DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed February 28, 2025, claims 1-11 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 4, 10 and 11 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # EP 22193441.7 filed on September 1, 2022 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (February 28, 2025 and October 28, 2025) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted February 28, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings filed February 28, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed February 28, 2025 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS submitted prior art Yamazaki et al US 20160132281 Al in view of Jung et al. US 20150277173 Al.
As to Claim 1:
Yamazaki et al. discloses a multi display arrangement (Yamazaki, see Abstract, where Yamazaki discloses that provided is a display system or a display device that is suitable for increasing in size. The display system includes a first display panel, a second display panel, a detection means, and a compensation means. The first display panel includes a first display region. The second display panel includes a second display region. The first display region and the second display region include a first region where they overlap. The detection means has a function of detecting the size of the first region. The compensation means has a function of compensating an
image displayed on the first display region in accordance with the change in the size of the first region), with at least two display units (Yamazaki, see 110a and 110b in figure 11B), wherein a pair of said display units consists of thin display units (Yamazaki, see figure 15A and paragraph [0007], where Yamazaki discloses that in a basic structure of an organic EL element, a layer containing a light-emitting organic compound is provided between a pair of electrodes. By voltage application to this element, the light-emitting organic compound can emit light. A display device including such an organic EL element needs no backlight which is necessary for liquid crystal display devices and the like; therefore, thin, lightweight, high contrast, and low power consumption display devices can be obtained) that are arranged in an overlapping manner (Yamazaki, see 100a and 100b in figure 15A), and wherein the display units are bonded to a cover glass (Yamazaki, see figures 15A and 15B and paragraphs [0226]-[0232], where Yamazaki discloses that as illustrated in FIGS. 15A and 15B, a protective substrate 132 is preferably provided over the display device 50 with the resin layer 131 provided therebetween. Here, the resin layer 131 may serve as a bonding layer for bonding the protective substrate 132 to the display device 50. With the protective substrate 132, the surface of the display device 50 can be protected, and moreover, the mechanical strength of the display device 50 can be increased. For the protective substrate 132 in a region overlapping at least the display region 51, a light-transmitting material is used. Furthermore, the protective substrate 132 in a region other than the region overlapping the display region 51 may have a light-blocking property not to be visually recognized. The protective substrate 132 may have a function of a touch panel. In the case where the display panel 100 is flexible and can be bent, the protective substrate 132 is also
preferably flexible. As the protective substrate 132, a plastic substrate that is formed as a film, for example, a plastic substrate made from polyimide (PI), an aramid, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethersulfone (PES), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polycarbonate (PC), nylon, polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polysulfone (PSF), polyetherimide (PEI), polyarylate (PAR), polybutylene terephthalate (PBT), a silicone resin, and the like, or a glass substrate can be used), and wherein at least one of said display units has a surface that is arranged at least partly with a larger distance to an adjacent surface of the cover glass than a respective surface of a respective other display unit (Yamazaki, see claim mapping of figure 15A below).
Yamazaki differs from the claimed subject matter in that Yamazaki does not explicitly disclose optically bonded.
However in an analogous art, Jung discloses optically bonded (Jung, see paragraph [0071], where Jung discloses that the optical bonding 30-9 may use optical clear resin or optical clear adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yamazaki with Jung. One would be motivated to modify Yamazaki by disclosing optically bonded as taught by Jung, and thereby providing tiled displays that has no discrete area and easy installation (Jung, see paragraph [0007]).
As to Claim 2:
Yamazaki in view of Jung discloses that the multi display arrangement according to claim 1, wherein at least one of said display units has a surface that is arranged non-parallel to an adjacent surface of the cover glass (Yamazaki, see claim mapping below of figures 7C1 and 7C2).
As to Claim 3:
Yamazaki in view of Jung discloses that the multi display arrangement according to claim 1, wherein a space between display surface and adjacent cover glass surface is filled at least partly with cured liquid optically clear adhesive material (Yamazaki, see 100b, 131 and 132 in figure 15B and paragraph [0222], where Yamazaki discloses that a light-transmitting resin layer 131 may be provided to cover the top surfaces of the display panel 100a and the display panel 100b. Specifically, the resin layer 131 is preferably provided to cover the display regions of the display panels 100a and 100b and a region where the display panel 100a and the display panel 100b overlap).
As to Claim 5:
Yamazaki in view of Jung discloses the multi display arrangement according to claim1, wherein at least one of said display units is a bendable OLED (Yamazaki, see paragraph [0193], where Yamazaki discloses that as the display element, typically, a light-emitting element such as an organic EL element, a liquid crystal element, or the like can be used) panel (Yamazaki, see paragraph [0230], where Yamazaki discloses that when the stack including the display panel 100 is bent, by locating the display panel 100 at the center in the thickness direction, stress in the lateral direction applied to the display panel 100 by bending can be relieved, so that damage can be prevented).
As to Claim 6:
Yamazaki in view of Jung discloses the multi display arrangement according to claim 1, wherein an aluminum plate (Yamazaki, see paragraphs [0271]-[0278], where Yamazaki discloses that metal substrate or the alloy substrate, but it is preferable to use, for example, aluminum, copper, nickel, or a metal alloy such as an aluminum alloy or stainless steel) is arranged at a backside (Yamazaki, see 701 in figure 22B) of a display unit (Yamazaki, see 501 in figure 22B and paragraph [0363], where in FIGS. 22A and 22B, the touch panel 505A includes a display portion 501, the scan line driver circuit 303g(l), a touch sensor 595, and the like. Furthermore, the touch panel 505A includes the substrate 701, the substrate 711, and a substrate 590).
As to Claim 7:
Yamazaki in view of Jung discloses the multi display arrangement according to claim 1, wherein overlapping areas between display units define a gap and wherein said gap is filled at least partly with cured liquid optically clear adhesive material (Yamazaki, see 100b, 131 and 132 in figure 15B and paragraph [0222], where Yamazaki discloses that a light-transmitting resin layer 131 may be provided to cover the top surfaces of the display panel 100a and the display panel 100b. Specifically, the resin layer 131 is preferably provided to cover the display regions of the display panels 100a and 100b and a region where the display panel 100a and the display panel 100b overlap).
As to Claim 8:
Yamazaki in view of Jung discloses the multi display arrangement according to claim 1, wherein each display unit is provided with a printed circuit board (PCB) attached at a connecting side of said display unit via a flexible printed circuit (FPC) (Yamazaki, see 112c in figure 11B and figure 12C and paragraph [0192], where Yamazaki discloses that the display panel 100 is provided with a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 112 in the example illustrated in FIG. 11A), wherein said PCB is arranged at the backside of said display unit via said FPC being bent, and wherein a pair of display units is arranged overlapping such that their respective PCBs would not overlap if they were bent back to lie in the same plane as their respective display unit (Yamazaki, see figure 12C and figure 11B).
As to Claim 9:
Yamazaki in view of Jung discloses the multi display arrangement according to claim 1, wherein each display unit is provided with a printed circuit board (PCB) attached at a connecting side of said display unit via a flexible printed circuit (FPC), wherein said PCB is arranged at the backside of said display unit via said FPC being bent, and wherein a pair of display units is arranged overlapping such that their respective PCBs would not overlap with the respective other display unit of said pair if they were bent back to lie in the same plane as their respective display unit (Yamazaki, see figure 11B claim mapping).
As to Claim 10:
Yamazaki et al discloses an apparatus comprising a multi display arrangement (Yamazaki, see Abstract, where Yamazaki discloses that provided is a display system or a display device that is suitable for increasing in size. The display system includes a first display panel, a second display panel, a detection means, and a compensation means. The first display panel includes a first display region. The second display panel includes a second display region. The first display region and the second display region include a first region where they overlap. The detection means has a function of detecting the size of the first region. The compensation means has a function of compensating an
image displayed on the first display region in accordance with the change in the size of the first region), with at least two display units (Yamazaki, see 110a and 110b in figure 11B), wherein a pair of said display units consists of thin display units (Yamazaki, see figure 15A and paragraph [0007], where Yamazaki discloses that in a basic structure of an organic EL element, a layer containing a light-emitting organic compound is provided between a pair of electrodes. By voltage application to this element, the light-emitting organic compound can emit light. A display device including such an organic EL element needs no backlight which is necessary for liquid crystal display devices and the like; therefore, thin, lightweight, high contrast, and low power consumption display devices can be obtained) that are arranged in an overlapping manner (Yamazaki, see 100a and 100b in figure 15A), and wherein the display units are bonded to a cover glass (Yamazaki, see figures 15A and 15B and paragraphs [0226]-[0232], where Yamazaki discloses that as illustrated in FIGS. 15A and 15B, a protective substrate 132 is preferably provided over the display device 50 with the resin layer 131 provided therebetween. Here, the resin layer 131 may serve as a bonding layer for bonding the protective substrate 132 to the display device 50. With the protective substrate 132, the surface of the display device 50 can be protected, and moreover, the mechanical strength of the display device 50 can be increased. For the protective substrate 132 in a region overlapping at least the display region 51, a light-transmitting material is used. Furthermore, the protective substrate 132 in a region other than the region overlapping the display region 51 may have a light-blocking property not to be visually recognized. The protective substrate 132 may have a function of a touch panel. In the case where the display panel 100 is flexible and can be bent, the protective substrate 132 is also
preferably flexible. As the protective substrate 132, a plastic substrate that is formed as a film, for example, a plastic substrate made from polyimide (PI), an aramid, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethersulfone (PES), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polycarbonate (PC), nylon, polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polysulfone (PSF), polyetherimide (PEI), polyarylate (PAR), polybutylene terephthalate (PBT), a silicone resin, and the like, or a glass substrate can be used, and wherein at least one of said display units has a surface that is arranged at least partly with a larger distance to an adjacent surface of the cover glass than a respective surface of a respective other display unit (Yamazaki, see claim mapping of figure 15A below).
Yamazaki differs from the claimed subject matter in that Yamazaki does not explicitly disclose optically bonded.
However in an analogous art, Jung discloses optically bonded (Jung, see paragraph [0071], where Jung discloses that the optical bonding 30-9 may use optical clear resin or optical clear adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yamazaki with Jung. One would be motivated to modify Yamazaki by disclosing optically bonded as taught by Jung, and thereby providing tiled displays that has no discrete area and easy installation (Jung, see paragraph [0007]).
As to Claim 11:
Yamazaki et al discloses a vehicle comprising an apparatus comprising a multi display arrangement (Yamazaki, see 9713 in figure 33B), with at least two display units (Yamazaki, see 110a and 110b in figure 11B), wherein a pair of said display units consists of thin display units (Yamazaki, see figure 15A and paragraph [0007], where Yamazaki discloses that in a basic structure of an organic EL element, a layer containing a light-emitting organic compound is provided between a pair of electrodes. By voltage application to this element, the light-emitting organic compound can emit light. A display device including such an organic EL element needs no backlight which is necessary for liquid crystal display devices and the like; therefore, thin, lightweight, high contrast, and low power consumption display devices can be obtained) that are arranged in an overlapping manner (Yamazaki, see 100a and 100b in figure 15A), and wherein the display units are bonded to a cover glass (Yamazaki, see figures 15A and 15B and paragraphs [0226]-[0232], where Yamazaki discloses that as illustrated in FIGS. 15A and 15B, a protective substrate 132 is preferably provided over the display device 50 with the resin layer 131 provided therebetween. Here, the resin layer 131 may serve as a bonding layer for bonding the protective substrate 132 to the display device 50. With the protective substrate 132, the surface of the display device 50 can be protected, and moreover, the mechanical strength of the display device 50 can be increased. For the protective substrate 132 in a region overlapping at least the display region 51, a light-transmitting material is used. Furthermore, the protective substrate 132 in a region other than the region overlapping the display region 51 may have a light-blocking property not to be visually recognized. The protective substrate 132 may have a function of a touch panel. In the case where the display panel 100 is flexible and can be bent, the protective substrate 132 is also preferably flexible. As the protective substrate 132, a plastic substrate that is formed as a film, for example, a plastic substrate made from polyimide (PI), an aramid, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethersulfone (PES), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polycarbonate (PC), nylon, polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polysulfone (PSF), polyetherimide (PEI), polyarylate (PAR), polybutylene terephthalate (PBT), a silicone resin, and the like, or a glass substrate can be used), and wherein at least one of said display units has a surface that is arranged at least partly with a larger distance to an adjacent surface of the cover glass than a respective surface of a respective other display unit (Yamazaki, see claim mapping of figure 15A below).
Yamazaki differs from the claimed subject matter in that Yamazaki does not explicitly disclose optically bonded.
However in an analogous art, Jung discloses optically bonded (Jung, see paragraph [0071], where Jung discloses that the optical bonding 30-9 may use optical clear resin or optical clear adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yamazaki with Jung. One would be motivated to modify Yamazaki by disclosing optically bonded as taught by Jung, and thereby providing tiled displays that has no discrete area and easy installation (Jung, see paragraph [0007]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS submitted prior art Yamazaki et al US 20160132281 Al in view of Kuwabara et al. US 20170092230 Al.
As to Claim 4:
Yamazaki et al discloses a multi display arrangement, with at least two display units (Yamazaki, see 100b and 100a in figures 14A through 14D), characterized in that a pair of said display units consists of thin display units (Yamazaki, see figure 15A and paragraph [0007], where Yamazaki discloses that in a basic structure of an organic EL element, a layer containing a light-emitting organic compound is provided between a pair of electrodes. By voltage application to this element, the light-emitting organic compound can emit light. A display device including such an organic EL element needs no backlight which is necessary for liquid crystal display devices and the like; therefore, thin, lightweight, high contrast, and low power consumption display devices can be obtained) that are each bent and arranged next to each other along their respective bends (Yamazaki, see 170 in figure 14A).
Yamazaki differs from the claimed subject matter in that Yamazaki does not explicitly disclose bending lines.
However in an analogous art, Kuwabara discloses bending lines (Kuwabara, see paragraph [0077], where Kuwabara discloses that in the bent portion, part of the wiring is formed using the conductive layer 14 including the metal nanoparticle. FIG. 1B illustrates a cross-sectional view of the bend of the bent portion. As illustrated in FIG. 1B, wiring heat treatment is performed to stabilize the conductive layer 14 including the metal nanoparticle after the bend. To prevent the connection break, which is caused by force applied in a direction where the wiring is stretched when the film 10 is bent and a component over the film 10 is stretched, openings are formed in the insulating layer 13 so that the wiring becomes substantially longer by meandering in cross section. When a plurality of openings are formed and aligned, a portion that is easy to bend is formed along the line where they are aligned).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Yamazaki with Kuwabara. One would be motivated to modify Yamazaki by disclosing bending lines as taught by Kuwabara, and thereby providing a structure of a bendable portion in a display device that is improved (Kuwabara, see Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Yanagisawa (US 20160154435 A1).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624