Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawings must show wherein the anti-slip member is arranged on a front surface of the outermost finger sack of the finger portion (claims 7-12), the outer most finger sack (claims 7-12), and the anti-slip member also simultaneously arranged on the back surface of a palm side of the finger portion).
or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
wherein the anti-slip member is arranged on a front surface of the outermost finger sack of the finger portion. In combination, the anti-slip material of Green would be positioned on a front surface (palm surface) of the outermost finger sack (as best understood) of the finger portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites that “The center portion being at least partially covered”. It is unclear what element is covered by what. The claim has been construed to mean that the center portion is capable for use to cover the users hand. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites “on finger cushion parts” is unclear what applicant is referring to. What are finger cushion parts? Is applicant talking about the finger cushions parts of the user? Of the glove? Is this an additional cushion element on the surface of the glove apparatus? Appropriate clarification required.
Claim 3 depends from claim 1, claim 1 requires a fingertip part covering a fingertip. Claim 3 recites that the finger portion has no fingertip part covering the fingertip. It is unclear how the device can be both covering and not covering. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7 -12 recites the limitation "the" in reference to “the outermost finger sack of the finger portion” .There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further it is unclear what an outermost finger sack is. For purposes of examination, this has been construed to mean the sack that is in the outer position (such as either the thumb or the middle finger). Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 7-12, depend from claim 1. Claim 1 recites that the anti-slip material covers the back surface of the palm side of the finger portion. Claims 7-12 recite that the anti-slip material is arranged on the front surface of the outermost finger sack. It is unclear how the same element is positioned on a front surface of the finger sack and on the back surface of the palm side of the finger portion. It is unclear if the anti-slip material is multiple elements located in various locations of the glove. Or a single material covering both of the claimed areas. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karkanen (US 4,507,807) in view of Green (US 8,458,815). The device of Karkanen teaches,
With respect to claim 1, An athletic glove comprising: a glove body (4) including a plurality of finger portions (8) and a center portion (palm area), the center portion being at least partially covered, as best understood,, the center portion being connected to the finger portions (Figure 1) wherein the finger portion comprises a knit fabric or an elastic-stretch material (4) at least on finger cushion parts (area covering the base area of the finger) of the finger portion, finger portion has a fingertip part (area at the distal end of 8) covering a fingertip (at least a portion of a fingertip as defined is covered); and a finger sack (6) comprising a rubber elastic material (Column 2, line 15) is formed on a front surface of the fingertip part of the finger portion and fixed to the front surface of the fingertip part of the finger portion (Figures 3-4). The device of Karkanen substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking an anti-slip member.
The device of Green teaches, an anti-slip member (Column lines 62-27)) is arranged on a back surface of a palm-side of the finger portion (Figure 2) to prevent the finger portion and a finger from shifting, it is noted that the language “to prevent the finger portion and finger from shifting” is a functional recitation. The prior art teaches an anti-slip member and therefore meets the claim as currently recited since the protuberances would provide the function of preventing shifting as claimed, see MPEP 2114., the anti-slip member partially covers the back surface (Figure 2) of the palm-side of the finger portion (figure 2) to provide breathability of the finger portion. The language “to provide breathability” is functional. The prior art teaches the anti-slip member only covering a portion of the finger and therefore would provide the function as “providing breathability” meeting the claim as currently recited, see MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 2, wherein a finger sack backing (rear portion of 6) comprising the rubber elastic material (column 2, line 15) is fixed to a back surface of the fingertip part of the finger portion (Figures 2-4).
With respect to claim 3, as best understood, wherein the finger portion has no fingertip part covering (Figures 2-4) the fingertip (the very end portion of the fingertip is not covered), and the finger sack (6) comprising the rubber elastic material is fixed to a perimeter of an end of the finger portion (Figures 2-4).
With respect to claim 4, wherein the finger sack comprising the rubber elastic material is detachably attached to the front surface of the fingertip part of the finger portion.
With respect to claim 5, wherein the finger sack comprising the rubber elastic material is detachably attached to the front surface of the fingertip part of the finger portion (Figure 1). The stitching 11 is capable of being removed, therefore meets the functional language of “is detachably attached” see MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 6, wherein the finger sack (6) comprising the rubber elastic material is detachably attached to the front surface of the fingertip part of the finger portion (Figure 1). The stitching 11 is capable of being removed, therefore meets the functional language of “is detachably attached” see MPEP 2114.
With respect to claims 7, wherein the anti-slip member is arranged on a front surface of the outermost finger sack of the finger portion. In combination, the anti-slip material of Green would be positioned on a front surface (palm surface) of the outermost finger sack (as best understood) of the finger portion.
With respect to claim 8, wherein the anti-slip member is arranged on a front surface of the outermost finger sack of the finger portion. In combination, the anti-slip material of Green would be positioned on a front surface (palm surface) of the outermost finger sack (as best understood) of the finger portion.
With respect to claim 9, wherein the anti-slip member is arranged on a front surface of the outermost finger sack of the finger portion. In combination, the anti-slip material of Green would be positioned on a front surface (palm surface) of the outermost finger sack (as best understood) of the finger portion.
With respect to Claim 10, wherein the anti-slip member is arranged on a front surface of the outermost finger sack of the finger portion. In combination, the anti-slip material of Green would be positioned on a front surface (palm surface) of the outermost finger sack (as best understood) of the finger portion.
With respect to claim 11, wherein the anti-slip member is arranged on a front surface of the outermost finger sack of the finger portion. In combination, the anti-slip material of Green would be positioned on a front surface (palm surface) of the outermost finger sack (as best understood) of the finger portion.
With respect to claim 12, wherein the anti-slip member is arranged on a front surface of the outermost finger sack of the finger portion. In combination, the anti-slip material of Green would be positioned on a front surface (palm surface) of the outermost finger sack (as best understood) of the finger portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO892
Please Note, the art of recorded cited in the PTO-892 may be relevant to the features of the invention both claimed and unclaimed or are relevant to the overall inventive concept. The best art has been set forward in the office action, as determined by the examiner and the art references provided are to establish other significant and relevant art and to promote compact prosecution.
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732