DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “filter container” as required by claims 5 and 8-20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract exceeds the 150 word limit.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 20, the recitation “the rotation” should read –[[the]]a rotation--;
In claim 8, line 22, the recitation “the rotation” should read –[[the]]a rotation--;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2018/0347709 (“Bowdery”).
Regarding claim 1, Bowdery discloses a valve (“1000”) comprising:
a first pipe (“100”) having a first pipe end (“102”), the first pipe having an external shape of a cylinder (see fig. 1), the first pipe having a first flow channel (flow channel extending through first pipe “100”; see figs. 1 and 5) inside, the first flow channel extending in a direction of an axis (“305”) of the cylinder, the first flow channel forming an opening (opening of first pipe “100” defined at first pipe end “102”) in the first pipe end;
a second pipe (“500”) extending coaxially with the axis, the second pipe having a second pipe end (“201”), the second pipe having an external shape of a cylinder (see fig. 1), the second pipe having a second flow channel (channel extending between side openings “231a” & “231b” through downstream end “302”) inside, the second flow channel extending in the direction of the axis, an insertion portion (portion of second pipe “500” inserted into first pipe “100”; see figs. 3 and 5) of the second pipe end being inserted into the first flow channel of the first pipe from the opening of the first pipe (see figs. 3 and 5); and
a rotating ring (“400”) held by each of the first pipe and the second pipe on an outer peripheral surface (radially outer surface) of the first pipe and an outer peripheral surface (radially outer surface) the second pipe (see figs. 3 and 5), to be able to perform rotation around the axis (see specification paragraph [0027]),
wherein the second flow channel does not reach the second pipe end (top end “201” of second pipe “500” is delimited by wall “251”), and extends toward (via openings “231a” & “231b”) an inner wall (interior wall of first pipe “100” defining bore “105”) of the first flow channel in the insertion portion of the second flow channel to form an opening (“231a” and/or “231b”) in the insertion portion of the second flow channel,
wherein a cam follower protrusion (“125”) is provided on a surface (exterior surface) of the first pipe,
wherein the rotating ring includes a guide cam groove (“412”; see fig. 2) configured to receive the cam follower protrusion, the cam follower protrusion moved, by the rotation of the rotating ring, in the guide cam groove between a first position (position where cam follower protrusion “125” reaches first terminal end “401a” or “402a” of guide cam groove “412”) and a second position (position where cam follower protrusion “125” reaches second terminal end “401b” or “402b” of guide cam groove “412”) so that the first pipe and the second pipe perform relative movement (between positions illustrated in figs. 3 and 5), the insertion portion of the second pipe end of the second pipe becoming longest at the first position (see figs. 2 and 3), the insertion portion of the second pipe end of the second pipe becoming shorter than at the first position at the second position (see figs. 4 and 5), and
wherein the valve has a closed state (see fig. 3) and an open state (see fig. 5), the first flow channel and the second flow channel being not in fluid communication at the first position in the closed state, the first flow channel and the second flow channel being in fluid communication at the second position in the open state.
Regarding claim 2, Bowdery discloses the guide cam groove (“412”; see figs. 2 and 4) consists of a first groove (“401b” or “402b”), a second groove (“401a” or “402a”), and a transition groove (“404” or “405”), the first groove defining the first position close (see figs. 2 and 3) to the second pipe (“500”) in the direction of the axis, the first groove drilled in a direction (circumferential direction) around the axis (“305”) on a surface (radially outer surface of rotating ring “400”) perpendicular to the axis, the second groove defining the second position farther from the second pipe than the first position in the direction of the axis (see fig. 2 and 4), the second groove drilled in a direction (circumferential direction) around the axis (“305”) on a surface (radially outer surface of rotating ring “400”) perpendicular to the axis, the transition groove connecting the first groove and the second groove (see figs. 9A and 9B).
Regarding claim 3, Bowdery discloses wherein the second pipe (“500”) includes, on the outer peripheral surface (radially outer surface) of the second pipe, a holding protrusion (annular protrusions defining axial boundaries of holding recess “312”), or a holding recess (groove “312”) drilled in a direction (circumferential direction) around the axis (“305”),
wherein the rotating ring (“400”) includes a holding protrusion (“415”) to be engaged with the holding recess (see fig. 3), or a holding recess drilled in a direction around the axis to be engaged with the holding protrusion, and
wherein the rotating ring is held to perform the rotation (between positions of figs. 2 and 4) with respect to the second pipe by engagement between the holding protrusion and the holding recess.
Regarding claim 4, Bowdery discloses wherein the first flow channel (flow channel extending through first pipe “100”; see figs. 1 and 5) includes a first flow channel enlarged portion (portion engaged by sealing ring “243”; see figs. 3 and 5) having one end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 5) forming the opening, and a first flow channel mainstream portion (“155”) having a smaller diameter than the first flow channel enlarged portion and communicating with another end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 5) of the first flow channel enlarged portion, and
wherein the second pipe (“500”) includes a first seal member (“243”) and a second seal member (“213”) different from the first seal member, the first seal member having an external surface (radially outer surface) constantly in contact with an inner surface (surface of enlarged inner diameter portion of first pipe “100”) of the first flow channel enlarged portion, the second seal member having an external surface (radially outer surface) in contact with an inner surface (surface defining opening “155”) of the first flow channel mainstream portion in the closed state (see figs. 2 and 3) of the valve and not in contact with the inner surface of the first flow channel mainstream portion in the open state (see figs. 4 and 5) of the valve.
Regarding claim 6, Bowdery discloses wherein the guide cam groove (“412”) includes a locking mechanism (mainly defined by “126”) including a holding claw (“126”; see figs. 9A and 9B) protruding from a groove edge (“401f” or “402f”) defining the guide cam groove, and the cam follower protrusion (“125”) is kept at the first position (see figs. 2 and 3) or the second position (see figs. 4 and 5) by the locking mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowdery, as applied to claims 1-4 above, in view of US8454059 (“Stell”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15-17, Bowdery discloses the valve (see fig. 3) is attached to a container (“2100”),
wherein in the first pipe (“100”), the first flow channel (flow channel extending through first pipe “100”; see figs. 1 and 5) communicates with an inside of the container (see figs. 5 and 10C) on an opposite side (“101”) of the first flow channel from the first pipe end (“102”),
wherein the first flow channel of the first pipe is upstream, and the second flow channel (channel extending between side openings “231a” & “231b” through downstream end “302”) of the second pipe is downstream,
wherein the second pipe (“500”) includes a second pipe termination portion (luer connection portion at downstream end “302” of second pipe “500”), the second pipe termination portion having an opening (opening extending through downstream end “302” of second pipe “500”) of the second flow channel, the second pipe termination portion being an end (downstream end) on an opposite side (“302”) of the second pipe from the second pipe end, and
wherein in the open state (see figs. 4 and 5), the valve discharges fluid inside the container from the opening of the second pipe termination portion via the first flow channel and the second flow channel.
Bowdery is silent to the container being a filter container.
However, Stell teaches (see fig. 17) employing a valve (see specification col. 15, lines 24-30) attached upstream and downstream to a filter container (“172”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Bowdery by attaching the valve to a filter container, as taught by Stell, to be able to connect fluid lines to the filter container and various different angles.
Claims 8-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowdery in view of Stell.
Regarding claim 8, Bowdery discloses a container (“2100”) including a valve (“1000”),
the valve comprising:
a first pipe (“100”) having a first pipe end (“102”), the first pipe having an external shape of a cylinder (see fig. 1), the first pipe having a first flow channel (flow channel extending through first pipe “100”; see figs. 1 and 5) inside, the first flow channel extending in a direction of an axis (“305”) of the cylinder, the first flow channel forming an opening (opening of first pipe “100” at first pipe end “102”) in the first pipe end, an opposite side (“101”) of the first flow channel from the first pipe end communicating with an inside (via opening “155”) of the container;
a second pipe (“500”) extending coaxially with the axis, the second pipe having a second pipe end (“201”), the second pipe having an external shape of a cylinder (see fig. 1), the second pipe having a second flow channel (channel extending between side openings “231a” & “231b” through downstream end “302”) inside, the second flow channel extending in the direction of the axis, an insertion portion (portion of second pipe “500” inserted into first pipe “100”; see figs. 3 and 5) of the second pipe end being inserted into the first flow channel of the first pipe from the opening of the first pipe (see figs. 3 and 5); and
a rotating ring (“400”) held by each of the first pipe and the second pipe on outer peripheral surfaces (radially outer surfaces) of the first pipe and the second pipe, to be able to perform rotation around the axis,
wherein the second flow channel does not reach the second pipe end (top end “201” of second pipe “500” is delimited by wall “251”), and extends toward (via openings “231a” & “231b”) an inner wall (interior wall of first pipe “100” defining bore “105”) of the first flow channel in the insertion portion of the second flow channel to form an opening (“231a” and/or “231b”) in the insertion portion of the second flow channel,
wherein a cam follower protrusion (“125”) is provided on a surface (exterior surface) of the first pipe,
wherein the rotating ring includes a guide cam groove (“412”; see fig. 2) configured to receive the cam follower protrusion, the cam follower protrusion moved, by the rotation of the rotating ring, in the guide cam groove between a first position (position where cam follower protrusion “125” reaches first terminal end “401a” or “402a” of guide cam groove “412”) and a second position (position where cam follower protrusion “125” reaches second terminal end “401b” or “402b” of guide cam groove “412”) so that the first pipe and the second pipe perform relative movement (between positions illustrated in figs. 3 and 5), the insertion portion of the second pipe end of the second pipe becoming longest at the first position (see figs. 2 and 3), the insertion portion of the second pipe end of the second pipe becoming shorter than at the first position at the second position (see figs. 4 and 5), and
wherein the valve has a closed state (see fig. 3) and an open state (see fig. 5), the first flow channel and the second flow channel being not in fluid communication at the first position in the closed state, the first flow channel and the second flow channel being in fluid communication at the second position in the open state.
Bowdery is silent to the container being a filter container.
However, Stell teaches (see fig. 17) employing a valve (see specification col. 15, lines 24-30) attached upstream and downstream to a filter container (“172”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Bowdery by attaching the valve to a filter container, as taught by Stell, to be able to connect fluid lines to the filter container and various different angles.
Regarding claim 9, Bowdery discloses the guide cam groove (“412”; see figs. 2 and 4) consists of a first groove (“401b” or “402b”), a second groove (“401a” or “402a”), and a transition groove (“404” or “405”), the first groove defining the first position close (see figs. 2 and 3) to the second pipe (“500”) in the direction of the axis, the first groove drilled in a direction (circumferential direction) around the axis (“305”) on a surface (radially outer surface of rotating ring “400”) perpendicular to the axis, the second groove defining the second position farther from the second pipe than the first position in the direction of the axis (see fig. 2 and 4), the second groove drilled in a direction (circumferential direction) around the axis (“305”) on a surface (radially outer surface of rotating ring “400”) perpendicular to the axis, the transition groove connecting the first groove and the second groove (see figs. 9A and 9B).
Regarding claim 10, Bowdery discloses wherein the second pipe (“500”) includes, on the outer peripheral surface (radially outer surface) of the second pipe, a holding protrusion (annular protrusions defining axial boundaries of holding recess “312”), or a holding recess (groove “312”) drilled in a direction (circumferential direction) around the axis (“305”),
wherein the rotating ring (“400”) includes a holding protrusion (“415”) to be engaged with the holding recess (see fig. 3), or a holding recess drilled in a direction around the axis to be engaged with the holding protrusion, and
wherein the rotating ring is held to perform the rotation (between positions of figs. 2 and 4) with respect to the second pipe by engagement between the holding protrusion and the holding recess.
Regarding claim 11, Bowdery discloses wherein the first flow channel (flow channel extending through first pipe “100”; see figs. 1 and 5) includes a first flow channel enlarged portion (portion engaged by sealing ring “243”; see figs. 3 and 5) having one end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 5) forming the opening, and a first flow channel mainstream portion (“155”) having a smaller diameter than the first flow channel enlarged portion and communicating with another end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 5) of the first flow channel enlarged portion, and
wherein the second pipe (“500”) includes a first seal member (“243”) and a second seal member (“213”) different from the first seal member, the first seal member having an external surface (radially outer surface) constantly in contact with an inner surface (surface of enlarged inner diameter portion of first pipe “100”) of the first flow channel enlarged portion, the second seal member having an external surface (radially outer surface) in contact with an inner surface (surface defining opening “155”) of the first flow channel mainstream portion in the closed state (see figs. 2 and 3) of the valve and not in contact with the inner surface of the first flow channel mainstream portion in the open state (see figs. 4 and 5) of the valve.
Regarding claims 12 and 18-20, the combination of Bowdery and Stell discloses wherein, in the valve (Bowdery, “1000”), the first flow channel (Bowdery, flow channel extending through first pipe “100”; see figs. 1 and 5) of the first pipe is upstream, and the second flow channel (Bowdery, channel extending between side openings “231a” & “231b” through downstream end “302”) of the second pipe is downstream,
wherein the second pipe includes a second pipe termination portion (Bowdery, luer connection portion at downstream end “302” of second pipe “500”), the second pipe termination portion having an opening (Bowdery, opening extending through downstream end “302” of second pipe “500”) of the second flow channel, the second pipe termination portion being an end (Bowdery, downstream end) on an opposite side (Bowdery, downstream side “302”) of the second pipe (Bowdery, “500”) from the second pipe end (Bowdery, “201”), and
wherein in the open state (Bowdery, see figs. 4 and 5), the valve discharges fluid inside the filter container (Bowder, “2100” as modified by Stell, “172”, above) from the opening of the second pipe termination portion via the first flow channel and the second flow channel.
Regarding claim 13, Bowdery discloses wherein the guide cam groove (“412”) includes a locking mechanism (mainly defined by “126”) including a holding claw (“126”; see figs. 9A and 9B) protruding from a groove edge (“401f” or “402f”) defining the guide cam groove, and the cam follower protrusion (“125”) is kept at the first position (see figs. 2 and 3) or the second position (see figs. 4 and 5) by the locking mechanism.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the valve, wherein the locking mechanism includes a receiving groove, the receiving groove arranged in the cam follower protrusion, the receiving groove configured to receive the holding claw, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claim 14, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the filter container, wherein the locking mechanism includes a receiving groove, the receiving groove arranged in the cam follower protrusion, the receiving groove configured to receive the holding claw, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US8414033 discloses a cam mechanism having a cam groove, a cam protrusion and a pair of locking protrusions. US10801655, GB1507353 and ES1028455 disclose a coupler having a valve and a cam mechanism.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753