Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian US11597720 and Gutierrez, Arch Pathol Lab Med. 2011 January ; 135(1): 55–62.
Qian the instantly pictured active ingredient is a degrader of estrogen receptor. At column 1036 Qian teaches
Qian teaches at column 392 lines 55+; at column 395 that “preferred dose of the active compound for all of the herein-mentioned conditions is in the range from about 10 ng/kg to 300 mg/kg, preferably 0.1 to 100 mg/kg per day, more generally 0.5 to about 25 mg per kilogram body weight of the recipient/patient per day’. Further it is noted that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The above Qian teaching corresponds to instant claims 1-4 in anticipatory manner.
Qian also teaches the limitations of dependent claims (claim 5 column 392; claim 7-10 column 398; claim 11, 15 column 398 line 34-45; claim 12 ER + column 3 lines 3-6 and column 398 lines claim 14-20 column 8 line 28)
As to claims 12 and 13: It is well-known that HR+/HER2− Breast Cancer is the most common subtype of breast cancer, accounting for roughly 70% to 80% of all cases. For example,. Gutierrez titled ‘Biology, Detection, and Clinical Implications’ teaches that Human epidermal growth factor receptor-2 (HER2/neu, c-erbB2), one of a family of four membrane tyrosine kinases, was found to be amplified in a human breast cancer cell line twenty five years ago (1), and this amplification was shown to be important in the pathogenesis and progression of human breast cancer two years later (2). Since that time, HER2 amplification and resultant HER2 protein overexpression have been linked to important tumor cell proliferation and survival pathways; several drugs have been developed to target the pathway; and, the detection of HER2 has become a routine prognostic and predictive factor in breast cancer (see page 1). Further Gutierrez, teaches that HER2 testing results by IHC fall into three categories, positive, equivocal and negative (Table 3, and Fig. 2). Each of these results triggers different patient management (see bottom of page 3).
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choo, “In vitro Drug-Drug Interaction Assessment of GDC-0810, a Novel and Potent Selective Estrogen Receptor Degrader” (Abstract #233) 28th EORTC-NCI-AACR Symposium, (2016). Groheux, “Estrogen Receptor-Positive/Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2-Negative Breast Tumors” Cancer 119(11):1960-68 ( 2013).
US 10034860 Estrogen Receptor Modulator For The Treatment Of Locally Advanced Or Metastatic Estrogen Receptor Positive Breast Cancer.
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but
at least one examined application claim
is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. US11597720. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims contain overlapping subject matter.
Claim 14 of US11597720, differs from the instant claim in the specific dosage for treating (breast) caner. That the effective amount noted in US11597720 claim 14 encompasses the instant dose. For the definition of what the ‘effective amount’ of this claim 14, disclosure in the specification is consulted. The instant dose is explicitly noted at column 395 lines 22-37 of US11597720.
Note that reliance on specification of a potentially conflicting patent or application is generally prohibited. However limited exceptions do exist. Exceptions to the General Prohibition of Using the Disclosure of a Potentially Conflicting Patent or Application include Dictionary for claim terminology, Portions of the disclosure which provide support for the claims in the potentially conflicting patent or application.
The MPEP refers to two exceptions to the general prohibition of using the disclosure of a potentially conflicting patent or application in an ODP-Obviousness analysis. The two exceptions are:
1. The disclosure can be used as a dictionary for claim terminology; and
2. “[T]hose portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent” (MPEP § 804).
The MPEP further notes:
The court in Vogel recognized “that it is most difficult, if not meaningless, to try to say what is or is not an obvious variation of a claim,” but that one can judge whether or not the invention claimed in an application is an obvious variation of an embodiment disclosed in the patent which provides support for the patent claim. According to the court, one must first “determine how much of the patent disclosure pertains to the invention claimed in the patent” because only “[t]his portion of the specification supports the patent claims and may be considered.” The court pointed out that “this use of the disclosure is not in contravention of the cases forbidding its use as prior art, nor is it applying the patent as a reference under 35 U.S.C. 103 since only the disclosure of the invention claimed in the patent may be examined.”)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Feldman, Understanding ‘Evergreening’ : Making Minor Modifications Of Existing
Medications To Extend Protections, Health Affairs June 2022 41:6, 801-804.
Dwivedi, Evergreening: A deceptive device in patent rights, Technology in Society 32 (2010) 324–330.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. US12208095 further in view of US11597720 and Gutierrez, Arch Pathol Lab Med. 2011 January ; 135(1): 55–62. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims contain overlapping subject matter.
The entirety of discussion under 35 USC § 103 is incorporated here in the obviousness analysis.
The difference is that claimed method of 12208095 includes addition previously well-known anticancer agent. This rejection is based on the well-established proposition of patent law that no invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients, In re Sussman, 136 F.2d 715, 718, 58 USPQ 262, 264 (CCPA 1943). Also "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose ...[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Feldman, Understanding ‘Evergreening’ : Making Minor Modifications Of Existing
Medications To Extend Protections, Health Affairs June 2022 41:6, 801-804.
Dwivedi, Evergreening: A deceptive device in patent rights, Technology in Society 32 (2010) 324–330.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-5,14,16,36-40,77,79-82,93,102-109 and 138-139 of copending Application No. 17548842 (reference application) further in view of US11597720 and Gutierrez, Arch Pathol Lab Med. 2011 January ; 135(1): 55–62. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims contain overlapping subject matter.
The entirety of discussion under 35 USC § 103 is incorporated here in the obviousness analysis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Feldman, Understanding ‘Evergreening’ : Making Minor Modifications Of Existing
Medications To Extend Protections, Health Affairs June 2022 41:6, 801-804.
Dwivedi, Evergreening: A deceptive device in patent rights, Technology in Society 32 (2010) 324–330.
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625