DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GANGAKHEDKAR et al (20190239181).
Regarding claim 1, GANGAKHEDKAR et al discloses, a method comprising (abstract, fig. 9):
receiving, by a User Equipment (UE) from an anchor UE, UE capability information (fig. 9b, ¶ 0114, Anchor nodes broadcast the CP response periodically to indicate their availability as CP anchors for potential target nodes. This decision to proactively signal their availability for CP can be pre-configured by the network (e.g. based on the node's positioning capability) or decided by the anchor nodes' own estimation of their positioning accuracy);
establishing, by the UE, a positioning session with the anchor UE based on the UE capability information (fig. 9b, ¶ 0115, The target node obtains positioning information for the surrounding anchor nodes by means of the CP response messages and performs anchor selection by selecting a subset of the candidate anchor nodes); and
releasing, by the UE, the positioning session based on determining termination of the positioning session (¶ 0120, If the target node's position is localized to within an acceptable accuracy threshold before the anchor nodes finish broadcasting the position reference signal, it can broadcast the (optional) CP termination message to stop anchor transmission of the position reference signal and save sidelink resources).
Regarding claims 2, 7, GANGAKHEDKAR et al disclose in claim 1, further GANGAKHEDKAR et al, wherein the releasing the positioning session comprises transmitting, to the anchor UE, an abort message having an abortcause field set to a session termination (¶ 0120, If the target node's position is localized to within an acceptable accuracy threshold before the anchor nodes finish broadcasting the position reference signal, it can broadcast the (optional) CP termination message to stop anchor transmission of the position reference signal and save sidelink resources).
Regarding claims 3, 8, GANGAKHEDKAR et al disclose in claim 1, further GANGAKHEDKAR et al, further comprising determining whether it is necessary to maintain the established positioning session, wherein based on determining that it is not necessary to maintain the established positioning session, the positioning session is determined to be terminated (¶ 0120, If the target node's position is localized to within an acceptable accuracy threshold before the anchor nodes finish broadcasting the position reference signal, it can broadcast the (optional) CP termination message to stop anchor transmission of the position reference signal and save sidelink resources).
Regarding claims 4, 9, GANGAKHEDKAR et al disclose in claim 1, further GANGAKHEDKAR et al, further comprising broadcasting a notification message regarding a release of the positioning session (¶ 0120, If the target node's position is localized to within an acceptable accuracy threshold before the anchor nodes finish broadcasting the position reference signal, it can broadcast the (optional) CP termination message to stop anchor transmission of the position reference signal and save sidelink resources).
Regarding claims 5, 10, GANGAKHEDKAR et al disclose in claim 1, further GANGAKHEDKAR et al, further comprising transmitting, to a network, a notification message regarding the release of the positioning session based on the UE being connected with the network (¶ 0091, When the target node's position is localized to within an acceptable accuracy threshold, it optionally transmits the CP termination message (unicast) on the uplink. This message is relayed by the serving BS to a subset or all of the selected anchor nodes who in turn stop transmitting the position reference signal. The target node may also change its state to “anchor”),
Regarding claim 6, GANGAKHEDKAR et al disclose in claim 1, further GANGAKHEDKAR et al, a User Equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (¶ 0048, That software can be embodied in a non-transitory machine readable storage medium having stored thereon processor executable instructions for implementing some or all of the signaling procedures described herein.), cause the UE to perform operations comprising:
receiving UE capability information from an anchor UE (fig. 9b, ¶ 0114, Anchor nodes broadcast the CP response periodically to indicate their availability as CP anchors for potential target nodes. This decision to proactively signal their availability for CP can be pre-configured by the network (e.g. based on the node's positioning capability) or decided by the anchor nodes' own estimation of their positioning accuracy);
establishing a positioning session with the anchor UE based on the UE capability information (fig. 9b, ¶ 0115, The target node obtains positioning information for the surrounding anchor nodes by means of the CP response messages and performs anchor selection by selecting a subset of the candidate anchor nodes); and
releasing the positioning session based on determining termination of the positioning session (¶ 0120, If the target node's position is localized to within an acceptable accuracy threshold before the anchor nodes finish broadcasting the position reference signal, it can broadcast the (optional) CP termination message to stop anchor transmission of the position reference signal and save sidelink resources).
Regarding claim 12, GANGAKHEDKAR et al disclose in claim 1, further, GANGAKHEDKAR et al, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a User Equipment (UE) to perform (¶ 0048, That software can be embodied in a non-transitory machine readable storage medium having stored thereon processor executable instructions for implementing some or all of the signaling procedures described herein.), operations comprising:
receiving UE capability information from an anchor UE (fig. 9b, ¶ 0114, Anchor nodes broadcast the CP response periodically to indicate their availability as CP anchors for potential target nodes. This decision to proactively signal their availability for CP can be pre-configured by the network (e.g. based on the node's positioning capability) or decided by the anchor nodes' own estimation of their positioning accuracy);
establishing a positioning session with the anchor UE based on the UE capability information (fig. 9b, ¶ 0115, The target node obtains positioning information for the surrounding anchor nodes by means of the CP response messages and performs anchor selection by selecting a subset of the candidate anchor nodes); and
releasing the positioning session based on determining termination of the positioning session (¶ 0120, If the target node's position is localized to within an acceptable accuracy threshold before the anchor nodes finish broadcasting the position reference signal, it can broadcast the (optional) CP termination message to stop anchor transmission of the position reference signal and save sidelink resources).
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qualcomm (R2-2210363)[sited by applicant].
Regarding claim 1, Qualcomm discloses, a method comprising (fig. 7-8):
receiving, by a User Equipment (UE) from an anchor UE, UE capability information (page 8, section 2.3, fig. 7-8, device Discovery, SLPP Capability);
establishing, by the UE, a positioning session with the anchor UE based on the UE capability information (page 9, section 2.5, fig. 8, establish an SLPP session); and
releasing, by the UE, the positioning session based on determining termination of the positioning session (page 9, section 2.5, fig. 8, terminate SLPP session).
Regarding claims 3, 8, Qualcomm disclose in claim 1, further Qualcomm, further comprising determining whether it is necessary to maintain the established positioning session, wherein based on determining that it is not necessary to maintain the established positioning session, the positioning session is determined to be terminated (page 7-9, fig. 7-9).
Regarding claims 4, 9, Qualcomm disclose in claim 1, further Qualcomm, further comprising broadcasting a notification message regarding a release of the positioning session (page 7-9, fig. 7-9).
Regarding claims 5, 10, Qualcomm disclose in claim 1, further Qualcomm, further comprising transmitting, to a network, a notification message regarding the release of the positioning session based on the UE being connected with the network (page 7-9, fig. 7-8),
Regarding claim 6, Qualcomm disclose in claim 1, further Qualcomm, a User Equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (UE, included processor and memory), cause the UE to perform operations comprising:
receiving UE capability information from an anchor UE (page 8, section 2.3, fig. 7-8, device Discovery, SLPP Capability);
establishing a positioning session with the anchor UE based on the UE capability information (page 9, section 2.5, fig. 8, establish an SLPP session); and
releasing the positioning session based on determining termination of the positioning session (page 9, section 2.5, fig. 8, terminate SLPP session).
Regarding claim 12, Qualcomm disclose in claim 1, further, Qualcomm, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a User Equipment (UE) to perform (UE, included processor and memory), operations comprising:
receiving UE capability information from an anchor UE (page 8, section 2.3, fig. 7-8, device Discovery, SLPP Capability);
establishing a positioning session with the anchor UE based on the UE capability information (page 9, section 2.5, fig. 8, establish an SLPP session); and
releasing the positioning session based on determining termination of the positioning session (page 9, section 2.5, fig. 8, terminate SLPP session).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm (R2-2210363)[sited by applicant] in view of Intel (R2-2209607)[sited by applicant].
Regarding claims 2, 7, Qualcomm disclose in claim 1, further Qualcomm discloses, page 9, section 2.5, fig. 8, terminate SLPP session.
Qualcomm does not specifically disclose in detail.
In the same field of endeavor, Intel discloses in more detail, wherein the releasing the positioning session comprises transmitting, to the anchor UE, an abort message having an abortcause field set to a session termination (pages 15, 18 and 30, fig. 1 and 5, abort the procedure to consider). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Qualcomm by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to UE to broadcast groupcast capability is beneficial for the positioning session establishment and the wireless signal transmission and reception are efficiently performed in a wireless communication system as taught by Intel.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643