DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2025 has been considered and placed on record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (US 2017/0332300 A1, hereinafter, “Choi”, provided in 02/27/2025) in view of Seol et al. (US 2016/0006122 A1, hereinafter, “Seol”, provided in the 02/07/2025 IDS).
Consider claim 18, Choi teaches a multi-antenna transmitter and receiver arrangement, (MATARA) (see at least figure 22, paras. 101 and 105) comprising a control/processing unit (see at least figure 22 (2220 or 2230)) configured to cause: obtainment of first channel characteristics and second channel characteristics for a radio channel between a first remote TNode and the MATARA (see at least paras. 163, figures 9-10, Choi teaches two channel characteristics between a TNode (base station) and UE (multi-antenna unit)), wherein the first channel characteristics includes non-line of sight (nLoS) channel characteristics (see at least paras. 163 and figures 9-10), and the second channel characteristics includes line of sight (LoS) channel characteristics (see at least paras. 163 and figures 9-10); starting of a first timer, the first timer expiring at the end of a first duration following the start of the first timer (see at least figures 17, 19, 21 paras. 231-232, 237 and 262); upon reception, upon reception, from a higher layer processing unit (see at least paras. 235, 252 and figure 19 (RRC layer)), of an indication that a communication with the first remote TNode is to be performed checking of whether the first timer has expired (see at least figures 17, 18, 19, 21, paras. 210-211, 262, Choi teaches upon receiving an indication (fallback message), checking whether the first timer has expired); if the first timer has expired, configuration of the MATARA based on the second channel characteristics (see at least figure 19, paras. 234-238, Choi teaches if the timer (i.e., 10ms) has expired, configuring the device based on NLoS); and if the first timer is still running, configuration of the MATARA based on the first channel characteristics and the second channel characteristics (see at least figure 19, paras. 234-238, Choi teaches if the timer (i.e., 10ms) is still running, configuring the device based on NLoS/LoS time).
Choi teaches a control/processing unit (see above), however, did not explicitly teach a physical (PHY) layer control/processing unit. Seol teaches said technique (see figure 2 and para. 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Choi and teach a physical (PHY) layer control/processing unit, as taught by Seol, thereby, having efficient wireless mobile communication system.
Consider claim 1: all the limitations of method claim 1 are included in the apparatus claim 18, therefore, claim 1 is subjected to the same rejection applied to claim 18.
Consider claim 7, Choi in view of Seol teaches wherein the PHY layer control/processing unit is a baseband, BB, processor (see figures 2, 9a, 9b, paras. 113 and 116 in Seol).
Consider claim 8, Choi in view of Seol teaches wherein the higher layer processing unit is a media access control, MAC, layer unit or a radio resource control, RRC, layer unit (see at least paras. 235, 252 and figure 19 (RRC layer) in Choi).
Consider claim 17, Choi in view of Seol teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a processing device, the one or more programs comprising instructions which, when executed by the processing device, causes the processing device to carry out the method (see at least paras. 270, 277-278 in Choi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9-15, 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0142023 A1 teaches systems and methods for determining a timing offset of a plurality of emitter antennas in a wireless network.
FITWI Y. HAILEGIORGIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/FITWI Y HAILEGIORGIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2632