DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “the crystallisation temperature” is objected to because the claim recites “the” to reference subject matter which is not previously recited/introduced, and while this recitation is not ambiguous because there is inherent basis for such subject matter, the Examiner recommends introducing new limitations with “a” or “an” to ensure consistent language throughout the claims is being used; therefore, the recitation above should read “a crystallization temperature” to overcome this objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “the melting temperature” is objected to because the claim recites “the” to reference subject matter which is not previously recited/introduced - while this recitation is not ambiguous because there is inherent basis for such subject matter, the Examiner recommends introducing new limitations with “a” or “an” to ensure consistent language throughout the claims is being used; therefore, the recitation above should read “a ” to overcome this objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“separating element for separating” in claim 15 (see paragraphs [0124] & [0126] of the specification as published, US 2026/0077538, for the corresponding structure for performing the claimed function); and
“conveying element for conveying” in claim 16 (see paragraphs [0133]-[0135] of the specification as published, US 2026/0077538, for the corresponding structure for performing the claimed function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parrinello et al. (US 2020/0276738; made of record in the IDS filed 02/28/2025) in view of Mayes et al. (US 2018/0265665).
As to claim 1: Parrinello discloses the claimed method for making an object with at least one polymeric material (i.e., method for producing objects made of polymeric material) (Parrinello at [0001]), wherein the method comprises the steps of:
extruding the polymeric material in an extrusion stage (i.e., the apparatus 1 for carrying out the method includes a melting device 2 which comprises an extruder device 3 for melting and extruding the polymeric material) (Parrinello at [0060], Fig. 1);
pressing the material to obtain the object (i.e., the mould is configured to compression mould the object from a dose of the polymeric material) (Parrinello at [0024], [0037], Fig. 1), and
cooling the polymeric material downstream of the extrusion stage (i.e., downstream of the melting device 2, which comprises the extruder device 3 for melting and extruding the polymeric material, a cooling zone is provided and defined inside a heat exchanger 6; the cooling zone configured to cool the flow of polymeric material coming from the melting device 2) (Parrinello at [0064], Fig. 1).
Parrinello discloses downstream of the melting device 2, which comprises the extruder device 3 for melting and extruding the polymeric material, a cooling zone is provided and defined inside a heat exchanger 6; the cooling zone configured to cool the flow of polymeric material coming from the melting device 2; and the heat exchanger 6 being defined inside a cascade extruder or a planetary extruder, in particular arranged immediately downstream of the extruder device that melts and extrudes the polymeric material (i.e., therefore the process flow would include extruder device that melts the polymeric material --> heat exchanger --> cascade/planetary extruder) (Parrinello at [0064], [0122], [0124], Fig. 1).
Though, Parrinello fails to disclose the claimed method using a composite material in which a material of natural origin is dispersed in the at least one polymeric material; adding the material of natural origin to the polymeric material, thereby obtaining the composite material; and wherein the material of natural origin is added to the polymeric material after having cooled the polymeric material downstream of the extrusion stage.
However, Mayes teaches a method of making a cellulosic fiber-thermoplastic composite article, the method including the steps of providing a copolymer composition, combining the copolymer and cellulosic fibers, applying heat, mixing energy and pressure to form a mixture, and forming the article in a molding or extrusion operation (Mayes at [0001]). Mayes further teaches during the blending step, the copolymer and cellulosic fiber are typically intimately mixed by high shear mixing to form a copolymer-cellulosic fiber composite where the mixture includes a continuous copolymer phase and cellulosic fiber dispersed phase with some reaction taking place between the copolymer and cellulosic fibers, and the dispersed cellulosic fibers being suspended or dispersed throughout the copolymer phase (i.e., method using a composite material in which a material of natural origin is dispersed in the at least one polymeric material) (Mayes [0114]).
Specifically, Mayes teaches adding the copolymer to a first extruder and then combining the copolymer with the cellulosic fiber in a second extruder (i.e., adding the material of natural origin to the polymeric material, thereby obtaining the composite material); and the cellulosic fiber being fed via wood hopper to a twin screw extruder, which heats the fiber to temperature while being transported, and the copolymer being fed via a polymer hopper to a single screw extruder, in which the copolymer is melted and fed to the twin screw extruder where the molten copolymer and cellulosic material are mixed (i.e., wherein the material of natural origin is added to the polymeric material after having cooled the polymeric material downstream of the extrusion stage in Parrinello) (Mayes at [0112], [0136])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the method incorporating a composite material in which cellulosic fibers are dispersed in a polymer composition, and adding the cellulosic fibers downstream of the extrusion after having cooled the polymeric material downstream of the extrusion stage as such is known in the art of molding composite products given the discussion of Mayes above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Additionally, doing so is the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. One would have been motivated to use a cellulosic/polymer composite for the purpose of benefiting from the cellulosic/polymer composites enhanced resistance to moisture (as recognized by Mayes at [0006]).
As to claim 2: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the object is a packaging component (Parrinello at [0002], [0038]).
As to claim 3: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the object is a concave object (Parrinello at [0038]).
As to claim 4: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the polymeric material comprises a semi-crystalline polymer which includes an amorphous fraction and a crystalline fraction (Parrinello at [0003], [0039], [0040]), and wherein the material of natural origin is added to the polymeric material while the polymeric material is at a temperature higher than or equal to the crystallization temperature of the crystalline fraction (Parrinello at [0041], [0042], [0043], [0063], [0064] – given the combination of Parrinello and Mayes in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 5: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 4. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein in the extrusion stage, the semi-crystalline polymer is heated to an extrusion temperature which is higher than the melting temperature of the crystalline fraction (Parrinello at [0040], [0063], [0097]).
As to claim 6: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the polymeric material comprises an amorphous polymer having a glass transition temperature (Parrinello at [0003], [0039], [0040]).
Mayes, further reads on the claimed wherein the material of natural origin is added to the polymeric material while the polymeric material is at a working temperature higher than the glass transition temperature of the amorphous polymer (Mayes at [0048], [0138], [0136]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 7: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 6. Parrinello further discloses semi-crystalline materials including polypropylene (PP), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), and polyethylene terephthalate (PET); and a working temperature in the melting device 2 being higher than or equal to the melting temperature, where it is known that the melting temperature is always higher than the glass transition temperature for semi-crystalline polymers (Parrinello at [0003], [0039], [0040], [0063], [0097]). Additionally, Mayes teaches the extruder temperatures ranging from 180oC to 225oC, and the exact extruder temperature varying based on the melt temperature and/or glass transition temperature of the copolymer (Mayes at [0048]).
Therefore, given the glass transition temperatures (i.e., inherent material property/temperature range specific to each material) for PP, HPDE, and PET materials as disclosed by Parrinello are at least 80oC (or more) lower than the extruder temperatures taught by Mayes it can be concluded that Parrinello modified by Mayes further reads on the claimed wherein the working temperature is at least 80oC higher than the glass transition temperature of the amorphous polymer, for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 8: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Parrinello further discloses the claimed the method furthermore comprising the step of mixing the composite material obtained by added the material of natural origin to the polymeric material (Mayes at [0112], [0136]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 9: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the polymeric material is cooled downstream of the extrusion stage with a cooling speed higher than or equal to 5oC/min (Parrinello at [0108]).
As to claim 10: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the step of pressing the composite material to obtain the object comprises cutting a continuous flow of composite material to obtain a dose of composite material, and shaping the dose by compression in a mould to obtain the object (Parrinello at [0024], [0025], [0078], [0079], [0098], [0099], Fig. 1).
As to claim 11: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Mayes further discloses the claimed wherein the material of natural origin comprises cellulose in the form of fibers or powder (Mayes at [0006], [0034], [0035], [0036], [0082], [0083], [0084]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 17: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 1. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the object is selected from a group consisting of a closing element for a container, a container, a capsule, and a preform for a container (Parrinello at [0002], [0038]).
As to claim 18: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 6. Parrinello further discloses semi-crystalline materials including polypropylene (PP), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), and polyethylene terephthalate (PET); and a working temperature in the melting device 2 being higher than or equal to the melting temperature, where it is known that the melting temperature is always higher than the glass transition temperature for semi-crystalline polymers (Parrinello at [0003], [0039], [0040], [0063], [0097]). Additionally, Mayes teaches the extruder temperatures ranging from 180oC to 225oC, and the exact extruder temperature varying based on the melt temperature and/or glass transition temperature of the copolymer (Mayes at [0048]).
Therefore, given the glass transition temperatures (i.e., inherent material property/temperature range specific to each material) for PP, HPDE, and PET materials as disclosed by Parrinello are at least 50oC (or more) lower than the extruder temperatures taught by Mayes it can be concluded that Parrinello modified by Mayes further reads on the claimed wherein the working temperature is at least 50oC higher than the glass transition temperature of the amorphous polymer, for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 19: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 8. Mayes further discloses the claimed wherein the mixing step occurs in a twin-screw extruder (Mayes at [0119], [0120], [0136]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 20: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the method of claim 9. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the polymeric material is cooled downstream of the extrusion stage with a cooling speed higher than or equal to 10oC/min (Parrinello at [0108]).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parrinello et al. (US 2020/0276738; made of record in the IDS filed 02/28/2025) in view of Mayes et al. (US 2018/0265665).
As to claim 12: Parrinello discloses the claimed apparatus for making an object with at least one polymeric material (i.e., apparatus for producing objects made of polymeric material) (Parrinello at [0001], Fig. 1), wherein the apparatus comprises:
an extrusion stage for extruding the polymeric material (i.e., the apparatus 1 for carrying out the method includes a melting device 2 which comprises an extruder device 3 for melting and extruding the polymeric material) (Parrinello at [0060], Fig. 1);
a cooler positioned downstream of the extrusion stage for cooling the polymeric material (i.e., downstream of the melting device 2, which comprises the extruder device 3 for melting and extruding the polymeric material, a cooling zone is provided and defined inside a heat exchanger 6; the cooling zone configured to cool the flow of polymeric material coming from the melting device 2) (Parrinello at [0064], Fig. 1); and
a pressing device for pressing the material, so as to obtain the object (i.e., the mould is configured to compression mould the object from a dose of the polymeric material) (Parrinello at [0024], [0037], Fig. 1).
Parrinello discloses downstream of the melting device 2, which comprises the extruder device 3 for melting and extruding the polymeric material, a cooling zone is provided and defined inside a heat exchanger 6; the cooling zone configured to cool the flow of polymeric material coming from the melting device 2; and the heat exchanger 6 being defined inside a cascade extruder or a planetary extruder, in particular arranged immediately downstream of the extruder device that melts and extrudes the polymeric material (i.e., therefore the process flow would include extruder device that melts the polymeric material --> heat exchanger --> cascade/planetary extruder) (Parrinello at [0064], [0122], [0124], Fig. 1).
Though, Parrinello fails to disclose the claimed apparatus using a composite material in which a material of natural origin is dispersed in the at least one polymeric material; a metering unit positioned downstream of the cooler for adding the material of natural origin to the polymeric material which has been cooled, thereby obtaining the composite material; and a mixer for mixing the composite material.
However, Mayes teaches a method of making a cellulosic fiber-thermoplastic composite article, the method including the steps of providing a copolymer composition, combining the copolymer and cellulosic fibers, applying heat, mixing energy and pressure to form a mixture, and forming the article in a molding or extrusion operation (Mayes at [0001]). Mayes further teaches during the blending step, the copolymer and cellulosic fiber are typically intimately mixed by high shear mixing to form a copolymer-cellulosic fiber composite where the mixture includes a continuous copolymer phase and cellulosic fiber dispersed phase with some reaction taking place between the copolymer and cellulosic fibers, and the dispersed cellulosic fibers being suspended or dispersed throughout the copolymer phase (i.e., a composite material in which a material of natural origin is dispersed in the at least one polymeric material) (Mayes [0114]).
Specifically, Mayes teaches adding the copolymer to a first extruder and then combining the copolymer with the cellulosic fiber in a second extruder; and the cellulosic fiber being fed via wood hopper to a twin screw extruder, which heats the fiber to temperature while being transported, and the copolymer being fed via a polymer hopper to a single screw extruder, in which the copolymer is melted and fed to the twin screw extruder where the molten copolymer and cellulosic material are mixed (i.e., a metering unit positioned downstream of the cooler for adding the material of natural origin to the polymeric material which has been cooled, thereby obtaining the composite material; and a mixer for mixing the composite material) (Mayes at [0112], [0136])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the composite material in which cellulosic fibers are dispersed in a polymer composition, and a metering unit for adding material of natural origin to the polymeric material, thereby obtaining the composite material and a mixer for mixing the composite material as such is known in the art of molding composite products given the discussion of Mayes above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Additionally, doing so is the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. One would have been motivated to use a cellulosic/polymer composite for the purpose of benefiting from the cellulosic/polymer composites enhanced resistance to moisture (as recognized by Mayes at [0006]).
As to claim 13: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the apparatus of claim 12. Mayes further discloses the claimed wherein the mixer comprises a twin-screw extruder (Mayes at [0119], [0120], [0136]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 12.
As to claim 14: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the apparatus of claim 12. Parrinello further discloses the claimed wherein the pressing device comprises a mould for moulding the object by compression moulding (Parrinello at [0001], [0024], [0037], [0083], [0084], [0086], Fig. 1).
As to claim 15: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the apparatus of claim 14. Parrinello further discloses the claimed the device furthermore comprising a separating element for separating a dose of composite material from a continuous flow of composite material coming from the cooler (Parrinello at [0025], [0078], [0079], [0098], Fig. 1).
As to claim 16: Parrinello and Mayes disclose the apparatus of claim 15. Parrinello further discloses the claimed the device furthermore comprising a conveying element movable along a path for conveying the dose towards the mould (Parrinello at [0081], [0082], [0091] Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/BAILEIGH KATE DARNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1743