DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7 and 11-15) in the reply filed on 10/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, claims 1-7, 11-13, and 15 (with claim 14 having been omitted in the claims listing of 10/16/2026 and the preliminary amendment of 02/28/2025) are currently under consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7, 11-13, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 12, the recitations of “characterised in that” are not in line with US practice. They should be changed so that there is no unclear implication.
Regarding claim 1, there is no “and” before the last element of the list of microprocessor functions.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation of “sensor; at least” should instead read --sensor; and at least--.
Regarding claims 2-7, 11-13 and 15, the recitations of “A portable system” should instead read --The portable system--.
Claim 15 (and the withdrawn claims 16-20) is improperly numbered because there is no claim 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “detection system” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what “it” refers to in the recitation of “characterised in that it comprises a first chamber…”
The term “small” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear what range of changes is considered “small” changes.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the recitations of “the pressure, temperature and humidity of the air” are unclear. It is unclear whether these are individual elements of the list, or whether “pressure, temperature and humidity” is one element. I.e., are the pressure of the air, the temperature of the air, and the humidity of the air individually selectable options?
Further regarding claims 3 and 11, antecedent basis for the recitations of “the air” is unclear. Is this the user’s breath, ambient air, or some other air?
Claims 2-7, 11-13, and 15 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2023/0157575 (“Cole,” having an effective filing date of 11/23/2021) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2011/0288428 (“Valentine”).
Regarding claim 1, Cole teaches [a] portable system for measuring the mechanical impedance of an individual's respiratory system during spontaneous breathing (¶ 0002), including: a system for generating pressure signals that is able to produce small changes in pressure and/or flow at the opening to the airways, that includes a motor and a fan (Fig. 1, blower 11 includes a motor and a fan which produce oscillatory flow); a detection system that is able to measure the values of pressure and flow produced by stimulation and by the individual's spontaneous breathing activity (Fig. 1, pressure sensor 20 and airflow sensor 22); and a microprocessor (¶ 0021, a microcontroller - or the microprocessor of the computing unit as described in the provisional application) that is able to: control the system for generating pressure signals (¶ 0018); receive data measured by the detection system (¶ 0019); calculate a measure of the mechanical impedance of the individual's respiratory system on the basis of the values measured by the detection system (¶ 0019); characterised in that it comprises a first chamber that contains the motor and a second chamber that contains the fan (as shown in Fig. 1), …, the second chamber having a rear opening able to exchange air with the external environment and a front opening able to be brought into contact with the individual and to receive the individual's inspiratory and expiratory flows (as shown in Fig. 1, including Fig. 1 of the provisional application), but does not appear to explicitly teach the first and second chambers being separate from each other so that there is no passage of air between the first and second chambers.
Valentine teaches the concept of fluidly isolating a fan from a motor to provide a breathing circuit that prevents cross-contamination (¶¶s 0003, 0012).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fluidly isolate the fan and motor in Cole as in Valentine, for the purpose of preventing cross-contamination during device use (Valentine: ¶¶s 0003, 0012).
Regarding claim 2, Cole-Valentine teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Cole-Valentine further teaches in which the detection system comprises one or more of the following: at least one pressure sensor (Cole: Fig. 1, pressure sensor 20); at least one flow meter to measure the flow produced by the individual's spontaneous breathing activity (Cole: Fig. 1, flow sensor 22).
Regarding claim 3, Cole-Valentine teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Cole-Valentine further teaches in which the flow produced by the individual's spontaneous breathing activity is estimated by the microprocessor on the basis of one or more of the following data: fan rotation speed, the motor's electricity consumption values, the pressure, temperature and humidity of the air (Cole: Fig. 1, the flow sensor 22 is a pneumotachograph, which measures flow based on a pressure drop).
Regarding claim 4, Cole-Valentine teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, as outlined above. Cole-Valentine further teaches that the microprocessor is arranged to modulate the pressure signals so that during an initial measurement stage the rotation speed is reduced in relation to a steady-state measurement stage (Cole: ¶ 0071 describes the achievable pressure amplitude range, ¶ 0079 describes changing and stabilizing at a setpoint; ¶ 0063 describes the blower being able to increase velocity and pressure as compared to an initial measurement. Thus, an initial measurement stage can be considered one having a lower setpoint and the stead-state measurement stage can be considered one having a higher setpoint).
Regarding claim 7, Cole-Valentine teaches all the features with respect to claim 4, as outlined above. Cole-Valentine further teaches in which during the steady-state measurement stage the rotation speed of the fan is controlled by a closed loop control system to produce a pressure signal whose peak-to-peak amplitude is kept constant and equal to a value determined on the basis of one or more of the individual's pressure, flow, impedance, resistance and reactance values measured during the initial measurement stage (Cole: Fig. 9, first and second feedback loops, which work to achieve the setpoints as described in ¶¶s 0067, 0068, 0073, etc.).
Regarding claim 11, Cole-Valentine teaches all the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. Cole-Valentine further teaches in which the flow produced by the individual's spontaneous breathing activity is estimated by the microprocessor on the basis of one or more of the following data: fan rotation speed, the motor's electricity consumption values, the pressure, temperature and humidity of the air (Cole: Fig. 1, the flow sensor 22 is a pneumotachograph, which measures flow based on a pressure drop).
Regarding claim 12, Cole-Valentine teaches all the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. Cole-Valentine further teaches that the microprocessor is arranged to modulate the pressure signals so that during an initial measurement stage the rotation speed is reduced in relation to a steady-state measurement stage (Cole: ¶ 0071 describes the achievable pressure amplitude range, ¶ 0079 describes changing and stabilizing at a setpoint; ¶ 0063 describes the blower being able to increase velocity and pressure as compared to an initial measurement. Thus, an initial measurement stage can be considered one having a lower setpoint and the stead-state measurement stage can be considered one having a higher setpoint).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 13, and 15 are allowable over the prior art, but are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims. Therefore, they will be allowed if related 35 USC 112(b) rejections are overcome, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements (i.e., the claim objections) or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest, in a portable system for measuring the mechanical impedance of an individual’s respiratory system during spontaneous breathing, controlling the rotation speed of a fan in an initial stage to produce a pressure signal whose peak-to-peak amplitude increases linearly or exponentially until a predefined target value is reached, in combination with all other recited limitations.
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791