DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2025 and 02/05/2026 have been considered and placed on record.
Double Patenting
Claims 7 and 9-11are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 and 12-14 of copending Application No. 18/834,476 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
All of the limitations of claim 7 of the instant application are reciprocal operation of the limitations of claim 10 of the reference application, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to modify claim 10 of the reference application to also include the operation of transmitter in addition to the already indicated receiver operation, thereby, having the details of the device’s transmission and reception mechanisms.
All of the limitations of claim 9 of the instant application are reciprocal operation of the limitations of claim 12 of the reference application, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to modify claim 12 of the reference application to also include the operation of transmitter in addition to the already indicated receiver operation, thereby, having the details of the device’s transmission and reception mechanisms.
All of the limitations of claim 10 of the instant application are reciprocal operation of the limitations of claim 13 of the reference application, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to modify claim 13 of the reference application to also include the operation of transmitter in addition to the already indicated receiver operation, thereby, having the details of the device’s transmission and reception mechanisms.
All of the limitations of claim 11 of the instant application are reciprocal operation of the limitations of claim 14 of the reference application, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to modify claim 14 of the reference application to also include the operation of transmitter in addition to the already indicated receiver operation, thereby, having the details of the device’s transmission and reception mechanisms.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABDELGHAFFAR et al. (US 2025/0240142 A1, foreign priority GR 20210100869, hereinafter, “Abdelghaffar”) in view of JACOBSSON et al. (US 2025/0056556 A1, priority from provision application No. 63/238,273, hereinafter, “Jacobsson”).
Consider claim 7, Abdelghaffar teaches a terminal (see at least figure 1 (115), figure 2 (115)) comprising: a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating support of application of a length-4 frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) (see at least figures 1-2, paras. 124, 132-133, Abdelghaffar teaches UE transmitter transmitting capability information that supports length 4 FD-OCC) based on cyclic shift {0, π/2, π, 3π/2} for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (see at least paras. 86-88, 132-134, Abdelghaffar teaches FD-OCC based on cyclic shift {0, π/2, π, 3π/2} for PUSCH based DMRS); and a processor that applies the FD-OCC to the DMRS (see at least paras. 88, 96, 132-133 and figure 9).
Abdelghaffar teaches a processor that applies the FD-OCC to the DMRS (see above), however, did not explicitly teach applying FD-OCC to PUSCH DMRS. Jacobsson teaches said technique (see at least paras. 61, 64, tables 5-6 and figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to modify the invention of Abdelghaffar and teach applying FD-OCC to PUSCH DMRS, as taught by Jacobsson, thereby allowing an enhanced DMRS communication mechanism.
Consider claim 9: all the limitations in method claim 9 are included in the apparatus claim 7, therefore, claim 9 is subjected to the same rejection applied to claim 7.
Consider claim 10, Abdelghaffar teaches a base station (see at least figures 1-2) comprising: a receiver that receives, from a terminal (figures 1-2, figure 13 (1325, 1315)), capability information indicating support of application of a length-4 frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) (see at least figures 1-2, paras. 109, 124, 132-133, Abdelghaffar teaches base station receiving capability information that supports length 4 FD-OCC) based on cyclic shift {0, π/2, π, 3π/2} for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (see at least paras. 86-88, 132-134, Abdelghaffar teaches FD-OCC based on cyclic shift {0, π/2, π, 3π/2} for PUSCH based DMRS); and a processor that determines that the FD-OCC is applied to the DMRS (see at least paras. 88, 96, 132-133 and figure 13).
Abdelghaffar teaches a processor that determines that the FD-OCC is applied to the DMRS (see above), however, did not explicitly teach applying FD-OCC to PUSCH DMRS. Jacobsson teaches said technique (see at least paras. 61, 64, tables 5-6 and figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to modify the invention of Abdelghaffar and teach applying FD-OCC to PUSCH DMRS, as taught by Jacobsson, thereby allowing an enhanced DMRS communication mechanism.
Consider claim 11, Abdelghaffar teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station (see figures 1-2 and description thereof), wherein the terminal comprises: a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating support of application of a length-4 frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) (see at least figures 1-2, paras. 124, 132-133, Abdelghaffar teaches UE transmitter transmitting capability information that supports length 4 FD-OCC) based on cyclic shift {0, π/2, π, 3π/2} for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ) (see at least paras. 86-88, 132-134, Abdelghaffar teaches FD-OCC based on cyclic shift {0, π/2, π, 3π/2} for PUSCH based DMRS); and a processor that applies the FD-OCC to the DMRS (see at least paras. 88, 96, 132-133 and figure 9), and the base station (see at least figures 1-2) comprises: a receiver that receives the capability information (see at least figures 1-2, paras. 109, 124, 132-133, Abdelghaffar teaches base station receiving capability information).
Abdelghaffar teaches a processor that applies the FD-OCC to the DMRS (see above), however, did not explicitly teach applying FD-OCC to PUSCH DMRS. Jacobsson teaches said technique (see at least paras. 61, 64, tables 5-6 and figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to modify the invention of Abdelghaffar and teach applying FD-OCC to PUSCH DMRS, as taught by Jacobsson, thereby allowing an enhanced DMRS communication mechanism.
Consider claim 8, Abdelghaffar in view of Jacobsson teaches wherein when the PUSCH DMRS is a legacy DMRS port, {+1, +1, +1, +1} or {+1, -1, +1, -1} is applied as the FD-OCC, and when the PUSCH DMRS is a new DMRS port, {+1, +j, -1, -j} or {+1, -j, -1, +j} is applied as the FD-OCC (see at least paras. 145-149 in Abdelghaffar, where Abdelghaffar teaches the first two rows being legacy DMRS port mapping and the last two rows as the updated DMRS with FD-OCC).
Conclusion
FITWI Y. HAILEGIORGIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/FITWI Y HAILEGIORGIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2632