DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of JP2022-139227 filed on 09/01/2022 has been received/retrieved by the office.
Acknowledgment is made of this application’s status as a 371 of PCT/2023/028092 filed on 08/01/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2025, 12/29/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2017/0347419A1 hereinafter “Cusey”
Regarding claim 1, Cusey discloses an optical output control system (¶15L2: an optical sensing system [10]) comprising:
a light source unit including a light-emitting element (¶15L4: an LED [12]);
a current supply unit (¶15L6: a current source [28]) that supplies current to the light source unit (¶15L7-8: a forward current goes through the LED and causes it to produce a light); and
a temperature detecting unit (¶52L3-4: the operation use thermal detectors) that detects an environmental temperature of the light source unit (¶18L6-8: the current Is increase (or decrease) in response to increase (or decrease) in ambient temperature); and
a control unit (¶21L2: a control unit) that controls a current amount supplied from the current supply unit to the light source unit on a basis of an execution control function (¶42L1-5: current multiplier is implemented to produce the current IA such that: IA = ACTRL*IB = ACTRL (WR*IR + WS*IS) in which a relationship among
a first variable (¶18L5-6: a current [IR]; ¶20L6: a second weight [WR]) corresponding to a target value related to optical output of the light source unit (¶19L1-5: current [IR] is independent of ambient temperature) (Note: since current [IR] is independent of temperature, it is the desired output current of the operation of the optical system),
a second variable (¶18L4-5: a current [Is]; ¶20L5-6: a first weight [Ws]) corresponding to the environmental temperature detected by the temperature detecting unit (¶18L8: the current Is increase (or decrease) in response to increase (or decrease) in ambient temperature; ¶52L3-4: the operation use thermal detectors), and
a third variable (¶22L3-4: a control vector [ACTRL]) corresponding to the current amount supplied to the light source unit is defined by using one or a plurality of coefficients (¶51L1-15: ACTRL may be set such that the LED and photodiode work properly for desired detection sensitivity at a nominal operation operating temperature), wherein
the control unit is configured to be able to update at least one of the coefficients constituting the execution control function on a basis of coefficient update information that is input. (¶23L1-12: a user may manually step through a set of values of the ACTRL, the value is store in a non-volatile memory and is used by optical system in subsequent operations)
Regarding claim 2, Cusey discloses the optical output control system according to claim 1, wherein the light source unit includes a first storage unit in which the coefficient update information is recorded, and the control unit reads the coefficient update information recorded in the first storage unit and updates the execution control function. (¶57L1-10: stores various control information into a non-volatile memory (e.g. at control unit or at another appropriate place) including the amplitude control ACRTL and the wights WS and WR)
Regarding claim 3, Cusey discloses the optical output control system according to claim 1, further comprising
a storage medium attaching unit that can be attached with a storage medium in which the coefficient update information is recorded, wherein the control unit reads the coefficient update information recorded in the storage medium attached to the storage medium attaching unit and updates the execution control function. (¶57L1-10: stores various control information into a non-volatile memory (e.g. at control unit or at another appropriate place) including the amplitude control ACRTL and the wights WS and WR)
Regarding claim 4, Cusey discloses the optical output control system according to claim 1, further comprising
an update information transmission device configured to be able to transmit the coefficient update information to the control unit via an electrical communication line. (¶57L1-10: stores various control information into a non-volatile memory (e.g. at control unit or at another appropriate place) including the amplitude control ACRTL and the wights WS and WR) (Note: inherently disclose as storing data in a memory requires transmission of data to storage)
Regarding claim 5, Cusey discloses the optical output control system according to claim 4, wherein the update information transmission device includes
a second storage unit in which the coefficient update information is recorded, and transmits the coefficient update information recorded in the second storage unit to the control unit. (¶57L1-10: stores various control information into a non-volatile memory (e.g. at control unit or at another appropriate place) including the amplitude control ACRTL and the wights WS and WR)
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845