a ring shape (annular wheel 16 bounded by inner and outer housing plate spacers 42, 44) (col. 7, ll. 5-21; col. 10, ll. 29-32; figs. 4-5).
In regard to claim 7, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1, wherein the first magnetocaloric component comprises a plurality of segments that are not physically connected to each other (elements 20 held in separate, circumferentially spaced cutout regions 18 and separated from one another by wheel 16, a poor heat conductor) (col. 7, ll. 30-38, 46-60; figs. 4, 11).
In regard to claim 8, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1, further comprising a first fluid reservoir (central helium system supplying a forced-flow liquid helium stream at 4.7 K to the high temperature heat exchangers through the first flow path of lines 21 and receiving the stream back) and a second fluid reservoir (stagnant subcooled He II bath at the cold temperature source, joined through the second flow path of lines 21 to the low temperature heat exchangers), wherein the first fluid reservoir and the second fluid reservoir are thermally coupled to one another by means of the heat transfer system (heat conducted from the He II through the low temperature heat exchangers, the helium-3 gas, elements 20 and the high temperature heat exchangers to the forced-flow helium stream), and wherein the first fluid reservoir is a heat bath (4.7 K supply stream absorbing the heat rejected by apparatus 10) and the second fluid reservoir is configured to receive a fluid to be tempered (stagnant volume filled with He II formed by cooling helium through the lambda transition) (col. 4, ll. 53-63; col. 9, ll. 4-26; col. 10, l. 66 - col. 11, l. 21; figs. 1-2, 7-8).
In regard to claim 11, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 8, wherein the first fluid reservoir has a first fluid reservoir temperature (hot-side temperature of 4.7 K), wherein the second fluid reservoir has a second fluid reservoir temperature (cold-side temperature of 1.8 K), and wherein the first fluid reservoir temperature is different from the second fluid reservoir temperature (col. 10, ll. 36-50; fig. 12).
In regard to claim 13, Kral teaches a temperature-control device for controlling the temperature of a fluid (magnetic refrigeration apparatus 10) comprising:
a coil arrangement comprising a first coil (magnet 24 of the magnet pair above the top housing module 14) and a second coil (magnet 24, at the same angular position, of the magnet pair below the top housing module 14),
wherein the first coil extends from a first base surface (lower end face of the upper magnet 24, facing the top housing module 14) to a second base surface (upper end face of the upper magnet 24), and the second coil extends from a third base surface (upper end face of the lower magnet 24, facing the top housing module 14) to a fourth base surface (lower end face of the lower magnet 24), wherein the first base and the third base are coaxially aligned (stacked along the axis of apparatus 10) and spaced apart (by the top housing module 14) so that a first magnetic field can be generated within a first magnetic field extending region (high magnetic field zone within the top housing module 14) between the first base and the third base by means of the first coil and the second coil and the second base surface and the fourth base surface are coaxially aligned with each other and spaced apart so that a second magnetic field can be generated within a second magnetic field extending region (region extending from the upper end face of the upper magnet 24 to the lower end face of the lower magnet 24, including the high magnetic field zone within the top housing module 14) between the second base surface and the fourth base surface by means of the first coil and the second coil (col. 4, ll. 3-13; col. 6, ll. 28-37; col. 7, l. 64 - col. 8, l. 3; figs. 4-5);
a magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 of the top housing module 14 carrying elements 20) which is attached so as to be movable relative to the coil arrangement (bearings 50; drive shaft 23) such that the magnetocaloric component and the coil arrangement can be moved relative to each other along a direction at an angle to the coaxial direction (rotation of wheel 16 in its own plane, perpendicular to the stacking axis of magnets 24) into the first and/or second magnetic field extending region and out of the first and/or second magnetic field extending region for generating a magnetocaloric temperature-control of the magnetocaloric component (elements 20 warm upon entering and cool upon leaving the high field zone) based on a magnetic field change during relative movement of the coil arrangement with respect to the magnetocaloric component (col. 4, ll. 8-11, 24-34; col. 6, ll. 42-53; figs. 4-5, 12); and
a heat transfer system (heat exchangers 54 in housing plates 46, 48, helium-3 heat transfer gas, and liquid helium lines 21) thermally contacting the magnetocaloric component for providing heat transfer towards and/or away from the magnetocaloric component (col. 4, ll. 44-63; col. 8, ll. 22-58; col. 9, ll. 4-26; figs. 5, 7-11).
Claims 1-4, 8, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wakuda (US 2024/0125521 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Wakuda teaches a temperature-control device for controlling the temperature of a fluid (hydrogen liquefaction device E including a magnetic refrigeration device) comprising:
a coil arrangement (rotating magnetic field generation device 8 having magnet disks 3a-3k stacked with gaps g) comprising a first coil (superconducting coil 1a on magnet disk 3a), a second coil (superconducting coil 1a on magnet disk 3b) and a third coil (superconducting coil 1a on magnet disk 3c), which are arranged in a row along a coaxial direction (axial direction of thermally conductive shaft 6, the disks being phased so that the magnetic flux of the stacked coils is continuous in the axial direction) and are aligned therealong and are arranged at a distance from each other (gaps g), so that a magnetic field can be generated within a first magnetic field extending region (gap g between disks 3a and 3b) between the first coil and the second coil by means of the first coil and the second coil and so that the magnetic field can be generated within a second magnetic field extending region (gap g between disks 3b and 3c) between the second coil and the third coil by means of the second coil and the third coil (¶ 0056-0060, 0070-0072, 0079; figs. 2-6);
a first magnetocaloric component (unit AMRR 41a, filled with magnetic working substance, inserted in the gap between disks 3a and 3b) and a second magnetocaloric component (unit AMRR 41b inserted in the gap between disks 3b and 3c), which are attached so as to be movable relative to the coil arrangement (unit AMRRs installed among the magnet disks 3 without contacting them while the disks rotate) (¶ 0062, 0102, 0108; figs. 2, 9-11);
wherein the first magnetocaloric component can be moved relative to the coil arrangement along a direction at an angle to the coaxial direction (circumferential direction of rotation of disks 3 about shaft 6) into the first magnetic field extending region and out of the first magnetic field extending region (unit AMRR excited as the magnets rotate to it and demagnetized as the magnets move away), and
wherein the second magnetocaloric component can be moved relative to the coil arrangement along the direction into and out of the second magnetic field extending region for generating a respective magnetocaloric temperature-control of the first and second magnetocaloric components (magnetic working substance generates heat when excited and absorbs heat when demagnetized) based on a magnetic field change during relative movement of the coil arrangement with respect to the first and second magnetocaloric components (¶ 0061, 0108, 0112-0113; figs. 2, 9-11); and
a heat transfer system (working fluid, e.g., helium gas, contained in unit AMRRs 41a, 41b, together with heat exchangers 21, 22 integrating the high-temperature and low-temperature ends of the AMRRs) thermally contacting each of the first and second magnetocaloric components for providing heat transfer toward and/or away from the first and second magnetocaloric components (¶ 0063-0064, 0103, 0105, 0111-0113; figs. 2, 11).
In regard to claim 2, Wakuda teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1, wherein the coil arrangement (magnet disks 3a-3k fixed to shaft 6 and driven by motor 10 through heat-insulating torque tube 9) is rotatably attached such that the relative movement to each other is a relative rotational movement (¶ 0050-0054, 0061; figs. 2-4).
In regard to claim 3, Wakuda teaches the temperature-control device of claim 2, wherein the coil arrangement (magnet disks 3a-3k on shaft 6) is rotatably attached, and the relative movement of the magnetic field extension region (gaps g, which rotate and move as the disks rotate) and the magnetocaloric component (unit AMRR 41a) with respect to one another is a relative rotational movement (¶ 0061-0062; figs. 2-4, 9).
In regard to claim 4, Wakuda teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1, wherein the first coil is a superconducting magnetic field coil, and wherein the second coil is a superconducting magnetic field coil (superconducting coils 1a of MgB2 or REBCO operated in persistent current mode) (¶ 0052, 0085, 0087).
In regard to claim 8, Wakuda teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1, further comprising a first fluid reservoir (heat sink h, such as room-temperature atmosphere, LNG, or liquid nitrogen, to which the high-temperature end of the AMRR is connected and into which the transferred heat is finally discarded) and a second fluid reservoir (liquid hydrogen vessel 12), wherein the first fluid reservoir and the second fluid reservoir are thermally coupled to one another by means of the heat transfer system (working fluid and heat exchangers 21, 22 of the AMRRs), and wherein the first fluid reservoir is a heat bath (heat sink h) and the second fluid reservoir is configured to receive a fluid to be tempered (hydrogen gas pre-cooled by heat exchanger 21, liquefied by heat exchanger 22, and stored in vessel 12) (¶ 0045-0046, 0063-0064; figs. 1-2).
In regard to claim 11, Wakuda teaches the temperature-control device of claim 8, wherein the first fluid reservoir has a first fluid reservoir temperature (room temperature, LNG temperature, or liquid nitrogen temperature of heat sink h), wherein the second fluid reservoir has a second fluid reservoir temperature (liquid hydrogen at about minus 253 degrees in vessel 12), and wherein the first fluid reservoir temperature is different from the second fluid reservoir temperature (¶ 0004, 0045-0046, 0064; figs. 1-2).
In regard to claim 13, Wakuda teaches a temperature-control device for controlling the temperature of a fluid (hydrogen liquefaction device E) comprising:
a coil arrangement comprising a first coil (superconducting coil 1a on magnet disk 3a) and a second coil (superconducting coil 1a on magnet disk 3b),
wherein the first coil extends from a first base surface (face of coil 1a of disk 3a facing gap g) to a second base surface (opposite face of that coil), and the second coil extends from a third base surface (face of coil 1a of disk 3b facing gap g) to a fourth base surface (opposite face of that coil), wherein the first base and the third base are coaxially aligned (stacked along shaft 6 with the magnetic flux continuous in the axial direction) and spaced apart (gap g) so that a first magnetic field can be generated within a first magnetic field extending region (gap g between disks 3a and 3b) between the first base and the third base by means of the first coil and the second coil and the second base surface and the fourth base surface are coaxially aligned with each other and spaced apart so that a second magnetic field can be generated within a second magnetic field extending region (region extending from the outer face of coil 1a of disk 3a to the outer face of coil 1a of disk 3b, including gap g) between the second base surface and the fourth base surface by means of the first coil and the second coil (¶ 0056-0060, 0072, 0079, 0083; figs. 3-6);
a magnetocaloric component (unit AMRR 41a) which is attached so as to be movable relative to the coil arrangement such that the magnetocaloric component and the coil arrangement can be moved relative to each other along a direction at an angle to the coaxial direction (circumferential direction of rotation of disks 3 about shaft 6) into the first and/or second magnetic field extending region and out of the first and/or second magnetic field extending region for generating a magnetocaloric temperature-control of the magnetocaloric component (magnetic working substance generates heat when excited and absorbs heat when demagnetized) based on a magnetic field change during relative movement of the coil arrangement with respect to the magnetocaloric component (¶ 0061-0062, 0108, 0112-0113; figs. 2, 9-11); and
a heat transfer system (working fluid in unit AMRR 41a and heat exchangers 21, 22) thermally contacting the magnetocaloric component for providing heat transfer towards and/or away from the magnetocaloric component (¶ 0063, 0103, 0105, 0111-0113; figs. 2, 11).
In regard to claim 15, Wakuda teaches a method for liquifying (liquefying hydrogen gas in hydrogen liquefaction device E), the method comprising:
generating a magnetic field within a first magnetic field extending region (gap g between disks 3a and 3b) between a first coil (superconducting coil 1a on disk 3a) and a second coil (superconducting coil 1a on disk 3b) that is based on the first coil and the second coil and within a second magnetic field extending region (gap g between disks 3b and 3c) between the second coil and a third coil (superconducting coil 1a on disk 3c) that is based on the second coil and the third coil, wherein the first coil, second coil, and third coil are arranged in a row along a coaxial direction (axial direction of shaft 6, the magnetic flux being continuous in that direction) and are aligned therealong and are spaced apart from each other (gaps g) to form a coil arrangement (rotating magnetic field generation device 8) (¶ 0056-0061, 0072, 0079; figs. 2-6);
generating a respective magnetocaloric temperature-control of a first magnetocaloric component (unit AMRR 41a) and a second magnetocaloric component (unit AMRR 41b) based on a magnetic field change by relative movement of the coil arrangement with respect to the first and second magnetocaloric components (rotation of disks 3 exciting and demagnetizing the magnetic working substance), wherein the first magnetocaloric component is movable relative to the coil arrangement along a direction at an angle to the coaxial direction (circumferential direction of rotation about shaft 6) into the first magnetic field extending region and out of the first magnetic field extending region, and wherein the second magnetocaloric component is movable relative to the coil arrangement along the direction into and out of the second magnetic field extending region (¶ 0061-0062, 0108, 0112-0113; figs. 2, 9-11); and
transferring heat toward and/or away from the first and second magnetocaloric components via a heat transfer system (working fluid moved through unit AMRRs 41a, 41b and heat exchangers 21, 22) that thermally contacts each of the first and second magnetocaloric components, the hydrogen gas being pre-cooled by heat exchanger 21, liquefied by heat exchanger 22, and stored in liquid hydrogen vessel 12 (¶ 0063-0064, 0103, 0111-0113; figs. 2, 11; claim 11).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagome (US 4,599,866 A).
In regard to claim 13, Nakagome teaches a temperature-control device for controlling the temperature of a fluid (magnetic refrigerator incorporated in helium liquefier body 50) comprising:
a coil arrangement comprising a first coil (superconducting coil 41 having coil unit 45 held in flat case 43) and a second coil (superconducting coil 42 having coil unit 46 held in flat case 44),
wherein the first coil extends from a first base surface (lower face of coil 41 facing auxiliary container 7) to a second base surface (upper face of coil 41), and the second coil extends from a third base surface (upper face of coil 42 facing auxiliary container 7) to a fourth base surface (lower face of coil 42), wherein the first base and the third base are coaxially aligned (coils 41, 42 coaxially located above and below auxiliary container 7) and spaced apart (by auxiliary container 7) so that a first magnetic field can be generated within a first magnetic field extending region (field region across auxiliary container 7 between the coils) between the first base and the third base by means of the first coil and the second coil (persistent currents generating fields in the same direction) and the second base surface and the fourth base surface are coaxially aligned with each other and spaced apart so that a second magnetic field can be generated within a second magnetic field extending region (region extending from the upper face of coil 41 to the lower face of coil 42, including auxiliary container 7) between the second base surface and the fourth base surface by means of the first coil and the second coil (col. 4, ll. 50-68; col. 5, ll. 5-9; figs. 1, 4);
a magnetocaloric component (working substances 15 of gadolinium gallium garnet held in through holes 14 of rotating member 12) which is attached so as to be movable relative to the coil arrangement (rotating member 12 driven by motor 29 through shaft 21) such that the magnetocaloric component and the coil arrangement can be moved relative to each other along a direction at an angle to the coaxial direction (circular path in a horizontal plane about shaft 21, perpendicular to the coil axis) into the first and/or second magnetic field extending region and out of the first and/or second magnetic field extending region for generating a magnetocaloric temperature-control of the magnetocaloric component (heat generated upon adiabatic magnetization and absorbed upon adiabatic demagnetization) based on a magnetic field change during relative movement of the coil arrangement with respect to the magnetocaloric component (col. 3, ll. 17-47; col. 5, ll. 9-25; figs. 1-2); and
a heat transfer system (heat conductor 32 having sliding sections 33a, 33b in contact with flat surfaces 18a, 18b of working substance 15, and heat-absorbing conductor 38 of precooler 60) thermally contacting the magnetocaloric component for providing heat transfer towards and/or away from the magnetocaloric component (col. 4, ll. 14-49; col. 5, ll. 37-48; figs. 1, 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kral (US 4,956,976 A) in view of Tanaka (US 2021/0241953 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first coil and the second coil (magnets 24) are superconducting coils held at their operating temperature by cooling derived from liquid helium carried in lines 21 through magnetic cooling mounts 55 (col. 4, ll. 35-40; col. 9, ll. 16-20; figs. 2, 7).
Kral does not explicitly teach the following limitations of claim 5: (a) that the first coil is arranged in a first coil housing and the second coil is arranged in a second coil housing; and (b) that the first coil housing and the second coil housing are each configured to be filled with liquid nitrogen and/or liquid helium.
However, Tanaka teaches a superconducting magnet (100) in which a superconducting coil (110) is arranged in a coil housing (coolant container 120), addressing limitation (a), the coil housing containing the coil immersed in a liquid coolant (10) that is liquid helium or, alternatively, liquid nitrogen, addressing limitation (b) (¶ 0013-0015, 0017; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic refrigeration apparatus of Kral to include, for each of the first and second superconducting coils, a coolant container that contains the coil immersed in liquid helium or liquid nitrogen as taught by Tanaka, in order to bring and keep the superconducting coil in its superconducting state (Tanaka ¶ 0017).
Claims 9 and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kral (US 4,956,976 A) in view of Barclay (US 2002/0040583 A1).
In regard to claim 9, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 8, wherein the heat transfer system comprises a heat transfer medium (liquid helium carried in lines 21, and helium-3 heat transfer gas) (col. 8, ll. 40-58; col. 9, ll. 4-26; figs. 2, 7-10).
Kral does not teach the following limitations of claim 9: (a) that the heat transfer system comprises a heat return line and a heat supply line; (b) that the heat supply line and the heat return line are coupled to one another by means of a first coupling unit and a second coupling unit; and (c) that, as a result, the heat transfer medium can circulate within the heat transfer system.
However, Barclay teaches an active magnetic regenerative refrigerator stage (FIG. 2) in which a heat transfer medium (first heat-transfer fluid 206, e.g., helium) propelled by pump 222 flows through a heat supply line (conduit carrying the fluid from first heat exchanger 204 through hot-blow zone 208, where it removes heat from magnetized magnetic material 210, to second heat exchanger 218) and a heat return line (conduit carrying the fluid from second heat exchanger 218 through cold-blow zone 228, where it is cooled by demagnetized magnetic material 210, back to first heat exchanger 204), addressing limitation (a); the two lines being coupled to one another by a first coupling unit (second heat exchanger 218) and a second coupling unit (first heat exchanger 204), addressing limitation (b); so that the fluid circulates in a closed circuit, addressing limitation (c) (¶ 0050; fig. 2; see also ¶ 0040-0041 and figs. 1(A)-1(B), ducts 111, 112 directing heat-transfer fluid 116 through segments 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic refrigeration apparatus of Kral to include a circulating heat-transfer-fluid circuit having a line that carries the heat-transfer fluid through the magnetized magnetic refrigerant to a hot-side heat exchanger and a line that carries the fluid from that heat exchanger through the demagnetized magnetic refrigerant to a cold-side heat exchanger, the lines being joined at the two heat exchangers, as taught by Barclay (limitations (a)-(c)), in order to couple the magnetic refrigerant efficiently to a heat-transfer fluid in a regenerative cycle and thereby increase the temperature span and efficiency of the refrigerator (Barclay ¶ 0005, 0019).
In regard to claim 10, Kral in view of Barclay teaches the temperature-control device of claim 9, Kral further teaches the first fluid reservoir (central helium system supplying the 4.7 K forced-flow stream), the second fluid reservoir (stagnant subcooled He II bath), and a first magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 carrying elements 20) that is carried alternately through the high magnetic field zones and the low magnetic field zones (col. 4, ll. 3-13, 53-68; col. 9, ll. 4-26; figs. 2, 4-5).
Kral does not teach the following limitations of claim 10: (a) that the first coupling unit is in thermal contact with the first fluid reservoir; (b) that the second coupling unit is in thermal contact with the second fluid reservoir; (c) that the first magnetocaloric component is in thermal contact with a portion of the heat supply line; and (d) that the first magnetocaloric component is in thermal contact with a portion of the heat return line.
However, Barclay teaches that the first coupling unit (second heat exchanger 218) expels the heat carried by the circulating heat-transfer fluid to a hot reservoir through a second heat-transfer fluid entering at inlet 220, addressing limitation (a) (see also FIG. 5, hot reservoirs 512 cooled by external cooling fluid supplied at inlet 526); that the second coupling unit (first heat exchanger 204) removes heat from the process stream to be cooled, addressing limitation (b); and that the magnetic material 210 carried on rotating drum 214 is contacted by the heat-transfer fluid in the hot-blow zone 208, which is a portion of the heat supply line, while in the high magnetic field, addressing limitation (c), and in the cold-blow zone 228, which is a portion of the heat return line, while in the reduced magnetic field, addressing limitation (d) (¶ 0050, 0056, 0059; figs. 2, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic refrigeration apparatus of Kral to include a circulating heat-transfer-fluid circuit in which a hot-side heat exchanger rejects heat to the hot reservoir, a cold-side heat exchanger absorbs heat from the fluid to be cooled, and the rotating magnetic refrigerant is contacted by the circulating fluid in the high-field zone and in the low-field zone, as taught by Barclay (limitations (a)-(d)), in order to couple the magnetic refrigerant efficiently to a heat-transfer fluid in a regenerative cycle and thereby increase the temperature span and efficiency of the refrigerator (Barclay ¶ 0005, 0019).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kral (US 4,956,976 A) in view of Holladay (US 2018/0283772 A1).
In regard to claim 12, Kral teaches the temperature-control device of claim 8, wherein liquid helium is supplied from the first fluid reservoir (central helium system) to the high temperature heat exchangers as a forced-flow stream at 0.221 MPa (col. 10, l. 66 - col. 11, l. 6; col. 11, ll. 57-60).
Kral does not explicitly teach the following limitations of claim 12, as interpreted in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above: (a) that the temperature-control device comprises one or more pumps; (b) that a pump is coupled to the first fluid reservoir for providing a first pressure in the first fluid reservoir; and (c) that the first pressure is different from the second pressure in the second fluid reservoir.
However, Holladay teaches an active magnetic regenerative refrigerator having a circulation pump that circulates the fluid in contact with the magnetic refrigerant, addressing limitation (a); the pump being located on the hot side, upstream of the hot heat exchanger (HHEX) that rejects heat to a chiller-fed heat sink, and maintaining the circulating fluid at about 300 psia (290-300 psia at the HHEX inlet), addressing limitation (b); while the cooled, liquefied fluid is delivered to a liquefied hydrogen storage module at a different pressure of about 15-35 psia, addressing limitation (c) (¶ 0040, 0045, 0065-0067, 0070; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic refrigeration apparatus of Kral to include a circulation pump coupled to the hot-side fluid supply that circulates the fluid at a first pressure different from the pressure at which the cold-side reservoir receives the cooled fluid, as taught by Holladay (limitations (a)-(c)), in order to circulate the fluid continuously through the hot heat exchanger at a pressure selected for effective heat transfer (Holladay ¶ 0045, 0070).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kral (US 4,956,976 A) in view of Nakagome (US 4,599,866 A).
In regard to claim 15, Kral teaches a method (operation of magnetic refrigeration apparatus 10 for producing He II), the method comprising:
generating a magnetic field within a first magnetic field extending region (high magnetic field zone within the top housing module 14) between a first coil (magnet 24 of the magnet pair above the top housing module 14) and a second coil (magnet 24, at the same angular position, of the magnet pair between the top and middle housing modules 14) that is based on the first coil and the second coil and within a second magnetic field extending region (high magnetic field zone within the middle housing module 14) between the second coil and a third coil (magnet 24, at the same angular position, of the magnet pair between the middle and bottom housing modules 14) that is based on the second coil and the third coil (magnets 24 continuously energized by an external power supply), wherein the first coil, second coil, and third coil are arranged in a row along a coaxial direction (axis of apparatus 10 along which magnets 24 are stacked) and are aligned therealong and are spaced apart from each other (by housing modules 14) to form a coil arrangement (magnets 24 stacked in interleaving fashion with wheels 16) (col. 4, ll. 3-13, 35-44; col. 6, ll. 28-37; col. 7, l. 64 - col. 8, l. 22; figs. 3-6);
generating a respective magnetocaloric temperature-control of a first magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 of the top housing module 14 carrying elements 20) and a second magnetocaloric component (wheel 16 of the middle housing module 14 carrying elements 20) based on a magnetic field change by relative movement of the coil arrangement with respect to the first and second magnetocaloric components (elements 20 warm upon entering and cool upon leaving the high field zones as wheels 16 rotate), wherein the first magnetocaloric component is movable relative to the coil arrangement along a direction at an angle to the coaxial direction (rotation of wheel 16 in its own plane, perpendicular to the stacking axis) into the first magnetic field extending region and out of the first magnetic field extending region, and wherein the second magnetocaloric component is movable relative to the coil arrangement along the direction into and out of the second magnetic field extending region (col. 4, ll. 24-34; col. 6, ll. 42-53; col. 10, ll. 51-66; figs. 4-5, 12); and
transferring heat toward and/or away from the first and second magnetocaloric components via a heat transfer system (heat exchangers 54 in housing plates 46, 48, helium-3 heat transfer gas, and liquid helium lines 21) that thermally contacts each of the first and second magnetocaloric components (col. 4, ll. 44-63; col. 8, ll. 22-58; col. 9, ll. 4-26; figs. 5, 7-11).
Kral does not explicitly teach that the method is a method for liquifying.
However, Nakagome teaches a method of operating a rotary magnetic refrigerator, in which working substances 15 carried on rotating member 12 pass through the magnetic field between coaxial superconducting coils 41, 42, as a helium liquefier, the helium gas being condensed on the adiabatically demagnetized working substance and the condensed liquid falling into the liquid helium in helium container 4 (col. 1, ll. 7-12; col. 2, ll. 29-32, 47-51; col. 5, ll. 12-35; figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Kral to use the refrigeration produced by the magnetocaloric components to condense and thereby liquefy a gas, as taught by Nakagome, in order to obtain a liquefier having an excellent refrigeration power per unit volume compared with an ordinary compression type refrigerator (Nakagome col. 1, ll. 7-12).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763