Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 20220294290) and in view of Kajimoto (US 20190115801).
As to claim 1, Takahashi discloses an electric motor (Para 0072) comprising: a stator core (Para 0090); a first winding wire wound around the stator core and forming a first phase (Para 0112); a second winding wire wound around the stator core and forming a second phase different from the first phase (Para 0112); a thermistor attached to the first winding wire (Para 0140).
Takahashi fails to disclose a thermostat connected in series to the thermistor and attached to the winding wire.
Kajimoto discloses a thermostat connected in series to the thermistor and attached to the winding wire (Para 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Takahashi with a thermostat connected in series to the thermistor and attached to the winding wire, as disclosed by Kajimoto, to detect overheating by actively monitoring values.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, Kajimoto, and in view of Cai (CN 214753298) and Tahara (WO 2018021043).
As to claim 2, the combination of Takahashi and Kajimoto discloses the electric motor according to claim 1.
Takahashi fails to disclose further comprising one or more first sub-winding wires forming the first phase, wherein the first winding wire and the one or more first sub-winding wires are continuously disposed in a circumferential direction of the stator core to form a first row, and the first winding wire is disposed at a center of the first row.
Cai discloses one or more first sub-winding wires forming the first phase (“the first phase winding includes a first sub-winding L1 and a fourth sub-winding L4 that are connected to each other, and the second phase winding includes a second sub-winding L2 and a fifth sub-winding L5 that are connected to each other, and the third phase winding It includes a connected third sub-winding L3 and a sixth sub-winding L6”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Takahashi with one or more first sub-winding wires forming the first phase, as disclosed by Cai, to improve magnetic distribution.
Tahara discloses the winding wires are continuously disposed in a circumferential direction of the stator core to form a first row, and the winding wire is disposed at a center of the first row (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Takahashi with the winding wires are continuously disposed in a circumferential direction of the stator core to form a first row, and the winding wire is disposed at a center of the first row, as disclosed by Tahara, to promote uniform current distribution.
The combination of Takahashi, Kajimoto, Cai, and Tahara would read on one or more first sub-winding wires forming the first phase (Cai), wherein the first winding wire and the one or more first sub-winding wires are continuously disposed in a circumferential direction of the stator core to form a first row (Cai and Tahara), and the first winding wire is disposed at a center of the first row (Cai and Tahara).
As to claim 3, the combination of Takahashi and Kajimoto discloses the electric motor according to claim 1.
Takahashi fails to disclose further comprising one or more second sub-winding wires forming the second phase, wherein the second winding wire and the one or more second sub-winding wires are continuously disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core to form a second row, and the second winding wire is disposed at a center of the second row.
Cai discloses one or more second sub-winding wires forming the second phase (“the first phase winding includes a first sub-winding L1 and a fourth sub-winding L4 that are connected to each other, and the second phase winding includes a second sub-winding L2 and a fifth sub-winding L5 that are connected to each other, and the third phase winding It includes a connected third sub-winding L3 and a sixth sub-winding L6”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Takahashi with one or more second sub-winding wires forming the second phase, as disclosed by Cai, to improve magnetic distribution.
Tahara discloses the winding wires are continuously disposed in a circumferential direction of the stator core to form a second row, and the winding wire is disposed at a center of the second row (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Takahashi with the winding wires are continuously disposed in a circumferential direction of the stator core to form a second row, and the winding wire is disposed at a center of the second row, as disclosed by Tahara, to promote uniform current distribution.
The combination of Takahashi, Kajimoto, Cai, and Tahara would read on one or more second sub-winding wires forming the second phase (Cai), wherein the second winding wire and the one or more second sub-winding wires are continuously disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core to form a second row (Cai and Tahara), and the second winding wire is disposed at a center of the second row (Cai and Tahara).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, and in view of Kajimoto and Uematsu (US 20130069579).
As to claim 4, Takahashi disclose a controller (Para 0210) comprising: a thermistor (Para 0140) wound around a stator core (Para 0090) of an electric motor and attached to a first winding wire forming a first phase (Para 0112), and a second winding wire forming a second phase different from the first phase (Para 0112).
Takahashi fails to disclose a detection unit configured to detect composite resistance, a thermostat connected in series to the thermistor; and an output unit configured to output an alarm when a value of the composite resistance detected by the detection unit becomes greater than or equal to a first reference value or less than or equal to a second reference value.
Kajimoto discloses a thermostat connected in series to the thermistor (Para 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Takahashi with a thermostat connected in series to the thermistor, as disclosed by Kajimoto, to detect overheating by actively monitoring values.
Uematsu discloses a detection unit configured to detect composite resistance (Para 0041); and an output unit configured to output an alarm when a value of the composite resistance detected by the detection unit becomes greater than or equal to a first reference value or less than or equal to a second reference value (Para 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Takahashi with a detection unit configured to detect composite resistance; and an output unit configured to output an alarm when a value of the composite resistance detected by the detection unit becomes greater than or equal to a first reference value or less than or equal to a second reference value, as disclosed by Uematsu, to signal whenever the motor is overheating and operating improperly.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834