Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velde (US 2021/0222405).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velde in view of Hoaby (US 2022/0412050).
Priority
The priority date for this application is 02/13/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velde (US 2021/0222405).
As per Claim 1:
Velde discloses the following limitations:
“A work machine comprising: a work device including a plurality of construction elements; a plurality of actuators that respectively drive the plurality of construction elements of the work device”
Velde Figure 1 discloses a work vehicle with a plurality of actuators.
“overload sensors that sense overload states of the plurality of actuators, respectively”
Velde Paragraph [0029] discloses overload sensors that detect an overload condition for the actuators.
Velde suggests the following limitations:
“angle and angular velocity sensors that sense operation angles and angular velocities of the plurality of construction elements of the work device, respectively”
Velde Paragraph [0050] teaches angle and angular velocity determinations based on sensor measurements and therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that angular velocity and angle sensors represent sensors that can fulfil this role.
“operation devices that operate the actuators; and a controller that controls supply amounts of hydraulic fluid to be supplied to the actuators, depending on operating amounts of the operation devices, wherein the controller judges, based on sensing results of the overload sensors, whether there are overload states on the plurality of actuators, and based on sensing results of the angle and angular velocity sensors, whether there are stop states on the plurality of actuators, and, when among the actuators, any actuator in the overload state and stop state is judged, corrects the supply amount of the hydraulic fluid to be supplied to the actuator selected based on a result of the judgement.”
Velde Paragraph [0029] teaches automatically adjusting the path of the working implement when a combination of overload and a lack of motion of the working implement is sensed. Such an action would represent an action in which the supply to the hydraulic actuators that control the working implement was "corrected".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Velde with the automatic adjustment based on angular movement and overload sensors further suggested by Velde. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by providing multiple parameters for use when controlling movement of working implements.
With regards to Claim 2, Velde suggests all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the controller is configured to correct the supply amount of the hydraulic fluid to be supplied to each actuator different from the actuator or actuators in the overload state and the stop state, when among the plurality of actuators, one or some of the actuators are judged to be in the overload state and the stop state.”
Velde Paragraph [0029] teaches automatically adjusting the path of the working implement when a combination of overload and a lack of motion of the working implement is sensed. Such an action would represent an action in which the supply to the hydraulic actuators that control the working implement was "corrected".
With regards to Claim 3, Velde suggests all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“ wherein the controller is configured to correct the supply amounts of the hydraulic fluid to be supplied to all the actuators, when among the plurality of actuators, all the actuators are judged to be in the overload state and the stop state.”
Velde Paragraph [0029] teaches automatically adjusting the path of the working implement when a combination of overload and a lack of motion of the working implement is sensed. Such an action would represent an action in which the supply to the hydraulic actuators that control the working implement was "corrected".
With regards to Claim 5, Velde suggests all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein a velocity vector of a tip of the work device after the supply amount of the hydraulic fluid to be supplied to the actuator has been corrected by the controller is in a direction closer to being perpendicular to a direction vector along which the tip of the work machine operates by the actuator in the overload state and the stop state.”
Velde Paragraph [0029] teaches reducing the penetrating depth in response to overload and stop conditions, such a direction would be close to perpendicular to the movement vector of the working implement, i.e. the working implement would move up when it had been moving across whilst digging.
With regards to Claim 6, Velde suggests all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the controller is configured to correct the supply amount of the hydraulic fluid that is to be supplied to the actuator, such that the magnitude of a velocity vector of a tip of the work device after the correction of the supply amount of the hydraulic fluid to be supplied to the actuator will increase depending on an elapsed time from a time when the actuator has been brought into the overload state and the stop state.”
Velde Paragraph [0029] teaches moving a working implement automatically when a stop condition is determined, therefore the magnitude of the velocity vector of the tip of the work element goes from zero to being increased to a non-zero amount as it resets. See also Paragraph [0053].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velde in view of Hoaby (US 2022/0412050). These references are related as they are both directed towards working machines with working implements.
With regards to Claim 4, Velde teaches all of the limitations of Claim 2 but does not teach the following limitations that Hoaby does teach:
“wherein the controller is configured to correct the supply amount of the hydraulic fluid to be supplied to the actuator if a time of the overload state and the stop state is shorter than a time set beforehand, when any actuator in the overload state and the stop state is judged to exist.”
Hoaby Paragraphs [0211] teaches determining whether an implement has arrived at an overload and stop position based on comparing a pressure condition in the hydraulics that exists longer than a time threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that another parameter that is also indicative of an overload and stop condition, i.e. a lack of movement of the working implement, could be substituted and arrive at the same desired result.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system taught by Velde with the time threshold used to determine stopped status taught by Hoaby. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by ensuring that the vehicle isn’t unnecessarily stopped when faced with a temporary stoppage of the working implement.
Related References
Wu (JP2011252338)
Related to control of working implements.
Stander (US 2017/0113699)
Related to overload protection for a work implement.
Wimmer (US 2018/0105402)
Related to control of a working vehicle.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Worden can be reached on (571) 272-4876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3658