DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
WHEN CLAIMS ARE DIRECTED TO MULTIPLE CATEGORIES OF INVENTIONS
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475(c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-7, drawn to an intensity-limiting filter.
Group II, claim(s) 8-9, drawn to an optical instrument.
Group III, claim(s) 10, drawn to a method of using an intensity-limiting filter.
The inventions listed as Groups I-III do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: The special technical feature that is commonly shared between the inventions of Group I-III of an intensity-limiting filter is taught by Halas et al. (US 2016/0002673) who teaches a complex that may be metal nanoshells or core-shell structures including gold nanoshells coated with an additional shell layer made from silica and the nanoparticles are spherical (paragraphs [0035]-[0038]), wherein the complex may be in solution (paragraph [0040]), i.e. suspension. Given that Halas et al. teaches the claimed invention, the cited claims fail to define a contribution over the prior art. Therefore, the cited claims fail to constitute a special technical feature and hence lack of unity exists between the cited claims.
During a telephone conversation with Mr. William Sparkman on 09/22/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-7. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected invention or species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product, and the product claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of the allowable product claim will be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must require all the limitations of an allowable product claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04(b). Additionally, in order to retain the right to rejoinder in accordance with the above policy, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product claims. Failure to do so may result in a loss of the right to rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 2-7 each recite “An intensity-limiting filter”. It is suggested the claims are amended to recite “The intensity-limiting filter”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halas et al. (US 2016/0002673).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, and 4, Halas et al. teaches a complex that may be metal nanoshells or core-shell structures including gold nanoshells coated with an additional shell layer made from silica and metal and the nanoparticles are spherical (paragraphs [0035]-[0038]), wherein the complex may be in solution (paragraph [0040]), i.e. suspension.
Given the overlap between the material of Halas et al. and that presently claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a material that is both disclosed by Halas et al. and encompassed by the present claims and thereby arrive that the claimed invention.
While there is no disclosure that the material is an intensity limiting filter as presently claimed, applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the preamble does not state any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations and further that the purpose or intended use, i.e. intensity limiting filter, recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art invention and further that the prior art structure which is a material identical to that set forth in the present claims is capable of performing the recited purpose or intended use.
Regarding claim 5, Halas et al. teaches a gold metallic layer between 4 nm-35 nm (paragraph [0036]). Halas et al. teaches the thickness of the shell affects the plasmon resonance (paragraph [0036]). Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific thickness of the silica shell is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the plasmon resonance is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the thickness of the silica shell, the precise thickness would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of the silica shell in Halas et al. to obtain the desired plasmon resonance (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 6, Halas et al. teaches spherical silica core having a diameter between 90 nm-175 nm (paragraph [0036]) which falls within the range of 10-200 nm as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Halas et al. teaches spherical silica core having a diameter between 90 nm-175 nm and a gold metallic layer between 4 nm-35 nm (paragraph [0036]).
Halas et al. teaches the thickness of the shell affects the plasmon resonance (paragraph [0036]). Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific thickness of the silica shell and therefore the total diameter of the nanoparticles is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the plasmon resonance is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the thickness of the silica shell and therefore the total diameter of the nanoparticles, the precise thickness would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of the silica shell and therefore the total diameter of the nanoparticles in Halas et al. to obtain the desired plasmon resonance (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787