DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 28-32 and 33-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species and Group respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/27/2026. Applicant asserts that the election is invalid as the common technical feature is not rejected by prior art. However, this assertion is not persuasive in light of the prior art rejections below. As such, the restriction is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 20160229716).
Regarding claim 21, Lee (FIGs 1-4d) discloses “A water purifier, comprising:
a tank (130) configured to receive fluid from an external source (110) and adjust a temperature thereof (via 158/159);
a discharge flow path (line between 140 and 156, includes 151, 153, 157) fluidly connected to the tank and outside (via 140, para 113) to form a flow path through which the fluid with adjusted temperature is discharged;
a circulation flow path (counterclockwise path from 140 to 162f to top of 131) fluidly connected to the tank and the discharge flow path (see FIGs) to flow the fluid remaining in the discharge flow path into the tank (FIG 4a); and
a power supply (166/165) disposed in the discharge flow path or the circulation flow path (see FIGs) and configured to provide a conveying force to the fluid such that the fluid returns to the tank (para 126),
wherein the circulation flow path is fluidly connected to the discharge flow path at a first point (162b) displaced downstream of the discharge flow path (see FIG 4a).”
Regarding claim 22, Lee (FIGs 1-4d) discloses “wherein the power supply (166/165) is located adjacent to the first point (162b, 166 seen to be adjacent to 162b as there is a direct flow path between them) where the circulation flow path and the discharge flow path are fluidly connected (see FIGs).”
Regarding claim 23, Lee (FIGs 1-4d) discloses “wherein the tank (130) comprises:
a main tank (131) configured to receive and store the fluid; and
a first sub tank member (132) fluidly connected to the main tank and configured to cool the fluid (para 108), and
wherein the discharge flow path comprises:
a main discharge flow path (151) fluidly connecting the main tank and the outside (via 140) to form a flow path through which the stored fluid is discharged (para 138); and
a first discharge flow path (153) fluidly connecting the first sub tank and the outside to form a flow path through which the cooled fluid is discharged (para 138).”
Regarding claim 24, Lee (FIGs 1-4d) discloses “wherein the circulation flow path (counterclockwise path from 140 to 162f to top of 131) comprises:
a first circulation flow path (segment from 165 to 162f) fluidly connected to the first discharge flow path (via 165) and the main tank member (via 162f) to form a flow passage through which the fluid remaining in the first discharge flow path returns to the first sub tank (FIG 4a).”
Regarding claim 25, Lee (FIGs 1-4d) discloses “wherein the circulation flow path includes:
a first circulation flow path (170) fluidly connected to the first discharge flow path (via 166) and the first sub tank (via 162f, 131) to form a flow path through which the fluid remaining in the first discharge flow path returns to the first sub tank (FIG 4a).”
Regarding claim 26, Lee (FIGs 1-4d) discloses “wherein the power supply (165/166) includes:
a first power supply (166) disposed in the first discharge flow path or the first circulation flow path (see FIG 1) to provide the conveying force to the fluid such that the fluid remaining in the first discharge flow path flows along the first circulation flow path (para 126).”
Regarding claim 27, Lee (FIGs 1-4d) discloses “wherein the first circulation flow path (segment from 165 to 162f) is fluidly connected to the first discharge flow path at a second point (intersection immediately below 165) displaced downstream of the first discharge flow path (see FIG 1), and
wherein the first power supply (165) is disposed adjacent to the second point (see FIG 1).”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Devices similar to the application are disclosed by Sano et al (US 20120248141), Aldridge et al (US 20090242419), Kurtz (US 3395799), and Kim et al (US 20160229715).
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753