DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to preliminary amendment filed on February 6, 2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has newly added claims 24-41 and amended claim 38, and has canceled claims 1-23.
Claims 24-41 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “at least one through-hole comprises a plurality of through-holes” recited in claim 36 is confusing and indefinite since it is not clear how could one through-hole comprises a plurality of through-holes? It is not clear if the claim comprises a through-hole or a plurality of through-holes.
Furthermore, the phrase “non-mirror-symmetrical” recited is confusing and indefinite since it is not clear with respect to what reference is the symmetrical or non-symmetrical being defined.
The scopes of the claim are confusing and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-31 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US patent application publication by Han et al (US 2023/0182422 A1) in view of the patent issued to Suga (PN. 6,297,908).
Han et al teaches, with regard to claim 24, a high transmission light control film that serves as the structured substrate, (please see Figures 6, 7, 9, 17, 20), that is comprised of a light transmitting layer serves as the planar substate having two opposing planar surfaces, at least one opening portions serves as a least one through-hole extending through a material of the planar substrate (Figures 17 or 20), forming an inner wall surface surrounding the at least one through-hole and connecting the two opposing planar surfaces and a coating (500) overing at least some areas of the inner wall surface of the at least one through-hole, wherein the coating is the light absorbing, (please see paragraph [0047]), wherein one or both of the two opposing planar surfaces are free of coating.
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. This reference however does not teach explicitly that the inner wall surface or the coating has an arithmetic average roughness as claimed.
Suga in the same field of endeavor teaches a light diffusing film that serves as the structured substrate that is comprised of at least one through hole (14, Figure 2) through a material of planar substrate (please see Figure 2) wherein the inner wall of the through hole has an uneven surface (24, please see Figure 2, column 5 lines 1-13) to enhance the diffusion/reflection of the incident light. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Suga to introduce uneven surface to the inner walls of the through hole of Han et al for the benefit of enhancing the reflection and diffusion of the light passing through the through hole. Although this reference does not teach explicitly that the uneven surface has the claimed surface roughness, such modification would have been obvious design choice to one skilled in the art for the benefit of introducing desired level of diffusion and reflection of the incident light.
With regard to claim 25, Suga teaches that that an angle of the inner wall surface to the two opposing planar surfaces and an angle of a central axis of the at least one through-hole (14) to the two opposing surfaces is 90 degrees, (please see Figure 2).
With regard to claim 26, Suga teaches in a different embodiment, that an angle of the inner wall surface to a normal defined by the two opposing planar surfaces is greater than zero degree, (please see Figure 12). Although this reference does not teach explicitly that the angle is in the range from zero to 15 degrees, such modification is considered obvious matters of design choices to one skilled in the art to design the light diffusing film to have desired properties.
With regard to claim 27, Suga teaches that the planar substrate (layer 14, Figure 2) has a thickness extending from one of the two opposing planar surfaces to the other one of the two opposing planar surfaces is 50 to 150 mm, (please see column 4, lines 39-48).
With regard to claim 28, Suga teaches that the width of the through-hole (14, Figures 2 and 12) may be in the range from 70 mm to 125 mm, or 50 mm to 120 mm (please see column 4, lines 39-48), that is in the range of 0.3 mm to 300 mm. The width may be for a diameter, or it is obvious to one skilled in the art to make the through-hole to have a circular shape as an obvious matters of design choices such that the width may be a diameter for the circular shape.
With regard to claim 29, Suga teaches that at least one through-hole defines an aspect ratio being a ratio between a width or diameter of the at least one through-hole and a thickness of the planar substrate may be 50 mm to 120 mm (i.e. width) to 50 mm to 150 mm (thickness of the planar substrate, please see column 4, lines 39-48) is in the range 1/3 to 1 that is in the range claimed.
With regard to claims 30, 33 and 34, Han et al teaches that the louver layer (500) comprises an absorbing coating includes an opaque material including metal layer or metal oxidizing material that may include aluminum oxide (Al2O3), titanium nitride (TiN), nickel oxide (NiO), tantalum oxide (Ta2O5) , (please see paragraph [0058]). It is noted that nickel oxide (NiO) may have an extinction coefficient of at least 0.01. This reference however does not teach explicitly that the thickness of the coating is between 5 nm and 5000 nm. However, such feature is either implicitly included or obvious modification by one skilled in the art to provide desired absorption properties.
With regard to claim 31, Han teaches that the coating layer of the louver layer may cover at least 10% of the inner wall, (please see Figures 7, 12, and 17).
With regard to claim 36, the scopes of the claims are indefinite for the reasons set forth above. It can only be examined in the broadest interpretation. As shown in Figures 12, 16 and 17 of Han et al, the structured substrate comprises a plurality of through-holes extending through the material of the planar substrate each of the through-holes forming an inner wall surface surrounding the respective through-hole and connecting the two opposing planar surfaces of the planar substrate.
Claim(s) 32 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al and Suga as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of the US patent application publication by Vasylyev (US 2016/0124126 A1).
The structured substrate taught by Han et al in combination with the teachings of Suga as described in claim 24 above has met all the limitations of the claims.
With regard to claims 32 and 35, these references do not teach explicitly that the planar substrate comprises the claimed material and do not teach explicitly to polish the opposing surfaces of the planar substrate. Vasylyev in the same field of endeavor teaches a light control sheet that is comprised of planar substrate (4, Figures 1 and 8) that includes a glass, (please see paragraph [0076]). Vasylyev teaches that the planar surfaces of the substrate (such as 44 and/or 62, Figure 8) is polished to make it smooth, (please see paragraph [0094]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Vasylyev to modify the planar substrate of the structured substrate for the benefit of making the surfaces to be smooth.
Claim(s) 37 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US patent application publication by Han et al (US 2023/0182422 A1) in view of the patent issued to Suga (PN. 6,297,908).
Han et al teaches, with regard to claim 37, a method for manufacturing a high transmission light control film that serves as the structured substrate, (please see Figures 6, 7, 9, 17, 19-20), wherein the method is comprised of providing a planar substrate (please see Figures 17 and 20) having two opposing planar surfaces, wherein at least one opening portions serves as a least one through-hole extending through a material of the planar substrate (Figures 17 or 20), so as to form an inner wall surface surrounding the at least one through-hole and connecting the two opposing planar surfaces. The method also comprises depositing a coating (500, Figures 3-6, 19 or 20), which is light absorbing (please see paragraph [0047]) onto the planar substrate covering at least some areas of the inner wall surface of the at least one through-hole and the method comprises a step of treating one or both of the two opposing planar surfaces of the planar substrate to remove coating so that one or both of the two opposing planar surfaces are free of the coating, (please see Figures 3-6, 19 or 20).
This reference has met all the limitations of the claims. This reference however does not teach explicitly that the inner wall surface or the coating has an arithmetic average roughness as claimed.
Suga in the same field of endeavor teaches a light diffusing film that serves as the structured substrate that is comprised of at least one through hole (14, Figure 2) through a material of planar substrate (please see Figure 2) wherein the inner wall of the through hole has an uneven surface (24, please see Figure 2, column 5 lines 1-13) to enhance the diffusion/reflection of the incident light. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Suga to introduce uneven surface to the inner walls of the through hole of Han et al for the benefit of enhancing the reflection and diffusion of the light passing through the through hole. Although this reference does not teach explicitly that the uneven surface has the claimed surface roughness, such modification would have been obvious design choice to one skilled in the art for the benefit of introducing desired level of diffusion and reflection of the incident light.
With regard to claim 38, Han et al teaches that the absorbing coating (500) is coated by deposition process (please see paragraph [0054]). Although this reference does not teach explicitly that the deposition process is vacuum deposition process, such modification is considered obvious to one skilled in the art since vacuum deposition is a typical deposition process known in the art for depositing coating.
Claim(s) 39-41 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Nagata et al (US 2012/0229878 A1)in view of the US patent application publication by Vasylyev (US 2016/0124126 A1.
Nagata et al, teaches with regard to claim 39, an assembly that is comprised of a layer structure, (please see Figure 2), of two or more layers wherein at least one of the layers is a light shield member (34) serves as the structured substrate. The light shield member or the structured substrate is a member of plate serves as the planar substrate having two opposing planar surfaces (24d and 26c with at least one through-hole (34a, please see paragraph [0055]) a material of the planar substrate or the light shield member plate forming an inner wall surface surrounding the at least one through-hole and connecting the two opposing surfaces.
As shown in Figure 2, the light shielding member (34) may be formed by light absorbing material incident such as stacked black paint, (please see paragraph [0057]). This reference however does not teach explicitly that the light absorbing material is a coating covering at least sone area of the inner wall surface.
Vasylyev, in the same field of endeavor teaches a light control sheet wherein the inner walls (7 and 8, Figure 2) of the openings of a substrate material (4, Figure 1) may comprise opaque material (14) as a coat on the inner walls. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of the Vasylyev to make the light shielding member with the light absorbing material as coating covering the inner walls for the benefit of providing an alternative manner to achieve the light shielding function.
Vasylyev also teaches to provide surface roughness to the surfaces of the inner walls (7 and 8, please see paragraph [0074]) to create scattering of the incident light. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Vasylyev to modify the inner walls to have surface roughness for the benefit of creating scattering of the incident light. Although this reference does not teach explicitly that the uneven surface has the claimed surface roughness, such modification would have been obvious design choice to one skilled in the art for the benefit of introducing desired level of diffusion and reflection of the incident light.
With regard to claim 40, Nagata et al teaches the assembly comprises at least one further substrate (24 or 26, Figure 2) that are aligned with light shielding member or the structured substrate (34). Nagata et al teaches that the further substrate comprises lenses (26a or 24b, Figure 2) that serves as a marking corresponding to the at least one through hole of the structured substrate (34a).
With regard to claim 41, Nagata et al teaches that the assembly comprises at least three layers having a first micro-optic layer (24, Figure 2), the structured substrate (34) and a second micro-optic layer (26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US patent application publication by Yu (US 2010/0246000 A1) teaches a wafer level module array that is comprised a first micro-lens array, a structed substrate and a second micro-lens array.
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872