DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is advised to change “farther” to “further”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 recites, “solid content of 30% or less” fails to further limit from the claim which it depends on, claim 5 depends on claim 1 which recites, “solid content of 20% or more” so 30% or less does include the number below 20%. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-8, 12 Tonomura discloses method for forming brilliant multi-layered coating film (i.e. coating system of the present invention), which comprises the steps of (1) applying an effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating composition (Al) [lower coating of the present invention] onto a substrate to form a first base coating film, (2) applying an effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating composition (A2) [upper coating of the present invention] onto the uncured first base coating film to form a second base coating film, and (3) heat-curing the two coating films (claim 1). The first base coating film preferably has a dry film thickness (TAI) normally ranging 5 - 15 μm, in particular, 7 - 12 μm, and the second base coating film preferably has a dry film thickness (TA2) normally ranging 1 - 5 μm (page 11, lines 19-23). Effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating composition (Al) can have solid content of generally 15-45 mass%, preferably 20-39 mass%, inter alia, 25-35 mass%; and effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating composition (A2) can have a solid content of generally 5-30 mass%, preferably 6-15 mass% (page 30, lines 30-35), where the solid content is equivalent to foil solid contents.
Regarding claim 4, The only deficiency of Tonomura is that Tonomura disclose the use of lower coating has a solid content of 45%, while the present claims require 50%.
It is apparent, however, that the instantly claimed amount of lower coating of solid content of 50 and that taught by Tonomura are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff , 919 F.2d 1575, USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed.Cir. 1985) where despite a “slight” difference in the ranges the court held that such a difference did not “render the claims patentable” or, alternatively, that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough so that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties”.
In light of the case law cited above and given that there is only a “slight” difference between the amount of solid content disclosed by Tonomura and the amount disclosed in the present claims and further given the fact that no criticality is disclosed in the present invention with respect to the amount of solid content of lower coating, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the amount of solid content of lower coating disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the amounts disclosed in Tonomura, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, as Tonomura discloses first and second coating composition as presently claimed, therefore it would intrinsically have the claimed VOC content of less than 420 g/L.
Regarding claim 14, Tonomura discloses as effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating compositions, water-borne coating compositions comprising water-soluble or water-dispersible main resin (a), curing agent (b) and effect pigment (c) can be used. As the main resin (a), resins containing sufficient amount of hydrophilic groups for making the resin water-soluble or water-dispersible, and functional groups capable of cross-linking reaction with the curing agent (b), such as acrylic resin, polyester resin, alkyd resin, epoxy resin, polyurethane resin and the like, can be named, which can be used each singly or in combination of two or more (page 12, lines 30-page13 line 5).
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claim 14 recites polyurethane as an optional component, the claim limitation is met when polyurethane is absent from the first coating.
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 14 recites acrylated grafted polyurethane resin as an optional component, the claim limitation is met when acrylated grafted polyurethane is absent from the first coating.
Regarding claim 19, Tonomura discloses Effect pigment- containing water-borne base coating compositions to be used in the method of this invention may further contain, besides above effect pigment (c), where necessary, pigment such as coloring pigment, extender pigment and the like. As coloring pigment, for example, white pigment such as titanium dioxide, black pigment such as carbon black (page 22, last 2 lines to page 23, line 5).
Regarding claim 24, Tonomura discloses the viscosity at one minute after application of effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating composition can be controlled by, for example, blending rheology-controlling agent or adjusting solid content of the composition. As the rheology-controlling agent, for example, inorganic thickener such as silicate, metal silicate, montmorillonite, organic montmorillonite, colloidal alumina and the like; polyacrylic acid thickener such as sodium polyacrylate, polyacrylic acid- (meth) acrylic ■ acid ester copolymer and the like; urethane.- associated type thickener which exhibits effective thickening action, as it contains urethane bond and polyether chain per molecule and the urethane bonds are mutually associated in an aqueous medium (page 9, lines 25-35).
Regarding claim 25, Tonomura discloses as effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating compositions, water-borne coating compositions comprising water-soluble or water-dispersible main resin (a), curing agent (b) and effect pigment (c) can be used. As the main resin (a), resins containing sufficient amount of hydrophilic groups for making the resin water-soluble or water-dispersible, and functional groups capable of cross-linking reaction with the curing agent (b), such as acrylic resin, polyester resin, alkyd resin, epoxy resin, polyurethane resin and the like, can be named, which can be used each singly or in combination of two or more (page 12, lines 30-page13 line 5). Tonomura discloses coating composition effect pigment composition comprises melamine formaldehyde resin (page 17).
With respect to the weight ratio limitation, when faced with a mixture, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by common sense to select a 1:1 ratio, a ratio that falls within the presently claimed amount, absent evidence of unexpected or surprising results. Case law holds that "[h]aving established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely... on a conclusion of obviousness, 'from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art within any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference.'" In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Regarding claims 26-27, Tonomura discloses method for forming brilliant multi-layered coating film (i.e. coating system of the present invention), which comprises the steps of (1) applying an effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating composition (Al) [lower coating of the present invention] onto a substrate to form a first base coating film, (2) applying an effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating composition (A2) [upper coating of the present invention] onto the uncured first base coating film to form a second base coating film, and (3) heat-curing the two coating films (claim 1) and the substrate is a car body (claim 21) which comprises metal (see examples).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Schwarte et al. (US 2013/0143047).
Regarding claim 9, Tonomura discloses effect pigments in the upper and lower coating but fails to disclose effect pigment comprises a silver dollar type pigment.
Whereas Schwarte discloses curable aqueous coating compositions comprising at least one polyurethane (A) as binder, at least one laminar metallic effect pigment (B), and at least one inorganic thickener C1) selected from the group of the phyllosilicates, and at least one organic thickener C2) selected from the group of the (meth)acrylic acid-(meth)acrylate copolymer thickeners and polyurethane thickeners (abstract).It is particularly advantageous to use laminar metallic effect pigments (B) with what is called a silver dollar morphology. Typical pigments with silver dollar morphology are produced from a specific atomized metal powder with spherical morphology, which in the course of subsequent grinding is merely deformed and not comminuted. Particular preference is given to silver dollar pigments made from aluminum. Suitable, typical silver dollar pigments which can be used in the compositions of the present invention are, for example, the pigments sold by the company Eckert as 3000-series products, under the trade names Hydrolux, Hydrolan or Hydrolac (grades stabilized for aqueous basecoat material) (para 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include silver dollar pigment as taught by Schwarte as the effect pigment in the upper and lower coating of Tonomura motivated by the desire to provide excellent gassing stability, exceptional resistance to humidity and superior intercoat adhesion.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Super et al. (US 2020/0096390).
Regarding claim 10, Tonomura fails to disclose that the effect pigment has an aspect ratio of 50:1 to 200:1.
Whereas, Super discloses color strength of a colored batch containing effect pigments can be measured and corrected using one or more non-uniformly weighted factors to determine, at a plurality of combinations of illumination angles and measurement angles, and at one or more wavelengths, the color and intensity of light reflected or absorbed by a coating film made from the batch in comparison to a reference color strength. Based on such comparison, let-downs or batches may be passed, rejected, mixed or otherwise dispersed. The composition of such let-downs or batches may also or instead be adjusted by adding non-effect pigments, effect pigments, binder, carrier, binder, or non-effect or effect pigments dispersed in either or both of a carrier and binder, in order to correct the let-down or batch color strength to within a desired tolerance of the reference color strength (abstract). The effect pigment flakes may for example have aspect ratios of at least 20:1 (claim 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form effect pigments of Tonomura having an aspect ratio of at least 20:1 as taught by Super motivated by the desire to have improved paint and coating performance.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Chang (CA 2062302).
Regarding claim 11, Tonomura fails to disclose that the second coating composition has pigment-binder ratio of 0.02:1 to 0.3:1.
Whereas, Chang discloses an improved process for forming a multilayer finish by applying a layer of a waterborne basecoating composition to a substrate, at least partially drying the coating, applying a layer of a solvent based high solids clear coating to the basecoating and curing the coatings; the improvement used therewith consists essentially of using the following: A. a waterborne basecoating composition comprising a film forming binder of about 60-97 wt% and the composition contains pigments in a pigment to binder weight ratio of about 0.5/100 to 200/100 (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include pigment to binder in a ratio of 0.5:100 to 200/100 as taught by Chang in the second coating composition of Tonomura motivated by the desire to have excellent appearance properties and excellent mechanical strength.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Colucci (IT MI1992A000671).
Regarding claim 15, Tonomura fails to disclose that the weight ratio of the polyurethane resin to the acrylic resin is 0.1:1 to 0.9:1.
Whereas, Colucci discloses water-based paint obtained by mixing at the time of use, the following essential components: Component A: aqueous acrylic-urethane polymer dispersion, based on an acrylic polymer with hydroxyl functional groups in the ratio of 2 + 4% by weight of OH on the dry polymer, mixed with an aliphatic polyurethane resin, the weight ratio between acrylic resin and polyurethane resin being between 60/40 and 65/35 (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include polyurethane resin to acrylic resin in a ratio of 40/60 to 35/65 as taught by Colucci in the first coating composition of Tonomura motivated by the desire to have high resistance to chemical agents and abrasion resistance.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hayashi et al. (WO 2007/013558).
Regarding claim 17, Tonomura discloses acrylic resin as stated above, but fails to disclose that the acrylic resin has a hydroxyl value of 50-150 mgKOH/g, an acid value of 1-50 mgKOH/g and an average particle size of 100-1000 nm.
Whereas, Hayashi discloses a water-based metallic coating composition which retains excellent properties of water-based metallic coating materials, such as coloration, adhesion in re-coating, unsusceptibility to chipping, and wet adhesion, and which, when applied by the two-coat one-bake coating method, gives a coating film less apt to suffer the disordering of brightening-pigment orientation through the application of a clear coating material. The water-based metallic coating composition comprises a film-forming resin, a hardener, and a brightening pigment, and is characterized in that the film-forming resin comprises an acrylic resin emulsion, the acrylic resin emulsion being one obtained by two-stage emulsion polymerization, the solid resin ingredient in the emulsion having an acid value of 1-30 mg-KOH/g and a hydroxyl value of 10-150 mg-KOH/g, and the emulsion having a particle diameter of 20-140 nm (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form acrylic resin of Tonomura having an acid value of 1-30 mg-KOH/g, a hydroxyl value of 10-150 mg-KOH/g and a particle diameter of 20-140 nm as taught by Hayashi motivated by the desire to have avoid reduction in solid content and improved color developability, avoid decrease of water resistance and improved physical properties.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Carlsen et al. (EP 0367812).
Regarding claim 20, Tonomura discloses as effect pigment-containing water-borne base coating compositions, water-borne coating compositions comprising water-soluble or water-dispersible main resin (a), curing agent (b) and effect pigment (c) can be used. As the main resin (a), resins containing sufficient amount of hydrophilic groups for making the resin water-soluble or water-dispersible, and functional groups capable of cross-linking reaction with the curing agent (b), such as acrylic resin, polyester resin, alkyd resin, epoxy resin, polyurethane resin and the like, can be named, which can be used each singly or in combination of two or more (page 12, lines 30-page13 line 5).
However, Tonomura fails to disclose that the acrylic resin having a Tg greater than 40C and polyurethane resin having a Tg greater than 30C.
Whereas, Carlsen discloses aqueous polymer dispersions characterized by a water-dispersible polyurethane/acrylic support resin/acrylic polymer, with the acrylic polymer being polymerized from monomers in the presence of the water-dispersible polyurethane and acrylic support resin. The dispersions can be prepared having balanced properties such as toughness, durability, hardness, abrasion and detergent resistance, and depth and retention of gloss (abstract). It is particularly desirable to have the ability to modify the polyurethanes in a manner which will permit the obtaining of a variation in the physical characteristics of the polymeric compositions, such as the ability to prepare the compositions to have either low, high, or intermediate glass transition temperatures (Tg), and a balancing of flexibility, durability, hardness, toughness, and gloss in coatings prepared from the polymer compositions without need for the addition of large amounts of modifying components (page 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges of Tg through process optimization motivated by the desire to have a balancing of flexibility, durability, hardness, toughness, and gloss in coatings, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437) in view of Carlsen et al. (EP 0367812) as applied to claim 20, further in view of Overbeek (GB 2362387).
Regarding claim 21, Tonomura fails to disclose the weight ratio of the high Tg acrylic resin to the high Tg polyurethan resin is 10:80:5:50.
Whereas, Overbeek discloses aqueous multipolymer dispersion which is substantially solvent-free and which comprises the following polymers: an acrylic polymer(s) having a Tg of less then W>C; an acrylic polymer(s) having a Tg of at least 20IC; wherein the Tg of the poiymer(s) of (B) is at least 3TC higher than the Tg of the polymer(s) of (A) (claim 1). The weight ratio of polyurethane polymer to acrylic polymer(s) in the polymer hybrid is within the range of from 5/95 to 99/1 (claim 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include polyurethane to acrylic resin of Tonomura in a weight ratio of 5/95 to 99/1 as taught by Overbeek motivated by the desire to have excellent physical and mechanical properties.
Regarding claim 23, Tonomura, in view of Carlsen fails to disclose that the high Tg polyurethane resin has a weight average molecular weight of 2000-15000.
Whereas, Overbeek discloses aqueous multipolymer dispersion which is substantially solvent-free and which comprises the following polymers: an acrylic polymer(s) having a Tg of less then W>C; an acrylic polymer(s) having a Tg of at least 20IC; wherein the Tg of the poiymer(s) of (B) is at least 3TC higher than the Tg of the polymer(s) of (A) (claim 1). The average molecular weight of the polyurethane is at least 10,000, preferably at least 25,000 (claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form polyurethane resin of Tonomura having average molecular weight of 10000-25000 as taught by Overbeek motivated by the desire to have excellent physical and mechanical properties.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonomura et al. (WO 2006/132437) in view of Carlsen et al. (EP 0367812) as applied to claim 20, further in view of Hayashi et al. (WO 2007/013558).
Tonomura discloses acrylic resin as stated above, but fails to disclose that the acrylic resin has a hydroxyl value of 10-100 mgKOH/g, an acid value of 1-70 mgKOH/g and an average particle size of 100-1000 nm.
Whereas, Hayashi discloses a water-based metallic coating composition which retains excellent properties of water-based metallic coating materials, such as coloration, adhesion in re-coating, unsusceptibility to chipping, and wet adhesion, and which, when applied by the two-coat one-bake coating method, gives a coating film less apt to suffer the disordering of brightening-pigment orientation through the application of a clear coating material. The water-based metallic coating composition comprises a film-forming resin, a hardener, and a brightening pigment, and is characterized in that the film-forming resin comprises an acrylic resin emulsion, the acrylic resin emulsion being one obtained by two-stage emulsion polymerization, the solid resin ingredient in the emulsion having an acid value of 1-30 mg-KOH/g and a hydroxyl value of 10-150 mg-KOH/g, and the emulsion having a particle diameter of 20-140 nm (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to form acrylic resin of Tonomura having an acid value of 1-30 mg-KOH/g, a hydroxyl value of 10-150 mg-KOH/g and a particle diameter of 20-140 nm as taught by Hayashi motivated by the desire to have avoid reduction in solid content and improved color developability, avoid decrease of water resistance and improved physical properties.
Conclusion
/RONAK C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788