DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 2 October 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kojima (JP 2017-025705-A, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1: Kojima discloses a method for producing a hydroelectric power generator (abstract), comprising:
modeling a part having a shape corresponding to a shape of an electric generator using a 3D printer (page 5, third full paragraph of English translation); and
assembling a hydroelectric power generator with the part having the shape corresponding to the shape of the electric generator (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3: Kojima discloses wherein the part having the shape corresponding to the shape of the electric generator is a coupling member (72) configured to couple a rotating assembly (74, 76) to the electric generator, where the rotating assembly is rotatably coupled to a rotatable shaft (80, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5: Kojima discloses the electric generator is a hub dynamo (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima, in view of Jassal et al. (“Jassal”; US 2021/0320572).
Regarding claim 2: Kojima discloses the electric generator but does not explicitly disclose acquiring information of the shape of the electric generator and generating model data.
However, Jassal discloses acquiring information (paragraph 0029, from the scanner) of the shape of the electric generator and generating model data (paragraph 0029, the component is manufactured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electrical generator of Kojima to have the model data of Jassal in order to have greater control over the manufacturing process.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima, in view of Von Bargen (US 2022/0010763).
Regarding claim 4: Kojima discloses the part of the rotating assembly is made by 3D printing, but does not explicitly disclose at least part of the rotating assembly includes a recycled plastic material, or a bioplastic material, or both.
However Von Bargen discloses a 3D printed item is made of recycled plastic (paragraph 0140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rotating assembly of Kojima to include a recycled plastic material as disclosed by Von Bargen, in order to be environmentally friendly.
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834