DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1: Line 1 of the claim, the acronym “QPC” has not been defined. Examiner suggests amending “QPC” to recite --Quartz Polyvinyl Chloride (QPC)--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai (CN 107722491) in view of Chen (CN 109370388 A) and in further view of Baert et al. (CN 113202253).
With regard to claim 1: Dai et al. discloses a floor, wherein the floor comprises a floor body (1-4), the floor body (1-4) has a total thickness of 2-15 mm (total thickness of all the layers as described in pg. 4, example 1 of translation; claims 3-4), the floor body (1-4) comprises a muting layer (1), a base material layer (2, stone-plastic substrate layer comprising polyvinyl chloride), a color-pattern layer (3, color film layer), and a wear-resisting layer (4, wear layer), which are sequentially arranged from bottom to top, the muting layer (1, polyethylene) is made of a foam board (see figure; abstract).
Dai et al. does not disclose that the floor is a Quartz Polyvinyl Chloride (QPC) floor. Dai further does not disclose a surface hardened layer, the surface hardened layer is provided on a top surface of the wear-resisting layer.
However, Chen discloses a surface hardened layer provide on a top surface to provide skid-proof floor material comprising quartz powder and melamine (abstract; pg. 4, lines 1-6 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor of Dai et al. to include a surface hardened layer such as taught by Chen in order to provide a skid proof material for increased grip and reduced slipping.
No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the floor of Dai et al. to include a surface hardened layer such as taught by Chen. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Dai as modified by Chen would result in floor comprising Quartz and Polyvinyl Chloride.
Dai in view of Chen does not disclose the foam board is polystyrene.
However, Baert et al. discloses a muting (acoustic) layer made of polyethylene or polystyrene foam (pg. 6, lines 20-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor of Dai et al. to have the foam board be made of polystyrene such as taught by Baert et al. yielding the predictable of providing a known acoustic material for mitigating sound. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the floor of Dai et al. to have the foam board be made of polystyrene such as taught by Baert et al.. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 3: Dai discloses that the base material layer (2) is PVC and stone powder (example 1 found on pg. 7 of translation).
The base material layer “prepared by extruding and pressing of the mixed PVC powder and stone powder at a high temperature” is consider a product by process limitation.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP § 2113.
With regard to claim 5: Dai in view of Chen and Baert et al. does not disclose that the surface hardened layer has a thickness of 0.15-0.7 mm.
However, Chen does disclose that the thickness can reach to 3-5mm (emphasis added) (pg. 3, lines 2-6 of translation). Examiner interprets the recitation of the thickness to include values up to 3-5mm.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, as the selected option was one of a finite number of available thicknesses to provide skid proof protection according to the environment and anticipated traffic. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying modify the floor of Dai previously modified by Chen and Baert et al. to have the surface hardened layer to comprise a desired thickness including the claimed thickness of 0.15-0.7 mm. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 7: : Dai in view of Chen and Baert et al. does not disclose the surface hardened layer is coated with a primer layer and a topcoat layer, and the primer layer and the topcoat layer are provided therebetween with 2 to 6 coating layers, the coating layers having different thicknesses.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor of Dai previously modified by Chen and Baert et al. to include additional coatings of the surface hardened layer of any thickness, which would be considered equivalent to a primer and topcoat layer, in order to ensure durability and compete surface coverage. Further, there appears to be no new or unpredictable results would be obtained from including multiple coatings of different thicknesses. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The primer layer and topcoat layer by “roll coating” is considered a product by process limitation.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP § 2113.
With regard to claim 8: As per the modification of claim 7, Dai in view of Chen and Baert et al. discloses that the coating layers are made of mixed quartz powder and melamine.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai (CN 107722491) in view of Chen (CN 109370388 A), Baert et al. (CN 113202253) and in further view of Dreyer (US 8,215,077 B1).
With regard to claim 2: Dai in view of Chen and Baert et al. does not disclose that the floor body includes a plurality of sets of floor bodies, the plurality of sets of floor bodies are connected to each other by mounts, and each of the mounts comprises a protruding block and a mounting groove.
However, Dreyer discloses a floor including a plurality of sets of floor bodies (21), the plurality of sets of floor bodies (21) are connected to each other by mounts (6’, 7’), and each of the mounts (6’, 7’) comprises a protruding block (6’) and a mounting groove (7’) (fig. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor of Dai previously modified by Chen and Baert et al. to have the floor body include a plurality of sets of floor bodies, the plurality of sets of floor bodies are connected to each other by mounts, and each of the mounts comprises a protruding block and a mounting groove such as taught by Dreyer in order to provide convenient means of removably coupling floor bodies to one another for ease of alignment and assembly.
With regard to claim 6: Dreyer discloses that the protruding block (6’) and the mounting groove (7’) are each in a shape of "T", and the protruding block (6’) is embeddable into the mounting groove (7’) (figs. 6-7).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai (CN 107722491) in view of Chen (CN 109370388 A), Baert et al. (CN 113202253) and in further view of Zheng et al. (CN 113978010 A).
With regard to claim 4: Dai in view of Chen and Baert al. does not disclose that the wear-resisting layer is a PVC transparent film, and has a thickness of 0.07-1.0 mm.
However, Zheng et al. further discloses a wear-resisting layer being a PVC transparent film (claim 3), and has a thickness of 0.05-0.8m (pg. 4, lines 32-33 of translation), which overlaps the claim range of 0.07-1.0 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the floor of Dai previously modified by Chen and Baert et al. to have the wear-resisting layer be a PVC transparent film, and have a thickness of 0.07-0.8 mm such as taught by Zheng et al. in order provide a desired degree of protection against wear and tear.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited are directed to flooring bodies and/or interlocking flooring.
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633