DETAILED ACTION
Status
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for application no. 19107319 on February 27, 2025. Please note claims 1-9 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “adjustment mechanism” in claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The structure for “adjustment mechanism” is not found in either the specification or the drawings, the specification does not disclose what the structure of the “adjustment mechanism”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
8. Claim limitation “adjustment mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. As indicated in the Claim Interpretation section above, structure for “adjustment mechanism” is not found in either the specification or the drawings, the specification does not disclose what the structure of the “adjustment mechanism” is. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20170345396 A1) in view of Redeker et al. (DE 102019211156 A), Yu and Redeker references are provided in IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses: A portable digital display device (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, display 400), comprising:
a display with a display area (see Fig. 4, display area of display 400);
a first module to detect semantic content and/or a control indication (see Fig. 7, [0060], a pen-based handwriting input layer 706 “notes. Please note “and/or” limitation recited);
a first interface to acquire displayable digital content from a source (see Fig. 1, [0032]-[0033], serial digital video, HDMI/DVI, display port);
an adjustment mechanism providing adjustment between a first state having a first -footprint and a second state having a second footprint (see Fig. 3-5, [0050]-[0053], flexible/foldable mechanism/substrate of the foldable display. Also see 112 rejections above. Examiner reads one of a flat state display as a first-footprint and a folded state display as a second footprint);
wherein the first footprint corresponds to the display area (see Fig. 5, [0053], display area of first and second zones 502 and 504);
wherein the display area is flexible vertically and/or horizontally as a so-called whiteboard and is usable at the same time by a plurality of people (see Fig. 3-5, Fig. 8, [0068], flexible/foldable display useable to guest and admin at the same time),
wherein the second footprint renders the display device transportable (see Fig. 5, configuration 510).
Yu does not explicitly teach an energy storage; a second interface connected to the energy storage to allow recharging the energy storage.
However, in the same field of endeavor of the display device, Redeker teaches an energy storage; a second interface connected to the energy storage to allow recharging the energy storage (see Fig. 6, [0064] discloses portable digital display device 10 can include that this is an energy store (in the 6 not shown), for example a battery or an accumulator. The charger can be used for charging 38 can be used, for example in base 40 have an induction loop for charging the energy storage device and that for feeding in the electricity, for example via a power cable 42 can be connected to a power source).
Therefore, in view of teachings of Yu and Redeker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic display device as taught by Yu with Redeker’s teachings of an energy storage; a second interface connected to the energy storage to allow recharging the energy storage in order to design portable/mobile rechargeable display device.
Regarding claim 2, Yu in view of Redeker teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yu further teaches wherein a surface of the display provides touch detection (see Fig. 1, [0031], discloses the display device 192 may be a touch-enabled display).
Regarding claim 3, Yu in view of Redeker teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yu further teaches wherein the detection includes an integrated speech recognition function (see Fig. 1, [0037], discloses audio receiver/microphone that provides input from the microphone to the processor 122 based on audio that is detected, such as via a user providing audible input to the microphone).
Regarding claim 4, Yu in view of Redeker teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yu further teaches wherein the first interface a unidirectional image interface as a bidirectional wired communication interface, and/or a near field communication standard (see Fig. 1, [0032]-[0033], HDMI 138; USB interfaces 153, wireless connections 182).
Regarding claim 5, Yu in view of Redeker teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yu further teaches wherein the second interface comprises a USB interface (see Fig. 1, [0033], discloses one or more USB interfaces 153).
Regarding claim 6, Yu in view of Redeker teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yu further teaches wherein: the display comprises e-paper; and transition from the first state to second state includes rolling and/or folding the e-paper (see Figs. 3-5, [0031] discloses foldable e-paper display).
Regarding claim 7, Yu in view of Redeker teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yu further teaches wherein: the first module recognizes handwritten and/or spoken words; upon recognition of semantic contents, the contents into a digital datum displayable a text format; and upon nonrecognition of semantic contents, converts the contents into a digital datum interpreted as a graphic input and displayable as an image (see Fig. 7, [0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Yu in view of Redeker teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yu further teaches wherein the first module carries out the control of the display device so: a) it is made capable of recognizing at least one control character from detected semantic contents,b) it detects inputs marked by the at least one control character as a command and/or selection, and c) it carries out at least one state change assigned to the command or the selection of at least parts of the display device and/or displayed content (see Fig. 7, [0060]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Yu in view of Redeker teaches the limitations of parent claim 1. Yu further teaches a third interface to present wirelessly transmitted electromagnetic as an interpretable movement incident within the display area of a remote signal source to the first module for recognizing semantic contents ([0034], discloses PCI-E interface 152 allows for wireless connections 182 to devices, networks, etc. from external device)
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Trinh et al. (US 20210357034 A1) discloses general teachings of flexible/foldable multiuser touch screen display (see Figs. 2).
/KRISHNA P NEUPANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629