DETAILED ACTION
Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 32-34, in the reply filed on May 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no difficulty in finding both inventions {Remarks, Page 2 Lines 13-23}. This is not found persuasive because the structure of the second invention is not found within or required in the first invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 21-23, 25, and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, with there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 26, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the length of the abstract is 163 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Ref. No 668b [Figs. 15 and 17],
Ref. No. 670b [Figs. 15 and 18], and
Ref. No. 672b [Fig. 15].
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Amended Claim 10 should end with a period. See MPEP 608.01(m).
Amended Claim 34 could read, “A mould arranged to form plastic material into ….”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 32, the phrase "such as" [Line 2] renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 14, 16, 17, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malcolm (2018/0057240).
Re Claim 1, Malcolm – a produce container – discloses a punnet [40] for packaging food [Title, produce], the punnet comprising: a base having one or more side walls [100] extending therefrom, the base and the one or more side walls together defining a receptacle for holding food [Fig. 7], wherein the base comprises: a peripheral region arranged to contact a surface on which the punnet is supported, in use, and defining a ground contact plane [Fig. 8]; and an inner region bounded by and integrally formed with the peripheral region and extending inwardly from the peripheral region into the receptacle, wherein the inner region provides at least one of: one or more connecting portions together separating two or more areas of the inner region, the connecting portions [270] extending towards the ground contact plane relative to the respective areas separated thereby; and at least one protrusion extending from the inner region by at least a third of the distance from a peak height of the inner region off the ground contact plane to the ground contact plane [Fig. 16].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malcolm as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Kidd et al. (2009/0152158) [Kidd].
Malcolm does not expressly disclose that the punnet is made from a recyclable material made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET). However, Kidd – a carrier tray for fresh food – discloses the container is made of PET [Kidd, 200, Paragraph 38 Lines 1-9]. The Applicant believes the claimed invention has an improvement over the prior art, when the prior art discloses the material of the container can be made of PET. See MPEP 2143 (I)(B) and (C). One of ordinary skill would be able to make the Malcolm container out of PET, before the effective filing date of the invention with predictable and obvious results, in order for the container to be recyclable [Kidd, Paragraph 38 Line 9], and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malcolm as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Demarest et al. (WO 2019/125908) [Demarest].
Malcolm does not expressly disclose a mould arranged to form plastic materials into the punnet; however, Demarest – a durable container – discloses that the container can be made in a mold [Demarest, Paragraph 21]. The Applicant believes the claimed invention has an improvement over the prior art, when the prior art discloses the container can be made in a mold to form the container. See MPEP 2143 (I)(D) . One of ordinary skill would be able to make the Malcolm container in a mold, before the effective filing date of the invention with predictable and obvious results, in order to make the container to be elastically deformable [Demarest, Paragraph 6].
Allowable Subject Matter
Amended Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re Amended Claim 19, the prior art discloses most of the claimed invention. However, the prior art does not expressly disclose a projection of each line defining a border between the one or more connecting portions and each respective one of the two or more areas of the inner region onto the ground contact plane each include one or more bends.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
/ROBERT J HICKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736