DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D in the reply filed on 9/25/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-11 and 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/3/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant is put on notice that any instance of “and/or” is effectively being treated as “or” such that only one of the alternative limitations needs to be taught by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, the imitations following the phrase are NOT considered part of the claimed invention
Further regarding claim 3, the claim recites that the first and second asymmetrical shapes are “joined together to form the symmetrically.” It is entirely unclear what “the symmetrically” is referring to.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites that the first or second portion has “as asymmetrical length.” It is entirely unclear how a single length/measurement can be asymmetrical. Foe examination purposes, it is assumed that either portion has varying lengths.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morris (US 5,374,286).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4 and 5, Morris discloses an active fixation electrode lead as seen in figure 1. The lead includes a fixation helix 40/140/330 that is either movably or non-moveably placed in a housing of the lead, as seen in figure 3. A first portion 40/140/330 has a first asymmetrical shape (i.e., the integral helix shape) about the longitudinal axis of the lead and is made of platinum-iridium, which has a first radiopacity (Col. 5, lines 12-24). A second portion 35/135/335 has a second asymmetrical shape about the longitudinal axis of the lead and is made of gold or tantalum, which has a second, different radiopacity (Col. 4, lines 62-64). The radiopacity of the portions indicates a rotational position of the lead on an x-ray image during implantation (see abstract, Col. 2, lines 17-30).
Regarding claim 3, the portions are joined together to form “the symmetrically” which is just the general shape of the lead.
Regarding claim 6, as seen in figure 3, the portion of the helix within the housing surrounds a portion of the lead.
Regarding claim 7, the helix has a variable length.
Regarding claim 12, the helix has a ring-shaped portion at the distal end of the lead, and the second portion 35/135/335 is rod-shaped along a longitudinal direction of the lead (see at least figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris in view of Cohen et al. (US 2026/0325303, hereinafter Cohen).
Morris, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention, including a rotatable helix/lead. Morris is silent as to including a sensor to detect the number of revolutions of the helix/lead. Cohen also discloses a rotatable lead, and this is analogous art with Morris. Cohen discloses that the lead can include a sensor for detecting the number of revolutions of the lead (par. 0429). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Morris to include the sensor of Cohen in order to prevent over rotation of the lead, which may harm the lead or the patient (par. 0429 for motivation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892, especially US 6,285,903 which discloses a lead with radiopaque markers for determining rotational position of the lead.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796