DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-16, 19-21, 25 and 26 are pending and have been rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2025, 10/03/2025 & 07/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 11,13-16, 19-21, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Stahl et al. (U.S. Publication 2011/0298618), hereinafter “Stahl”.
As to claim 1, Stahl discloses a method for processing state information, comprising: in response to a chat triggering operation for a chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with a state (Stahl, see [0033], remote user status indicators can be displayed in a chat room or in any other application where a user may desire to display their remote user status. See [0068], remote user status can be set automatically by an application or based on a trigger event); and in response to the chat object being set with the state, displaying the state of the chat object in a chat interface (Stahl, see [0036], the remote user status indicator (and text message if available) can then be displayed on a user interface of the device. See [0040], the determined remote user status indicator and optional text message can be made available to other devices).
As to claim 3, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 2, wherein the preset operation of mentioning the first member in the group chat comprises: inputting a combination of a preset character and a member identifier of the first member in a message input box of the group chat (Stahl, see [0024-0025], John is currently busy and has set his remote user status indicator to reflect his status, wherein John status indicator text message mentions: "I'm busy now. Call me after 5:00 PM.").
As to claim 4, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 3, wherein after the displaying the first state information, the method further comprises: eliminating the first state information displayed in the target region after content in the message input box is cleared (Stahl, see [0025], remote user status indicator can be automatically set based on a time period specified by John, wherein an electronic calendar on John's device can be used to automatically determine when John will not be available to receive a call, e-mail or text message).
As to claim 5, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 2, wherein the target region is between a message input box and a chat message display region in the chat interface of the group chat (Stahl, see [0021-0022], a local time and current geographic location of Geoff can be displayed with the remote user status indicator, wherein Geoff is currently in a different time zone).
As to claim 6, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 2, wherein the first state information comprises the first state; or the first state information comprises the first state and a state description of the first member; or the first state information comprises the first state and a first state description corresponding to the first state, wherein the first state description is preset for the first state (Stahl, see [0021-0022], Geoff is currently sleeping and has set his remote user status indicator 106 to reflect his status, wherein Geoff status indicator provides the his local time because Geoff is in a different time zone).
As to claim 7, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 2, wherein the displaying the first state information corresponding to the first member in the target region of the chat interface of the group chat comprises: in response to an area of a region required for displaying the first state information being greater than an area of the target region, displaying a part of content of the first state information in the target region (Stahl, see [0022], a current geographic location of Geoff can be displayed with the remote user status indicator).
As to claim 8, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 2, in response to an operation of triggering the target region by the user, outputting displaying a first details page, wherein details content of the first state information is displayed in the first details page (Stahl, see [0024], remote user status indicator can be set based on position coordinates (e.g., altitude), which can be obtained from an onboard positioning technology on Thomas' device (e.g., GPS receiver), wherein Thomas text message indicates: "Traveling to NY. ETA is 11:30 PM ET", the text message is displayed under the indicator to provide further information regarding the destination of Thomas' flight and his estimated arrival time).
As to claim 10, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 9, wherein after the displaying the second state information, the method further comprises: display, in the chat interface of the group chat, a guidance region in which guidance information is displayed (Stahl, see [0033], user interface for text messaging with remote user status indicators, wherein the remote user status indicator and associated text, can be displayed in a text message user interface presented on a display surface of communication device); and in response to triggering the guidance region by the user, displaying a second details page, wherein the second details page displays at least the first state information and the second state information (Stahl, see [0006] & [0035], the remote user status indicator can be displayed with the user's name in a user interface, such as a contact record, favorites list, e-mail interface, text messaging interface, chat room, or any other user interface, wherein the user enters a favorites list an icon representing remote user status can be displayed next to a contact's name, together with a text message).
As to claim 11, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 9, displaying a target icon indicating a state in front of the first state information or the second state information in the target region (Stahl, see [0028], grid view can include cells displaying remote user status indicators relating to travel (e.g., icons of boats, trains, planes, cars), sports (e.g., icons of golf, skiing, tennis, biking) and etc.).
As to claim 13, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 12, wherein the displaying the target state in the target chat interface comprises: before a message is input in a message input box, displaying the target state in a message input box of the target chat interface (Stahl, see [0032], remote user status indicators can represent applications that the contact is currently interacting with, wherein the remote user status indicators displayed in cells 314, 316 and 318 indicate that John is interacting with a Web browser, e-mail and social network, respectively. If John selects cell 318 and inputs the text message "I'm on social network A, please join me now," then other users are invited to join John on social network A, rather than trying to communicate with John through a telephone call, e-mail or text message).
As to claim 15, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 13, wherein the displaying the target state in the message input box as the guidance message comprises: displaying, in the message input box, an icon corresponding to the target state as a the guidance message; and/or displaying, in the message input box, text content corresponding to the target state as the guidance message (Stahl, see [0024], remote user status indicator can be set based on position coordinates (e.g., altitude), which can be obtained from an onboard positioning technology on Thomas' device (e.g., GPS receiver), wherein Thomas text message indicates: "Traveling to NY. ETA is 11:30 PM ET", the text message is displayed under the indicator to provide further information regarding the destination of Thomas' flight and his estimated arrival time).
As to claim 16, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 12, wherein the displaying the target state description corresponding to the target state in the target chat interface comprises: displaying the target state description in a first region above a message input box in the target chat interface (Stahl, see [0033], remote user status indicator 402 and associated text, if any, can be displayed in a text message user interface 404 presented on a display surface 402 of communication device).
As to claim 19, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, displaying target prompt information in a second region above the message input box in the target chat interface, wherein the second region is above or below the first region (Stahl, see [0033], remote user status indicator and associated text, if any, can be displayed in a text message user interface presented on a display surface of communication device, wherein remote user status indicators can be displayed in an e-mail user interface, on a personal page of a social network, in an online gaming environment, in a chat room or in any other application where a user may desire to display their remote user status).
As to claim 20, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 19, displaying a first icon in front of the target prompt information in the second region (Stahl, see [0028-0033], remote user status indicators and entering text messages) and displaying a second icon in front of the target state description in the first region, wherein the first icon and the second icon are used to distinguish the target prompt information from the target state description (Stahl, see [0028-0033], remote user status indicators and entering text messages).
As to claim 21, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 12, displaying a state setting page in response to a state setting triggering operation, wherein the state setting page is used to set different state descriptions for different states (Stahl, see [0028], user interface for selecting remote user status indicators and entering text messages, wherein a user of communication device can select a remote user status indicator from a grid view displayed in user interface presented on display surface).
As to claim 25, Stahl discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a method for processing state information, and the method comprises: in response to a chat triggering operation for a chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with a state (Stahl, see [0033], remote user status indicators can be displayed in a chat room or in any other application where a user can desire to display their remote user status. See [0068], remote user status can be set automatically by an application or based on a trigger event); and in response to the chat object being set with the state, displaying the state of the chat object in a chat interface (Stahl, see [0036], the remote user status indicator (and text message if available) can then be displayed on a user interface of the device. See [0040], the determined remote user status indicator and optional text message can be made available to other devices).
As to claim 26, Stahl discloses an electronic device, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein executable code is stored in the memory, wherein a method for processing state information is implemented when the processor executes the executable code, and the method comprises: in response to a chat triggering operation for a chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with a state (Stahl, see [0033], remote user status indicators can be displayed in a chat room or in any other application where a user can desire to display their remote user status. See [0068], remote user status can be set automatically by an application or based on a trigger event); and in response to the chat object being set with the state, displaying the state of the chat object in a chat interface (Stahl, see [0036], the remote user status indicator (and text message if available) can then be displayed on a user interface of the device. See [0040], the determined remote user status indicator and optional text message can be made available to other devices).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stahl et al. (U.S. Publication 2011/0298618), hereinafter “Stahl” in view of Nishimura et al. (U.S. Publication 2018/0198887), hereinafter “Nishimura”.
As to claim 2, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, but sis silent to wherein the in response to the chat triggering operation for the chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with the state comprises: in response to a preset operation of mentioning a first member by a user in a group chat, determining whether the first member is set with a state, wherein the chat object comprises the first member in the group chat, and the chat triggering operation comprises the preset operation of mentioning the first member by the user in the group chat; and the in response to the chat object being set with the state, displaying the state of the chat object in the chat interface comprises: in response to the first member being set with a first state, displaying first state information corresponding to the first member in a target region of a chat interface of the group chat. However, Nishimura discloses wherein the in response to the chat triggering operation for the chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with the state comprises: in response to a preset operation of mentioning a first member by a user in a group chat, determining whether the first member is set with a state, wherein the chat object comprises the first member in the group chat (Nishimura, see [0027-0028], a callout to be displayed through the device of the mentioned member, wherein the callout can be selected to allow the mentioned member to respond or reply to the member that initiated the mention), and the chat triggering operation comprises the preset operation of mentioning the first member by the user in the group chat; and the in response to the chat object being set with the state, displaying the state of the chat object in the chat interface comprises: in response to the first member being set with a first state, displaying first state information corresponding to the first member in a target region of a chat interface of the group chat (Nishimura, see [0040], user B can utilize callout to respond to message to continue the conversation between user A and user B started with message. Callout, for example, in response to a selection thereof by user B, can present one or more controls allowing user B to directly respond to message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stahl in view of Nishimura in order to further modify the method for remote user status indicator from the teachings of Stahl and the method of group chats using member tagging teachings of Nishimura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to display context in group chats using member tagging (Nishimura – Abstract).
As to claim 9, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 2, but is silent to wherein after the displaying the first state information, the in response to the chat triggering operation for the chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with the state further comprises: in response to a preset operation of mentioning a second member by the user in the group chat, determining whether the second member is set with a state, wherein the chat object further comprises the second member in the group chat, and the chat triggering operation further comprises the preset operation of mentioning the second member by the user in the group chat; and the in response to the chat object being set with the state, displaying the state of the chat object in the chat interface further comprises: in response to determining that the second member is set with a second state, updating the first state information displayed in the target region to second state information corresponding to the second member. However, Nishimura discloses wherein after the displaying the first state information, the in response to the chat triggering operation for the chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with the state further comprises: in response to a preset operation of mentioning a second member by the user in the group chat, determining whether the second member is set with a state, wherein the chat object further comprises the second member in the group chat, and the chat triggering operation further comprises the preset operation of mentioning the second member by the user in the group chat (Nishimura, see [0027-0028], a callout to be displayed through the device of the mentioned member, wherein the callout can be selected to allow the mentioned member to respond or reply to the member that initiated the mention); and the in response to the chat object being set with the state, displaying the state of the chat object in the chat interface further comprises: in response to determining that the second member is set with a second state, updating the first state information displayed in the target region to second state information corresponding to the second member (Nishimura, see [0040], user B can utilize callout to respond to message to continue the conversation between user A and user B started with message. Callout, for example, in response to a selection thereof by user B, can present one or more controls allowing user B to directly respond to message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stahl in view of Nishimura in order to further modify the method for remote user status indicator from the teachings of Stahl and the method of group chats using member tagging teachings of Nishimura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to display context in group chats using member tagging (Nishimura – Abstract).
As to claim 12, Stahl discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, and the in response to the chat object being set with the state, displaying the state of the chat object in the chat interface comprises: in response to the target contact being set with a target state, displaying the target state in the target chat interface (Stahl, see [0033], remote user status indicator and associated text, if any, can be displayed in a text message user interface presented on a display surface of communication device, wherein remote user status indicators can be displayed in an e-mail user interface, on a personal page of a social network, in an online gaming environment, in a chat room or in any other application where a user can desire to display their remote user status); and displaying a target state description corresponding to the target state in the target chat interface, wherein the target state description is preset for the target state (Stahl, see [0033], user interface for text messaging with remote user status indicators. In some implementations, remote user status indicator and associated text, if any, can be displayed in a text message user interface presented on a display surface of communication device). Stahl is silent to wherein the in response to the chat triggering operation for the chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with the state comprises: in response to entering a target chat interface corresponding to a target contact, determining whether the target contact is set with a state, wherein the chat object comprises the target contact, and the chat triggering operation comprises an operation of entering the target chat interface corresponding to the target contact However, Nishimura discloses wherein the in response to the chat triggering operation for the chat object, determining whether the chat object is set with the state comprises: in response to entering a target chat interface corresponding to a target contact, determining whether the target contact is set with a state, wherein the chat object comprises the target contact, and the chat triggering operation comprises an operation of entering the target chat interface corresponding to the target contact (Nishimura, see [0079-0083], user is mentioned, wherein user A has sent a message to user B thereby continuing the same conversation started with the mention message and indicating that the conversation remains open); and Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stahl in view of Nishimura in order to further modify the method for remote user status indicator from the teachings of Stahl and the method of group chats using member tagging teachings of Nishimura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to display context in group chats using member tagging (Nishimura – Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. This includes: U.S. Publication 2006/0004911, which describes automatically setting chat status based on user activity in local environment. U.S. Publication 2011/0099254, which describes dynamic status reporting.
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443