DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retaining feature” in claims 3 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kao (US Pat. No. 7,717,278 B2).
In regards to claim 1, Kao teaches a cable management apparatus, comprising: an anchor bracket (31 or 32); and a multi-cable clip (21 or 22) mounted to the anchor bracket, wherein the multi-cable clip has a plurality of tabs (T; see annotation above) defining a plurality of slots (213 or 223), wherein each of the plurality of slots is capable of holding a cable (e.g.; by placing the cable within the slot).
In regards to claim 2, Kao teaches a mounting pin (33, 331), the mounting pin being configured to be inserted through a first aperture (321) within the anchor bracket and a second aperture (224) within the multi-cable clip.
In regards to claim 3, Kao teaches the mounting pin comprises: a key handle (331) disposed at a first end; and a retaining feature (33) disposed at a second end.
In regards to claim 9, Kao teaches a cable management apparatus, comprising: a multi-clip frame (10) having a plurality of anchor brackets (31, 32); and a plurality of multi-cable clips (21, 22), wherein each of the multi-cable clips is mounted to a corresponding anchor bracket.
In regards to claim 10, Kao teaches a mounting pin (33, 331) mechanically coupling a corresponding multi-cable clip (21, 22) to a corresponding anchor bracket (31, 32), wherein the mounting pin is configured to be inserted through a first aperture (321) within the corresponding anchor bracket and a second aperture (224) within the corresponding multi-cable clip.
In regards to claim 11, Kao teaches the mounting pin comprises: a key handle (331) disposed at a first end; and a retaining feature (33) disposed at a second end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao (US Pat. No. 7,717,278 B2) in view of Mensah (US Pat. No. 6,991,414 B1).
In regards to claims 4 and 12, Kao teaches the mounting pin comprises: a first section having a key handle (331) disposed at a first end.
Kao does not teach the pin comprising a second section having an aperture disposed at a second end, wherein the first section and the second section are configured to be mechanically coupled by a fastener.
Mensah teaches a mounting pin comprising a first section having a key handle (20) disposed at a first end; and a second section (13) having an aperture (17) disposed at a second end, wherein the first section and the second section are configured to be mechanically coupled by a fastener (26).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Kao’s mounting pin to comprise a second section having an aperture disposed at a second end, wherein the first section and the second section are configured to be mechanically coupled by a fastener. The motivation would be for the purpose of using a fastener assembly that is easier to tighten and loosen in confined spaces as taught by Mensah (Col 1, Lines 6-9).
In regards to claims 5 and 13, in modifying Kao, Mensah teaches the fastener comprises a screw (Mensah: 26)
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao (US Pat. No. 7,717,278 B2) in view of Mensah (US Pat. No. 6,991,414 B1) and Ramsey et al. (US Pat. No. 6,488,151 B2).
In regards to claim 6 and 14, in modifying Kao, Mensah’s does not particularly teach using and Allen fastener. Ramsey teaches using an Allen fastener (60) to secure a component (Col 4, Lines 48-55).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to further modify Kao’s mounting pin to use a Allen screw as taught by Ramsey. The motivation would be for the purpose of choosing from a variety of available conventional fastener types.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao (US Pat. No. 7,717,278 B2) in view of Stephen (US Pat. No. 6,880,788 B2)
In regards to claim 7 and 8, Kao does not teach the multi-cable clip and the mounting pin are formed of the same material (claim 7); and the multi-cable clip is formed of a first material having a first thermal expansion coefficient and the mounting pin is formed of a second material having a second thermal expansion coefficient, wherein the first thermal expansion coefficient and the second thermal expansion coefficient are substantially equal (claim 8).
Stephen teaches teach a multi-cable clip (1) and the mounting pin (11) are formed of the same material (claim 7); and the multi-cable clip is formed of a first material having a first thermal expansion coefficient and the mounting pin is formed of a second material having a second thermal expansion coefficient, wherein the first thermal expansion coefficient and the second thermal expansion coefficient are substantially equal (claim 8) (i.e.; each can be made of Nylon; Col 5, Lines 39-50).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Kao’s apparatus such that the multi-cable clip and the mounting pin are formed of the same material (claim 7); and the multi-cable clip is formed of a first material having a first thermal expansion coefficient and the mounting pin is formed of a second material having a second thermal expansion coefficient, wherein the first thermal expansion coefficient and the second thermal expansion coefficient are substantially equal (claim 8). The motivation would be for the purpose of using a preferred material as taught by Stephen (Col 5, Lines 49-50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the PTO-892 for additional prior art related to the Applicant’s disclosed invention.
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631