DETAILED ACTION
Examiner cites particular columns or paragraphs, and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, it recites “a comparator configuration configured…” in line 5, which appears to be “a comparator configured…”.
Regarding claim 2-10, these claims are objected based on their dependence from claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the variable ‘N’ is not defined in the claim, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected at least based on its dependence from claim 9.
Appropriate corrections are required. The claims will be interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min et al. (US 2022/0215783).
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses a patterned resistance detection circuit comprising:
a current source generator configured to generate a reference current and applies the reference current to a patterned resistance (see in Fig. 2, “first pad part 111 receives a first voltage VDD from a power supply” and clearly generates and applies a corresponding current to resistance Rpanel; para[0031]-para[0032]);
a reference voltage generator configuration to generate a reference voltage (regarding Figs. 2-4, see reference resistance generation circuit 521, clearly corresponding to a reference voltage accordingly, to be provided to comparator 522; para[0049]-para[0050]);
a comparator configuration configured to compare a magnitude of a detection voltage detected by the reference current applied to the patterned resistance to a magnitude of the reference voltage and output a voltage comparison result (regarding Fig. 3, “comparator 522 compares the crack resistance Rpanel of the display panel 100 with the reference resistance Rref of the reference resistance generation circuit 521 and outputs a resistance comparison result”, clearly representing a voltage comparison result; para[0049]; para[0054]); and
a circuit controller configured to output a reference voltage control signal for controlling the reference voltage generator according to the voltage comparison result (regarding Figs. 3-4, “in order to control the magnitude of the reference resistance Rref according to a comparison result by the comparator 522, the circuit controller 523 supplies the reference resistance control signal RCS for controlling the switches SW.sub.1 to SW.sub.N of the reference resistance generation circuit 521”; para[0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2022/0215783), in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0304823).
Regarding claim 2, Min discloses all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Min discloses the current source generator includes: a first power source (see in Fig. 2, “first pad part 111 receives a first voltage VDD from a power supply” and clearly generates and applies a corresponding current to resistance Rpanel; para [0031]-para[0032]). However, Min does not appear to expressly disclose the current source generator includes: a current source connected to the first power source; a first transistor including a first drain electrode connected to the current source, a first gate electrode connected to the first drain electrode, and a first source electrode connected to a second power source; and a second transistor including a second drain electrode connected to the patterned resistance, a second gate electrode connected to the first gate electrode of the first transistor, and a second source electrode connected to the second power source.
Huang discloses a current source generator includes: a current source connected to a first power source (see in Fig. 1, current source Irefcell connected to ground; para[0042]); a first transistor including a first drain electrode connected to the current source, a first gate electrode connected to the first drain electrode, and a first source electrode connected to a second power source (see transistor P2 with a first drain electrode connected to Irefcell, a first gate electrode connected to the first drain electrode, and a first source electrode connected to power supply voltage VDD, as shown in Fig. 1; para[0042]); and a second transistor including a second drain electrode connected to an output node connected to a load, a second gate electrode connected to the first gate electrode of the first transistor, and a second source electrode connected to the second power source (see transistor P3 with a second drain electrode connected to a load at node E, a second gate electrode connected to the first gate electrode of transistor P2, and a second source electrode connected to power supply voltage VDD, as shown in Fig. 1; para[0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Min’s invention, with the teachings in Huang’s invention, to have the current source generator includes: a current source connected to the first power source; a first transistor including a first drain electrode connected to the current source, a first gate electrode connected to the first drain electrode, and a first source electrode connected to a second power source; and a second transistor including a second drain electrode connected to the patterned resistance, a second gate electrode connected to the first gate electrode of the first transistor, and a second source electrode connected to the second power source, for the advantage of mirroring a current from a current source (para[0042]) to provide consistent output current regardless of load variations, as is known for current mirror circuits.
Regarding claim 3, Min and Huang disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Huang discloses a first reference current flows through the first transistor, and a second reference current copied from the first reference current flows through the second transistor (regarding Fig. 1, a first reference current from reference current source Irefcell flows through transistor P, and a second reference current mirrored from the first reference current flows through transistor P3; para[0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a first reference current flows through the first transistor, and a second reference current copied from the first reference current flows through the second transistor, as also taught by Huang, for the advantage of providing consistent current regardless of load variations, as is known for current mirror circuits.
Regarding claim 4, Min and Huang disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Huang discloses the first power source is a low potential voltage and the second power source is a high potential voltage (see the claimed first power source is a ground voltage and the claimed second power source is a higher power supply voltage VDD; para[0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the first power source is a low potential voltage and the second power source is a high potential voltage, as also taught by Huang, for the advantage of being able to allow current to flow through the transistors according to their type, as is conventionally known.
Regarding claim 5, Min and Huang disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Huang discloses the second drain electrode of the second transistor is connected to the first power source via the load (as shown in Fig. 1, the second drain electrode of transistor P3 is connected to ground through the load between node E and ground).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the second drain electrode of the second transistor is connected to the first power source via the patterned resistance, as also taught by Huang, for the advantage of being able to allow current to flow through this transistor according to its type, as is conventionally known.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2022/0215783), in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0304823), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nomura (US 2023/0208360).
Regarding claim 6, Min and Huang disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). However, Min and Huang do not appear to expressly disclose the current source generator further includes: a bias transistor configured to supply a constant bias current to the first transistor.
Nomura discloses a bias transistor configured to supply a constant bias current to a first transistor (regarding Fig. 1, see transistor M1 as the claimed bias transistor configured to supply constant bias current to a transistor M2 of a current mirror; para[0007]; para[0059]; para[0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Min’s and Huang’s combination, with the teachings in Nomura’s invention, to have the current source generator further includes: a bias transistor configured to supply a constant bias current to the first transistor, for the advantage of a circuit that achieves low current consumption and high output current (para[0004]; para[0148]).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2022/0215783), in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0304823), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0329443).
Regarding claim 7, Min and Huang disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). However, Min and Huang do not appear to expressly disclose the current source generator further includes: a channel length modulation prevention circuit configured to copy a first drain voltage of the first transistor to a second drain voltage of the second transistor.
Chen discloses a channel length modulation prevention circuit configured to copy a first drain voltage of a first transistor to a second drain voltage of the second transistor (para[0024]-para[0026]; see Figs. 4 and 5; “drain voltages of… transistors… are locked using the electrical characteristic of the operational amplifier OP” to prevent “channel length modulation effect”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Min’s and Huang’s combination, with the teachings in Chen’s invention, to have the current source generator further includes: a channel length modulation prevention circuit configured to copy a first drain voltage of the first transistor to a second drain voltage of the second transistor, for the advantage of supplying output current which is an accurate copy of input current in a current mirror (para[0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Min, Huang and Chen disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 7). In addition, Chen discloses the channel length modulation prevention circuit includes: a differential amplifier configured to amplify a difference between first drain voltage of the first transistor and second drain voltage of the second transistor (para[0024]-para[0026]; see e.g. OP in Figs. 4 and 5); and a third transistor including a third drain electrode, a third gate electrode connected to the differential amplifier, and a third source electrode connected to the second drain electrode of the second transistor (para[0024]-para[0026]; see e.g. T1 in Figs. 4 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the channel length modulation prevention circuit includes: a differential amplifier configured to amplify a difference between the first drain voltage of the first transistor and the second drain voltage of the second transistor; and a third transistor including a third drain electrode connected to the patterned resistance, a third gate electrode connected to the differential amplifier, and a third source electrode connected to the second drain electrode of the second transistor, as also taught by Chen, for the advantage of using the electrical characteristic of an operational amplifier OP (high input impedance and low output impedance) to supply output current which is an accurate copy of input current in a current mirror (para[0024]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2022/0215783), in view of Kim (US 2010/0283773).
Regarding claim 9, Min discloses all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, the circuit controller is configured to: select one of the 2N voltages as the reference voltage based on the voltage comparison result (regarding Figs. 3-4, “in order to control the magnitude of the reference resistance Rref according to a comparison result by the comparator 522, the circuit controller 523 supplies the reference resistance control signal RCS for controlling the switches SW.sub.1 to SW.sub.N of the reference resistance generation circuit 521”, and select voltages accordingly; para0050]-para[0051]; para[0056]). However, Min does not appear to expressly disclose the circuit controller is configured to: generate an N-bit reference voltage control signal for generating a selected reference voltage; and output the N-bit reference voltage control signal to the reference voltage generator.
Kim discloses a circuit controller configured to: generate an N-bit reference voltage control signal for generating a selected reference voltage (regarding Figs. 4 and 7-8, circuit 180 generates an N-bit signal for generating Vref; para[0089]-para[0093]; para[0095]-para[0096]); and output the N-bit reference voltage control signal to the reference voltage generator (regarding Figs. 4 and 7-8, circuit 180 outputs the N-bit signal to the reference voltage generation circuit 190; para[0089]-para[0093]; para[0095]-para[0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Min’s invention, with the teachings in Kim’s invention, to have the circuit controller is configured to: generate an N-bit reference voltage control signal for generating a selected reference voltage; and output the N-bit reference voltage control signal to the reference voltage generator, for the advantage of increasing accuracy while supplying a more constant current (para[0010]; para[0128]).
Regarding claim 10, Min and Kim disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 9). In addition, Kim discloses the circuit controller is configured to: select one of the voltages less than a current reference voltage from among the 2N voltages as a new reference voltage when the reference voltage is greater than the detection voltage (see Figs. 4 and 7-8; “The DAC 193 may select, e.g., one reference voltage among the variable reference voltages supplied from the reference voltage source 199 based on the reference voltage signals S0 through Sn-1 supplied from the register 188 of the calibration circuit 180”; in the circuit 180, “the comparator 182 may output a high level signal or a low level signal based on a comparison between the variable reference voltage Vsource and the test voltage V_RT” according to reference voltage signals S0 through Sn-1 based on the N-bit signal, “until the test voltage V_RT has a same voltage as the variable reference voltage Vsource”; this is, selecting a lower reference voltage when Vsource is greater than V_RT; para[0089]-para[0093]; para[0095]-para[0096]); and select one of the voltages greater than the current reference voltage from among the 2N voltages as a new reference voltage when the reference voltage is less than the detection voltage (see Figs. 4 and 7-8; “The DAC 193 may select, e.g., one reference voltage among the variable reference voltages supplied from the reference voltage source 199 based on the reference voltage signals S0 through Sn-1 supplied from the register 188 of the calibration circuit 180”; in the circuit 180, “the comparator 182 may output a high level signal or a low level signal based on a comparison between the variable reference voltage Vsource and the test voltage V_RT” according to reference voltage signals S0 through Sn-1 based on the N-bit signal, “until the test voltage V_RT has a same voltage as the variable reference voltage Vsource”; this is, selecting a greater reference voltage when Vsource is less than V_RT; para[0089]-para[0093]; para[0095]-para[0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the circuit controller is configured to: select one of the voltages less than a current reference voltage from among the 2N voltages as a new reference voltage when the reference voltage is greater than the detection 15 voltage; and select one of the voltages greater than the current reference voltage from among the 2N voltages as a new reference voltage when the reference voltage is less than the detection voltage, as also taught by Kim, for the advantage of supplying a more constant current (para[0010]).
Conclusion
/GLORYVID FIGUEROA-GIBSON/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623