DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 19/107,809 filed 02/28/2025. Claims 1-11 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 4 contains the limitation “an IR reflection film is arranged specular the IR light sources.” It is unknown how a film could be arranged “specular” a light source.
Claims 10 and 11 contain the contradictory limitations of a space between the display and light guide being free of optical diffusion elements and a diffuser layer being included in the same space.
Therefore, the claims contain subject matter which one skilled in the art to which it pertains would not be able to make and/or use the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harbach et al. (US 2010/0073584), herein Harbach, in view of Long et al. (US 2022/0091316), herein Long.
Consider claim 1, Harbach clearly teaches a display device with an IR camera for a vehicle, (Fig. 1: Display apparatus 20, [0008], [0010]) comprising
- a display having a front side with a display area and a back side, (Fig. 2: LCD 32, [0010])
- a backlighting unit having backlighting light sources and having a light guide which comprises a light emission side, a back side facing away from the latter and a circumferential edge side connecting the front side to the back side, wherein the backlighting light sources radiate visible light into at least a portion of the edge side, (Fig. 2: Lighting apparatus 34 includes lightpipe 36 which is side-lit by LEDs 38, [0010].)
- wherein the intermediate space between the back side of the display and the light emission side of the light guide is free of optical light diffusion elements, (Fig. 2: No optical light diffusion elements are located between lighting apparatus 34 and LCD 32.)
- a reflection film arranged on the back side of the light guide or opposite thereto for reflecting backlighting light and for transmitting IR light, wherein the reflection film has a back side facing away from the light guide, (Fig. 2 Long-pass filter 26 reflects visible light from lighting apparatus 34 and allows IR light from IR LEDs 28 to pass through, [0010].)
-IR light sources and an IR photodiode array, all of which are arranged facing the back side of the reflection film, (Fig. 2: IR LEDs 28 and imaging chip 30 are arranged behind long-pass filter 26, [0010], [0012].) and
- wherein IR light from the IR light sources passes through the reflection film, the light guide and the display and thus reaches a region in front of the display area, and IR light from the IR light sources reflected at an object potentially located in this region passes through the display, the light guide and the reflection film and thus reaches the IR photodiode array. (Figs. 1, 2: IR light from IR LEDs 28 passes through long-pass filter 26, lightpipe 36 and LCD 32 and is reflected by the occupant 22 and recorded by imaging chip 30, [0002], [0008], [0010]-[0012].)
However, Harbach does not explicitly teach a first specular reflection polarization film arranged on the back side of the display or opposite thereto for reflecting visible backlighting light, the polarization of which deviates from the polarization direction of the back-side polarization filter of the display, wherein backlighting light reflected by the specular reflection polarization film can be reflected back from the reflection film towards the specular reflection polarization film while changing its polarization direction, wherein IR light from the IR light sources and reflected IR light passes through the first specular reflection polarization film.
In an analogous art, Long, which discloses a display system, clearly teaches a first specular reflection polarization film arranged on the back side of the display or opposite thereto for reflecting visible backlighting light, the polarization of which deviates from the polarization direction of the back-side polarization filter of the display, wherein backlighting light reflected by the specular reflection polarization film can be reflected back from the reflection film towards the specular reflection polarization film while changing its polarization direction, (Fig. 2: Reflective polarizer 40 reflects light in a second polarization state 70d back to reflector 30 wherein the polarization state changes and is passed back through light guide plate 20, [0045].) wherein IR light from the IR light sources and reflected IR light passes through the first specular reflection polarization film. (Fig. 2: Infrared light emitted from light source 60 and reflected IR light passes through reflective polarizer 40, [0044]-[0046].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Harbach by a first specular reflection polarization film arranged on the back side of the display or opposite thereto for reflecting visible backlighting light, the polarization of which deviates from the polarization direction of the back-side polarization filter of the display, wherein backlighting light reflected by the specular reflection polarization film can be reflected back from the reflection film towards the specular reflection polarization film while changing its polarization direction, wherein IR light from the IR light sources and reflected IR light passes through the first specular reflection polarization film, as taught by Long, for the benefit of transmitting polarized light.
Consider claim 4, Harbach combined with Long clearly teaches the first specular reflection polarization film also reflects IR light, the polarization of which deviates from the polarization direction of the back-side polarization filter of the display, and wherein in that an IR reflection film is arranged specular the IR light sources for reflecting IR light reflected by the first specular reflection polarization film while changing the polarization direction. (Fig. 2: Reflective polarizer 40 reflects IR light in a second polarization state 70d back to reflector 30 wherein the polarization state changes and is passed back through light guide plate 20, [0044], [0045] Long.)
Consider claim 6, Harbach combined with Long clearly teaches the IR light sources emit NIR light and that the IR photodiode array is an NIR photodiode array. (IR LEDs 28 can emit light in the near-infrared range, [0010], [0011] Harbach.)
Consider claim 10, Harbach combined with Long clearly teaches a diffuser layer for scattering the backlighting light is located in the intermediate space between the light emission side of the light guide and the back side of the display, which allows the IR light from the IR light sources to pass through without scattering. (Fig. 1: Optical diffuser 10 has a first scattering rate R1 for visible light and a second scattering rate R2 for IR light, wherein R1 is greater than R2, [0039] Long.)
Consider claim 11, Harbach combined with Long clearly teaches the diffuser layer, which is neutral to IR light, is arranged between the light guide and the specular reflection polarization film or between the specular reflection polarization film and the display. (Fig. 1: Optical diffuser 10 has a first scattering rate R1 for visible light and a second scattering rate R2 for IR light, wherein R1 is greater than R2, [0039] Long.)
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harbach et al. (US 2010/0073584) in view of Long et al. (US 2022/0091316) in view of Shiau et al. (US 2007/0279933), herein Shiau.
Consider claim 2, Harbach combined with Long clearly teaches the light guide. (Fig. 2: Lightpipe 36, [0010] Harbach)
However, Harbach combined with Long does not explicitly teach the light guide is configured as a light guide film.
In an analogous art, Shiau, which discloses a lighting system, clearly teaches the light guide is configured as a light guide film. (Fig. 2: Brightness enhancement film 56, [0025])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Harbach combined with Long by the light guide is configured as a light guide film, as taught by Shiau, for the benefit of enhancing the brightness of the light module.
Consider claim 3, Harbach combined with Long and Shiau clearly teaches the light guide has a light guide film and a light guide plate which are bonded together by an optical adhesive layer. (Fig. 2: Brightness enhancement film 56 and adhesive layer 60, [0025] Shiau)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harbach et al. (US 2010/0073584) in view of Long et al. (US 2022/0091316) in view of Ra (US 2009/0190059).
Consider claim 7, Harbach combined with Long clearly teaches the IR photodiode array.
However, Harbach combined with Long does not explicitly teach the IR photodiode array is two-dimensional.
In an analogous art, Ra, which discloses a display system, clearly teaches the IR photodiode array is two-dimensional. (Figs. 2, 4: Infrared light sources 2100, [0092])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Harbach combined with Long by the IR photodiode array is two-dimensional, as taught by Ra, to achieve the predictable result of producing IR light.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harbach et al. (US 2010/0073584) in view of Long et al. (US 2022/0091316) in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2024/0100946), herein Ishikawa.
Consider claim 8, Harbach combined with Long clearly teaches the display device.
However, Harbach combined with Long does not explicitly teach a touch panel for manual input of commands by touching the display area of the display.
In an analogous art, Ishikawa, which discloses a display system, clearly teaches a touch panel for manual input of commands by touching the display area of the display. (Fig. 1: Display device 7 includes a touch panel, [0046].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Harbach combined with Long by a touch panel for manual input of commands by touching the display area of the display, as taught by Ishikawa, to achieve the predictable result of receiving user input.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harbach et al. (US 2010/0073584) in view of Long et al. (US 2022/0091316) in view of Meyers (US 2017/0242303).
Consider claim 9, Harbach combined with Long clearly teaches the reflection film and the IR photodiode array. (Fig. 2, [0010] Harbach)
However, Harbach combined with Long does not explicitly teach at least one optical lens arranged between the reflection film and the IR photodiode array.
In an analogous art, Meyers, which discloses a display system, clearly teaches at least one optical lens arranged on the IR photodiode array. (Figs. 3, 5: Lens 508 is arranged over light source 502, [0034], [0036].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Harbach combined with Long by at least one optical lens arranged between the reflection film and the IR photodiode array, as taught by Meyers, for the benefit of directing the emitted light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425