DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niwa (JP 2009002389 A).
Regarding claim 1, Niwa discloses a connector (1, hook) made of synthetic resin (paragraph 15), integrally including a base (3, case member) having a tape through hole (5, hole), a hook (2, annular member) configured to form an accommodation space (14, opening) having an opening (7, opening/closing portion) for passing an article (paragraph 16), an opening and closing body (8, lever) rotatably supported (paragraph 16) on the base (3, case member) and configured to open the opening (7, opening/closing portion) when rotated in one direction (figure 3) and to close the opening (7, opening/closing portion) when rotated in another direction, and a spring portion (9, thin walled portion) configured to constantly bias (paragraph 23) the opening and closing body (8, lever) in a direction in which the opening and closing body (8, lever) closes the opening (7, opening/closing portion), wherein the spring portion (9, thin walled portion) extends from (figure 3) the base (3, case member) and is continuous with (figure 3) the opening and closing body (8, lever), wherein the opening and closing body (8, lever) includes a shaft portion (8a, stepped part), and wherein the base (3, case member) has a shaft hole (4a, stepped portions) into which the shaft portion (8a, stepped part) is to be rotatably fitted (paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 2, Niwa discloses that the base (3, case member) is a plate-shaped body (figure 1), the tape through hole (5, hole) and the accommodation space (14, opening) penetrate (figure 1) the plate-shaped body (3, case member), and wherein the base (3, case member) has a groove (10, lever window portion) along a side edge portion (figure 1), and in a state in which the shaft portion (8a, stepped part) is fitted into the shaft hole (4a, stepped portions), at least a part of the spring portion (9, thin walled portion) is accommodated in the groove (10, lever window portion).
Regarding claim 3, Niwa discloses that one of the opening and closing body (8, lever) and the hook (2, annular member) includes a hook portion (4b, stopper piece), and another of the hook (2, annular member) and the opening and closing body (8, lever) includes a hook portion accommodation portion (8b, stopper groove), and wherein the hook portion (4b, stopper piece) is inserted into (figure 4) the hook portion accommodation portion (8b, stopper groove) in a state in which the opening (7, opening/closing portion) is closed (figure 4) by the opening and closing body (8, lever).
Regarding claim 5, Niwa discloses that the shaft hole (4a, stepped portions) is formed at a position covered by a tape (6, belt) passed through the tape through hole (5, hole).
Examiner notes that depending upon the direction the belt (6) is hung, the belt (6) will cover the stepped portions (4a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh (US 1615605 A) in view of Niwa (JP 2009002389 A).
Annotated Figure 1 of Walsh
Regarding claim 1, Walsh discloses a connector (snap hook) integrally including a base (5, body) having a tape through hole (9, strap engaging portion), a hook (7) configured to form an accommodation space (annotated figure 1) having an opening (annotated figure 1) for passing an article (page 1, lines 1-3), an opening and closing body (14, keeper) rotatably supported on the base (5, body) and configured to open the opening when rotated in one direction (page 1, lines 65-73) and to close the opening when rotated in another direction (figure 1), and a spring portion (21, spring) configured to constantly bias (page 1, lines 89-91) the opening and closing body (14, keeper) in a direction in which the opening and closing body (14, keeper) closes the opening (figure 1), wherein the spring portion (21, spring) extends from the base (5, body) and is continuous with the opening and closing body (14, keeper), wherein the opening and closing body (14, keeper) includes a shaft portion (17, pivot pin), and wherein the base (5, body) has a shaft hole (annotated figure 1) into which the shaft portion (17, pivot pin) is to be rotatably fitted.
Boger does not explicitly disclose the material that the connector (snap hook) is made of.
Regarding claim 1, Niwa teaches a connector (1, hook) made of synthetic resin (paragraph 15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the snap hook of Walsh to be made of synthetic resin as taught by Niwa. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to have a snap hook that is friction and wear resistant but is also strong enough and elastic enough to not break during normal use (paragraph 15 of Niwa).
Regarding claim 4, the previously made combination of Walsh/Niwa discloses that the tape through hole (annotated figure 1) is formed between the opening (annotated figure 1) and the shaft hole (annotated figure 1), and a recess (annotated figure 1) is formed in the opening and closing body (14, keeper), the recess (annotated figure 1) overlapping with the tape through hole (annotated figure 1) in a state in which the opening and closing body (14, keeper) is rotated in a direction in which the opening is opened (page 1, lines 68-76).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the accommodation space as a tape through hole as well.
Regarding claim 5, Welsh/Niwa discloses that the shaft hole (annotated figure 1) is formed at a position covered by a tape (12, strap) passed through the tape through hole (annotated figure 1 and 9, strap engaging portion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Perner (US 20130219673 A1) teaches a snap hook with a shaft on the opening lever and a shaft receiver on the hook.
Anthony et al. (US 7810220 B2) teaches a coupling device with a hook and anchor member.
Lin (US 9032595 B2) teaches a double locking hook with different accommodation spaces.
Boger (US 3040404 A) teaches a snap hook with a shaft hole, shaft, tape hole, and accommodation space.
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677