DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20090100870 A) in view of Jiang (CN 111547123 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an assembly of modular elements (tricycle combined stroller 100, figs.1-11), allowing, depending on the assembly configuration of the elements, either to constitute a stroller or to obtain a wheeled vehicle suitable for being ridden by a child, the assembly comprising: - a subassembly (seat 160, handle 170) formed by a stroller seat (seat 160) and a stroller push handle (handle 170 and main shaft portion 140), the seat comprising a base and a backrest (seat frame 160 has base and backrest as seen in figs.1-2, 9a, and 11), the base being connected to the push handle and movable relative to the push handle between an unfolded state (fig.1-2) relative to the handle, in which the base is suitable for receiving a child (fig.1-2), and a folded state (fig.11), in which the base is close to and extending along the handle; and - a wheeled vehicle (front wheel portion 110, connecting shaft portion 120, rear wheel part 130, saddle unit 150) for a child, which forms a chassis and wheels of the stroller (front wheel portion 110, connecting shaft portion 120, rear wheel part 130) in a "stroller" configuration, the vehicle comprising a body (saddle unit 150 and connecting shaft 120) suitable for being ridden by a child, the body (saddle unit 150 and connecting shaft 120) comprising, at its front part, a gripping handle (auxiliary handle 190/170, figs.1, 10a, and 11) suitable for being gripped by a child riding the body, and comprising means for mounting the push handle to the body (handle portion 170 is mounted to connecting shaft 120); and in the folded state, the base allows for clearance of a part of the vehicle intended to be ridden by a child (stroller seat 160 is folded allows for child to ride on saddle 150, fig.11). Lee fails to disclose wherein the base is dimensioned to rest on the gripping handle in the unfolded state, thus allowing stable support of the base by the gripping handle.
However, Jiang discloses wherein the base is dimensioned to rest on the gripping handle in the unfolded state, thus allowing stable support of the base by the gripping handle (base of seat is mounted on the handle connected to the front wheels 1 as seen in figures 2-3).
Lee and Jiang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of child strollers and bicycles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee with the seat mounted on handle bars of Jiang with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of providing multiple mounting points for the seat for a more secure mounting, as well as mounting to the gripping handle to fix the handle and wheel pointing forward to prevent from turning to allow for easier maneuvering in the stroller configuration.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in combination with Jiang, Lee discloses wherein the means for mounting the push handle to the body of the vehicle are designed to allow for removable mounting of the seat/push handle subassembly (main shaft portion 140 is fixed and detachable provided by detachable means 142, seat 160 has frame 162 fixed to fixing piece 161 through bolt, and the height adjusting means having the same configuration as pressure fixing means 115, which allows for removable mounting of the seat/push handle, figs.1-11).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in combination with Jiang, Jiang discloses further comprising means for connecting the base to the gripping handle (member and fasteners connect the seat base to the handle as seen in figures 2-3 and in the attached figure below).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in combination with Jiang disclose wherein - the gripping handle is T-shaped (Lee, gripping handle 190/170 is t-shaped as seen in figure 1, 10a, and 11; Jiang, handle fig.2 and attached figure above), i.e., has an upper bar forming the equivalent of a "handlebar" (Lee, gripping handle 190/170 is t-shaped as seen in figure 1 and 11; Jiang, handle fig.2 and attached figure above), the upper bar comprising first connecting means at its ends (Jiang, upper bar has connecting means as seen in figures 2-3 an attached figure above), and- the base has lateral parts capable of covering the ends of the upper bar (Jiang, seat has lateral parts covering ends of the upper bar as seen in figures 2-3 and attached figure above) and has, at the lateral parts, second connecting means capable of engaging with the first connecting means to achieve the connection of the base to the gripping handle (Jiang, cylindrical fastener secures the lateral parts to the handle bar as seen in figures 2-3 and attached figure above).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in combination with Jiang, Lee discloses wherein the gripping handle is capable of being placed in two vertically staggered positions (auxiliary handle 190/170 is capable of varying in length by variable length means 171, figs.1 and 10a-11), namely a lowered position, allowing to reduce the footprint of the assembly of elements when not in use, and an elevated position, allowing to position the gripping handle at a height suitable for gripping by the child riding the vehicle (auxiliary handle 190/170 is capable of varying in length by variable length means 171 between a lowered and elevated position, figs.1 and 10a-11)).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in combination with Jiang, Lee discloses wherein the gripping handle (auxiliary handle 190/170, figs.1 and 10a-11) comprises a column forming a tubular portion (handle shaft 1722, figs.10a-11) while the body of the vehicle forms a tubular extension receiving the tubular portion in a telescopic manner (shaft 1721 receives shaft 1722, figs.10a-11), and comprises immobilization means (locking projection 1713, figs.10a-11) allowing to immobilize the tubular portion and the tubular extension relative to each other in either of the two aforementioned positions of the gripping handle (figs.10a-11).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20090100870 A) in view of Jiang (CN 111547123 A), and in further view of Shen (CN 110979437 A).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in combination with Jiang discloses the assembly of claim 1 but fail to disclose the push handle having pivoting connections for folding.
However, Shen discloses the push handle (handrail 40 and pipe 110, figs.1-5) has lower parts (pipe 110) connected to upper parts (handrail 40) by pivoting connections (16), the pivoting connections (folding joints 410) allowing the push handle to be placed either in an unfolded state (unfolded state fig.1), for pushing the stroller, or in a folded state (folded states as seen in figure 3 and 17-19), in which the lower parts and the upper parts are placed in a position close to the body (longitudinal rods 10, figs.1 and 19) of the wheeled vehicle, along lateral sides of the body (fig.19); and- the base is pivotally connected to the pivoting connections (cradle 80 is pivotably coupled to the folding joints 410, figs.1 and 4-5) by means of mounting foils (cradle support base 810 for mounting cradle 80, figs.1-5) which offset the plane formed by the base relative to the pivot axes formed by the pivoting connections (figs.1-5), this offset allowing the base to cover the body of the vehicle in the folded state (figs.1-5 and 19).
Lee and Shen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of child stroller and bicycle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee with the folding push handle of Shen with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the assembly to be folded into a more compact configuration for storage.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20090100870 A) in view of Jiang (CN 111547123 A), and in further view of On Soon (KR 20140115601 A).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in combination with Jiang discloses the assembly of claim 1 but fail to disclose positioning of the rear wheels (rear wheels 133).
However, On Soon discloses comprising means for positioning rear wheels of the vehicle in two spacing positions (rear wheel fixing bar 160, rear wheel fixing bar folding unit 140, a rear wheel angle adjusting unit 150, rear wheels 130, figs.1-8), namely a position of greater spacing, which is adopted in the "stroller" configuration of the assembly of elements, and a position of smaller spacing, which is adopted when the wheeled vehicle is used as such or when the assembly of elements is in the folded state (rear wheel fixing bar 160, rear wheel fixing bar folding unit 140, and a rear wheel angle adjusting unit 150 adjust the spacing of rear wheels 130, figs.1-8).
Lee and On Soon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of child stroller and bicycle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee with the adjustable rear wheel assembly of On Soon with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the assembly to be folded into a more compact configuration for storage, as well as adjusting the spacing between the rear wheel to allow the configuration to act more as a balance bike than a tricycle as the child gets older.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20090100870 A) in view of Jiang (CN 111547123 A), and in further view of Mazoyer (EP 3705372 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in combination with Jiang discloses the assembly of claim 1 but fail to disclose the push handle connected to a locking block.
However, Mazoyer discloses wherein the push handle (handlebar 3) comprises, at its lower part and on its rear side, a strut (lower tube of handle 3, fig.1-4) connected to a locking block (connecting column 31 with positioning bosses 311 and fixing hole 312, figs.1-4), the block being intended to engage with the body of the vehicle (connecting column 31 can engage the assembly 1 and the assembly 2, figs.1-4) and thus allowing to lock the push handle onto the body in the unfolded state of the handle.
Lee and Mazoyer are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wheeled vehicles for children. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee with the quick detach handle of Mazoyer with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the handlebar to be quickly attached and detached allowing for a more compact storage position when not in use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613