DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-14 are pending and have been examined in this Office Action. This is the First Office Action on the Merits.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 13, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: These claims recite correcting a control instruction and then outputting the control instruction. It could be interpreted that the original control instruction is output; however, this does not appear to be what is intended, as best understood. Therefore, changing “output the control instruction”, for example in line 11 of claim 1, to “output the corrected control instruction” is recommended for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control portion” in claim 1 and “control unit” in claim 13. These limitations are being interpreted as physical computing devices running software, or structural equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is taken as the representative claim. Claim 1 is directed to acquiring a physical quantity, correcting a control instruction, and outputting the control instruction. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim is directed to acquiring data, correcting data, and outputting data, which can be performed within the human mind or with pen and paper. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remainder of the claim provides an intended field of use, i.e., an intended place where the abstract in intended to be performed, but does not provide an concrete ties or practical applications of the abstract idea to the intended field. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of a control portion is merely a generic computer component recited at a high level, which does not provide significantly more beyond the abstract idea. Even if “output the control instruction” is interpreted as beyond a mental process, this limitation broadly recites outputting a result or, at most, transmitting a signal, which is old and well-known and does not amount to a practical application or significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(d).II.
Claim(s) 2-12 is/are rejected because it/they depend(s) from claim 1 and fail(s) to cure the deficiencies above. These claims define details about how the correcting is carried out and are thus directed to the abstract idea. These claims do not add any additional elements that amount to a practical application or significantly more.
Similar to claim 1, claims 13 and 14 are directed to the abstract idea of acquiring, correcting, and outputting data. Claim 14 recites the additional elements of a frictional braking apparatus and a driving apparatus; however, these elements are extra-solution activities and do not provide a practical application or significantly more. The abstract idea is merely related to or intended for these elements, but there is inadequate tie to the elements to result in a practical application or significantly more then the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0187320 to Antanaitis et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0116874 to Ichinose et al.
As per claim 1, Antanaitis discloses a vehicle control apparatus mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle including a frictional braking apparatus configured to generate a frictional braking force on the vehicle and a driving apparatus configured to generate a driving force on the vehicle (Antanaitis; At least paragraph(s) 21, 22, and 24), the vehicle control apparatus comprising:
a control portion configured to output a result calculated based on input information (Antanaitis; At least paragraph(s) 24), the control portion being configured to
acquire a physical quantity relating to a total braking force for decelerating the vehicle (Antanaitis; At least paragraph(s) 23), and
by the driving apparatus according to a degree of reliability of a calculation result attributed to a state of the vehicle and output the control instruction, in a state that the frictional braking force is generated at the time of deceleration of the vehicle based on the physical quantity relating to the total braking force (Antanaitis; At least paragraph(s) 29, 34-36, and 42).
Antanaitis discloses a vehicle control apparatus that determines the state of the vehicle and the brakes to determine the amount of brake force being applied based on the reliability of the calculation (i.e., within the allowable range or not), but does not explicitly disclose correct a control instruction for generating the driving force
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Ichinose (Ichinose; At least paragraph(s) 29-36). Ichinose teaches adjusting the driving force to compensate for the pitching motion of the vehicle. In combination with Antanaitis, this adjustment would be based on the state and reliability of the state of the vehicle. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Ichinose into the invention of Antanaitis with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Preventing pitch of the vehicle enhancing steering stability and rider comfort, as discussed in at least paragraph(s) 22 of Ichinose.
As per claim 2, Antanaitis discloses wherein the control portion corrects the control instruction according to the degree of reliability of the calculation result attributed to the state of the vehicle that includes at least a physical quantity relating to a speed of the vehicle, a physical quantity relating to a target frictional braking force of the vehicle, and a physical quantity relating to a temperature of the frictional braking apparatus (Antanaitis; At least paragraph(s) 30).
As per claims 13 and 14, Antanaitis discloses the method (Antanaitis; At least paragraph(s) 5) and system (Antanaitis; At least paragraph(s) 13) associated with the control apparatus of claim 1. Therefore, claims 13 and 14 are rejected using the same citations and reasoning as applied to claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. The prior art shows the state of the art.
/David P. Merlino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665