DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2025 and 04/03/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (20070088875). With respect to claim 1, Martin et al. discloses a stand (16) for a display screen (12, 20), the stand (16) comprising: a base (18) for supporting the display screen (12, 20) on a surface; and an attachment mount (16, see figures 5 and 6) extending from the base (18) for attachment to a display screen (12, 20); the base (18) comprising a compartment (38) for housing at least one peripheral device (46), the compartment (38) including an electrical connector (inherent) for connecting to the at least one peripheral device (46); and the compartment (38) being changeable between an open and a closed position (see for example, paragraphs [0017], [0024]). With respect to claim 2, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the electrical connector (inherent) is for connecting the at least one peripheral device (46) to a power supply remote from the stand (16). With respect to claim 3, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 2, wherein the electrical connector (inherent) is connectable to the power supply remote from the stand (16) by a cable (30, 32) which exits the base (18). With respect to claim 4, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the electrical connector (inherent) comprises at least one mains plug socket. With respect to claim 5, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the electrical connector (inherent) is for connecting the at least one peripheral device (46) to a display screen (12, 20) attached to the attachment mount (16, see figures 5 and 6). With respect to claim 6, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the electrical connector (inherent) is fixedly mounted within the compartment (38). With respect to claim 7, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the electrical connector (inherent) comprises at least one-HDMI audio/video socket (see for example paragraph [0021]). With respect to claim 8, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the electrical connector (inherent) comprises at least one-USB power/data socket (see for example paragraphs [0020] and [0021]). With respect to claim 9, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the base (18) includes a gap (40, see for example figures 3 and 4) for allowing the cabling of the electrical connector (inherent) to pass therethrough and into the compartment (38). With respect to claim 10, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 9, wherein the gap (40, see for example figures 3 and 4) is proximate to the attachment post (16, see figures 5 and 6). With respect to claim 16, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the electrical connector (inherent) is a first electrical connector (48), and further comprising a second electrical connector (48) for connecting the at least one peripheral device (22, 26, 28, 56, 58, 60, 62, see figures 1 and 7) to a display screen (12, 20) attached to the attachment mount (16, see figures 5 and 6). With respect to claim 18, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the at least one peripheral device (22, 26, 28, 56, 58, 60, 62, see figures 1 and 7) is a low-profile peripheral device. With respect to claim 19, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the at least one peripheral device (22, 26, 28, 56, 58, 60, 62, see figures 1 and 7) is for providing additional functionality to a display screen (12, 20), such as providing an input of additional media content. With respect to claim 20, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the display screen (12, 20) is attached to the attachment mount (16, see figures 5 and 6), and wherein the at least one peripheral device (22, 26, 28, 56, 58, 60, 62, see figures 1 and 7) is housed within the compartment (38) and connected to both the electrical connector (inherent) and to the display screen (12, 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (20070088875). With respect to claim 17, Martin et al. discloses the stand (16) of claim 1, wherein the base (18). Martin et al. fails to expressly disclose the base (18) including feet made from a material which substantially resists manual movement through friction contact with a surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Martin et al. with feet. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate feet or other extending members to support the base on a supporting surface to accommodate uneven supporting surfaces.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as to claims 11-15, patentability resides, at least in part, in the compartment is a drawer, the drawer comprising a cavity within the base and a first portion of the base is configured to be slidably movable between an open and a closed position to respectively reveal and conceal the cavity as claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claim(s) respectfully.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LISA LEA-EDMONDS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/LISA LEA-EDMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 2026-09-02