Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 02/27/2025. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Benefit is given to the priority document JP2022-136196 and the effective filing date of 08/29/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “radio wave” in line 3 requires an article (“the radio wave”). Furthermore, “the transmission antenna” in lines 9 and 12 should read “the at least one transmission antenna” to remain parallel with line 2.
Claims 6, 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the transmission antenna” of line 2 should read “the at least one transmission antenna” in order to use the same language as parent claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 2 and 7 recite “a radio wave”. The second occurrence in line lacks proper antecedent basis because it is unclear whether it is the same “a radio wave” as recited in line 2.
Further regarding claim 1, it is unclear whether “a first radio wave” of line 9 is the same or different than the “radio wave” of any of lines 2, 3 or 7. It is unclear whether “a second radio wave” of line 9 is the same or different than the “radio wave” of any of lines 2, 3 or 7. Similar ambiguity exists regarding:
“a reflected wave” of line 3 and “a first reflected wave” of line 10
“a reflected wave” of line 3 and “a second reflected wave” of line 14
“an object” of line 4 and “a first object” of line 11
“an object” of line 4 and “a second object” of line 15.
Regarding claim 2, line 3 recites “a plurality of the reception antennas”. Only one reception antenna has been recited in parent claim 1. Therefore, it is unclear whether the apparatus contains one or a plurality of reception antennas.
Regarding claim 3, line 2 recites “the reflective surface includes a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface”. The “reflective surface” finds antecedent basis in claim 2. However, changing a single reflective surface introduced in claim 2 to comprise multiple reflective surfaces in claim 3 introduces an apparent contradiction. It is not clear of these “first” and “second” surfaces are sub-surfaces of a single element or completely separate elements. For purposes of examination, “a reflective surface” in claim 2 will be read as “one or more reflective surfaces”.
Regarding claim 4, lines 3-4 recite “a reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas”. It is unclear if this is the same or different as the reflected wave recited in claim 1, line 3. Furthermore, “the plurality of reception antennas” lacks antecedent basis, as no plurality of reception antennas has been recited in parent claim 1.
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 13, it is unclear whether the transmitted waves, reflected waves, objects and “a reflected wave” in lines 4-12 with respect to the first and second transmission antennas are the same or different as those recited in claim 1 with respect to the transmission antenna.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okaniwa et al. (JP-2018151326-A, cited in the IDS dated 02/27/2025; hereinafter Okaniwa).
Regarding claim 1, Okaniwa discloses:
A radio wave sensor (see at least Fig. 1, radar device 1) comprising:
at least one transmission antenna (see at least Figs. 1 and 3, transmitting antenna 13) configured to transmit a radio wave (see translation at least [0020]; “The modulation unit 12 pulse-modulates the CW signal supplied from the local oscillator unit 10 and transmits it towards a target via the transmitting antenna 13.”);
a reception antenna (see at least Figs. 1 and 3, first receiving antenna 17-1) configured to receive a reflected wave, which is radio wave transmitted from the transmission antenna and reflected by an object (see translation at least [0025]; “The first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8 of the receiving unit 16 are composed of eight antenna elements and receive signals transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 that have been scattered by targets, and supply them to the antenna switching unit 18.”);
a detection circuitry (see at least Fig. 2, control and processing unit 15) configured to analyze the reflected wave received by the reception antenna and detect the object (see translation at least [0022]; “The control and processing unit 15 controls the local oscillator unit 10, the modulation unit 12, the antenna switching unit 18, and the variable gain amplifier unit 19, and detects targets by performing calculations on the received data supplied from the A/D conversion unit 21.”); and
a reflector (see at least Fig. 3, reflective member 40) configured to reflect a radio wave (see translation at least [0032]; “Furthermore, the pulse waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are reflected by the reflecting member 40…”),
wherein:
the transmission antenna transmits a first radio wave to a first area;
the reception antenna receives a first reflected wave, which is the first radio wave reflected by a first object within the first area (see translation at least [0051]; “The radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are scattered by the target T1 and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8.” See also Fig. 9, reproduced below.);
the transmission antenna further transmits a second radio wave to the reflector;
the reflector reflects the second radio wave to a second area different from the first area, and the reflector further reflects a second reflected wave, which is the second radio wave reflected by a second object within the second area, to the reception antenna; and
the reception antenna receives the second reflected wave reflected by the reflector (see translation at least [0051]; “Furthermore, the radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are reflected by the reflecting member 40, scattered by the target T2 located outside the detectable range, reflected again by the reflecting member 40, and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8.”).
Fig. 9 of Okaniwa
Regarding claim 2, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 1. Okaniwa further teaches:
a normal direction of a reflective surface of the reflector and an arrangement direction of a plurality of the reception antennas are perpendicular to each other (referring to Fig. 9, the normal direction of the reflective surface will be in the yz-plane, and Examiner maps the arrangement direction of the plurality of antennas on circuit board 30 to the x-direction. See also view of antenna arrangement provided in Fig. 3, reproduced below.); and
the detection circuitry detects an angle of the second object present within the second area relative to the radio wave sensor based on a phase difference of the second reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas (see translation at least [0051]; “Furthermore, the radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are reflected by the reflecting member 40, scattered by the target T2 located outside the detectable range, reflected again by the reflecting member 40, and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8. As a result, a mirror image M2 is detected at the same angle as when the light is reflected by the reflective member 40 and incident on the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8, and at the same distance from the circuit board 30 to the target T2 via the reflective member 40.” Computing the detection angle necessarily relies on the phase difference of the signal received at each antenna.).
Fig. 3 of Okaniwa
Regarding claim 3, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 2. Okaniwa further teaches:
the reflective surface includes a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface that are not parallel to each other (see at least Fig. 14, reproduced below, and arrangement of reflective members 41 and 42);
a first normal direction of the first reflective surface and the arrangement direction of the plurality of reception antennas are perpendicular to each other (see at least Fig. 14, where normal of reflecting member 41 is in the yz-plane, and arrangement direction of the antennas mounted on 30 is mapped to the x-direction); and
a second normal direction of the second reflective surface and the arrangement direction of the plurality of reception antennas are perpendicular to each other (see at least Fig. 14, where normal of reflecting member 42 is in the yz-plane, and arrangement direction of the antennas mounted on 30 is mapped to the x-direction).
Fig. 14 of Okaniwa
Regarding claim 4, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 1. Okaniwa further teaches:
a determination circuitry (see at least Fig. 1, control and processing unit 15) configured to determine whether a reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas is the first reflected wave or the second reflected wave based on a phase difference of the second reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas (see translation at least [0051] – [0052]; “As a result, a mirror image M2 is detected at the same angle as when the light is reflected by the reflective member 40 and incident on the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8, and at the same distance from the circuit board 30 to the target T2 via the reflective member 40. [0052] The control and processing unit 15 has information (for example, a table) that shows the positional relationship between the mirror image M2 and the target T2, so by referring to this information, the position of the target T2 corresponding to the mirror image M2 can be determined. As a result, the radar device 1 can detect targets T2 that are located outside its detection range.” Computing the detection angle necessarily relies on the phase difference of the signal received at each antenna.).
Regarding claim 5, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 4. Okaniwa further teaches:
the plurality of reception antennas include a plurality of the reception antennas in a perpendicular direction, which are arranged in a direction perpendicular to a horizontal direction (see at least Fig. 3, where the length dimension of the reception antennas 17 is arranged in a direction perpendicular to the horizontal); and
the determination circuitry determines whether a reflected wave received by the reception antennas is the first reflected wave or the second reflected wave based on a phase difference of the second reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas in the perpendicular direction (see translation at least [0051]; “The radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are scattered by the target T1 and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8. As a result, the target T1 can be detected. Furthermore, the radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are reflected by the reflecting member 40, scattered by the target T2 located outside the detectable range, reflected again by the reflecting member 40, and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8. As a result, a mirror image M2 is detected at the same angle as when the light is reflected by the reflective member 40 and incident on the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8, and at the same distance from the circuit board 30 to the target T2 via the reflective member 40.” Computing the detection angle necessarily relies on the phase difference of the signal received at each antenna.).
Regarding claim 7, Okaniwa discloses:
An object detection method comprising:
transmitting a first radio wave from at least one transmission antenna to a first area (see translation at least [0051]; “The radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13…”, and transmitting a second radio wave to a reflector (see translation at least [0051]; “Furthermore, the radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are reflected by the reflecting member 40…”);
receiving, by a reception antenna, a first reflected wave, which is the first radio wave reflected by a first object within the first area (see translation at least [0051]; “The radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are scattered by the target T1 and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8.”);
reflecting, by the reflector, the second radio wave to a second area different from the first area, and reflecting, by the reflector, a second reflected wave reflected from a second object within the second area to the reception antenna (see translation at least [0051]; “Furthermore, the radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are reflected by the reflecting member 40, scattered by the target T2 located outside the detectable range, reflected again by the reflecting member 40, and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8.”);
receiving, by the reception antenna, the second reflected wave reflected by the reflector (see again [0051]); and
analyzing the first reflected wave and the second reflected wave received by the reception antenna, and detecting the first object and the second object (see translation at least [0051]; “As a result, the target T1 can be detected… As a result, a mirror image M2 is detected at the same angle as when the light is reflected by the reflective member 40 and incident on the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8, and at the same distance from the circuit board 30 to the target T2 via the reflective member 40.”).
Regarding claim 8, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 2. Okaniwa further teaches:
a determination circuitry (see at least Fig. 1, control and processing unit 15) configured to determine whether a reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas is the first reflected wave or the second reflected wave based on a phase difference of the second reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas (see translation at least [0052]; “The control and processing unit 15 has information (for example, a table) that shows the positional relationship between the mirror image M2 and the target T2, so by referring to this information, the position of the target T2 corresponding to the mirror image M2 can be determined. As a result, the radar device 1 can detect targets T2 that are located outside its detection range.”).
Regarding claim 9, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 3. Okaniwa further teaches:
a determination circuitry (see at least Fig. 1, control and processing unit 15) configured to determine whether a reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas is the first reflected wave or the second reflected wave based on a phase difference of the second reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas (see translation at least [0052]; “The control and processing unit 15 has information (for example, a table) that shows the positional relationship between the mirror image M2 and the target T2, so by referring to this information, the position of the target T2 corresponding to the mirror image M2 can be determined. As a result, the radar device 1 can detect targets T2 that are located outside its detection range.”).
Regarding claim 10, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 8. Okaniwa further teaches:
the plurality of reception antennas include a plurality of the reception antennas in a perpendicular direction, which are arranged in a direction perpendicular to a horizontal direction (see at least Fig. 3, where the length dimension of the reception antennas 17 is arranged in a direction perpendicular to the horizontal); and
the determination circuitry determines whether a reflected wave received by the reception antennas is the first reflected wave or the second reflected wave based on a phase difference of the second reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas in the perpendicular direction (see translation at least [0051]; “The radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are scattered by the target T1 and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8. As a result, the target T1 can be detected. Furthermore, the radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are reflected by the reflecting member 40, scattered by the target T2 located outside the detectable range, reflected again by the reflecting member 40, and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8. As a result, a mirror image M2 is detected at the same angle as when the light is reflected by the reflective member 40 and incident on the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8, and at the same distance from the circuit board 30 to the target T2 via the reflective member 40.” Computing the detection angle necessarily relies on the phase difference of the signal received at each antenna.).
Regarding claim 11, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 9. Okaniwa further teaches:
the plurality of reception antennas include a plurality of the reception antennas in a perpendicular direction, which are arranged in a direction perpendicular to a horizontal direction (see at least Fig. 3, where the length dimension of the reception antennas 17 is arranged in a direction perpendicular to the horizontal); and
the determination circuitry determines whether a reflected wave received by the reception antennas is the first reflected wave or the second reflected wave based on a phase difference of the second reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas in the perpendicular direction (see translation at least [0051]; “The radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are scattered by the target T1 and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8. As a result, the target T1 can be detected. Furthermore, the radio waves transmitted from the transmitting antenna 13 are reflected by the reflecting member 40, scattered by the target T2 located outside the detectable range, reflected again by the reflecting member 40, and received by the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8. As a result, a mirror image M2 is detected at the same angle as when the light is reflected by the reflective member 40 and incident on the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8, and at the same distance from the circuit board 30 to the target T2 via the reflective member 40.” Computing the detection angle necessarily relies on the phase difference of the signal received at each antenna.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okaniwa in view of Arakawa et al. (US-20220091230-A1, cited in the IDS dated 02/27/2025; hereinafter Arakawa).
Regarding claim 6, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 4. Okaniwa further teaches [Note, what Okaniwa fails to disclose is strike-through]:
the transmission antenna includes a first transmission antenna (see at least Fig. 3, transmission antenna 13);
the plurality of reception antennas receive a reflected wave which is a radio wave transmitted from the first transmission antenna and reflected by an object,
the determination circuitry determines whether a reflected wave received by the plurality of reception antennas is the first reflected wave or the second reflected wave based on a phase difference of a reflected wave which is a radio wave transmitted from the first transmission antenna and reflected by an object (see translation at least [0051] – [0052]; “As a result, a mirror image M2 is detected at the same angle as when the light is reflected by the reflective member 40 and incident on the first receiving antenna 17-1 to the eighth receiving antenna 17-8, and at the same distance from the circuit board 30 to the target T2 via the reflective member 40. [0052] The control and processing unit 15 has information (for example, a table) that shows the positional relationship between the mirror image M2 and the target T2, so by referring to this information, the position of the target T2 corresponding to the mirror image M2 can be determined. As a result, the radar device 1 can detect targets T2 that are located outside its detection range.” Computing the detection angle necessarily relies on the phase difference of the signal received at each antenna.)
However, the embodiment of Okaniwa teaches the use of only one transmission antenna. Okaniwa discloses a radar device, and Arakawa is directed to a radar device performing angle estimation in two dimensions. Arakawa teaches
the transmission antenna includes a first transmission antenna and a second transmission antenna (see at least [0087]; “The radar apparatus 11 according to this embodiment including one transmission antenna Tx and eight reception antennas Rx has been described above. However, the number of the transmission antennas Tx and the number of the reception antennas Rx are not limited to those described above. For example, as in a MIMO radar apparatus 15 illustrated in FIG. 5, m transmission antennas Tx and n reception antennas Rx may be provided.”);
the plurality of reception antennas receive a reflected wave which is a radio wave transmitted from the first transmission antenna and reflected by an object, and a reflected wave which is a radio wave transmitted from the second transmission antenna and reflected by the object (see again [0087] regarding object detection using a MIMO radar apparatus. A MIMO radar by definition uses a plurality of spaced transmitters to transmit overlapping signals); and
the determination circuitry determines the angle of the reflected wave (see at least [0087]; “Also in this case, with the reception antennas Rx configured in the first linear array antenna 2 and the second linear array antenna 3 that are arranged at different heights, the MIMO radar apparatus 15 that is capable of accurately performing angle estimation in the two-dimensional directions, regarding the elevation angle φ and the azimuth angle θ of an object, and estimating the three-dimensional position of the object can be provided, as with the radar apparatus 11 described above.”) based on a phase difference of a reflected wave (see at least [0089]; “The arithmetic device 4, which includes an angle estimation unit, estimates the elevation angle φ and the azimuth angle θ in the incoming direction of the reflected wave r, on the basis of the azimuth angle phase difference u and the elevation angle phase difference v between antennas”) which is a radio wave transmitted from the first transmission antenna and reflected by an object and a reflected wave which is a radio wave transmitted from the second transmission antenna and reflected by the object (see again [0087] regarding MIMO).
Okaniwa uses a single transmitter and multiple detectors to determine the incoming angle of a reflected radar wave. Arakawa teaches embodiments with either a single or multiple transmitters paired with multiple detectors that determine the incoming angle of a reflected radar wave. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okaniwa to use multiple transmitters in a MIMO configuration, as taught by Arakawa. Such a change would represent simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 8. The remaining limitations of claim 12 are analogous to those of claim 6 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 13, Okaniwa discloses the radio wave sensor according to claim 9. The remaining limitations of claim 13 are analogous to those of claim 6 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20260056311-A1 is considered relevant because it discloses expanding a sensing area using a reconfigurable intelligent surface (see Fig. 9A).
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648