DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lochbihler (DE 10 2014 018 551 A1).
Lochbihler discloses a security element (Fig. 1) comprising: a structured layer (14, 15, Fig. 2) comprising a base surface and recesses recessed or protrusions elevated relative to the base surface (11, 12, Fig. 2), and a reflector layer (paragraph 0043) arranged on the structured layer, wherein the recesses or protrusions are formed as color-generating nanostructures with respect to their dimensions along the base surface (paragraphs 0015-0018), their vertical extension perpendicular to the base surface and their arrangement on the base surface, wherein the structured layer comprises a plurality of areas providing a colored motif or image, the areas forming pixels (claims 1-3, 7-9), wherein in each of the several areas the vertical extension of the recesses or protrusions varies along a direction according to a function that does not have a constant value (claim 1, Fig. 2), so that in each of the several areas in top view a color which is produced by the variation of the vertical extension is a mixed color (paragraphs 6, 26).
Regarding claim 12, see Fig. 2 and note that the different areas have different heights and depths, and will therefore result in different functions.
Regarding claim 14, see Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 19, see paragraph 0056.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochbihler (DE 10 2014 018 551 A1) In view of Najiminaini et al. (2018/0170093).
Lochbihler discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, the recesses or protrusions disclosed by Lochbihler appear to be uniform. Najiminaini teaches making the vertical extension of recesses or protrusions increase or decrease along a direction according to a gradient. See Fig. 2(B) and paragraph 0007. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the vertical extension of recesses or protrusions disclosed by Lochbihler increase or decrease along a direction according to a gradient, as taught by Najiminaini, in order to make each pixel provide band pass filtering in a specific spectral range.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochbihler (DE 10 2014 018 551 A1) In view of Hiszpanski et al. (2022/0057551).
Lochbihler discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, the areas disclosed by Lochbihler are not comprised of inclined mirror surfaces. Hiszpanski teaches providing inclined mirror surfaces that differe in shape and/or inclination from one area to another. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the areas disclosed by Lochbihler with inclined mirror surfaces, as taught by Hiszpanski, in order to produce different colors and visual effects.
Regarding claim 17, because the mirror surfaces are applied to the protrusions, it is inherent that as the spacing of the mirror surface from the base increases or decreases, the vertical extension of the protrusion increases or decreases.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a structure of the type recited in which the inclined mirror surfaces follow a gradient.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a structure of the type recited in which the microstructure causes a bulging effect.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631