DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-15 are pending and represent all claims currently under consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1-15 are considered to have an effective filing date of 09/01/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 03/03/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 9-14 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, “carbon-carbon double bond;” should read “carbon-carbon double bond; and”.
Regarding claim 6, the claim should end with a period.
Regarding claims 9-14, a comma should follow “according to claim 1”.
Regarding claims 12-13, each limitation should be followed by a semicolon instead of a comma for consistency throughout the claim.
Specification
The use of the terms Ahiflower, Omegaven, Intralipid, SMOFlipid, Lipofundin, ClinOleic, ZymoBIOMICS, LIPOID, Polytron, Malvern Zetasizer, BioXCell, OneTouch, Cernevit, Sigma, Abcam, and PerkinElmer, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3-6, the recitation of “%” for each component renders the claims indefinite, because “%” is not defined by the claim or in the specification. It is unclear if the “%” is intended to refer to a wt/wt% or wt/vol%.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitations "the mass" and “the terminal methyl group”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. These limitations should read “a mass” and “a terminal methyl group”.
Regarding claims 2 and 7-15, each claim is dependent on the rejected claim 1 and does not cure its deficiencies, and therefore is deficient for the same reasons as above.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation "the ratio (m/m)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, the parenthetical recitation of “m/m” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations in parentheses are part of the claimed invention or describing an example or preference. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation “counteragent/detoxifier”. It is unclear if these are intended to be alternative limitations or if “detoxifier” is describing an example or preference of a “counteragent”.
Regarding claim 12, the recitation of “wherein the parenteral nutrition is administered to a patient….” renders the claim indefinite, because the claim recites both a composition and a method step of using the composition. See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
Regarding claim 13, the recitation of “wherein the enteral nutrition is administered to a patient….” renders the claim indefinite, because the claim recites both a composition and a method step of using the composition. See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mustad (US 2008039525 A1), and as evidenced by MedlinePlus.
Regarding claim 1, Mustad teaches a lipid system which can be administered to an individual (i.e., a patient) containing omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids (Mustad, abstract), which may be in the form of an emulsion (Mustad, page 5, paragraph 0044) and which can be an oil-in-water emulsion (i.e., comprises an oily phase and an aqueous phase; Mustad, page 5, paragraph 0046). Mustad teaches omega-3 fatty acids contain a first double bond at the third carbon from the methyl end (i.e., characterized by the presence of more than one double bond and wherein one carbon-carbon double bond is three atoms away from the terminal methyl group), and omega-6 fatty acids contain a first double bond at the sixth carbon from the methyl end (i.e., characterized by the presence of more than one double bond and wherein one carbon-carbon double bond is six atoms away from the terminal methyl group; Mustad, page 1, paragraph 0006).
Mustad teaches a lipid system comprising from about 17-54% of alpha-linolenic acid (i.e., an omega-3 fatty acid component), which encompasses the claimed range of 25-35%; from about 17-21% of linoleic acid (i.e., an omega-6 fatty acid component), which is reasonably close to the claimed range of 10-15%; from about 19-52% of oleic acid C18:1n-9 (i.e., a monounsaturated fatty acid component having one carbon-carbon double bond), which overlaps the claimed range of 18-30%; and a saturated fatty acid component (i.e., fatty acids having no double bonds) in less than about 47%, which encompasses the claimed range of 20-35% (Mustad, claim 8). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Mustad teaches an omega-3 fatty acid which can be alpha-linolenic acid, stearidonic acid, or a combination thereof (Mustad, page 3, paragraph 0028). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a combination of both omega-3 fatty acids together. Mustad teaches a lipid system comprising from about 17-54% of alpha-linolenic acid (i.e., an omega-3 fatty acid component; Mustad, claim 8), and further teaches the individual amount of each omega-3 fatty acid is not limited to within this range (Mustad, table 6). Therefore, it would be obvious to use the combination of alpha-linolenic acid and stearidonic acid in a combined amount of 17-54%, which results in an amount overlapping the claimed ranges of greater than or equal to 15% and 5%.
Mustad is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because both Mustad and the instant invention are in the same field of lipid compositions. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the claimed invention based on the teachings of Mustad under the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding claim 2, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Mustad teaches a ratio based on weight of omega-6 to omega-3 of about 0.25:1 (i.e., 1:4) to about 3:1 (Mustad, page 3, paragraph 0026), which encompasses the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Mustad teaches a lipid system comprising from about 17-54% of alpha-linolenic acid (i.e., a PUFA) and from about 17-21% of linoleic acid (i.e., a PUFA), which results in about 34-75% of PUFAs, encompassing the claimed range of 40-50%; from about 19-52% of oleic acid C18:1n-9 (i.e., a MUFA), which encompasses the claimed range of 20-30%; and a saturated fatty acid in less than about 47%, which encompasses the claimed range of 20-35% (Mustad, claim 8). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Mustad teaches a lipid system comprising from about 17-54% of alpha-linolenic acid, which encompasses the claimed range of 20-30%; from about 17-21% of linoleic acid, which is reasonably close to the claimed range of 5-15%; and from about 19-52% of oleic acid, which encompasses the claimed range of 20-30% (Mustad, claim 8). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Mustad further teaches an omega-3 fatty acid which can be eicosapentaenoic acid or stearidonic acid (Mustad, claim 7), and exemplifies a composition having 9% of eicosapentaenoic acid (Mustad, table 6). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize stearidonic acid in the same amount as taught for eicosapentaenoic acid, which lies within the claimed range of 5-15%. Mustad also teaches an omega-6 fatty acid which can be arachidonic acid or gamma-linolenic acid (Mustad, claim 7), and exemplifies a composition having 1.26% of arachidonic acid (Mustad, table 6). As above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize gamma-linolenic acid in the same amount as taught for arachidonic acid, which is reasonably close to the claimed range of 2-5%.
Regarding claim 7, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Mustad teaches the compositions typically contain vitamins such as vitamin E (i.e., alpha tocopherol as evidenced by MedlinePlus; Mustad, page 7, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 8, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Mustad teaches the lipid system can be in the form of a soft gelatin capsule containing pharmaceutical products (i.e., a pharmaceutical drug; Mustad, page 5, paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 9, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. “For use as a counteragent/detoxifier in treatment of intoxication caused by a lipophilic pharmaceutical drug or a lipophilic toxic compound” is a recitation of intended use. Patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure. See MPEP § 2111.02. Mustad teaches the structure of the instant claim, and therefore, the composition of Mustad is expected to be suitable for use as a counteragent/detoxifier as claimed absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 10, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. “For use in protection against ischemia-reperfusion injury of vital organs” is a recitation of intended use. Patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure. See MPEP § 2111.02. Mustad teaches the structure of the instant claim and further teaches the composition can be used in control of blood glucose levels, with a common complication of diabetes being lower limb ischemia (Mustad, page 1, paragraph 0003). Therefore, the composition of Mustad is expected to be suitable for use in protection against ischemia-reperfusion injury absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 11, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. “For use in prevention or treatment of diabetes mellitus type I or II” is a recitation of intended use. Patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure. See MPEP § 2111.02. Mustad teaches the structure of the instant claim and further teaches the composition can be used in control of blood glucose levels associated with type II diabetes (Mustad, page 1, paragraph 0003). Therefore, the composition of Mustad is expected to be suitable for use in the prevention or treatment of diabetes mellitus type II absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 13, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. “For use in enteral nutrition” is a recitation of intended use. Patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure. See MPEP § 2111.02. Mustad teaches the structure of the instant claim and further teaches the composition can be administered as an enteral nutritional formula (Mustad, page 2, paragraph 0014), and teaches administration to insulin resistant individuals (Mustad, claim 10).
Regarding claim 15, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Mustad teaches the composition can be administered as an enteral nutritional formula (i.e., formulated for enteral administration; Mustad, page 2, paragraph 0014).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mustad (US 2008039525 A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 15, and further in view of Rozen (US 20110150944 A1) and Boll (US 20110207819 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Mustad teaches saturated fatty acids having 2-24 carbons (Mustad, page 1, paragraph 0005) in an amount of less than 47% (Mustad, claim 8), but does not specify the types of saturated fatty acids. Rozen teaches a lipid system for nutrition (Rozen, page 1, paragraph 0003), and teaches a range of 0-5% by weight of caproic acid, which encompasses the claimed range of 2-5%; 0-5% of myristic acid, which overlaps the claimed range of 3-8%; and 5-30% of palmitic acid, which encompasses the claimed range of 5-12% (Rozen, table 13). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Rozen exemplifies a composition having 10% by weight of capric acid. Boll teaches a fat emulsion comprising saturated fatty acids (Boll, claim 2), and teaches capric acid and lauric acid as alternative medium chain fatty acids (Boll, claim 2). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the 10% of capric acid for lauric acid in the same amount, resulting in the composition as claimed.
Mustad, Rozen, and Boll are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because Mustad, Rozen, Boll, and the instant invention are in the same field of lipid systems comprising saturated fatty acids. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the specific saturated fatty acids taught by Rozen to be known in the field, because Mustad teaches saturated fatty acids without specifying the type. It would have also been obvious to modify the composition of Mustad and Rozen to substitute the alternative lauric acid for capric acid in the same amount, because Boll teaches the two to be reasonable alternatives used for the same purpose.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mustad (US 2008039525 A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 15, and further in view of Cai (Nutrients, 2018) and Skiba (WO 2015022454 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Mustad teaches examples of oils which can be used in the invention include olive oil, coconut oil, and other naturally occurring oils (Mustad, pages 3-4, paragraphs 0033-0034). Cai teaches lipid emulsions and teaches an example comprising 25% olive oil (Cai, table 1, Smoflipid), which lies within the claimed range. Cai teaches 30% MCT (Cai, table 1, Smoflipid) with MCT defined as coconut oil medium chain triglycerides (Cai, page 2, 1st paragraph), which falls within the claimed range for coconut oil. Cai further teaches 30% soybean oil and 15% fish oil (Cai, table 1, Smoflipid). Skiba teaches a lipid system, and teaches Buglossoides arvensis oil, soybean oil, and fish oil as alternative sources of unsaturated fatty acids (Skiba, page 9, 12th paragraph). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the 45% of soybean and fish oil for Buglossoides arvensis oil, resulting in the composition as claimed.
Mustad, Cai, and Skiba are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because Mustad, Cai, Skiba, and the instant invention are in the same field of lipid systems. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the amounts of oils taught by Cai to be known in the field, because Mustad teaches olive oil, coconut oil, and other oils without specifying a ratio between the oils. It would have also been obvious to modify the composition of Mustad and Cai to substitute the alternative Buglossoides arvensis oil for soybean and fish oil in the same amount, because Skiba teaches the oils to be reasonable alternatives used for the same purpose.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mustad (US 2008039525 A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 15, and further in view of Cai (Nutrients, 2018).
Regarding claim 12, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. “For use in parenteral nutrition” is a recitation of intended use. Patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure. See MPEP § 2111.02. Mustad teaches the structure of the instant claim and further teaches the lipid system may be administered in the form of a nutritional product (Mustad, page 5, paragraph 0043). Cai teaches lipid emulsions are administered as a form of parenteral nutrition for patients who are unable to receive sufficient nutrition otherwise (Cai, page 2, 1st paragraph), and specifically cites patients requiring long-term parenteral nutrition as treated populations (Cai, table 2).
Mustad and Cai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because Mustad, Cai, and the instant invention are in the same field of lipid systems. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the lipid system of Mustad for parenteral nutrition as taught by Cai, because both teach lipid systems are used for nutrition, while Cai teaches a specific form of nutrition helpful for patients who cannot receive it otherwise.
Regarding claim 14, Mustad teaches all of the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Mustad teaches the lipid system may be administered in the form of a nutritional product (Mustad, page 5, paragraph 0043), and Cai teaches lipid emulsions are administered as a form of parenteral nutrition for patients who are unable to receive sufficient nutrition otherwise (i.e., formulated for parenteral administration; Cai, page 2, 1st paragraph). As above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the lipid system of Mustad for parenteral nutrition as taught by Cai, because both teach lipid systems are used for nutrition, while Cai teaches a specific form of nutrition helpful for patients who cannot receive it otherwise.
Conclusion
/C.P.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613