DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2024-0014941, filed on 01/31/2024; and 10-2023-0054066, filed on 04/25/2023 in Korea.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 02/27/2025; 02/25/2026; and 08/06/2026 have been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 02/27/2025 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiemer et al. [US 5,872,557].
Regarding claim 1, Wiemer et al., disclose a display device (figures 7-9) comprising:
a display (126, figures 7-8);
a base (104, figures 7-9) to which the display is movably coupled; and
a cover (102, figures 7-8) which is hinged to the base, and opens or closes the base (a hinge is connected between the base 104 and the cover 106, figures 7-8),
wherein the cover comprises:
an outer cover (106, figures 7-8);
a middle frame (a peripheral frame is connected to the outer cover 106, figures 7-8) coupled to the outer cover;
an inner cover (144, figure 7) opposite to the outer cover with respect to the middle frame; and
coupling sets which are disposed along an edge of the inner cover and couple the inner cover to the middle frame (figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Wiemer et al., disclose wherein the display (126, figures 7-8) is stored between the base and the cover and the inner cover of the cover faces the display.
Regarding claim 12, Wiemer et al., disclose wherein the middle frame comprises: a base part (a cavity of the cover 102, figure 7); and a side part (a periphery of the middle frame, figure 7) which is formed around the base part, and forms a step raised from the base part, wherein the inner cover (144, figure 7) is coupled to the base part, and forms a step lowered from the side part.
Regarding claim 14, Wiemer et al., disclose wherein the middle frame comprises: a base part (a cavity of the cover 102, figure 7) on which the inner cover is seated (144, figure 7); and a pressed portion (when the cover 102 is coupled to the base 104) formed by being pressed from the base part toward the outer cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiemer et al., in view of Mereier [US 2011/0092294].
Regarding claim 15, Wiemer et al., further disclose a speaker assembly (134, figure 7) mounted on the base (104, figure 7).
Wiemer et al., disclose the claimed invention except for a speaker assembly mounted on the outer cover at between the middle frame and the outer cover, wherein each of the middle frame and the inner cover includes holes.
Mereier discloses a portable display work station (10, figure 1) comprising a cover (22, figure 1) coupled to a base (14, figure 1), and at least one speaker assembly (18, figure 1) is mounted in the cover (figure 1).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to mount a speaker assembly on an outer cover at between a middle frame and the outer cover, and wherein each of the middle frame and the inner cover includes holes, in a display device of Wiemer et al., as suggested by Mereier, in order to improve speaker sound and internal volume, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim 3 discloses the combination features of “wherein the coupling set comprises an insertion protrusion formed in the middle frame while being adjacent to one side of the middle frame; and a ring which is formed on one surface of the inner cover facing the middle frame, and has a hole into which the insertion protrusion is inserted.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records. Claims 4-11 depend on the allowed claim 3.
The claim 13 discloses the combination features of “wherein the outer cover comprises fixing portions protruding from the inside of the outer cover, wherein the middle frame comprises a base part facing the outer cover; and coupling portions which protrude from the base part toward the outer cover, and are coupled to the fixing portions, wherein the base part is spaced apart from the inside of the outer cover.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Bradbury [US 5,212,628] discloses modular portable work station.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Patent Examiner, 2841/2800