DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “in the surface layer region, a diameter of prior austenite grains in the sheet thickness direction is 10.0 µm or less” and this renders the claim indefinite as the claim simultaneously recites where the remainder of the metallographic structure in the surface layer region includes “one or more of ferrite…and residual austenite” and it is unclear if residual austenite is required by the claim and if it is not required it is unclear as to how the grain size of an unclaimed material limits the claim. Clarification is required. Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are included in this rejection as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio et al. (US 2021/0062288).
Considering claim 1, notwithstanding the indefiniteness rejection as set forth above, Nishio teaches a high-strength cold-rolled steel sheet (abstract) comprising a base sheet and a hot-dip galvanized or galvannealed layer (i.e. a zinc layer) (Paragraph 13). The steel comprises by mass, C: 0.140-0.400%, Si: 0.35-1.50%, Mn: 1.50-4.00%, Al: 0.100% or less, Ti: 0.001-0.050%, B: 0.0001-0.0100%, N: 0.0100% or less, P: 0.100% or less, S: 0.010% or less, etc. balance Fe and impurities (Paragraphs 16 and 18). The microstructure and ¼ thickness of the sheet by volume is 70.0% or more tempered martensite and more than 3.0% to less than 10.0% residual austenite and a microstructure at a point 25 µm from the surface 70% or more of a total of ferrite and bainite, and 30% or less of martensite and tempered martensite and having a tensile strength of 1,310 MPa or more (Paragraph 17).
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed steel sheet this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Nishio as the composition, microstructural components and thicknesses thereof, and tensile strength overlap that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Nishio teaches contents by mass of Al:0.100% or less, Ti: 0.001-0.050%, N: 0.0100% or less (Paragraphs 16 and 18) overlapping the claimed Expression 1. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 3-4 and 6-7, Nishio teaches where the coating layer may be hot-dip galvanized or hot-dip galvannealed (Paragraph 100).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art to the instant claims is that of Nishio as outlined above. Nishio does not teach or suggest a method of manufacturing taking into account the content of Al and N while heating or annealing at the claimed temperature with the oxygen potential and this would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Attention is also directed to the international search report dated 28 November 2023 listing only “A” references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Becker et al. (US 2014/0322559), Gospodinova et al. (US 2018/0371566), Koo et al. (US 2019/0368015), Pipard (US 2020/0407817), and Drillet (US 2023/0038535) teach steel sheets with microstructure demonstrating the ordinary level of skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784